Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over 90,000 receiving rent Allowance

• 28-07-2009 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭

Interesting,and slightly worrying article in todays Indo.Almost €500 million will be spent on rent relief alone this year.This has to be addressed.Surely if you cannot afford to pay rent in one place you move to a cheaper place,its not rocket science.With funding being cut in vital sectors this is an unneccessary expense.It needs to be much more stringent.At least the are trying to do something by putting restrictions on it but is it a case of too little too late?
    THE number of people receiving State rent support has jumped by nearly a quarter in just six months -- with one-third of claimants foreign nationals.

New figures supplied to the Irish Independent show that the recession has caused a huge increase in the numbers unable to meet housing costs on their own.

At the end of last year, just over 74,000 people were in receipt of rent supplement from the State. Now the figure has jumped by 23pc and stands at a record 91,000, the Department of Social Welfare confirmed yesterday.

Recent figures, compiled when there were 89,000 claimants, show that 32,000 -- more than one third -- are non-nationals.

They show 7,638 Poles, 2,886 Nigerians, 2,108 Lithuanians, 1,512 Romanians and 1,318 Latvians among the highest categories of non-nationals being paid the benefit. People from 163 countries and territories, excluding Ireland, get the rent supplement.

A Dail committee will today discuss the problems of poverty-stricken households living in private rented accommodation -- with the Government having slashed the maximum rent support payable since the beginning of June.

Social Affairs Minister Mary Hanafin has told tenants who had to take an 8pc reduction in their support to negotiate lower rent with their landlord. She pointed out that rents have fallen by 11pc in the last year, and by more in cities.

State spending on the scheme was over €440m during 2008. The department yesterday said that an estimated €490m will be spent on rent supplement this year, or an average of €500 per claimant.

The department said : "Rent supplement is now restricted to individuals who have held an existing tenancy for six months or who are in homeless accommodation, or who have a local authority assessment which indicates that they are eligible.

Needs

"All other claimants must have been placed on a housing list following a full needs assessment by the local authority before they are eligible."

The department accepted that tenants may be contractually obliged to pay the rent agreed to in their lease, even though their support payments have been cut by 8pc.

But it added: "It is expected that landlords will decrease the rent in recognition of the fact that rents have fallen generally and that there are now a large number of vacant rental properties nationally."

Recent data from the CSO shows that rents in the private sector have fallen by almost 20pc in the past year. A leading property website reported recently that rents had fallen by almost 16pc in the 12 months to March 2009, with falls of 10pc in Galway, 15pc in Cork and 12pc-18pc in Dublin.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/strain-on-rent-relief-as-32000-foreigners-claim-aid-1843632.html
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Easy to say, alot of people move out to recieve dole, and then get rent allowence, when I lost my job I moved home because I couldn't afford to live there anymore, then I got told I wouldn't be entitled to much as I live with my parents, 17weeks later I'm still waiting to find out what exactly im getting off dole, if anything at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Interesting,and slightly worrying article in todays Indo.Almost €500 million will be spent on rent relief alone this year.This has to be addressed.Surely if you cannot afford to pay rent in one place you move to a cheaper place,its not rocket science.With funding being cut in vital sectors this is an unneccessary expense.It needs to be much more stringent.At least the are trying to do something by putting restrictions on it but is it a case of too little too late?

Not only is it an unnecessary expense but it artificially inflates rents and house prices. It'd be better for everyone except the developers and landlords if it stopped because they'd have to drop their prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/strain-on-rent-relief-as-32000-foreigners-claim-aid-1843632.html

Probably cost a lot less, were they all to live in a shed Ned.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Pretty much everyone is entitled to rent relief.

I presume you mean to be giving out about rent allowance:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

We have no one to blame but ourselves.

