Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hidradenitis Suppurativa

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lockman

I'm waiting to have infliximab infusions and I'm just wondering if anyone else has had them and if so what their experiences where. I've tried the Humira injections and they haven't helped. My Dermatologist has told me that the infliximab infusions are my last option on what was a very short list of options.

Hi,

I've been receiving Infliximab since early 2010 and it has made a huge positive difference to my quality of life.

Prior to starting on it, I was barely able to walk due to having a severe dose of HS in the groin and inner thigh regions.

It took a while for the infliximab to kick in (~9-12 months or so) but it has been of major benefit. I still get lesions, but they are far less troublesome, less painful and compared to life pre-infliximab, there is a lot less blood/ooze coming from them.

I now walk miles (and have even started running) every day. I also swim regularly (which wasnt an option before infliximab). In addition to the infliximab, i have made some lifestyle changes: quit smoking, lost some weight and so on but i think the infliximab is the main cause of all the positive effects outlined above. I haven't had any significant negative side effects comonly associated with infliximab.

Best of luck and i hope you start it soon. Different strokes and all that but if you do start on it, I hope you get some benefit from it like I have.

Hello all,