Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week 10' ---> 'College Week' ???

• 18-07-2009 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭

With thanks to www.sin.ie
    Since the University President, Prof. Jim Browne’s announcement on February 24th that the University would be withdrawing its support from RAG week due to negative press and numerous arrests, the future of RAG week seemed uncertain. Sin reported that the Students’ Union would still go ahead with RAG week celebrations and fundraising next year, while the University authorities were adamant that RAG week was finished, with Prof. Browne commenting that “our intention is to stop from this year on, have no more RAG weeks.” The full story on the apparent cancellation of RAG week can be found here.
    Sin can now reveal that since then, the Students’ Union and the University authorities have been in negotiations over RAG week and appear to have hammered out an agreement. There will be numerous changes to the format of the event, including its name being changed from RAG week, and a reinvigorated commitment from the Students’ Union to put a bigger focus on charity instead of alcohol as well as holding more events on campus, thus taking the focus off events run by nightclubs in town.
    One of the main problems during Rag weeks in the past has been people travelling from other universities to Galway for RAG week, especially during years when GMIT and NUIG RAG weeks fell on the same week. Sin understands that as part of the new agreement, all possible efforts will be made to ensure this doesn’t happen in future. This effort will form part of an overall ‘re-branding’ of the week in an attempt to promote a more positive image of students within the community.
    As part of the negotiations with college authorities, it is understood that a series of community initiatives have been proposed whereby students try to help out in their local Galway communities, especially in areas where large numbers of students live as this is where the bulk of the incidents occurred last year which led to the heightened controversy.
    As part of the overall re-branding, the ‘RAG Week’ name is to be dropped, Sin understands that one of the more popular ideas for a new name is ‘College Week’ however this will not be finalised until a more substantial re-branding plan has been put together.
    The re-branding plan will have to be approved by the Class Reps Council (CRC) in September before it can be implemented, however, Union spokesperson’s are confident that the plan will receive a green light and that next February will see a week-long series of charity fundraising events.
    College Week was in fact the original name for RAG week and the two titles were used interchangeably since 1969 when RAG week was restarted after being banned by the Bishop of Galway in the 1950’s. The name College Week however, has fallen out of vogue since the eighties. Since then the term ‘RAG week’ has been used to promote events in nightclubs around Galway during GMIT and NUIG RAG weeks and has come to have more negative than positive connotations.
    This is not the first time however that RAG week has tried to improve after coming under flak; in 1988 the Students’ Union recorded that “ it is important that the emphasis be taken away from drink and that the charity aspect be stressed more [in the future]”.
    Again in 2003, the Union handbook records that “[During RAG week] events organised outside the spirit of raising money for charity and taking advantage of the weeks main objectives are condemned by the SU.”
    This does however appear to be the first major overhaul of the week since 1969. Regarding the new and improved RAG week, Students’ Union President, Muireann O’Dwyer told Sin that; “RAG week has always been an important part of student life, and raises vital funds for very deserving charities. We understand that improvements needed to be made after all the bad press this year, and hopefully the work will pay off with an improved week, with more money raised and more fun had by all. It’s important that students reclaim the week from the nightclubs, and I think re-branding is crucial for that. Having a campus focused charity week, packed with fun events is something I believe next years exec can deliver, and I look forward to coming back for some of it! It’s great that we’ve been able to come to an agreement to work together with the University on this, and I’m glad that they will be supporting the Union in changing the week.”
    O’Dwyer has been working closely with incoming SU president, Donna Cummins who will take power this Wednesday, July 1st, and the RAG week issue will surely be one of the top priorities for the incoming Students’ Union team, especially coming up to the first CRC meeting in September.
    Nice idea, really don't think it's gonna work though. It will always be rag week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I feel quite disappointed with the college authorities now. I thought they'd be better at resisting student pressure than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

"major overhaul" my ass. I was hoping the SU would have a bit more cop on than this, raising funds is one thing, what about all the money that will be spent on public services like gardaí, ambulance, hospital etc. that will inevitably arise from students acting like retards come RAG week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Sure if they did truly cancel it then some (not all) of NUI Students would have rag week the same time as GMIT. Would anyone believe NUIG students would go to to college at the same time as GMIT students going to a foam party in the GPO in the afternoon? The SU realised this, might as well make a bit of money for charity if it's going to happen while going under the guise as a more charity orientated week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

ZorbaTehZ wrote: »
    what about all the money that will be spent on public services like gardaí, ambulance, hospital etc. that will inevitably arise from students acting like retards come RAG week.

