Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Delivery tips

• 25-07-2009 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭

I just had a pallet of tiles delivered, enough floor tiles for the ground floor, so there was quite a few. Anyway a mate of mine got me a good deal on them saved over e400. So I gave hin a few quid for the running around, using his contacts etc. He is out of work, so I though that was apporpriated.

Anyway I gave the delivery guy a lift in with them, it was COD, so I paid him what was due. He hung around a tad as if I was going to throw him a few quid. Normally I would, but with levies pension levies ect, I quite thight on the monies front, so he left empty handed.

So do you normally throw delivery guys a few euro?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, no. Only if it's a food delivery, look after those guys and you're never waiting long for your food!

Tiles though? Fúck em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

Nope, f*cker gets paid anyway. Not your place to sub him - no matter how used to it he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Same here, I'd tip for food deliveries, but not for anything else tbh.

i'd usually sleep with the postman if he delivers more that 4 letters to me in one day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

i'd usually sleep with the postman if he delivers more that 4 letters to me in one day.
    ...bull, i'd say you'd roide a hairy rasher ! :pac:

derby7 wrote: »
    ...bull, i'd say you'd roide a hairy rasher ! :pac:

[athlone knacker accent] i'll ride anything i get! [/athlone knacker accent]

I don't like cod (more of a herring fan), so they can stick their tip.

[athlone knacker accent] i'll ride anything i get! [/athlone knacker accent]

He's got a big chest !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

He's got a big chest
    of blow up dolls :pac::D

took me a while to get what ya were on about derby lol :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

a couple of years ago i had a big delivery due from b&q in newry, it was arranged to be there at 4.30 on a thursday and i had 3 mates there to help unload it.

it arrived at 3.oo on the friday while i was at work and the wife was on her own. the two big burly men who were on the truck simply used a crane like attachment to dump the pallets in the road,not even the garden,then watched my wife and 15 year old son unload them into a garage.

they moaned about having to wait for the empty pallets and when i arrived home an hour later they asked for a tip!!!

i went mental,the driver then tried to make out he was polish and did not understand.

i went back to b&q the next day and complained about thier service,thier attiude etc. b&q refunded my delivery charge.

then i spotted the delivery man having a chat with one of the checkout girls in perfect english with a northern accent. i just walked away laughing at the look on his face at being caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I don't like cod (more of a herring fan), so they can stick their tip.

I do, especially in a supermacs cod burger

but no srsly don't tip these lads you'll be helping bring in the ****ty part of American culture where everything appears to be cheap but the tips are almost mandatory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

soups05 wrote: »
    then i spotted the delivery man having a chat with one of the checkout girls in perfect english with a northern accent.

Spot the contradiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

I never let anyone into my house delivering since my neighbour had a guy claim after he fell down the stairs delivering chest of drawers a few years ago,and claimed, he broke his ankle and was only out for 8weeks work but cost the neighbour a nice sum think around €7k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

soundsham wrote: »
    I never let anyone into my house delivering since my neighbour had a guy claim after he fell down the stairs delivering chest of drawers a few years ago,and claimed, he broke his ankle and was only out for 8weeks work but cost the neighbour a nice sum think around €7k
    That sounds like a sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

it's not, its sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Spot the contradiction.

maybe the op is from Norn Iron himself, they're all convinced their pidgin english is flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

the pizza delivery guy usally gets a euro or two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd would definitely give a decent tip.

Something along the lines of carry two loads of tiles at a time and you''ll knock off quicker, mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

I'd mutter something about yellow snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

towel401 wrote: »
    I do, especially in a supermacs cod burger

but no srsly don't tip these lads you'll be helping bring in the ****ty part of American culture where everything appears to be cheap but the tips are almost mandatory

YES!! in upstate NY on study abraod last year and all the waitresses were a bunch of *****. NOT GETTING MY TIP YOU HAIRY BITCH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

soundsham wrote: »

Serious? How?

The delivery driver would be covered under the companies commercial insurance. Sure if I leave work I'm covered for an hour on it and I work in an office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

genericguy wrote: »
    maybe the op is from Norn Iron himself, they're all convinced their pidgin english is flawless.

no from the south thank god, what i should have posted was speaking in perfect norn iron muck english.

better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

What's the logic in only tipping food delivers - leave the tipping culture on the other side of the Atlantic.