Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In case you didn't know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

some of the comments are hilarious...
    LANCE DRUGSTRONG,GO TO IRAK...SOME KIDS ARE STIL ALIVE..NO QUESTIONS ASKED SURVIVOR NATURE FRICK!!

:D WTF?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

And Armstrong snubs Contador

Lance preferring drinks with his new paymasters rather than celebrate the winning of the yellow jersey with his better, Contador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Isn't Lance a bit old to be acting the maggot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Well i think that was pretty obvious in the whole tour. A man like Armstrong can't be no2 in the team and it probably hurt him to see Contador flying by. And i still think that LA got much more help from the team than Contador, fair play to the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Was watching "some cycling movie" the other day and someone reffered to LA as "cunning". Says it all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

LA ,has in the record books where it counts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

jwshooter wrote: »
    LA ,has in the record books where it counts.
    Suspect Contador might better his record. grand tours already. This one with practically no help from the team , TTT excepted.
    That said 7 TDF's demands a degree of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Contador, publicly criticised by Armstrong for ignoring team orders during the Tour

hypocritical much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

The above links clarify even more that LA is a bully.

I feel sorry for any future Radioshack rider who falls out of favor with Lance. First the twitter wave of propoganda will discredit the rider before the politruks shoot any who try to flee.

It is set up nicely for next year, Alberto versus Lance: the most talented rider in the world versus the most marketable rider.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

This just in via Twitter:
    Lance Armstrong:Seeing these comments from AC. If I were him I'd drop this drivel and start thanking his team. w/o them, he doesn't win. hey pistolero, there is no "i" in "team". what did i say in March? Lots to learn. Restated.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

hey pistolero, there is no "i" in "team". what did i say in March? Lots to learn. Restated.
    RT @axelmerckx: A champion is also measured on how much he respect his teammates and opponents. You can win a race on your own not a grand tour.

Saucer of milk!
    http://twitter.com/lancearmstrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Lance wrote:
    there is no "i" in "team"

Take that, pistolero!

brent.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

johanbruyneel Sometimes it is better to be silent and thought a fool, than to speak up and remove all doubt!

Hmm..

Junior wrote: »
    johanbruyneel Sometimes it is better to be silent and thought a fool, than to speak up and remove all doubt!

This is classic. Can we get a Big Brother type cycling house? LA, AC, Cav, Kimmage, and a few more in one house for 3 weeks! Woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Liamo08

To be fair Contador saying:

"He is a great rider and has completed a great race but it is another thing on a personal level, where I have never had great admiration for him and I never will".

Is pretty dumb, he doesn't need to get into this sort of thing. He was the strongest guy in the race and should just leave it at that, its not like he's had any problem not answering questions on other subjects in the last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

There's no "I" in team but if you look closely there's a "me"

Liamo08 wrote: »
    Is pretty dumb, he doesn't need to get into this sort of thing. He was the strongest guy in the race and should just leave it at that, its not like he's had any problem not answering questions on other subjects in the last week.
    He was being goaded by Armstrong for weeks if not months. It's only natural to crack eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

my guess is contador has kept his mouth shut till after the tdf, guess he's letting it all out now
    fairly obvious bruyneel wanted lance to win

one of the comments "alberto was pulled by his teammates all the way" musta been watching a different race to me he wasnt even protected on the final stage

armstrong reckons yu dont win without a team contador seems to have done ! (TTT excepted)

Diarmuid wrote: »
    He was being goaded by Armstrong for weeks if not months. It's only natural to crack eventually.

To be fair that link is not exactly a massive insult and none of us actually now what was going on behind the scenes. I think he did his talking on the road, the pair of them are just sounding like bickering school kids now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

To be fair its that link is not exactly a massive insult and none of us actually now what was going on behind the scenes. I think he did his talking on the road, the pair of them are just sounding like bickering school kids now.

They are, but Contador kept his mouth shut during the Tour, unlike Lance who wasn't shy about having subtle digs at Contador.

Contador was also signed to a team where he was supposed to be the leader. Then Lance decides to return, and join that same team, managed by his ex-manager and friend.

In addition, during the Tour they are organising their new team for next year.

Under the circumstances Contador has been incredibly restrained.

To be fair that link is not exactly a massive insult and none of us actually now what was going on behind the scenes. I think he did his talking on the road, the pair of them are just sounding like bickering school kids now.

Come on! AC won all three tours within the space of a year but has to listen to LA tell him "he has a lot to learn". Please.

As for what was going on behind the scenes, from where I was sitting, most of it was played out by LA on twitter or in his interview in the full public glare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I think Contador loves cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I think Contador loves cancer.

Both start with 'c' and end with an 'r'. Coincidence? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

jerseyeire wrote: »
    This just in via Twitter:

Jesus what a twat

How does this twitter thing work if I sign up and become a fan/friend of his can post comments on his page so he sees them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

like the way trek finally got contador a yellow-ish bike by the final stage, do i think lances yellow bike for the last ITT was coincidence, i think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Originally Posted by lancearmstrong viewpost.gif
    hey pistolero, there is no "i" in "team". what did i say in March? Lots to learn. Restated.

