Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballybane, is it rough?

• 24-07-2009 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭

well is it??? lookin at accomadation for gmit in september. would you advise people to stay clear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Well, I wouldn't live there. Although, like most areas now...some parts are much worse than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

how bad is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dec25532

mink_man wrote: »
    well is it??? lookin at accomadation for gmit in september. would you advise people to stay clear?

Where exactly were you looking at in Ballybane? It's a bit of a generalisation to say that the whole of Ballybane is a no go area although there are parts of it that I wouldn't send in an alsation.

castle park is one of the houses i saw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

Does a bear **** in the woods???

Stay well clear of Castle Park, there's other decent areas around the GMIT to live like Lurgan Park, Renmore, parts of Mervue and as already mentioned, parts of Ballybane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

castle park is one of the houses i saw!

keep on looking man:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

Even (some)people who live in Ballybane/Mervue/Wellpark are of the opinion that the renmore side (closer to the sea!) is the posh side :)

All in all, it would be hard to live in Ballybane for a year and not see trouble. It's by no means an affluent area, you'll see the effects of the recession in all its glory, bored teenage boys with nothing to do except set things on fire and beat things up, who are only too delighted to taunt and mug the GMIT newbies. Ye are fresh meat to them.

Of course the majority of people there are lovely and go about their day as normal. As the cops would put it though, there is a strong "element" there.

Stick to the renmore side, or commute from town :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

Eviledna wrote: »
    Even (some)people who live in Ballybane/Mervue/Wellpark are of the opinion that the renmore side (closer to the sea!) is the posh side :)

All in all, it would be hard to live in Ballybane for a year and not see trouble. It's by no means an affluent area, you'll see the effects of the recession in all its glory, bored teenage boys with nothing to do except set things on fire and beat things up, who are only too delighted to taunt and mug the GMIT newbies. Ye are fresh meat to them.

Of course the majority of people there are lovely and go about their day as normal. As the cops would put it though, there is a strong "element" there.

I can only wonder what sort of a cotton wool factory you grew up in if you really think that :rolleyes:
    Or maybe you're just a drama queen. Sounds like an unfair generalisation to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

Lol.

What's your opinion on the place TerryTrent?
    Would you recommend it to a person new to GMIT as a nice place to stay? Is it rough in your opinion?
    Do contribute something if you feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

I had to walk through Castlepark everyday to college last year,I've never had an incident,having said that I would'nt even think about getting a house there!

As another poster said before, try getting a house around the Lurgan Park/Renmore/Mervue parts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

Lol.

What's your opinion on the place TerryTrent?
    Would you recommend it to a person new to GMIT as a nice place to stay? Is it rough in your opinion?
    Do contribute something if you feel like it.

Its grand.

Yes.

No. But it depends on what you would consider rough.

I do feel like it, I think you are a pampered drama queen student with no concept of the real world. Hows that grab ya?

Where abouts are you from eviledna?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

The Renmore side is better. But even there has been getting rougher in the last few years. Still nowhere near as bad as Ballybane though (and yes, steer well clear of Castle Park).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I lived up the Ballybrit side near McGreals shop for nearly 2 years - never seen much trouble or heard very much noise in fairness. I had no bother at all..!

You will find trouble anywhere if you look for it... Castle Park has a bit of an 'element' but no where is perfect. Id say you will find trouble in Taylors Hill if you look hard enough...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BillyGoatGruff

You should also look at Roscam. Very nice area I think. (Ros Caoin, Boireann Bheag, Caiseal Cam are the names of the estates. About a 10-15 minute walk from GMIT( 2 mins on bus), 10 mins from Dunnes / Aldi /. 2 Mins from pharmacy, spar, DVD rentals place, Doctor. I live there and never see any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Angelandie

as the others have said, the roughness depends on the area. Renmore is a better area and closer to GMIT. Ballybrit is a bit of a walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭galwaygirleen

Parts of Ballybane are rough.... like sand paper!

Close to GMIT id say look at... Old Mervue, Monivea Road, Ballybane Road along the main stretch is grand...like Ard Aoibhinn, Heather Grove anything really on the same side of GMIT. Belmont is very handy to the college.. next door. Parts of Renmore have become a lil rough.. lots of break ins and the like have heard some stories bout Renmore Park bout the houses being rented out as really being run down landlords not looking after the places properly... so watch out for the ususal Damp smells etc... You can really bargain with landlors now too, to bring the price of rent down. HTH

has anyone got a link to houses to rent in belmont, i cant seem to see it under the list of areas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭cactus86

no offence to the OP, but coming here for advice like this is a bad idea. Iv lived in Castlepark for all of my 23 years. I walk through at all hours at night with no problems.

