Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst first date?

• 26-07-2009 9:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭

When my ex broke up with me a couple of years ago after four years I was distraught. I went out with my brother one night and ended up snogging one of his friends, said friend was a horny inexpeiernced octopus like teenager!
    I started talking to a bloke we met on the street to get away from him, we ended up chatting on a wall until 6am. He took my number and arranged a date that night, on the way home he rang me about 5 times. Now that should have been enough to make the alarm bells ring, but everyone kept saying I needed to get over my ex and to go on the date.

Ignoring the bad feeling in my stomach I went. He took me to a pub on the far side of the city, it was going ok. It was a bit weird, he didn't smoke and anytime I went out for one he would come out too and be rude to anyone who talked to me. We were talking about holidays and I said I would love to go to Italy, and he said "I'll bring you!! when do you want to go?" By this stage I was feeling a bit uncomfortable and changed the subject. Famous actors came up and I said jokingly "Oh Johnny Depp, if he walked in here now, I'd run away with him!" He started to get jealous. :eek:

I knew it was time to leave, he started pleading with me to go to a hotel with him. I said "No I'm going home" he then said "Well we can't go to my house, my ex wife is there" :eek::eek: Ex wife???

I got into a taxi and he jumped in and started saying he was going to visit a friend out where I live. At this stage I was texting my friend saying "Please be in I'm coming to your house NOW" and he tried to grab my phone! Started calling me "A c*nt and a horrible b*tch"

The taxi man (god bless him) pulled over and told him to get out. He did, but not before calling me more names. The taxi man was raging when I told him what had happened!

Anyway, then the phone calls started. I turned my phone on silent and went to bed.

I woke up the next morning, I had 47 missed phone calls, 25 text messages and 15 voice messages varying between "Your a c*nt" and "I love you" :eek:

Had to change my number and get my friend to meet me after work every night for about two weeks ( I had stupidly let slip were I worked).

I look back and laugh at it now, but I will never ever go against my gut feeling!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

JEEZE
    thats bloody awful!

i snogged a bloke once and we dated twice.... both events were alcohol fuelled..... he was also very jealous and controlling and weird in similar ways to your date.... i even ran out of a night club with a mate to get away from him.... met him MONTHS later and he kept trying to talk to me and I hopped in a cab and went home.... HE FOLLOWED ME........... i started roaring i'd call the guards....
    shudder- i still bump into him in a bar i go to and he will always try to acknowledge me but he hasnt the balls to go much further as your fella did.

holy crap. some ppl are insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭bubblicious

This'll be a long post - sorry in advance!

Went on a date with an American guy about 2 years ago (was living in America at the time). He seemed grand the first night I met him (drink was involved of course!) and we swapped numbers. Rang me the next day asking me to go on a date with him. After about 10 minutes I gave in and agreed. We were meant to meet at some pub and I decided to bring my friends along, seeing as how I didn't know him very well. We (my friends and I) had to get a bus to get to the pub - bus never turned up so I text him and told him we were going to a different pub and I'd see him some other night. Que phonecalls and texts saying my friends were ruining our date, he didn't want them around on our first date, blah blah (earlier he was fine about them tagging along, wasn't like it was an intimate date or anything!). Then he turned up at the pub I said we were going to, all apologetic and chatting away to my friends. He wanted to go on a date the next time so I reluctanly agreed (I should've trusted my instincts and said no!)

The next night he picked me up and brought me to Chillis for dinner. Proceeded to order my food, tell the waitress that I wanted JD and coke, give out about the waitress when she brought me a plain coke like I'd ordered (apparently she was too fat to do her job properly - she was at most a size 12, nowhere near fat!). After dinner we went to the cinema, and he lifted the armrest between us and tried to drag me onto his lap! Tried to explain the movie to me (Ocean's 13) because I'm blonde and I clearly couldn't grasp the film! After the cinema I said I wanted to go home cos I had work the next day (just an excuse) but he brought me back to his house anyways. When I finally managed to convince him to drop me home, he kept going on about how he was going to kidnap me and take me across the mexican border. He could hide me under his bed for a while first, and the cops would never know I was there...and then he could console one of my friends and do the same thing to her! I was so happy to get home that night!

Needless to say I never met up with him again (though the next day he kept ringing and texting because he was passing the place where he thought I was working and wanted to bring me home!)

