Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest mistake you've make at work!

• 19-07-2009 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

And if you don't have a job, hey you probably had one at some stage.

I'll start.
    Working in finance, I fcuked up a transaction and lost a client 30,000USD.
    My boss saved the day, a true legend.
    But I still got called to the boardroom and got a bollicking from my team leader :(

Working in a cosmetics factory I put the wrong label on 10,000 lipsticks.
    My teamates had to peel off 10,000 labels and relabel them all.
    My name was dirt for weeks and weeks :(
    Actually, the production line monkeys (like me!) got loads of overtime so I was quite popular at the time but I didn't repeat it.

Any good stories?
    Possibly I started this thread last year, hey it's all good fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

What did you spend the 30,000 on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

That 30,000USD was only resting in my account ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Did you ever start one of these threads before OP, because those stories are very familiar?!
    Considering my only job was a trolley guy, there wasn't really anything worth mentioning in this thread. I don't even remember scratching a car. I think I was doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Boss came in early one morning while I was aving a power nap,that was over a year ago and shes still not over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Guy was sick from work and i had to do his work. Told my boss i wasn't sure about one of the things he did daily. He said give it a shot anyway. Thought i had gotten it right. Got a phone call 2 hours later saying i had priced a swap as a +50000 when really it was minus 50000. So a 100k difference They caught this on their last check so i was a bit lucky :D

Went out for my 21st on a thursday . Didn't spend a peeny cause all my mates bought me drink Woke up around 11 o clock and obviously didnt make it into work. Rang up and left a drunken message saying i was sick or something. Unfortunately my mom rang up work on the thursday to tell work it was my 21st friday. So after i had left work all my work collegues had put birthday banners all over my desk, bought me presents and a cake for a big surprise on the thursday. Pretty embarrassed when i came in that monday i can tell you...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Put the wrong sale discount stickers on, but ended up getting it changed back in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Was working in a shop once, it was a bit like one of those late-night garages where you sel from a window only the window was a bit more open and there was a counter/ledge.

Some scumbag came up asked for a Snickers. I got it and put it on the counter. Next thing he asks for a packet of Haribo which were up on a high shelf behind me. I turned around, got them, turned back and scumbag and Snickers had scarpered.

About 65 cent at the time plus about €9,000,000 in personal shame at such a rookie mistake. Kept it quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 BellaElla

Pharmacist- Gave the wrong insulin to a customer, could have killed him, got fired, changed career!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

This didn't happen in work but while doing my thesis in college I had to use a particular antibody. A small vial of it cost about 10K. I only had to use a small amount but I pipetted into the wrong sample, rendering it unuseable, that probably cost a grand or so.

I just flushed it down the sink and said nothing but it was an anxious few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

mikemac wrote: »
    That 30,000USD was only resting in my account ;)

The amount of Father Ted references on After Hours is really weird! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I burnt the clutch out of the company's Toyota Dyno trying to pull start a 3 tonne Dumper. Boss was not too happy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The amount of Father Ted references on After Hours is really weird! :p

So are the amount of Harney ones.
    I burnt the clutch out of the company's Toyota Dyno trying to pull start a 3 tonne Dumper. Boss was not too happy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

My first week working in Dunnes Stores Deli, I took out 8 large cooked chickens out of the oven to be placed in the hot display, I trip over myself and all of em go all over the floor,I nearly died from the embarrassment! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I lol'd when my boss fell down the stairs in the office!

No one else did.......

Edit: Oh yeah, he fractured his collarbone.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Miss-counted a bundle of money a customer was paying, i over counted by €1000, never got the money back, the customer and the boss had fallen out a few weeks earlier and he blamed the customer not me, i was lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

My managers used to make fun of me because my till was never out. Until one day it was out by a cent. Made a big announcement about it. :eek::o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

I had just started in a nightclub in the cloak room,I made a rookie mistake I gave somebody the wrong jacket because he described it to me when he lost his ticket, luckily I had taken his number just in case, so I had to pay for a taxi to bring the jacket back to the actual owner so I wouldn't get in trouble :o

I also got the wrong person thrown out and barred, didn't say anything though!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Working in a shoe shop, gave somebody two left shoes :o

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Getting out of bed for work was the biggest mistake I ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Worked in a small newsagents. Ordered 100,000 straws by accident. Amazing they ever let me near an order form again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I cut the blue wire instead of the green one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I took the red pill instead of the blue pill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

guy slammed a door out behind himself as i walked after him, just missing my head by inches, as we both left the office after having a row with him and his surveyor,a little matter of money he owed me
    my biggest mistake was not knocking his head off......
    went after him but was stopped , i really would still like to punch his head hard, if only once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

donmeister wrote: »
    My first week working in Dunnes Stores Deli, I took out 8 large cooked chickens out of the oven to be placed in the hot display, I trip over myself and all of em go all over the floor,I nearly died from the embarrassment! :o
    You put them back out on display though right?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Quited.

