Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fast Food - Have We Gone Too Far?

• 28-07-2009 03:48AM
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was reading another forum here on boards.ie yesterday and in passing it was mentioned that there is now an outlet of Supermacs on Inis Mor in the Arann Islands. :eek::(

Is this not taking things a bit too far? Don't get me wrong - I like the occasional Big Mac, Whopper and 3 Piece Colonel's Original Chicken but surely there's an appropriate time and place for fast food, and the Arann Islands isn't one of those places?

What next, a McDonalds at the top of Croagh Patrick? A KFC in the middle of Lough Key Forest Park, a Burger King at the Cliffs of Moher?

Where do we draw the line?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Islanders deserve taco fries too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

JupiterKid wrote: »

When demand doesn't justify it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Why not? It's an island, not a holocaust memorial. People still have to eat. Supermacs is gut wrenchingly disgusting though so I'll agree that it shouldn't be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

What next, a McDonalds at the top of Croagh Patrick? A KFC in the middle of Lough Key Forest Park, a Burger King at the Cliffs of Moher?

Hi theses are actually really good ideas. I'll pass them on thanks for the suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

That super macs has been there for years, and the top of Crough Patrick wouldn't be a viable place to set up a McDonalds don't be silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Why not? It's an island, not a holocaust memorial. People still have to eat. Supermacs is gut wrenchingly disgusting though so I'll agree that it shouldn't be there.

I had a burger in the cafe in auschwitz, wasnt great tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

this is stupid. what they shouldn't be allowed fast food cos they live on an island? :confused:

Now thats abit harsh! We live on an island to you know!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

ok then cos they live on a mini island with an irish name?

You think they shouldnt be entitled to fastfood for that? Thats fukkin racist!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Burger King at Cliff's of Moher would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

CHD wrote: »
    Burger King at Cliff's of Moher would be great.

At least the Gulls would have something decent to eat for a change. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Is Inis Mor a place of national interest or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

Simple open market economics, If the people of the Aarann islands didnt use it, then it would close...
    See your point though with regard to the chain outlets but thats progress I suppose :rolleyes:

At least the Gulls would have something decent to eat for a change. :D

I'm not sure about the decent bit !

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

No because it has the potential to turn the islands into nothing different from anywhere else and as such ****ing the tourist trade on the island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Seraphicblue

Have gone too far?
    No we have not

I know this because we dont have this or this

mmmmmmmmmm
    But oh god I wish we did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Have gone too far?
    No we have not

But oh god I wish we did

Shut the fcuk up Donny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

I was reading another forum here on boards.ie yesterday and in passing it was mentioned that there is now an outlet of Supermacs on Inis Mor in the Arann Islands. :eek::(

Have you ever been to Galway*? There are more Supermacs and Abras than there are people from memory.

*: if you havent been dont bother, its horrendously overrated.

Jesus I miss the takeaways back home that you mainly eat in locked (Supermacs, Abras... :( )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

shane86 wrote: »
    Have you ever been to Galway*? There are more Supermacs and Abras than there are people from memory.

*: if you havent been dont bother, its horrendously overrated.

Jesus I miss the takeaways back home that you mainly eat in locked (Supermacs, Abras... :( )

There is no abra in Galway city.

true story.

And I only know of 4 super macs.

Eyre Square, Merlin Park, Cross Street and Salthill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Seaneh wrote: »

Jesus! Galway is even worse than I thought!

Theres deffo one in Loughrea. Awful spot in the rain. I passed a few on the bus and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Is this not taking things a bit too far? Don't get me wrong - I like the occasional Big Mac, Whopper and 3 Piece Colonel's Original Chicken but surely there's an appropriate time and place for fast food, and the Arann Islands isn't one of those places?

Where there is demand there is supply. I suppose it would be nicer to see someone selling us leprecauns and bits of irish stick and stone and of course the occasional rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Supermacs do menus 'as Gaeilge' so fair play to them for that.