No job? No problem, we'll give you money for free.
    Can't afford rent? No problem, we'll pay most of it for you.
    Need to go to the doctor? No worries, we'll cover that.
    Have a landline? We'll pay that for ya, ya can't be without broadband now can ya?
    Oh you've had another baby? Ah sure, here's some extra cash for the bastard child.

Fucking gobshites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Pretty much everyone is entitled to rent relief.

I presume you mean to be giving out about rent allowance:confused:

Someones feeling anal today.

Relief/supplement/allowance,more or less the same,no?
    Even if there is some minor difference,you know what I mean,you are just being pedantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Just wait until you and your partner lose your jobs and can't afford to pay rent because the landlord won't reduce it and your in the middle of a contract.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Probably cost a lot less, were they all to live in a shed Ned.

Have a landline? We'll pay that for ya, ya can't be without broadband now can ya?
    Oh you've had another baby? Ah sure, here's some extra cash for the bastard child.

Fucking gobshites.

So if you lost your job would you be happy with

Nowhere to live
    No money for food
    No health care
    Nothing!

Because that's what your post seems to advocate - an Ireland for people who are constantly employed - surely nobody would ever get laid off?

edit: btw, I am in full time employment

funkyflea wrote: »
    Just wait until you and your partner lose your jobs and can't afford to pay rent because the landlord won't reduce it and your in the middle of a contract.

I did lose my job,in the middle of a 12 months lease.You know what I did.
    I moved out,took the hit and lost my €1000 deposit because they didnt get someone else to move in for 2 months.

I did lose my job,in the middle of a 12 months lease.You know what I did.
    I moved out,took the hit and lost my €1000 deposit because they didnt get someone else to move in for 2 months.

Do you think 'taking the hit' on a deposit like that helps anyone, do you think everyone should do that?

Nowhere to live
    No money for food
    No health care
    Nothing!

Because that's what your post seems to advocate - an Ireland for people who are constantly employed - surely nobody would ever get laid off?

No, what I'm saying that the system is being taken advantage of, and it's our own fault. People who genuinely need support should get it, but I'd say a LARGE chunk of that 90,000 people don't need it.

Even if there is some minor difference,you know what I mean,you are just being pedantic.

No they are not the same.

One is a tax relief that anyone earning and contributing tax is entitled to.

The other is the government paying part/all of your rent for you, usually cos you're a waster on the dole with no intention of trying to support youself. (and the minority real cases of people in difficulty)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well no there's a bit difference between rent allowance and rent relief.

Rent allowance is a set amount you receive ever week - AFAIK it's only available to people receiving welfare of some kind.

Rent Relief is tax relief set against how much you pay on rent.

Two very different things altogether.

Nowhere to live
    No money for food
    No health care
    Nothing!

There are thousands of jobs out there all you need to do is look...
    Even if you lose your job it should be fairly easy to walk into another.

I have my CV on the job sites and companies are ringing me offering interviews without me even activly seeking them...

No, what I'm saying that the system is being taken advantage of, and it's our own fault. People who genuinely need support should get it, but I'd say a LARGE chunk of that 90,000 people don't need it.

I agree that it is being taken advantage of but not by everyone - I myself have been asking for stricter means testing, my brother lives at home and claims dole, but has never even tried looking for work.

He doesn't need a cent. But I know people who are struggling to get by and would jump at the chance to start any job in the morning, riddled with guilt because they are claiming taxpayers money.

I have my CV on the job sites and companies are ringing me offering interviews without me even activly seeking them...

Cookiemonster, it isn't like that all over the country. Some people don't have the means to move far away from home for a job, some people who have no experience can't get work either. It's an employers market.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

the list of nations is interesting. There is 1 person from Honduras claiming rent allowance. I'm going to get him the milking get!

No they are not the same.

One is a tax relief that anyone earning and contributing tax is entitled to.

The other is the government paying part/all of your rent for you, usually cos you're a waster on the dole with no intention of trying to support youself. (and the few real cases of people in difficulty)
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Well no there's a bit difference between rent allowance and rent relief.