Got a bit bored working so decided i'd quit for the craic and now with this "current economic crisis" I cant get a job. fml.

Working in a shoe shop, gave somebody two left shoes :o
    Maybe you just knew that he/she was a bad dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

DubMedic wrote: »
    You put them back out on display though right?.

Yup ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

I suddenly got this really bad feeling that there are going to be a load of replies from doctors after another few pages. It would be interesting but oh so worrying.

Doc's posting about Medical blunders? Don't think so.

As Enniscorthy would so gladly put it : 'hehehahahahohohehehaha GOOD 1 MATE :D'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

I handed out the wrong english paper to leaving cert students. cost the taxpayer €1m. dont tell anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Put a massive dent in the roof of an Opel Combi van I was driving as part of a merchandising job. There were no spaces left in the carpark so i pulled into a gap just below the ramp above without thinking. Crash.

Told the boss the next day. These things happen etc. All was grand. Took it back to Avis and got another van, thought nothing much more of it (I was on a short contract with not much hope of being kept on, and I knew straight away any chance of being kept on was now gone). Got an irate phone call a few weeks later from the head office in Cork after they'd received an insurance claim. Seems I was supposed to call them about this (although to be fair I had no idea this was the policy, and I'd told my superiors in Dublin who just let me go about my business). Anyway I'd been driving around uninsured for about 2 weeks. Oops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

tribulus wrote: »
    This didn't happen in work but while doing my thesis in college I had to use a particular antibody. A small vial of it cost about 10K. I only had to use a small amount but I pipetted into the wrong sample, rendering it unuseable, that probably cost a grand or so.

I just flushed it down the sink and said nothing but it was an anxious few days!

Oh I've been there alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Biggest work mistake was attending a Christmas Party for a crowd I worked for part time when I was in school.
    • Plonked myself down at an adjoining table where there was a nurse's Christmas party going on.
      Proceeded to buy round after round of drinks for them and told the barman to charge it all to our company's table.
    • Saw some fit young one walk past.
      Nudged the boss and said "she'd get it" to which he replied, "that's my daughter".
    • Saw some bloke dragging a fella from work around the bar in a headlock.
      Charged over and tackled yer man to the ground.
      At which point the attacker started to go into some sort of asthmatic fit.
      Turned out he was he was just another fella from work who was messing about with the fella I "saved".
    • Got into a taxi with a few big shots from work who were going on to a niteclub.
      Got sick all over them on the way into town.
      Jumped out of the taxi and ran off.
    • Ended up getting arrested for being intoxicated in a public place.
      I refused to give the Gardaí my name so they found a work number in my pocket and rang the boss around 4am to verify who I was.
    When I showed up at work on the Monday morning I was called into the office and told that it'd be best if I quit and concentrated on my schoolwork.
    It was probably the best result I could have hoped for, all things considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Ive never cringed so much reading a post....when you go to town, you really go to town! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I dunno about anyone else, but I'm fecking dying to see what Biggins posts in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I used to work in a local grocery store.
    My first day went perfectly. Did everything right and the boss seemed happy with me.
    She called me up to her office just before I was about to leave for the day.
    Boss: "Mardybumbum, you worked really well today. Can you come in tomorrow?"
    Me: "Yea, of course. What time"
    Boss: " 10 to 4 "
    Me: "Great. See you then"

So I strolled into work the next day at a quarter to four, big grin on my face.
    But then I noticed that all my coworkers were staring at me and then one of them ran up to me quickly and said "The boss is furious at you, your nearly six hours late"
    I said "Sure Im five minutes early"

I didnt keep my job there for long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭7mountpleasant

Heard a classic of a guy I used to live with, he was working in the logistics section in the huge lidl warehouse in charleville, new retail manager guy starting came into the office to meet his boss, as he was talking to his manager they guy runs in to say his brand new audi tt company car has rolled into a fairly steep trench, forgot to put handbrake up on his lovely new car, classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

mikemac wrote: »
    And if you don't have a job, hey you probably had one at some stage.

I'll start.
    Working in finance, I fcuked up a transaction and lost a client 30,000USD.
    My boss saved the day, a true legend.
    But I still got called to the boardroom and got a bollicking from my team leader :(

Working in a cosmetics factory I put the wrong label on 10,000 lipsticks.
    My teamates had to peel off 10,000 labels and relabel them all.
    My name was dirt for weeks and weeks :(
    Actually, the production line monkeys (like me!) got loads of overtime so I was quite popular at the time but I didn't repeat it.