Saucer of milk!
    http://twitter.com/lancearmstrong

No, but if you look closely there's a "me"......

Jesus what a twat

How does this twitter thing work if I sign up and become a fan/friend of his can post comments on his page so he sees them ?

Yeah but he'll block you...

lukester wrote: »
    They are, but Contador kept his mouth shut during the Tour, unlike Lance who wasn't shy about having subtle digs at Contador.

Contador was also signed to a team where he was supposed to be the leader. Then Lance decides to return, and join that same team, managed by his ex-manager and friend.

In addition, during the Tour they are organising their new team for next year.

Under the circumstances Contador has been incredibly restrained.

I'm not disagreeing that Contador has reason to be annoyed, what I'm trying to say is that I don't think Contador has anything to gain by getting into a war of words with Armstrong. Up until this point he has said nothing and has come across well in his stance on the whole situation. If Armstrong wants to run his mouth off then let him he is the one that will look foolish by doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

I follow this geezer on Twitter, he used to give live race reports back in April. Then he changed his name to 'sacredvelo' which unnerved me a bit, and it started to become clear that he's a Lanceaholic.

Anyway, these are his recent Tweets on cancer, zero irony:

"For all of us yellow banders, regroup... cancer is our enemy. The "comeback" is about nailing cancer into retirement."

then...

"Who cares about the #TdF podium and the bickering? Cancer loves to keep us disracted. As long as we're distracted, cancer can thrive."

http://twitter.com/sacredvelo

I swear, these people are living out Team America, for real. Can I change my name to YellowBander?

Jesus what a twat

You can ask him questions, he answered a few negative ones during the tour - not too many though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

lol, there's a difference between being goaded for months and being goaded and being going three months ago.:rolleyes:

There's also a difference between being goaded and having somebody give a perfectly fair and adequate criticism.
    Was watching "some cycling movie" the other day and someone reffered to LA as "cunning". Says it all really.

Well actually it doesnt.

I assume you were watching "overcoming"? In that case I think the comment loses a lot of its intention when it is put out of context.

I dont particularly like coming down on the side of Armstrong tbh but when I see the stuff a lot of people come out with it just makes me roll my eyes. Absolute double standards. You cant win so many tours my tickling peoples balls with feathers...the psychological aspect of the sport is huge, LA was a master at using that to his advantage.

Now if you dont like that or dont agree with it fine (imo your being over-sensitive) but dont criticise when you know if Alberto or Andy or another rider did the same you would'nt bat an eyelid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

lol, there's a difference between being goaded for months and being goaded and being going three months ago.:rolleyes:
    Huh?
    There's also a difference between being goaded and having somebody give a perfectly fair and adequate criticism.
    3 Grand tours in 12 months..... Did lance ever manage that? I don't think anyone would remotely appreciate some old fart coming back from retirement and telling them how to do their job when they have already proven they are doing an awesome job no?
    I dont particularly like coming down on the side of Armstrong tbh but when I see the stuff a lot of people come out with it just makes me roll my eyes. Absolute double standards. You cant win so many tours my tickling peoples balls with feathers...the psychological aspect of the sport is huge, LA was a master at using that to his advantage.
    Those few sentences don't work together? Winning requires a strong will, there is no need to go running off to the media to say your team leader has lots to learn? and then more or less usurp his team from him?
    Now if you dont like that or dont agree with it fine (imo your being over-sensitive) but dont criticise when you know if Alberto or Andy or another rider did the same you would'nt bat an eyelid.
    Don't like which? this thread is pretty much about AC's reply, and yep no eyelid batting..it was coming for a long time. God only knows what AC's life was like working for LA's best m8, with LA and a bunch of his m8's. That is not the best working environment....frankly i think AC was pretty restrained and diplomatic in his comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

RobFowl wrote: »
    Suspect Contador might better his record. grand tours already. This one with practically no help from the team , TTT excepted.
    That said 7 TDF's demands a degree of respect.

Unless you act like a total dick.

NYT wrote:
    In the last week of the Tour, Armstrong said he and Contador were never that close, mostly because of the language barrier. Armstrong also said that they were unable to get to know each other because they had trained in separate countries and had little interaction before the Tour.
    “I probably would have done it differently,” Armstrong said of the way Contador dealt with him joining the team this season.
    “If I put myself in that position, even in ’99 or 2000, when I was young and ambitious, if Indurain would have come to the team, he still would have come to the team because he’s Indurain,” he said, referring to the five-time Tour champion Miguel Indurain of Spain. “That doesn’t mean he has to win, but he’s the leader because he’s a legend. Not that I’m a legend.”

