Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Models Inc. Moving & changing name

• 20-07-2009 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭

Hey Guys

Just a quick reminder that Models Inc on Dorset Street has now moved to Jervis Street, an will be trading as Gamers World

The shop will be open usual hours from tomorrow morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Sweet, I heard they were moving a few months ago to Jervis which is great as never liked the walk up to the store (Im lazy).

Was thinking about tipping up to Dublin soon so this is another reason to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

Is there a new website for it? modelsinc.ie is down atm :/ Wouldn't have known they had moved without seeing it here. It'll be easier to get to and spend monies on new shiney models on the way home from work now.

Anyone have a look at the new shop yet? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Map of new location: http://www.farfaraway.org/blog/2009/07/20/models-inc-has-moved/

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't that where the FÁS office used to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

not sure, it use to be a computer shop called unity etail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

Yeah, it's where Unity E-tail used to be. If your at the intersection where the entrance to Jervis street center is and the old FAS office, head towards the liffy, it's on the corner of the next intersection on the left hand side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

That's great news. I've been meaning to call up since I heard of you guys on here, but tbh, I work on Abbey St and don't get so long for a lunch break to be willing to slog up that far and back!
    Good to see someone in that Etail unit, it's been looking dog ugly empty for ages.
    Best of luck, and see you in store soon. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Crónhóle

I was in the store on wednesday and i have to say its looking great nice and polished, a whole backroom for wargaming genuis, just wait for some tournments.

Was in today, very impressed lads.

Nice staff, not too pushy or cheery, but verbose with advice and information when asked for help.

Anyway, now have myself a set of Cadians to get myself re-started and plans apace for more to come.

Cant' fault the prices either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Crónhóle

Be sure to put up the address for new website for the shop when you can guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Warmaster

was in yesterday great craic, nice shop, don't know about the staff didn't talk to anyone really and then felt awkward because none of them had come to talk to me I didn't even know who the staff were...

shop looks great though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

Warmaster wrote: »
    was in yesterday great craic, nice shop, don't know about the staff didn't talk to anyone really and then felt awkward because none of them had come to talk to me I didn't even know who the staff were...

shop looks great though
    Staff shouldn't be pushy, but they should say hi. Especially is someone looks lost.

exactly but it's nice to get to know your customers so that they won't be afraid to ask you questions

oops, sorry if i didnt say hi, i was trying to get to everyone yesterday

:-)

Different strokes etc. For example I find the staff in GW insufferably suffocating. Didn't have any such problems in Models Inc, greeted, asked if I needed help, backed off when I said I was browsing, but more than helpful when approached thereafter. *shrug*

One thing I'd love though, is a website with a relatively complete price list. I'm a bit of an ardent listmaker and budgeter so it'd be a great help. :)

Dont worry its in the process, so hopefull it will be in place soon

madrab wrote: »
    oops, sorry if i didnt say hi, i was trying to get to everyone yesterday

:-)

Don't worry about it mate, I would never base it all off one visit I was just saying that GW's approach to customers has a lot of merit to it as regards getting to know the customers. Also a comprehensive site would be awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 brunswick_03

Is there a mobile phone or land-line phone contact number for the new shop? I just want to check if a book I'm looking for is in stock. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dacian

Nevore wrote: »
    .......... I find the staff in GW insufferably suffocating. :)
    I know that they are just doing their job but it can be very annoying. I stopped playing quite a while ago but like to drop in to pick up WD and books, having a gander at the new models while there. The senior staff know me so just say hi and chat about what I'm reading but the newer guys immediately try to get me interested in the new giant/drgaon/dark elves/valkyrie even when I saw I don't play or collect.

Just saw the location,thats really close to GW. Am sure that will hurt GWs trade. I for one would go to Gamers World rather than GW as they are so close. I go to GW curretnly as its on my way home from work whereas Dorset St was well out of my way.

Dacian wrote: »
    I know that they are just doing their job but it can be very annoying. I stopped playing quite a while ago but like to drop in to pick up WD and books, having a gander at the new models while there. The senior staff know me so just say hi and chat about what I'm reading but the newer guys immediately try to get me interested in the new giant/drgaon/dark elves/valkyrie even when I saw I don't play or collect.