Any good stories?
    Possibly I started this thread last year, hey it's all good fun

Is it groundhog day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Posted out several hundred invitations to an important meeting - with the date wrong on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭thebossanova

Wheeling 3 boxes of Miller into the bar I hit a bump. Top one landed top down with a smash. 24 bottles of beer down the tube... It was only Miller, but it was still beer dammit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Did they even ask you what ales you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

A couple, When I worked in a deli counter, I accidentally sprayed ammonia on a couple of joints of meat, I didn't notice at the time. Couple of days later a few customers complain about the terrible tasteing beef. A few words were thrown my way, but they couldn't really say much to me as earlier that week a row of shelves collapsed but I caught them before they crushed a toddler.

Other mishaps include the time I almost got crushed when a car backed into me and pinned me between a trolley and a wall in the shopping centre car park. Standing on broken glass (I got to go home early!) I've had rockets and fireworks fired at me too, an attempted mugging (I never carried any valuables when I was working outside). My co worker once took the side off a car while bringing in a row of shopping trollies. He went on his break and didn't come back till that customer had left the shop! He was rather careless and took a number of wing mirrors in his day as well.

I also left my till open and unattended during christmas (we were very very busy at the time and was dealing with six people all with different problems), I was very lucky there was no dishonest people around at the time :) Thankfully no money ever went missing on my till, though I do remember I was spot checked a lot. The most I was ever off was a euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

worked in the family chipper/cafe for 14 years, one day i was stressed and landed a womans lunch on her laps - beans all over the place. but the biggest mistake was taking the job in the first place......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭thebossanova

Did they even ask you what ales you?

Aha, nice. But no.:P

Actually another time I went home from work with the days takings from my tables in a restaurant, forgetting to cash out with the manager on duty. She nearly had a heart attack when she realised she was down nearly 1000euro. Que frantic phone calls and shouting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

Biggest work mistake was attending a Christmas Party for a crowd I worked for part time when I was in school.
    • Plonked myself down at an adjoining table where there was a nurse's Christmas party going on.
      Proceeded to buy round after round of drinks for them and told the barman to charge it all to our company's table.
    • Saw some fit young one walk past.
      Nudged the boss and said "she'd get it" to which he replied, "that's my daughter".
    • Saw some bloke dragging a fella from work around the bar in a headlock.
      Charged over and tackled yer man to the ground.
      At which point the attacker started to go into some sort of asthmatic fit.
      Turned out he was he was just another fella from work who was messing about with the fella I "saved".
    • Got into a taxi with a few big shots from work who were going on to a niteclub.
      Got sick all over them on the way into town.
      Jumped out of the taxi and ran off.
    • Ended up getting arrested for being intoxicated in a public place.
      I refused to give the Gardaí my name so they found a work number in my pocket and rang the boss around 4am to verify who I was.
    When I showed up at work on the Monday morning I was called into the office and told that it'd be best if I quit and concentrated on my schoolwork.
    It was probably the best result I could have hoped for, all things considered.

u sound like me on a night out:Dlegend u are!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

A couple, When I worked in a deli counter, I accidentally sprayed ammonia on a couple of joints of meat, I didn't notice at the time. Couple of days later a few customers complain about the terrible tasteing beef.

Why did you have ammonia in a spray bottle while working in the deli??:confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

while working in a small shop part-time,

some lady was getting her shopping...it was €200 and odd and she gave me her Laser and told me to take €250 and give her the change. The laser machine was seperate to the till so i hav to type in the amount. she put in her PIN, then the receipt printed off. I didn't even look at it and cashed off the till and put in receipt and gave her the change of €250.

she comes back in 5 mins later and handed me the receipt. Turns out, the zero button had stuck down and i had charged her €2500:eek:

boss had to write her a cheque for €2250 because he couldnt figure out how ta do a bloody refund on the laser machine.

didnt get in too much trouble but i still felt like an eejit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Playing some Gary Glitter at a kids party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onnvYZKSQvs
    we made a small mistake........but we video'd it:D:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

The pub I work in has a bolt type door with a padlock at the front. One day I left the padlock on one side of the bolt AND at the same time left the safe (with about €3000) lying open. This was before we had any sort of alarm system installed.

In my college pub job, the day of my last exam after having spent a few hours in the pub I though I'd hide my drunkeness by doing work in the cellar. So as I was wheeling stock around I managed to knock 3 boxes of pricey wine over smashing a whole load into pieces and leaving a stink of wine all over the room. Fortunately I was going home for the summer the next day so I hosed the room down "to clean out all the dirt" and didn't mention the wine. If they ever found out about the missing stock I certainly never got the blame. :p