Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dedicated server to test

• 28-07-2009 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭

Ok folks, we got a 64 slot server to test for Gameservers.ie, had a quick game there and its running fine, nice low sub 35ms pings (and me with a shítty interleaved 7.6Mbit Eircom connection)

217.78.4.90:2302 or filter the word "gameservers.ie"

Its online now, we'll prob be playing Evolution or Domination for a few days to test it with maximum people, please join and help us out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭rollie

tried to connect to it there with no joy, is it always on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

It should be working now, I had to get them to give it a kick as I couldn't connect either. I'm not sure if its the fact that the dedicated server is a beta or they're havin probs. Its a beta for them also as they're only setting up and want to test their setup

I'll be on from about 9 for a few hours if anyone is up for a game

The servers running a 46 player coop Domination and we need as many as possible to test the setup, no mp experience necessary.

They've had a few hickups last nite and nite before, but I think they're all sorted now (more to do with it being a buggy beta dedicated server software, they've not released anything official yet to run on a server) so just be patient, please

I'll be on from 7 onwards, hope to see You all there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 desk

Did it just fall over or was that on my end?

desk wrote: »
    Did it just fall over or was that on my end?

I had to restart the mission at around that time, the AI got stuck, damn bugs

Goin fine now

Everything got stuck, the server wasn't updating position for anything yet it wasn't timing out either which is a little odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭rollie

will anyone be on this afternoon/evening, im going to be away at the weekend in castlepalooza

Tried it out today, getting 9/10ms, though that's with nobody else on the server.

Was messing about with Cashville just there and it seems the server crashed though, can't see it in the server list at all now. Just as we were about to call arty on an airfield and nick a jet!

Its prob just a buggy glitch, its up now.

I'll be on later

I've got admin access to the server guys, if You want to change gametype just say. I don't however have access to the config file yet, therefore the default mission will always be co46_Domination_1_00A2T10_West.Chernarus, I can't change this.
    If any of You want to change just say so, I'll have to join a game, login and then change mission with the command.

Here'e a list of whats on the server:
    co46_Domination_1_00A2T10_West.Chernarus
    co30_Domination_1_00A2T10_West_AI.Chernarus
    Co_30_EvolutionUSMC_v08.Chernarus
    co30_The_Longest_Day_1_03.Chernarus
    co30_Domination_1_00A2T4_West.Chernarus
    EvolutionRED_v093hf2.Chernarus
    Coop_30_Evolution_=SEALZ=_v1_0.Chernarus
    coop14 Hunt Waldo v1.4
    Insurgent Airfield CO10 V3.5
    WE WERE SOLDIERS v0.75

Note that we're trying to test this setup for Gameservers.ie with as much people as possible for a few days, therefore I'd be reluctant to run some of the smaller missions like WE WERE SOLDIERS etc as these would limit the numbers. They've said they'll be giving us a smaller slot server to test later, this is just so they can test the initial setup and do the maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Any sort of TS thing?

If we give BTC money they let use that.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Any sort of TS thing?

If we give BTC money they let use that.

Gameservers doin Mumble soon, might need testing too ;) (Mumble is just an open source equivalent of Vent or Teamspeak)

I'd only consider buying a server if they also offered mumble

Personally I prefer the game on at least Veteran difficulty, I think the server is set to Recruit by default? Not because I'm any good, I just prefer maximum realism; no HUD, no 3rd person, no tags etc. I guess that's more for PvP though, I don't mind so much when it's against AI opponents.

Just had to reset for those playing as the choppers were crashed all over the map and this time I set it to co30_Domination_1_00A2T10_West_AI.Chernarus on veteran, Its very similar to what was running the last few days, but there's no squads. It'll reset itself back after it done as I cant change the config file. I'll get them to set it to veteran by default, I had no idea it was set to recruit, I thought the mission set that but when I changed mission I had a choice.

You can initiate a vote by using commands
    User Commands

#vote missions Users can vote for the mission selection
    #vote mission (name) Users can vote on a particular mission (named) to play
    #vote kick (name/ID) Users can vote to kick off an individual
    #vote restart Vote to restart the mission
    #vote reassign Vote to reassign
    #userlist Displays the list of users on the server (use pgup to scroll up)

Ok, the server now defaults to regular difficulty.
    I like veteran myself but others don't, dman found it very difficult to fly as the map didn't centre on you or give an arrow to show which direction You were facing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

aww I was liking veteran.
    Was fun to hold your fire while waiting to see if the person was a friendly.
    Calls of "Is anybody behind the red house with white trim" lol

Dman learn to use the gps and compass (joking)

The GPS always shows your direction. When you're flying you can press Right Ctrl + M (I think) to keep the GPS on screen.