Rent allowance is a set amount you receive ever week - AFAIK it's only available to people receiving welfare of some kind.

Rent Relief is tax relief set against how much you pay on rent.

Two very different things altogether.

Its rent allowance the article is about,and what I was talking about.Apologies for any confusion.I have gotten tax relief on rent paid in the past myself.Just got my terms a bit confused.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I'm 20, I've worked on building sites and as door staff since I've left school and recently I've sat exams to become a qualified fitness instructor. Where's these easy to get jobs your on about cos I can't find one?

Yeah and they're probably ringing dozens of other people as well. Just because you're being approached about a job doesn't mean you get it.

There are jobs out there, however A LOT less then there used to be with a lot more people searching. It's not so easy for people to find jobs now, that's why we have the highest unemployment rate since records began! (i think?) It's pretty naive to think otherwise.

Do you think 'taking the hit' on a deposit like that helps anyone, do you think everyone should do that?

Im not saying anyone should do anything like that.I made the decision myself.I stayed for 3 months and paid rent until the little bit I had saved ran out,couldnt find a job,so just left.

I know there are alot of genuine people out there that are claiming RA because they havnt any choice,be it because they have a family and cannot relocate,cannot find a job etc.

Its the abuse of the system that has been let slide up until now that gets on my tits.

That's alright then :)

I'm 20, I've worked on building sites and as door staff since I've left school and recently I've sat exams to become a qualified fitness instructor. Where's these easy to get jobs your on about cos I can't find one?

I was listening to the radio a week or 2 ago and there were a couple of employers on from I think Kilkenny saying they had approx 20 minimum wages jobs going but couldnt get anyone for them.

My best mate was offered a job recently but he refused because he would end up worse off than he is now signing on.He has a mortgage protector in place that runs til next March,with the drop in interest rates he is getting 200 PM back on that plus 204 PW on the dole.€1000 cash PM and his mortgage paid.There is no onus for him to take a job and there in lies the problem with the social welfare system on a whole.

Personally I was offered a job yesterday that pays approx 8 grand less than I was on 8 months ago but Im going to take it anyway,because I cannot get anything else.

http://www.loadzajobs.ie/search_fitness;)

Though in all seriousness I can understand where you are coming from I am just sick of people automatically saying there are no jobs. It's just harder to get them and requires more looking around than before. No differrent to way back in the days before the CT.

Anyway going off topic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Vegeta, what does the scouter say about its power rating?

ITS OVER NINETY THOUSAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Not only is it an unnecessary expense but it artificially inflates rents and house prices. It'd be better for everyone except the developers and landlords if it stopped because they'd have to drop their prices

This.

The rent supplement is a paradox of sorts...during the boom private landlords and buy-to-let investors were given tax relief on buying property of that type. Meanwhile the money that was being awarded in the form of tax breaks to these people was being removed from where it should have been getting spent; social and affordable housing.
    What ends up happening is that there is a dire shortage of council houses/appartments due to low turnover and nothing new being built or not meeting demand...the people on the ever growing lists for that type of home are then forced into renting privately, paying the private rates topped off by rent supplement allowance...as Sam Vimes says, this keep rents artificially high. It's also a money pit, since what in fact thius rent allowance is going towards paying are the mortgages on investment and buy-to-let properties...what we have essentially happening is that instaed of the government/State/local authority owning the house/appartment and renting it at a subsidised rate to tennants, they are instead buying houses for private individuals...so the same outlay over say, 20 yrs, means that a local authority house makes 20 years subsidised, controlled rent ( ie a profit + a physical property) whilst the same outlay in rent supplement goes to making private individuals a profit (a loss for the taxpayer) and a fully paid for house (paid for in part by the taxpayer, either through direct allowances or the tax breaks during purchase or over the rental life of the property.