Again, sorry for the long post, and that's just the main stuff that happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

hellooooo... the first thing i would be doing would be calling 911 in that case, ya poor thing. What a nut job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

Went on a date with an American guy about 2 years ago (was living in America at the time). He seemed grand the first night I met him (drink was involved of course!) and we swapped numbers. Rang me the next day asking me to go on a date with him. After about 10 minutes I gave in and agreed. We were meant to meet at some pub and I decided to bring my friends along, seeing as how I didn't know him very well. We (my friends and I) had to get a bus to get to the pub - bus never turned up so I text him and told him we were going to a different pub and I'd see him some other night. Que phonecalls and texts saying my friends were ruining our date, he didn't want them around on our first date, blah blah (earlier he was fine about them tagging along, wasn't like it was an intimate date or anything!). Then he turned up at the pub I said we were going to, all apologetic and chatting away to my friends. He wanted to go on a date the next time so I reluctanly agreed (I should've trusted my instincts and said no!)

The next night he picked me up and brought me to Chillis for dinner. Proceeded to order my food, tell the waitress that I wanted JD and coke, give out about the waitress when she brought me a plain coke like I'd ordered (apparently she was too fat to do her job properly - she was at most a size 12, nowhere near fat!). After dinner we went to the cinema, and he lifted the armrest between us and tried to drag me onto his lap! Tried to explain the movie to me (Ocean's 13) because I'm blonde and I clearly couldn't grasp the film! After the cinema I said I wanted to go home cos I had work the next day (just an excuse) but he brought me back to his house anyways. When I finally managed to convince him to drop me home, he kept going on about how he was going to kidnap me and take me across the mexican border. He could hide me under his bed for a while first, and the cops would never know I was there...and then he could console one of my friends and do the same thing to her! I was so happy to get home that night!

Needless to say I never met up with him again (though the next day he kept ringing and texting because he was passing the place where he thought I was working and wanted to bring me home!)

:eek::eek: Oh my god.
    F*cking freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

In fairness, if I asked a girl on a date and she showed up with a bunch of her friends I would be pissed off. A date is a date. If you wanted to meet him with your friends, you should have told him, so he would have the opportunity to also bring some mates....

All that aside, yes he was a freak and you were unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

There seems to be A LOT of weirdos out there :P

My worst one was probably with a guy who I realised was... a bit odd when I first met him!

We met one night when we were both coming home from a college social, going into the apartment block where it turned out with both lived. His flatmate and my friend were getting on rather well, so we decided to head back to my apartment to relax and hang out.

Our friends were all over each other on the couch, so when he asked me to go to his to grab something, I couldn't get out the door fast enough! Once we got to his place, he pulled out his guitar, sat me down and started singing love songs to me. I was incredibly embarrassed, having known him for literally half an hour.

Due to being drunk, I didn't pull away when he tried to kiss me. After this had happened, he asked me if I wanted to watch a movie the next day. Before I even had a chance to answer he said "actually, do you want to spend the whole day together?" :o

Despite his coming on strong, my friends all advised me that he seemed like a nice guy so I tried very hard to like him. Even though the spark wasn't really there, I stayed in contact and tried to ignore all the weird things that were putting me off!

One night, he text me asking if he could come over to mine. I let him into my apartment a short time later. We were sitting on the couch chatting, he kept asking me very weird questions and putting me on the spot ; "Why do you keep breaking eye contact with me?" "Why are you so awkward around me?"

THEN he pounced on me, I decided at this point that letting him kiss me was better than having to answer his weird questions, so I went with it. Literally a minute after we'd started kissing, he stood up, pulled down his pants and asked me to give him head. I started laughing. Then he grabbed both my hands and started screaming "just touch it! just touch it!" I was absolutely mortified and told him he should leave. Then he started saying "Ahhh, I know what this is! You've never seen one before, have you?"

:eek: It was very odd. Funnily enough, we didn't speak much after that! I did meet him out one night though, I was walking into a bar and he was walking out. His response was to give me the middle finger and shout abuse at me and my friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

There seems to be A LOT of weirdos out there :P

My worst one was probably with a guy who I realised was... a bit odd when I first met him!

We met one night when we were both coming home from a college social, going into the apartment block where it turned out with both lived. His flatmate and my friend were getting on rather well, so we decided to head back to my apartment to relax and hang out.

Our friends were all over each other on the couch, so when he asked me to go to his to grab something, I couldn't get out the door fast enough! Once we got to his place, he pulled out his guitar, sat me down and started singing love songs to me. I was incredibly embarrassed, having known him for literally half an hour.

Due to being drunk, I didn't pull away when he tried to kiss me. After this had happened, he asked me if I wanted to watch a movie the next day. Before I even had a chance to answer he said "actually, do you want to spend the whole day together?" :o

Despite his coming on strong, my friends all advised me that he seemed like a nice guy so I tried very hard to like him. Even though the spark wasn't really there, I stayed in contact and tried to ignore all the weird things that were putting me off!

