Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the rain!!

• 21-07-2009 5:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

What do ye all wear when running in the rain. I only started running this summer and havent braved the conditions as of yet. Thing is, its not cold out so dont wanna wear a hoody and tracksuit bottoms or ill sweat to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

The same as if it was sunny: shorts & t-shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No different to what I wear on fine days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

+1 Just back from a rainy run - there's a certain liberation in just ignoring the elements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Me too, just back from rainy run. Wore a light jacket (normally wear a tshirt) and usual trackie bottoms. Jacket not great for rain but didn't sweat cos it's good and light. I actually like running in the rain - my face doesn't go quite as purple so I don't get as many funny looks.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Depends on how heavy it is. If it's heavy rain (like this morning) will wear a rain jacket (one that's specifically designed for running, rather than the sort of one you'd wear on a school tour aged 11!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

I hate running on the rain.That's why I bought the treadmill :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

I hate running on the rain.

Bad news when living in Ireland.

As regards what to wear in the summer rain, same as the others above: shorts and running top.
    It would have to be particularly monsoon-like for me to don the running jacket (which I have done a couple of times in the recent past).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Was planning a run this morning but chickened out when I heard the torrential rain. Don't have any proper jacket. (IE - I am a sissy!)

Was just wondering about treadmills... What's the story with them? How much more do you need to do on them to get the same amount of exercise that you would on the roads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

eliwallach wrote: »
    Bad news when living in Ireland.

Tell me about it! I'm looking for a way to get out of the country and into warmer climates..... It's not happening though :( Just gonna have to stick to the treadmill on crappy days :rolleyes:

Krankykitty - I think you need to run at a 6%(?) incline on the treadmill - I don't have an incline at all on mine :( I was using it mainly to increase my fitness before hitting the roads though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Thanks Munster_Gal, am thinking I might start going to a leisure centre near the job when the bad weather comes in so that will be handy to know.

What do ye all wear during the winter for running outside when the weather gets really cold? At the moment I bring out a light hoody type thing but always end up removing it in a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

During rain in the summer I wear shorts and t-shirt plus a hat (that I always wear to stop sweat dripping into my eyes). rain is no reason to not go running, no matter what the weather is like you are going to get wet from sweat and have to shower/change. just HTFU.

On winter runs I turn into a a sissy and wear full thermal tights, base layers, rain/wind jacket, beanie hat and base layer gloves. My wife hates my winter training as there is just so much sports gear to be washed/dried, on top of the running gear ther is also the added gear I wear on my bike sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Krankykitty - I think you need to run at a 6%(?) incline on the treadmill -

You will be breathing heavy very quickly with an incline of 6% !!

Try 1% ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Tell me about it! I'm looking for a way to get out of the country and into warmer climates..... It's not happening though :( Just gonna have to stick to the treadmill on crappy days :rolleyes:

Krankykitty - I think you need to run at a 6%(?) incline on the treadmill - I don't have an incline at all on mine :( I was using it mainly to increase my fitness before hitting the roads though
    I think the general advice is closer to 1%. Why don't you put a book under one end of the treadmill. (The front end! The back end would just be cheating. :)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

If you want to be a runner in Ireland you better get used to running in the rain very quickly. It's the nature of the beast. The only difficult part is opening your front door. Once you've started running, you're fine.

As for apparel, I wear the same regardless the precipitation. Singlet in summer, long-sleeve shirt in winter, t-shirt in-between, shorts on all but the coldest days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

911sc wrote: »
    The same as if it was sunny: shorts & t-shirt.

Yep its a schoolboy error to wear too much clothing when you see the rain only to realise two miles into the run your absolutely boiling.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Could you get a cold running in the rain?

(wussily runs away)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Yep its a schoolboy error to wear too much clothing when you see the rain only to realise two miles into the run your absolutely boiling.:P

I got hit by this last week. Pissing rain when I left, grey sky, so I put on my running rain jacket. By 2 miles it had stopped and the sun was starting to make an appearence. I was absolutely boiling by the time I got home. This is the first summer in 6 years that I've been in Ireland and my first ever to train in - it's doing my nut in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Some of my best sessions have been done in the rain.
    Would take running in the rain versus 20c+ and sunny, anytime.

Can't fathom the rational in running on threadmills in the summer no matter what the conditions (well apart from hurricanes and cloud bursts).

I wonder what the hill runners think of this topic? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Really enjoy running in the rain. I wear a short rain jacket sd I don't particularly like running with a waterlogged t-shirt slapped to my back.

Could you get a cold running in the rain?
    (wussily runs away)

Not in my experience. Running keeps you warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

i'd use light jacket and avoid cotton t-shirts in the rain since they'll soak up the water and won't dry out if it stops raining. i'd recommend keeping a sack of old newspapers for drying out the inside of your runners after, nothing worse that putting on wet shoes before going out for a run the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Got drowned last Sunday on the long run. Was wearing a t-shirt and shorts and reckoned afterwards that it would have been better to wear a singlet - less wet clothing to carry.

The motivation for running in the rain is knowing that race day weather is going to be whatever it's going to be, so it's part of the training.

Have to get the nipple guards ordered after the run on Sunday - ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

By and large I wear the same as any other day with the exception of a hat (baseball or the like) to keep the rain out of my eyes.

Oh and the nip-guards, have to take extra care to ensure they are well adhered on rainy days.

Wally!

Got drowned last Sunday on the long run.

Have to get the nipple guards ordered after the run on Sunday - ouch!