I saw this happening years ago. It never ceased to amaze me that goverment allowed this, nay gave it their blessing in the name of fueling the boom; in reality all it fueled was the increased riches of those who were already well enough off to be private landlords.
    The whole situation had also been further complicated by the arrival of non-Irish nationals, although that's not somethiong to get into in this thread really...

Crux of it: instead of building it's own houses and renting them to the less well off, we give rich people free money to buy houses, then rent them from them in which to house our less well off...only in the second case the state never owns or profits from the property.
    What f*cking moron thought that that was a good idea for anyone but a very few?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I came to the same conclusion years ago Wertz, but what can you do? I went to 2 local councillors about it, they said it was a disgusting situation but did nothing about it at local authority level.

OP, the max rent relief one can claim is E400 a year. Hardly a huge amount.

rarnes1 wrote: »

€400 in mid January is quite a lot of money. Handy to pay off the mental excess of Xmas drinking ;)

snubbleste wrote: »
    I came to the same conclusion years ago Wertz, but what can you do? I went to 2 local councillors about it, they said it was a disgusting situation but did nothing about it at local authority level.

See there's your problem...too many levels of governance. It's in all liklihood that some of those sitting on local autorities are themslves dabblers in the buy to rent market or are related to/friends of people who are....then you go up the food chain and it just get's worse; cosy love ins with developers, land bank owners, yadda yadda
    I personally know of at least two buy to let-ters in my area (who I've worked for) who used work for the health boards...they saw the huge demand in housing unemployed/immigrants coming a decade back and started buying up local properties. One of them, has done so well out of it that he's managed to buy land and biuld another two sets of appartments, which he goes on to fill with more rent allowance claimants and emergency housing from the DSFA.
    Meanwhile private tennants in this country have some of the worst rights and entitlements in the EU (this may have changed recently, not sure)

If an idiot like me can see this coming from a disatnce then how can the bean counters in the hallowed civil services not? I reckon the indo's figures above may not even reflect the real actual costs that schemes such as this have cost and are costing the country.

Read the thread. We're talking about rent allownace; ie a supplement (usually about 40-50%) paid to low earners to allow them to rent private property in lieu of hosuing them in proper council property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

It is if there are 1000's claiming it. Do the maths. If your genuine fair enough, if your not, let them get up off there fat asses and get a job.
    Oh hang on, I'll go out the back and get some money off the tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

That's rent allowance rather than rent relief. Rent allowance comes from social welfare, rent relief comes as a tax credit. Massive difference.

The average cost for rent allowance per person per year works out at approximately €500,000,000 / 90,000 = €5,555.

Perosnally I can see little wrong with the rent relief tax break for private tennants...it's just some money you've earned that you don't pay tax on, because rent is considered an unavoidable living expense of sorts...like health insurance, or refuse collection or pensions. That money gets spent in the economy in some other way and would incur some sort of tax no matter where it is spent...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Fucking gobshites.
    I've heard some rubbish in my time but your post takes the biscuit.
    No job...Because there are none
    Can't afford rent...Average rent more expensive than New York or London
    Need to go to a doctor...Yeah they should just stay home and die:rolleyes:
    Have a landline...Urban myth like the free pushchairs to African women that it's paid for along with broadband.
    Oh you've had another baby...That's what women do
    Would you rather see people die than given the dole? or possibly turn to crime for money to put food on the table for the kids because they where unfortunate enough to lose their job?

Bandit12 wrote: »

There are jobs out there,they are just harder to get because of the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Would you rather see people die than given the dole? or possibly turn to crime for money to put food on the table for the kids because they where unfortunate enough to lose their job?

Now that is ridiculous for sure.

I have a job but can i get 204 a week and rent allowance anyway, otherwise i might turn to crime as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Yeah, like the banks when they **** up with greedy stupid lending decisions. Ridiculous that you should begrudge people the basic right to have a roof over their heads.