I always liked the map not showing your direction. It's a map you're carrying, not a 30" flatscreen GPS! ;) On one of my favourites servers you don't even get a GPS as standard, after you para drop it takes a while to get your bearings and figure out exactly where you are. I know map reading isn't everybody's idea of fun but that's what I like!

That kind of game only works with voice, atm we have 3 groups 1 group in air blowing things up,other on ground attacking main targets other goup doing side missions.

Sticking it on veteran only works when you have voice and everyone knows where each other is. Brilliant tho hopefully we get there one day :D

Dman learn to use the gps and compass (joking)

Well, he is only 10

I'm trying to please everyone here for the time being, plus I'm trying to get as many people on the server to test the setup for Gameservers.ie. When we get our own we'll do expert, I promise :P

10!! what better time to learn :)

Nah you know I'm only joking and happy to go with the status quo of things

Note on the direction when the map's up, the compass at the bottom of the screen still shows you the direction you're facing. Though you do need pretty tight comms to pull off anything as large scale as domination or evolution on veteran.

Played a mission built for arma 1 where you spawned at a random point on the map with no map reference and had to get off the island with a pistol and three smoke bombs to your name. Coming across another player completely randomly driving a bus or something was a thing of beauty.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Hey pog, can you stick that Carrier Domination one on the server - it's got loads of aircraft, so it's great for a spot of air action. Really enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Well, he is only 10

Was actually gonna make a bit of a rant about him but holy **** is he really 10 years old?

Kinda thought he was young but I was thinking 17 lol!

I was getting a bit pissed off as he kept kinda ruining stuff for us and blatantly ignoring us and stuff. Even just early today, me and my mate were on the server and were working on the side mission to try and steal the two seat black shark so we could fly around in that together, just as we'd cleared the enemy armour dman joined and got into the chopper. Didn't respond to anything I was saying either.

But if he's really only 10 thats pretty impressive playing a military sim at that age. Feckin hell I can't imagine playing a game like this on the internet at 10 years old, when I was ten I was playing streets of rage lol.

Damn somehow I feel old now :( hehehe

**edit**

ah **** my mate is in game with him there and just told me that dman was chatting to us in group chat the whole time and thats why it seemed like he was just blanking us. Everything makes more sense now lol

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

erm if he is only 10 wtf is he doing playing this so late at night.

Maximilian wrote: »
    Hey pog, can you stick that Carrier Domination one on the server - it's got loads of aircraft, so it's great for a spot of air action. Really enjoyable.

I've sent it to them to put in the MPMissions folder so we might get a go at it later, sounds like a great mission, can't wait. They've also offered us a 20 slot mumble server to test also, more info as it arrives. They're looking for feedback on any issues, quality etc

Sorry, but what? You saying he should be in bed at 7? I know its a little late, but he's on his hols and he plays outside with his friends earlier, up until about 9ish.

@ Cunny-Funt, its not like dman not to chat, cant shut him up normally and he is a team player. He's been playing fps since he was 6 so this is just a step up, he had the basics. I built him a pc to avoid consoles, he's quite happy and is learning all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Was around 3pm when I was playing with him today :confused:

@ Cunny-Funt, its not like dman not to chat, cant shut him up normally and he is a team player. He's been playing fps since he was 6 so this is just a step up, he had the basics. I built him a pc to avoid consoles, he's quite happy and is learning all the time

As I said, it turned out he was replying but he had it set to group chat and since none of us were in a group no one could see his text so it appeared to us that he was just ignoring us. I was talking to him yesterday though and now I know what age he is I have to say I'm massively impressed. You built a PC for him eh? Your just how I picture myself when I become a dad! You should be proud, I only hope my son, if I have one, is as into proper gaming like yours is. :D Congrats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

I'm very impressed by dman's skills at his age, seems like he'll be a legend in Irish Arma circles for years to come!

Spent a good time just on the server with me and him, he really was able to adapt to different scenerios well and kept a cool head the whole way along. Fair play!

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    Was around 3pm when I was playing with him today :confused:

I'm probably mistaken.

Dmans grand just dont let him in Mumble/ ts :D

did the server just go down? Got disconnected just as I was lining up a BMP with my AV-8. Can't find it in the server list now?

Noooooooooo etc.