I don't eat much fast food myself, but it is not feasible that all locals and visitors could be quaintly fed on tea and sandwiches or gourmet maincourses to accommodate some people's 'sacred national theme park' view of the island. The island is a living working place where people like you and I reside, and is not a theme park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Have gone too far?
    No we have not

mmmmmmmmmm
    But oh god I wish we did
    That 100x100 burger looks rank. Those people deserve to die for eating that, what's with the colour of the meat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Eh... don't you live on a small island with an Irish name?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

true story.

Waitasecond, what happened to the one on the corner of Eyre square, just up from the Skeff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Eh... don't you live on a small island with an Irish name?

I think Sinèads point is just because they live a bit out of the way doesn't mean they shouldn't have Mighty Macs etc.

She's for fast food on the island.

I could be wrong though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Waitasecond, what happened to the one on the corner of Eyre square, just up from the Skeff?
    It's in disguise. I was in Galway for the first time in ages there about two weeks ago and they'd stuck some bit of ply over abra and called it monkey hut or kebab monster or something, possibly. I was very high at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

ScumLord wrote: »
    I was very high at the time.
    That's no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

That's been there for quite some time.
    Where do we draw the line?

The whole post reads like one of those letters you'd read in the Indo from a yank who hasn't been here in 50 years giving out about the modernisation of the country, perfectly willing to live the fast paced life themselves and have that comforts that that brings for them and their families but selfishly wishing that a land with which they have nothing to do, will remain like it did in their Oirish, Darby O'Gill fantasties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I had a burger in the cafe in auschwitz, wasnt great tbh.

Why? Did it give you gas, or just leave a taste of ashes in your mouth?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Now if they had built it in the middle of Dun Aengus you might have a point OP. But since it is in the village WTF? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭lala stone

true story.

One out by the regional,, one in the galw shoppin centre.,,,

The thing is that it's not even your typical neon sign, tacky fronted Supermacs. It has to conform to certain local planning and such, is toned down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Supermacs in Kilronan is tiny (orange building on the right of photo) and is closes at 10 or 10.30 certainly not an all nighter.

http://i1.trekearth.com/photos/20073/kilronan-harbour800.jpg

lala stone wrote: »
    One out by the regional,, one in the galw shoppin centre.,,,

The one out by the "regional" or GMIT as it's been called for 20 odd years, is merlin park, had forgotten about the SC though.

The Regional usually refers to UCHG...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As long as we don't give them a bridge I don't care what them island folk get.

toiletduck wrote: »
    Yes thats what I meant thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

there's a huge demand for it in Ireland. Take a look at McDonald's on Jervis st at any time or day of the week, full of fat unemployed knacker young ones with prams, is disgusting! Still I'm partial to junk food sometimes alright.

toiletduck wrote: »

el hospital?

Oh yeah, theres a supermacs on newcastle road alright...

I'm sure there's anotherone out westside too now that i think of it...

el hospital?

Yup.
    I'm sure there's anotherone out westside too now that i think of it...

No, you're thinking of the McDonalds in the shopping centre. /Fast Food expert

In fairness why should ppl who live there not have one.. just because someone on the Mainland who never goes or lives there thinks it may ruin the whole quaint Island vibe..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

That 100x100 burger looks rank. Those people deserve to die for eating that, what's with the colour of the meat?

Alot of it was raw...

.. and yes the pigs ate that too :eek::confused::eek:

- Drav

They are cooked medium rare, like a good burger should be!

Ok, according to wiki (which is probably, as usual, wrong) 259 people live in the biggest town on the island, so that means the total population of the island is probably less than 500?

Can 500 people sustain a super macs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

Can 500 people sustain a super macs?

The tourists probably do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

At least it isn't on Craggy Island yet though it's near!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=gT9xuXQjxMM

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭greyed

There should be a Mos Burger everywhere :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Supermacs is closed on the islands now... It was turned in to a bike shop, ironic or what :)