Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

God is a prick

• 24-07-2009 11:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

Whether he exists or not, I think he's an awful prick. I'm entitled to my opinion.

What do my fellow AH'ers think of the ould swine we have become so accustomed to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

if he existed he would be a prick alrite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If he exists, I'd imagine god's neither nice nor a prick... just there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

He's a fictional character though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

I am God...

*cue prison sentence for blasphemy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

thread reported to the local station...the gardai are on their way

I'm with Dudess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Yes he made you post this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Leftyflip wrote: »
    I am God...

*cue prison sentence for blasphemy*

you're a prick. . . apparently:D

can i get the green pyjamas for my prison stay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I hate when people keep repeating "I'm entitled to my opinion"

We all bleeding know you're entitled to your bleeding opinions. That's why it's called your OPINION!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Blunt and to the point. I like this thread.

Met some cult pushers in UCD yesterday but didn't feel like passing this sentiment onto them, they scared me little. Which in fact strengthens my belief that the op is right and god is, indeed, a prick.

theteal wrote: »
    you're a prick. . . apparently:D

can i get the green pyjamas for my prison stay?

Only if you light candles and give me money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't care what you think of me, i won't be making an issue about it under the blasphemy laws.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

I'm with Dudess.

Are ye? Lucky you. Is she nekkid right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

To quote the charter...
    The new defamation bill including the blasphemy amendment was passed today. So there's to be no badmouthing Terry, God, Jesus, Buddha, Allah, Eric Clapton, Vishnu, AlmightyCushion, Thor, the Sun (the cancer ball not the cancerous rag) or whatever you're having yourself.

You have been warned.
    YOU INSULTED ERIC CLAPTON AND GOD. You dirty, vile, evil, evil bastard. The Irish state will come, close boards forever, and then all boardsies will come and give you a dirty...painful...horrid...finger-wag. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Met him once, didn't like the looks of him. Shady character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

K4t wrote: »
    Whether he exists or not, I think he's an awful prick. I'm entitled to my opinion.

What do my fellow AH'ers think of the ould swine we have become so accustomed to?

Without a shadow of a doubt, the big man has a ferociously dark sense of humour.

Ruu wrote: »
    Met him once, didn't like the looks of him. Shady character.

I honestly don't remember you.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

God is as real as angels. They're as real as Santa. And he's as real as the tooth fairy. The Tooth Fairy is as real as leprechauns.
    Serisously. "God" exists as a way to comfort people as he always has. I know people who I know and care about who believe but I would never hold it against them. I don't see it as much of a weakness because while they believe rather feverantly they also don't let it interfere with they're lives. I think the people that do need serious psychological aid.
    God is a kind of childish crutch. What I like is when people say, well if God exists can you explain why this is so? Usually I can. It might involve some theory rather than solid fact but isn't that better than random mythological guess work? It is much closer the mark.
    A lot of religious types see science as some sort of religion. That couldn't be further from the truth because what science is, is the truth. The study of everything, essentially, from a logical point of view. When certain people hear "logical" they roll they're eyes. When they roll their eyes, generally I mark them off for extinction.

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Blunt and to the point.

never noticed before that that phrase seems a little like a paradox..

but yes, god is a prick. i don't even see why he would need to make his presence felt 2000 years ago to end up never coming back again.

You're not God I am!
    Arrest me, silly government...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I imagine God to be like Bertie Ahern. He may seem like a prick but get to know him and he's grand. He'll even get you a pint of the old Bass...... even though it's fcuking rank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

i don't even see why he would need to make his presence felt 2000 years ago to end up never coming back again.

Yeah, clearly last time didn't work out so well, what with everyone hating his son and then crucifying him and all. Bit of a quitter really. Has he never heard the phrase "if at first you don't succeed..."

What a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Nah! He's not so bad.

He invented Dumb Yanks, for the rest of us to point at and laugh at. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭IRISH DAYWALKER

god and jesus still love you all no matter what ye think of him god is love he always was always will be no matter what ye say!!!

Ew.... a guy loves me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Well, I suppose it's nice to have that settled.

Alright everyone, it's settled now! You can all relax! It's been sorted! Yes, you in the Middle East, you too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I know. He gave us birds, trees, oceans and the miracle of punctuation.
    You don't truly love God until you use correct punctuation.