One night, he text me asking if he could come over to mine. I let him into my apartment a short time later. We were sitting on the couch chatting, he kept asking me very weird questions and putting me on the spot ; "Why do you keep breaking eye contact with me?" "Why are you so awkward around me?"

THEN he pounced on me, I decided at this point that letting him kiss me was better than having to answer his weird questions, so I went with it. Literally a minute after we'd started kissing, he stood up, pulled down his pants and asked me to give him head. I started laughing. Then he grabbed both my hands and started screaming "just touch it! just touch it!" I was absolutely mortified and told him he should leave. Then he started saying "Ahhh, I know what this is! You've never seen one before, have you?"

:eek: It was very odd. Funnily enough, we didn't speak much after that! I did meet him out one night though, I was walking into a bar and he was walking out. His response was to give me the middle finger and shout abuse at me and my friends!

feckin hell! what age were you when that happened?Pretty young Im gathering, considering he thought 'you've never seen one before'!

cojomo2 wrote: »
    feckin hell! what age were you when that happened?Pretty young Im gathering, considering he thought 'you've never seen one before'!

I was 20 :P

I still am 20, that happened earlier this year.

I was a second-year college student and he thought that the reason I was so against touching 'it' was because I'd never seen one before! He also asked if I was a virgin. I guess he never took into consideration how his bad timing or general weirdness might have been the cause of my less-than-up-for-it attitude!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

Very odd? You were lucky you weren't raped, by the sounds of it. Hope you're more careful after that creep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭bubblicious

cojomo2 wrote: »
    In fairness, if I asked a girl on a date and she showed up with a bunch of her friends I would be pissed off. A date is a date. If you wanted to meet him with your friends, you should have told him, so he would have the opportunity to also bring some mates....

All that aside, yes he was a freak and you were unlucky.

I told him I was bringing my friends with me, he was annoyed bacause he thought it was my friends who wanted to go to the other pub and that we'd made up the story about the bus never turning up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Very odd? You were lucky you weren't raped, by the sounds of it. Hope you're more careful after that creep.

You're making it sound like it's her fault :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Wasn't really a date but was out last week with some friends and got horribly drunk. Ended up kissing a guy which was fine and he insisted on walking me home. I said I was ok, was with my friends and basically just wasn't interested but he was adamant. He walked me home and I said thanks and he was like "Don't I get a goodbye kiss?!". I was sobering up at this stage and seriously did not wanna be with this guy so I told him I had a boyfriend, my usual 'leave me alone' line! Did he give up?! Nope. He stood outside, ringing the buzzer at 3am so my roomie let him in and put him to sleep on the couch....

A while later, he wanders into my room and tells me he at least deserves a blow job 'cause he walked me "all the way home" :rolleyes:

When I turned him down and told him to go home he tried it on with my friend right in front of me! Great guy! :pac::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Have you posted that story before pikachucheeks? If not, I think there might be a serial...him about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

mental07 wrote: »
    You're making it sound like it's her fault :confused:
    Certainly didn't mean that. Posted here on the fly yesterday. Sorry if that's how it came across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Have you posted that story before pikachucheeks? If not, I think there might be a serial...him about.

She did, in the worst relationships/sex/everything else thread. Laughed then, laughed now, but still find it to be quite disturbing.

Yeah, I did! I couldn't remember where, to answer your question, until I was enlightened...
    She did, in the worst relationships/sex/everything else thread. Laughed then, laughed now, but still find it to be quite disturbing.

Correct! It was disturbing. I laughed at the time as well, which I don't think helped the situation much!

Weirdly enough, it's not the worst experience I've had! It's just one of the ones I can laugh about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I wrote it before and I'l write it again

Date of a dating website, she went through my wallet, tuck money out of my wallet payed for something, Smoked all my cigerate's. Nawed my ears of me.... robed my lighter, Didn't like my car, gave out to me for wearing a really cool pair of jeans combaty type shorts, because apparently there not classy wtf Oh didn't even say thank you for me paying for a about 10 drinks I could go on. Spoke about her x boyfriends and said I never have one night stands... Yeah sure.... By Far one of the rudest women, I've ever meet in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

Some great stories there , Good few years back i met what i thought was a really lovely girl on the bus to Stillorgan after a fri night out, now it was late at night and i was steaming and to be fair so was she, as it happend we exchanged numbers , i fell off the bus and stumbled home.

Thought nothing of it next day then got text saying why didnt we meet up, i thought sounds good and we met in a pub near stephens green. Had a few drinks, i could sink a few pints at the time but by god this girl was something else, within about an hour she was well tanked, within about two hours she was ragin drunk, within three hours she was borderline psychotic.