I've heard some rubbish in my time but your post takes the biscuit.
    Can't afford rent...Average rent more expensive than New York or London
    Need to go to a doctor...Yeah they should just stay home and die:rolleyes:
    Have a landline...Urban myth like the free pushchairs to African women that it's paid for along with broadband.
    Oh you've had another baby...That's what women do
    Read the whole thread before responding mmkay?

Oh, and yes, you can get your line rental paid for if you're unemployed.

Yeah, like the banks when they **** up with greedy stupid lending decisions. Ridiculous that you should begrudge people the basic right to have a roof over their heads.

Again, read the whole bloody thread before responding.

Links or it didn't happen.

There are only two instances I know of where a phone is provided for someone on welfare...OAPs and those with dire medical problems.
    There are anecdotal reports of refugees being given cheap mobiles and money to put credit on them but that may well be one of these urban myths...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

There is already a plan to reduce payment to rent allowance reported in the Cork Examiner on the 9th May and the government will implement legislation in the coming months.
    Tenants to lose rent allowance for ‘non-green’ properties

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/snkfmhsnau/rss2/

I estimate nearly 90% of properties in this country are no where near green and I doubt it if any of those green houses are in the rental sector, therefore most if not all rent allowance will be dropped.

Landlords do not care about green homes nor the cost of heating in those houses for their tenants. If the Landlords do retrofit the houses, then the rent will increase far beyond the cost of fuel saved by the tenants and adding another excuse for raising rents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

I doubt it very much if Landlords will drop their prices, if anything the Rent relief and rent allowance was handy for the revenue Commissioners to know which houses are for rent and if that landlord is pay his/her taxes. I have come across three Landlords in my street, who have not registered their houses on PRTB which they are legal required to do so, I have check the publish list on http://www.prtb.ie/

I also see in the papers over the 10 years with comments "No Rent relief" advertised with houses for rent and are asking for the same price as those landlords (Who pay their taxes and above board) allow rent allowance.

The only one way price for rent to drop is when the market is oversupplied which leaves houses empty which cost money to Landlords. Any other excuse is an excuse for Landlords to increase Rents.

Many people who are in rented properties are on low income wages either far from their original homes or get away from their parents while trying to earn money. Most who are on rent relief cannot afford their own House or cannot get a mortgage especially in this economic climate and the failure of the government to regulate the banks and the warning signs they Blatantly ignored!

I wonder how much interest relief Mortgage Holders are getting in total in this country in comparison to Rent relief?

BTW just as an aside to this, mate's g/f the other night was reading through the To Let section of the local rag...she commented on the amount of property for rent with the little addendum "Rent allowance accepted", which tells it's own tale...for as long as I've been looking at rental property around here, rent allowance was a dirty word because it usually meant you were poor/unemployed/refugee or a combination of the above, and hence there wrere probably better potential clients waiting in the wings...now suddenly when things go belly up rent allowance is good enough, since so many more people are on welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

limklad wrote: »
    I doubt it very much if Landlords will drop their prices, if anything the Rent relief and rent allowance was handy for the revenue Commissioners to know which houses are for rent and if that landlord is pay his/her taxes. I have come across three Landlords in my street, who have not registered their houses on PRTB which they are legal required to do so, I have check the publish list on http://www.prtb.ie/

I also see in the papers over the 10 years with comments "No Rent relief" advertised with houses for rent and are asking for the same price as those landlords (Who pay their taxes and above board) allow rent allowance.

The only one way price for rent to drop is when the market is oversupplied which leaves houses empty which cost money to Landlords. Any other excuse is an excuse for Landlords to increase Rents.

Many people who are in rented properties are on low income wages either far from their original homes or get away from their parents while trying to earn money. Most who are on rent relief cannot afford their own House or cannot get a mortgage especially in this economic climate and the failure of the government to regulate the banks and the warning signs they Blatantly ignored!

I wonder how much interest relief Mortgage Holders are getting in total in this country in comparison to Rent relief?