Don't think i even saw that, lance publicly said he should be the leader of Astana?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

I enjoyed listening to Lance about his new team during the tour. That in my opinion was unprofessional and stupid. Basically he's saying he doesn't believe in the team (which is fine but no during the biggest race of thae year). Then he proceeded to list off who he would like in the new team.... Johan, Chris Horner, Levi, Kloden etc.... Contador wasn't mentioned.

I can't believe he did that he's such a strange guy to be calling Contador out for saying it wasn't a good environment while he in the background is splitting the team..... If you were Kloden racing for Astana and knew next year you would be riding with LA's new team who would you support... Don't bite the hand that feeds you.

If you were Kloden racing for Astana and knew next year you would be riding with LA's new team who would you support... Don't bite the hand that feeds you.
    If Kloden is riding anything more than a tricycle next year, then you can assume that cycling is as screwed as ever.

Is that cause of the alleged blood transfusions in 06? Is there an investigation going on into it?

I can't believe he was allowed to ride the tour with that hanging over him. Poor Tommeke had serious grief over some indiscretions while out boozing, but for some reason blood transfusions didn't raise the same profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Much as I find LA hard to take, I just cant warm to AC either. They deserve each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Bloodbag with AC written on it found in Operation Puerto which Coni would very much like to get their hands on. Wonder did Lance refer to Contador as "AC" on purpose in his twitter ! (Doubt it, but hey you have to entertain yourself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

470-contador.jpg

It would be priceless to see LA's reaction if AC were ever tested positive. Just how would he react?

i think cycling weekly's tweet summs it up well:
    Contador's interview = considered and appropriate. Armstrong and Bruyneel's Twitter response = pathetic
    Is Twitter bullying going to be the new thing this year? Seems it's all the rage with some people.
    Ironically, Contador had little to thank Armstrong for in the end, who if anything, was another rival to contend with, not a team-mate.

ROK ON wrote: »
    It would be priceless to see LA's reaction if AC were ever tested positive. Just how would he react?

i think he'd be quaking in his boots that his name might be next in the press?

Why, he's clean surely. The most tested athlete in the galaxy, if not entire universe, you know.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I think that, aside from the Twitter sniping, a lot of the stuff that fuelled Contador's remarks has gone unreported in the English language press. For example, he apparently became a persona non grata on the team after the Andorra Arcalis stage (when he launched his first attack of the Tour), and retreated into a small support circle of Sergio Paulinho, his mechanic and his soigneur. It got so bad that he found that there was no car to take him to the time trial on Thursday, with all of the team vehicles taken by Armstrong for visiting family and friends. The same thing happened at the end of the Ventoux stage and he had to get a lift with his brother.

Ultimately, I think Armstrong may be shooting himself in the foot with all of this griping. By all accounts he's come back to reestablish himself on the world stage and position himself for a career after cycling. Now, he's just beginning to look like a sore loser.

It is kind of funny to hear him preaching about teamwork, since he was famous for subordinating his own team to only one goal, his victory.

I still doubt that neither Armstrong nor Bruyneel were naive enough to think that Armstrong would beat Contador. Instead I think they wanted to stage manage Armstrong's return as much as possible, having him take an early yellow jersey and run a close second to Contador, for example. When Contador refused to go along with this, they started throwing their toys out of the pram.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I assume you were watching "overcoming"? In that case I think the comment loses a lot of its intention when it is put out of context.

Yes it was Overcoming, you may believe it loses its intention out of context but I'm simply saying someone reffered to him as cunning and to me that's a negative in sport no matter what the context.

el tonto wrote: »
    It got so bad that he found that there was no car to take him to the time trial on Thursday, with all of the team vehicles taken by Armstrong for visiting family and friends. The same thing happened at the end of the Ventoux stage and he had to get a lift with his brother.

I think they actually mentioned this on eurosport, but kind of laughed it off.

el tonto wrote: »
    Ultimately, I think Armstrong may be shooting himself in the foot with all of this griping. By all accounts he's come back to reestablish himself on the world stage and position himself for a career after cycling. Now, he's just beginning to look like a sore loser.
    In Europe yeah, but i doubt it'll be seen like that state-side... at least by the general public
    I still doubt that neither Armstrong nor Bruyneel were naive enough to think that Armstrong would beat Contador. Instead I think they wanted to stage manage Armstrong's return as much as possible, having him take an early yellow jersey and run a close second to Contador, for example. When Contador refused to go along with this, they started throwing their toys out of the pram.

I still think we were robbed of a great show down on ventoux by AC acting as the good team mate...I suspect he might not have wanted the bad press that would have come of it(he got alot of slating in the press over the Kloden thing despite AC saying Kloden said it was ok to attack and no one has contradicted that...)... but AS and AC going for the stage win on ventoux would have been an impressive sight...

I know its a bit conspiracy nut of me, but am I the only one who thinks Kloden would be on the podium instead of LA if he hadn't been helping LA all the time? he would have leap frogged LA on verbier if he hadn't been baby sitting... though i guess he know's who writes the cheque's...