(The word 'God' should always be spelled with a capital G, by the way. It's disrespectful not to. Or blasphemous; I forget which)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

That_Guy wrote: »
    I imagine God to be like Bertie Ahern. He may seem like a corrupt ****-bag prick but get to know him and he's a corrupt ****-bag prick. He'll even get you a pint of the old Bass...... even though it's fcuking rank.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's got a wicked sense of humour, which is ironic to say the least.:eek: That Tsunami joke was hilarious.:eek:

Ew.... a guy loves me.

Well, you are That Guy;:D So you love yourself.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Jakkass must be on the drink tonight.

Senna wrote: »
    PYF

FYP

galwayrush wrote: »
    Well, you are That Guy;:D So you love yourself.;)

I totally would do myself.

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Jakkass must be on the drink tonight.

lol :pac: was thinkin he mustn't be near a computer. usually his spidey-senses have him in the thread in a matter of minutes.

Maybe he found a wimmenz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Shryke wrote: »
    Seriously. "God" exists as a way to comfort people as he always has. I know people who I know and care about who believe but I would never hold it against them. I don't see it as much of a weakness because while they believe rather feverantly they also don't let it interfere with they're lives. I think the people that do need serious psychological aid.

God is a kind of childish crutch.

I used to think that too.

But for me, now, in my consciousness, God is real and nothing is the same - I entered into a new life, hard to explain and no need. I was pleased to see the title of this thread, it means the OP is brave enough to abandon all previous ideas about the subject - which is essential - and could lead to great things.

Here is a bit from Jean Pierre de Caussade about the difference between what the sense perceive and what the soul perceives:

The soul, enlightened by faith, judges of things in a very different way to those who, having only the standard of the senses by which to measure them, ignore the inestimable treasure they contain.....

It throws open all its doors to receive with honour what others fear and fly from with horror. The outward appearance may be mean and contemptible, but beneath this abject garb the heart discovers and honours the majesty of the king.

The deeper the abasement of his entry in such a guise and in secret the more does the heart become filled with love. I cannot describe what the heart feels when it accepts the divine will in such humble, poor, and mean disguises....

The life of faith is nothing less than the continued pursuit of God through all that disguises, disfigures, destroys and, so to say, annihilates Him....God hides beneath veils of darkness and illusive appearances which make His will difficult to recognise...

Maybe he found a wimmenz?

he'll be back on here soon enough when he tells her he wants to wait till after marriage.

Pfft. The words what, a and pussy come to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

God exists , he is not a prick , but he does have a little bit of an ego.
    Wouldn't you if you had created all that you see and touch.

Kradock wrote: »
    God exists , he is not a prick , but he does have a little bit of an ego.
    Wouldn't you if you had created all that you see and touch.

that sense of ego would be overshadowed with regret at making all those rocks billions of light years away just for us to have a pretty night sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

i'm fully aware you're entitled to your opinion, its just a pity you're opinion is wrong :D

i reckon he's a nice dude, loves a few pints and pulling the ladies. i'm assuming he gets them so drunk they cant remember, just lik with Mary although he left a load in her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

As an atheist, I'd implore you all in god's name not to have this argument again, at least not on AH.

that sense of ego would be overshadowed with regret at making all those rocks billions of light years away just for us to have a pretty night sky.

Pretty sky ? all those rocks are his rolled up pages cast towards the big waste basket that is the universe , we hit the edge and floated away , he wasn't finished , he had much more to do. I like to picture God floating around looking for that disguarded idea he wrote down and needs to find it to put the finishing touchs to it , thats how I see Planet earth and all its majesty and faults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

The catholics forum are gonna be annoyed about this topic lads.
    He is a bit of a prick, the mans worse than Voldemort for gods sake .

Corkfeen wrote: »
    The catholics forum are gonna be annoyed about this topic lads.
    He is a bit of a prick, the mans worse than Voldemort for gods sake .

Its the Catholics that are the pricks , simple really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Pace2008 wrote: »
    As an atheist, I'd implore you all in god's name not to have this argument again, at least not on AH.
    I don't want this to turn into a religious debate. I'm just asking peoples' opinion on God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Richard Cranium

Pfft. The words what, a and pussy come to mind.

At the risk of being accused of back seat modding, that's just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

4 pages in and not a sign of Jakkass and his/her annoyingly calm views on the existence of god.

I hope he/she hasn't been in an accident or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭uprising

I believe he exists and you'll regret this statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

We're just here to entertain God.

I think he may have turned the channel.