Just saw the location,thats really close to GW. Am sure that will hurt GWs trade. I for one would go to Gamers World rather than GW as they are so close. I go to GW curretnly as its on my way home from work whereas Dorset St was well out of my way.

yeah the location move was a brilliant idea. for the past couple of weeks now I've found myself going to both GW and gamers world on the same day, it's good to chat to the GW guys and then go to Gamers World and have a friendly chat with those guys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

shop looks great though

so ppl were left to their own devices? super

Jazzy wrote: »
    so ppl were left to their own devices? super

Super for guys who already play, know the hobby and (typically) dislike the GW approach to customers. Not so super for guys who have never seen the hobby before or those just starting to play, some of whom may not know that staff are really friendly and some of these customers may not want to go over to them and ask questions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Super for guys who already play, know the hobby and (typically) dislike the GW approach to customers. Not so super for guys who have never seen the hobby before or those just starting to play, some of whom may not know that staff are really friendly and some of these customers may not want to go over to them and ask questions.

you can generally tell who these people are within 5 seconds when they walk in. by all means talk to them.
    there is no need to shake down everyone and apply the pressure.
    "why yes sure mr shop man. i would very much like to buy this soon to be out of date version of fantasy which i already own and have all the models from numerous times over. ive only been collecting for ages and have spent thousands on your models in the past. please, turn the knife."
    sickening tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ps1086

Does anybody know if they sell any cases other than those horrible GW ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

They certainly used to have some very nice ones. Kinda pricy, but really nice.

Jazzy wrote: »
    you can generally tell who these people are within 5 seconds when they walk in. by all means talk to them.
    there is no need to shake down everyone and apply the pressure.
    "why yes sure mr shop man. i would very much like to buy this soon to be out of date version of fantasy which i already own and have all the models from numerous times over. ive only been collecting for ages and have spent thousands on your models in the past. please, turn the knife."
    sickening tbh

I assume your refering to the GW approach of salesmanship. I hear they are phasing that out as it was too time intensive to ask questions, now they just have 2 burly guards at the door who pick you up by your legs and shake any money out of you as you enter the store, with the staff crawling over Gollum-like and picking up the "the preciousess".

Gonna try stop up next week week and see the new store, there a bigger or smaller boardgame section?? (kinda off miniature games at the mo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Simeadrach

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    I assume your refering to the GW approach of salesmanship. I hear they are phasing that out as it was too time intensive to ask questions, now they just have 2 burly guards at the door who pick you up by your legs and shake any money out of you as you enter the store, with the staff crawling over Gollum-like and picking up the "the preciousess".

Ha, give it time. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

What're the prices like in the store?

I collected warhammer when I was younger and recently came across a stash of unpainted dwarves who I had great fun painting.
    Woulnd't mind picking up a few extra bits and pieces but GW are dear enough, independant retailers have been more expensive IME.

What're the prices like in the store?

I collected warhammer when I was younger and recently came across a stash of unpainted dwarves who I had great fun painting.
    Woulnd't mind picking up a few extra bits and pieces but GW are dear enough, independant retailers have been more expensive IME.
    So far, anything I've bought has been cheaper by anything up to 25% or at worst just the same price as GW Irish prices.

Best bet is to shop for what you want though. You can get the GW store prices online, so if you go there to get an idea of what they're selling at, you'll know when your in Gamers World whether you're making a saving or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

How are they able to be so much cheaper than GW, seeing as GW would be selling their own stock?
    Surely an independant retailer would be unable to sell for significantly lower than GW prices?

It has to do with the way GW and the GW stores interact afaik.

Someone will correct me if I'm wrong but the gist of it is a combination of a) the GW stores getting assigned prices for the coming period based on current exchange rates. If the exchange rate fluctuates in the euros favour (as it has been pretty steadily for years) the indos can buy in stock and sell it relatively cheaper while maintaining their profit margins b) indo stores being willing to settle for a lower overall profit margin full stop.

Something like that anyway. The GW stores are inflexible, the store manager can't price his own stuff, or buy stock at exchange-rate-determined more favourable terms. It's all handed down from on high.

Or something like that ;)

How are they able to be so much cheaper than GW, seeing as GW would be selling their own stock?
    Surely an independant retailer would be unable to sell for significantly lower than GW prices?