You say the only way for rent to drop is when the market is oversupplied but the market is oversupplied. There are tens of thousands of empty houses in Ireland today and if a large amount of money is taken out of the market through the removal of rent relief, the landlords will have the choice to reduce their rent or find themselves without tenants in a country where it's becoming increasingly difficult to get tenants. It's a renters market at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Brokenpromises

There are thousands of jobs out there all you need to do is look... Even if you lose your job it should be fairly easy to walk into another.

This was one extraordinarily ignorant (at best) comment. I am looking for a job for months. Every day I spend looking for a job, and throughout the night as well. I am applying for everything, and I am twisting my CV each time for the application in question. I have worked as a cashier, a building labourer, a petrol pump attendant, a supermarket employee and much more. I have applied for jobs in Yale University and many other universities across the world only to be informed months later that the positions in question have been cancelled.

That's my "real world" experience. Academically, I finished in the top 10% of my year in both my degree subjects, and I received a doctoral scholarship for my PhD. I went through a 2-hour PhD viva voce and was awarded my doctorate by a panel of five academics. None of this matters now: I just want to work, and I have left most of this out of my applications. I merely want to earn money after years of working for no money, after of years of working out of love for my subject. More importantly, I want to work to pay off the debts that arose out of this education, which are now a cause of worry for me. I never gambled and I never took risks during the "Celtic Tiger" years; I just did my work while everybody around me passed me out in material terms. I didn't mind because I expected I would be fine when my postgrad was finished. I am conscientious as well as hardworking. I am obviously highly motivated - undoubtedly more motivated than you or people who think like you - to get up year after year and work without any material reward. Other people, people who in arrogance terms are evidently like you, messed this up for people like me.

How dare you.

You say the only way for rent to drop is when the market is oversupplied but the market is oversupplied. There are tens of thousands of empty houses in Ireland today and if a large amount of money is taken out of the market through the removal of rent relief, the landlords will have the choice to reduce their rent or find themselves without tenants in a country where it's becoming increasingly difficult to get tenants. It's a renters market at the moment

Buy to let investors who have entered the market in recent years aren't going to drop these rents...they can't. Their business model relied in being able to meet mortgage repayments whilst the property gained equity...now they are faced with negative equity, an ever declining number of potential tenants and a possible cut in rent allowances.
    In most cases I can see keys just being handed back to banks here, rather than them trying to operate at a loss for the life of the loan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Read the whole thread before responding mmkay?

No you can't and learn to stop insulting people. It will make you a nicer person :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

surely thats the fault of you and your partner?

where are your savings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

This was one extraordinarily ignorant (at best) comment. I am looking for a job for months. Every day I spend looking for a job, and throughout the night as well. I am applying for everything, and I am twisting my CV each time for the application in question. I have worked as a cashier, a building labourer, a petrol pump attendant, a supermarket employee and much more. I have applied for jobs in Yale University and many other universities across the world only to be informed months later that the positions in question have been cancelled.

That's my "real world" experience. Academically, I finished in the top 10% of my year in both my degree subjects, and I received a doctoral scholarship for my PhD. I went through a 2-hour PhD viva voce and was awarded my doctorate by a panel of five academics. None of this matters now: I just want to work, and I have left most of this out of my applications. I merely want to earn money after years of working for no money, after of years of working out of love for my subject. More importantly, I want to work to pay off the debts that arose out of this education, which are now a cause of worry for me. I never gambled and I never took risks during the "Celtic Tiger" years; I just did my work while everybody around me passed me out in material terms. I didn't mind because I expected I would be fine when my postgrad was finished. I am conscientious as well as hardworking. I am obviously highly motivated - undoubtedly more motivated than you or people who think like you - to get up year after year and work without any material reward. Other people, people who in arrogance terms are evidently like you, messed this up for people like me.

How dare you.

you cant find a job, anywhere on the planet?