Its not perfect, no place is, but im tired of people, a lot of whom are never near here, calling it rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Castlepark is quite mixed, lots of different people live there. There is a Garda presence there which in my opinion makes it safer than other areas. I know quite a few people who have lived there and had no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Its very hit and miss... i lived in Doughuisce for a year when people said i shouldnt and i never ever had a problem. Lived in Ballybrit, and renmore too. If you decide to pick somewhere,anywhere do a drive by at night see if theres any trouble for your self or noise or kids hanging around looking for trouble.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I've seen worse places than Castlepark but I've seen a lot of better ones. Would defo recommend trying to get somewhere in Lurgan Park, Renmore or Mervue.

@Cactus86, you have every right to stand up for the area you live in, and sure you may well never have had any trouble down there. But from an outsider's point of view, I just wouldn't send a young student who is new to the area straight down to Castlepark when there are alternatives that are closer to the college. Don't get me wrong, I'm not slagging the area off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

If you want hassle anywhere you will get it, Ballybane is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭cL0h

Mike... wrote: »
    If you want hassle anywhere you will get it, Ballybane is fine

I'd add the fact that if you scare easily you'll also get hassle. Scumbags/nacks attack the weak.
    I'd be fairly neutral about Ballybane but there's certain doors I wouldn't go knockin on either and certainly if you dress like your in Skins or a goth or somethin you'll get hassle guaranteed.

what about bayview close?? 6 mins walk from GMIT!
    would this be safe???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 sparklingdude

I'd add the fact that if you scare easily you'll also get hassle. Scumbags/nacks attack the weak.
    I'd be fairly neutral about Ballybane but there's certain doors I wouldn't go knockin on either and certainly if you dress like your in Skins or a goth or somethin you'll get hassle guaranteed.

I'm not advocating that people should dress like they're in Skins, but what's with the dress code in town? Seems like every a*shole is in bootcuts, gay pointy leather shoes, and some stupid button up (and no hair).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Magalee

I was born and raised in Castlepark and it's not much different to anywhere else in town to be honest. I reckon you should try Belmont maybe (beside Flannerys) cos that would be bang on beside GMIT, so handy. But if you do go Ballybane, you wont have problems as long as you dont walk around by yourself late at nite but you shouldn't do that anywhere. It's grand, don't let anyone scare you, just take the usual precautions. Good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭whineflu

I'm not advocating that people should dress like they're in Skins, but what's with the dress code in town? Seems like every a*shole is in bootcuts, gay pointy leather shoes, and some stupid button up (and no hair).

Assholes tend to dress the same. That's how you spot them. When the next trend comes along they will change everything they ever stood for. Except for bein an @sshole of course. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Saul-Good

There's quite a few student houses or even regular rented accommodation around Mervue(at most 5 min walk to GMIT), Renmore(5 mins max) and the town itself(20 min walk max). As for how rough Castlepark is, there's plenty of places around town that aren't rough so much as they just have a reputation for being rough.

You have the same chance of getting in shit in Castlepark as you do in town. Just don't go looking for trouble and you won't have any, simple as!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭BlackandGold

Hi Minkman, my brother is going to GMIT in September and is staying in Gleann na Ri. If this is your 1st yr out I would advise nyou to try the student villages as they can be much better craic.

It seems to be a decent enuf place. My other brother went to GMIT 5 years ago and he just lived in a house in Renmore. Ideally get somewhere within a short walking distance. Hope this helps!

thanks for the replies guys but ive found a decent, quiet place in ballybane for €65 a week. I've checked the place out at night and there is no trouble around as far as I can see. only a 10 minute walk from GMIT which is also handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭BlackandGold

10 min walk is defo handy. My brother said it' sonly about 5 mins walk to GMIT from Gleannna Ri. In a private houes just remember youve to take care of the bills yourself! Best of luck! College is great - but after 4 years of it I was glad to finish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭claireloopy

Will be living in Belmont with 4 girls . Glad it has good comments