Ah the greatest mystery of GW; any who knows the answer to this shall know all that has, is and shall come to pass :rolleyes:

Put this to the GW guys once in Liffey Street, had a novel that stated £5:99 and $8:99 inside the cover but was selling for €16, was told "Its just the price were told to sell at".....though that was a tax thing on all UK books and mags that got lifted a few months back, so they are dirt cheap here now. Costs to run the store and pay staff (what little they make) probably come from the difference between wholesale prices and GW store prices......could be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭The Skulls

In relation to the prices charged by independent retailers it says in White Dwarf that independent retailers are responsible for determoning their own prices, when i worked for GW we were indeed told the price of something & that was that, whenever stuff was incorrectly priced & people tried to exercise their consumer rights they were flat out told no. Very intractable... On a different note will Gamers World be getting in the 'mystery box' or will it be something that has to be preordered? Just curious. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 brass

Any idea whether there will be a website up soon I can point people at?

The Skulls wrote: »
    In relation to the prices charged by independent retailers it says in White Dwarf that independent retailers are responsible for determoning their own prices, when i worked for GW we were indeed told the price of something & that was that, whenever stuff was incorrectly priced & people tried to exercise their consumer rights they were flat out told no. Very intractable... On a different note will Gamers World be getting in the 'mystery box' or will it be something that has to be preordered? Just curious. Thanks.

That's pretty strange, when I worked there I was told by the manager if the price is on the box as 20 but it's supposed to be 25 the customer gets it for 20.

Unfortunateyl the shop is still waiting to get internet before we put a website up

In relation to the mystery box, we will hopefully be getting it in but we cant order it until its announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭The Skulls

I worked under several managers in both stores, some were legends, some were clowns. The clowns did as i described in my previous post but i saw several people (usually parents) who knew & stood up for their rights. Warmaster as you no doubt are aware GW seem to think many aspects of irish law do not apply to them. It was things like that which lead me to leave GW. That & the sh**e money.:D

The Skulls wrote: »
    I worked under several managers in both stores, some were legends, some were clowns. The clowns did as i described in my previous post but i saw several people (usually parents) who knew & stood up for their rights. Warmaster as you no doubt are aware GW seem to think many aspects of irish law do not apply to them. It was things like that which lead me to leave GW. That & the sh**e money.:D

ah man the pay.....seriously. Slave labour doesn't even come close for how hard you have to work there (under the great managers)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Wood

@ Warmaster & The Skulls

What are your real names lads, i've work for that shower as well for over two years.

Woody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Lads, in the interest of legal sensibilities, and the fact that you are going woefully off-topic to Models Inc. moving premises, would you awfully mind not talking about GW in the context that you are?

Thanks.

Stopped into the new store there yesterday, nice place. Very central adn at first I thought a bit cramped but then I peeked through the door to the game table area......now if only I lived in Dublin and could attend some of the gaming evenings :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Oh yeah, the shop is a lot bigger than it initially looks. Through the usually closed double doors there's an equivalently sized area with plenty of gaming tables.

I think the doors are generally left closed so as not to scare respectable customers with the gamers

There be geeks behind dem doors!!

You should get a sign saying "Geeks at Work" with a stick figure bending over rolling some dice or such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ps1086

Finally had a chance to have a look in the shop. Seems quite nice decent prices too. Unfortunately I didnt get a chance to talk to the staff since I had the girlfriend with me I just bought what I wanted and got out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

ps1086 wrote: »
    Finally had a chance to have a look in the shop. Seems quite nice decent prices too. Unfortunately I didnt get a chance to talk to the staff since I had the girlfriend with me I just bought what I wanted and got out

...but would she do the same fer you in a clothes shop? Not likely....Tis a hard life....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

went in and bought the new classic battletech box set. Was teaching the girlfriend how to play and she legged my mech in the second round of firing. i mean come on who hits 24/30 lrms and 19/30 lrms two turns in a row on 9's to hit.

so unfair i blame the store!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

There is a regular troop of Lads who play Btech in the club on a weds.
    If you are ever about. We always welcome new Blood.

As to the Girlfriend. I totally agree with you on blaming the store. Cause blaming Lady luck will only turn her againist your dice.

We've even started playing on some new heroscape terrain.
    Normally there form about 7.
    DSCN4212.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TheViking

Anyone know when the forum will be up and running again?
    Or an official site?

sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I don't think there will be a web forum for it again, and dunno if/when there'll be a website.

I think it was disproportionately time-consumming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TheViking

Ahh thats a shame, not often is a official site bad for business though.
    Would make sense for Martin to get one running, with a map and current stock etc.