You mean plasters, don't you?
    Very inexpensive nipple guards.
    Alternatively you could just cut 2 holes out of your t-shirt around your nipples - double bonus: you'll have extra brown nipples from the sun-tan as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

eliwallach wrote: »
    You mean plasters, don't you?
    Very inexpensive nipple guards.
    Alternatively you could just cut 2 holes out of your t-shirt around your nipples - double bonus: you'll have extra brown nipples from the sun-tan as well.

Would it be possible to then add tassles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

If bought directly from the US in 100 lots, less than 50-60c per run and that includes postage.

Of course, my Spanish friend, of course! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I like running in drizzle. Full on rain I can do without mainly because of the jacket= overheat and no jacket= get soaked through issue. I also have the glasses or contacts issue and glasses in heavy rain is a pain. That said I'd rather run in the rain than the treadmill. The treadmill is reserved for days when i've no childminding options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Ooh, this thread has taken an unexpected twist :cool:

Back OT, was raining this morning when I was reading this, was actually looking forward to a run in the rain this evening but now it's after clearing up :(

For me it's the regular shorts and t-shirt, but will throw my waterproof & breathable running jacket on as well if it's chilly out...

Damn Irish weather! We're not happy when it's raining and we're not happy when it's sunny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭plodder

I don't think the incline has any real effect on the effort involved. Though it probably feels a bit harder, you're not really doing any more work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Got to get some plasters for tonight then - rain, rain and more rain for the rest of the week. Only in July, only in Ireland......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

Whatever ya wear is gonna be wet and heavy so wear less..
    Your skin repels water better than any wicking material but you cant be exposing yourself either...Shorts, singlet and a cap!

Add waterproof mascara and you`re on a winner!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

a light raincoat. get them in most sports shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I couldn't deal with a hoody if it was raining. Just too damn heavy. In summer, It's just a t-shirt and shorts. When they get soaked they're easy to ignore.

Over the winter, I invested in a set of canterbury base layers (long sleeve top and half tights). I'd wear the top by itself and throw on a pair of shorts over the half tights (best spend ever, no more numbness in the oul' wedding tackle on cold days). They're absolutely wind proof can't recommend them enough and they're skin tight so they wick well and dry out in no time. 60 to 80 quid for a set though :eek:

I couldn't deal with a hoody if it was raining. Just too damn heavy. In summer, It's just a t-shirt and shorts. When they get soaked they're easy to ignore.

Over the winter, I invested in a set of canterbury base layers (long sleeve top and half tights). I'd wear the top by itself and throw on a pair of shorts over the half tights (best spend ever, no more numbness in the oul' wedding tackle on cold days). They're absolutely wind proof can't recommend them enough and they're skin tight so they wick well and dry out in no time. 60 to 80 quid for a set though :eek:
    You can get raincoats without hoods as well.

And then you're left with water running down from your neck all over your body. What's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Hydration! hahaha

Treadmill running for me is the last last resort,i find it ruins my stride and any fluidity it may have!
    The only weather variant i hate is a headwind!

Dont fear the rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Here is your answer...enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bG_UDYtNXUo

And then you're left with water running down from your neck all over your body. What's the point?
    seen loads of runners wearing them. designed like tracksuits but made of rainproof tracksuit.

Funny, I don't see any at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Do you not feel like youre running downhill when using a treadmill on the flat Munster Gal?

(For the original poster)Not crazy about running in bad weather myself so I use the treadmill a fair bit. On the incline Ive found that you can knock out some serious sessions. I wore a heart-rate monitor on a hard outdoor session and my heartrate was up at 187bpm(Im 34). But when I did an incline treadmill session it was up to 187 aswell. So if youre creative enough you dont have to brave the elements(at least not on really bad days).

My personal experience is that rainproof gear isn't.

Another drawback: I once got a free "hoodie" from a magazine, and tried it out when it was raining heavily. Unfortunately the wind made it blow up, and it felt like dragging a parachute behind me.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Funny, I don't see any at all.
    Talking about light raingear. You telling me every runner goes out in the lashing rain just in a t shirt and shorts.

Not every, but most. For all the good reasons given above. Certainly this time of year when it's never really cold.

so some runners are allowed to wear raingear so. was getting worried for a minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

I wear a cycling gilet to keep cold and wind off my chest. It is showerproof too.

My one is by Look Cycling, sleeveless and has full zip. One of my most used purchases.
    Lidl has cycling vests on sale tomorrow (Thursday 23) for 9 euro.

Just heard on the weather forecast that FLASH FLOODING :eek: is likely today.

Who's up for a quick 5 miles at lunch time....?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Was out in a torrential downpour yesterday evening, and I must say I felt perfectly dressed: shorts, t-shirt and sunglasses :D Dunno what the drivers on the road were thinking when they saw me, but the glasses were keeping the rain out of my eyes so I was happy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

xebec wrote: »
    Was out in a torrential downpour yesterday evening, and I must say I felt perfectly dressed: shorts, t-shirt and sunglasses :D Dunno what the drivers on the road were thinking when they saw me, but the glasses were keeping the rain out of my eyes so I was happy...
    i mean runners already get enough of stick for been crazy for runnning in the rain and all however you now seem to have brought it to another level
    hilarious :D

really dont get the raingear while running , you will get wet thru sweating , even more with the extra rain gear :confused:
    Also think it nice to feel the rain on your body , gives you a really alive feeling
    well done to anyone that finds running on the threamill in the summer preferable to running in the rain , i find threadmills shear torture and dread the winters for this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Seres wrote: »
    well done to anyone that finds running on the threamill in the summer preferable to running in the rain , i find threadmills shear torture and dread the winters for this :(

+1. They don't call it the Dreadmill for nothing :p