I'm probably mistaken.

Not actually, he has been playing till ~12.00 one or two nights while I was on. I don't mind this, as long as I kno who he's playing with late at night, worst being some bad language, he'll hear worse on tv
    Dmans grand just dont let him in Mumble/ ts :D

Not planning on it, it was grand on TS when there was only 4 of us, its not the place for a 10 yo
    did the server just go down? Got disconnected just as I was lining up a BMP with my AV-8. Can't find it in the server list now?

Noooooooooo etc.

No idea, its up now :confused:
    BTW, I use this to see which of ye are playing without starting the game, Gameservers are using it also to match to their graphs of the resources the dedicated server uses.

Ok, Mumble is up and running on 217.78.4.88:64738

Get it here

Its very similar to Vent/TS, uses the same speex codecs but please note, I've not got admin access yet to create other channels and there's probably kinks to be ironed out so just be patient. Please give Your feedback

arma2%202009-08-08%2014-31-19-07.jpg

untitledmumble.JPG

Cant get that overlay to work for some reason, I'm convinced its the 1920x1200 resolution. Quality of mumble is amazing tho, much better than any of the Vent/TS servers we've used

ban gavin

i buying that server and hes ****ing banned for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

ROFL, that lad was causing havoc for us!

yeah, I was having a real blast in the A10, supporting the guys on the ground.

Gavin starts trying to land on me in the chopper while I was rearming. When that failed he waits for me to rearm again and shoots me out of it. He then proceeds to try and park it in a forest, grabs a tank and starts blowing everything up - repairs stations etc. We tried to vote him off but no joy.

I'd normally laugh but we were having a really good game up to that point.

ban gavin

i buying that server and hes ****ing banned for life.

Yeah, I took off in a chopper and he shot me down the other day. I just thought it was a one off. In fact Dman asked me kick him the other day while I wasn;t playing. If he shows his face again..................in fact Gavin, please do :D

Tjhe Mumble overlay works fine BTW

Carrier Domination is now in the missions folder, its not the default mission so You'll have to either vote ("#vote missions" without quotes) or wait for me to join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

That gavin bloke was a freak of nature alright. But in the end he was...accidentally...killed a couple of times and it may have been fun to see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Is anyone playing tonight?

I tried to connect the other night and it got stuck on "Receiving File", anyone know what causes that?

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

kenon wrote: »
    Is anyone playing tonight?

I tried to connect the other night and it got stuck on "Receiving File", anyone know what causes that?

Server crashed earlier and I've not got admin access to restart it, I've pm'd and created a ticket on their control panel but it looks like nobodies logged in.

Yeah was on the server when it happened. Good thing too, got some cleaning done before the gf arrives home tonight. :P

It's still down atm.

By the way - I was playing Warfare BE Lite last night - easily the best Warfare mission going. Has Artillery modules and everything. Really good.

http://cr-ofp.dyndns.org/

Will be working on getting a server up on LanParty.ie. Will keep you posted. Do we need a new comms as well or is mumble still up?

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Do we need a new comms as well or is mumble still up?

Mumble was working after the server crashed, its up now and I can connect. No word on server though, they've not replied to my ticket or pm.

nice find.

Wow the Germans and French sure love thier ARMA2

Server is back up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 gavdownunder

Do only admins have the ability to change the map?

I wanted to take a look at the new carrier domination level....

reading a kellys heros guide but no answers

Gav

Do only admins have the ability to change the map?

I wanted to take a look at the new carrier domination level....

reading a kellys heros guide but no answers

Gav
    Just had to reset for those playing as the choppers were crashed all over the map and this time I set it to co30_Domination_1_00A2T10_West_AI.Chernarus on veteran, Its very similar to what was running the last few days, but there's no squads. It'll reset itself back after it done as I cant change the config file. I'll get them to set it to veteran by default, I had no idea it was set to recruit, I thought the mission set that but when I changed mission I had a choice.

You can initiate a vote by using commands

Haven't tried voting for a mission but I presume it works.

"#vote missions" without quotes will call a vote, you'll have a choice of all maps. You better get the others vote for the same map and difficulty.
    User Commands

#vote missions Users can vote for the mission selection
    #vote mission (name) Users can vote on a particular mission (named) to play
    #vote kick (name/ID) Users can vote to kick off an individual
    #vote restart Vote to restart the mission
    #vote reassign Vote to reassign
    #userlist Displays the list of users on the server (use pgup to scroll up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 gavdownunder

Server Down? :(

Gav