I should have left but I felt I had a moral obligation to see her home in the state she was in , we had established she lives with her parents, so next the barman eventually refused her and i will never forget what happened, she shouts "no one says no to me you c**t and leaps the bar to try and hammer him. Im so mortified at this stage, then one bouncer grabs her another grabs me and there we are thrown into the street at 9.30 on a sat night.

Im beggin her to get a taxi home, she turns and knees me straight in the nuts, i not being a fighter go down like a ton of bricks whereupon I kid you not she kicks me in the head.

At that stage I still think why didnt i go home, but being reasonably sober i persist and eventually get her into a taxi, she proceeds to puke in the taxi. he hits me with a 90 euro charge for cleaning the taxi on top of the fare. Out we get at her house , i get your man to wait , bring her to the door, i take key and open it, she starts trying to drag me in, im trying to get out, then lo and behold out of the kitchen comes the mother with a bottle of wine in her hand, she looks at the daughter, all i hear is how dare you get my daughter in that state and lands an almighty smack right across my face.

At that stage i just gave up dropped her on the ground and got back in the taxi

next morning i get a text

"morning babe, that was mental night last night wasnt it, i had such a laugh"

I ask ya some people, still though i look back and laugh myself silly now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

starchild wrote: »
    Some great stories there , Good few years back i met what i thought was a really lovely girl on the bus to Stillorgan after a fri night out, now it was late at night and i was steaming and to be fair so was she, as it happend we exchanged numbers , i fell off the bus and stumbled home.

Thought nothing of it next day then got text saying why didnt we meet up, i thought sounds good and we met in a pub near stephens green. Had a few drinks, i could sink a few pints at the time but by god this girl was something else, within about an hour she was well tanked, within about two hours she was ragin drunk, within three hours she was borderline psychotic.

I should have left but I felt I had a moral obligation to see her home in the state she was in , we had established she lives with her parents, so next the barman eventually refused her and i will never forget what happened, she shouts "no one says no to me you c**t and leaps the bar to try and hammer him. Im so mortified at this stage, then one bouncer grabs her another grabs me and there we are thrown into the street at 9.30 on a sat night.

Im beggin her to get a taxi home, she turns and knees me straight in the nuts, i not being a fighter go down like a ton of bricks whereupon I kid you not she kicks me in the head.

At that stage I still think why didnt i go home, but being reasonably sober i persist and eventually get her into a taxi, she proceeds to puke in the taxi. he hits me with a 90 euro charge for cleaning the taxi on top of the fare. Out we get at her house , i get your man to wait , bring her to the door, i take key and open it, she starts trying to drag me in, im trying to get out, then lo and behold out of the kitchen comes the mother with a bottle of wine in her hand, she looks at the daughter, all i hear is how dare you get my daughter in that state and lands an almighty smack right across my face.

At that stage i just gave up dropped her on the ground and got back in the taxi

next morning i get a text

"morning babe, that was mental night last night wasnt it, i had such a laugh"

I ask ya some people, still though i look back and laugh myself silly now
    You sir should be sainted or whatever the process is called!

Starchild, I must say, you are a hero, I am guessing you are a Buddhist? Noone has that much patience.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Okay, I thought I had a bad one, but it's really tame compared to the ones here!

When I had just turned 18, I scored with this ridiculously attactive Italian guy in a club. He kept calling me his girlfriend, but I thought nothing of it. He took my number and texted me the next day asking me to go out that night. It was a Sunday, I had school the next morning, so I said no. We eventually made a date for coffee a few days later. When I'd met him in the club, I'd been wearing a ridiculously short skirt, but when I met him for coffee (in early March), I was wearing something much more covered up. He kept asking me why I wasn't wearing that skirt again, and didn't seem to understand that it was freezing outside!

Anyway, we met in a big place, but he dragged me right down to the darkest back corner and proceeded to basically maul me. He kept asking me to come back to his house and say "until 7.... tomorrow", that kind of thing. He was incapable of conversation. I resorted to going through a list of questions I'd prepared for my LC French oral exam, such as "What kind of music do you like", basic questions like that. He didn't like music, film, tv, books, he only liked me. I was getting really freaked out at this stage, when he stuck his tongue in my ear! I ran to the bathroom, faked an emergency call from my mum, and ran out of there as quickly as I could. He kept texting me for weeks afterwards.

It's almost a shame, because he was jaw-droppingly good looking.

Faith wrote: »
    It's almost a shame, because he was jaw-droppingly good looking.

Moral of the story is, and the same with pikachucheeks one, you can have all your handsome spaniards and Italians, but none of them have the decorum of an Irish man.:D