The same is true for nearly every large event in a town, carnivals, street parties etc. You're only whinging because it's "irresponsible students". WInd your neck in.

You're comparing every large event that takes place in Galway to the riot that is RAG week? Wow.

No, I'm comparing it to large events that take part anywhere. Apart from Race Week and Paddy's Day there aren't really any other 'large events'. The VOR was a one off and generally contained within the docks area and the Arts Festival isn't of the same ilk.

You're comparing every large event that takes place in Galway to the riot that is RAG week? Wow.
    No, I'm comparing it to large events that take part anywhere. Apart from Race Week and Paddy's Day there aren't really any other 'large events'. The VOR was a one off and generally contained within the docks area and the Arts Festival isn't of the same ilk.

Rag Week does get a lot of scorn poured upon it from residents because well there isnt anything in it for them, look at the VOR and Race Week (that the poster mentioned above), at least there is something for Galway residents to go to, the average Galway person is hardly going to turn up at Corrib Village are they?

It gets such a hard time from Galwegians, for example during the last rag week, i remember getting a taxi home and an ambulance drove past. Taxi driver grumbling ''oh another rag week casualty'' when who knows it wasnt? Rag Week won't affect 99% of the population but they all complain about it. It's not going to get people in hotels or buying in local shops so people just jump on the bandwagon. Can they not just leave the student population to it?

Although personally I think the SU are right to be concentrating on Communities as I'm sure there is a lot that don't get any help and is more effective than raising money for charities, but I don't think its going to get a lot of student support. I don't think i will see many students helping out at after school clubs or planting gardens now.

Also, the point they made about doing more of the events on campus isn't going to work either, what events are outside campus during rag week exactly? The Monday and Tuesday afternoon spots in the GPO and Cuba I can understand but the nightclubs are open every night of the week anyway.

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Rag Week does get a lot of scorn poured upon it from residents because well there isnt anything in it for them

No, it "gets alot of scorn poured upon it" because you have a large amount of inebriated students causing havoc in the city centre. That's why.
    Rag Week won't affect 99% of the population but they all complain about it... Can they not just leave the student population to it?

Won't affect 99% of the population? Did you happen to have a look at any of the local newspapers that week? Specifically the letters sections or the editorials?
    Also, the point they made about doing more of the events on campus isn't going to work either, what events are outside campus during rag week exactly? The Monday and Tuesday afternoon spots in the GPO and Cuba I can understand but the nightclubs are open every night of the week anyway.

This is exactly why this "new" idea won't work. Who in their right mind will believe that clubs and pubs won't hold exactly the same events they did last year - granted they won't be endorsed on-campus, but if there's a buck to be made from holding a foam party or a happy hour during RAG week, you can be certain that every club/pub owner with a half a brain will do so, damn the consequences.

No, it "gets a lot of scorn poured upon it" because you have a large amount of inebriated students causing havoc in the city centre. That's why.

Can't argue with that, but other events with behaviors like that aren't looked upon the same way as Rag Week simply for the fact it makes the City more money.

No, it "gets alot of scorn poured upon it" because you have a large amount of inebriated students causing havoc in the city centre. That's why.
    What is this havoc you speak of? Because in the two RAG Weeks I've been in college for, and a third where I was in Galway for the day during one, I haven't seen 'havoc'. Certainly not in the day time. Sure you get more people out on the beer and maybe some sham panned out in Eyre Square but it's hardly the warzone it's made out to be. It can get fairly hectic at night but it's just like an especially busy Thursday night.
    Won't affect 99% of the population? Did you happen to have a look at any of the local newspapers that week? Specifically the letters sections or the editorials?
    Ah yes, the people who take time out of their riveting lives to write whiney letters into their local paper. Always the benchmark for a normal mindset :rolleyes:
    but if there's a buck to be made from holding a foam party or a happy hour during RAG week, you can be certain that every club/pub owner with a half a brain will do so, damn the consequences.
    :pac: where in Galway offers a Happy Hour during RAG Week? I must check it out. Although, being Galway, it will probably still result in being ripped off for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

I think the reason this got slatted last year is because of the "nightclubs" opening during the day. stop that and you get rid of a lot of the bad publicity.

Last year wasn't the first time they did that though. And what problems did it pose? There were more people out drinking in town on St Patrick's Day than the Monday the GPO & Cuba opened.

What is this havoc you speak of?

Individuals deciding it would be "gas craic bas" to jump into the corrib after lots of alcohol, including the individual who couldn't swim and had to be rescued by the gardaí et al, traffic being backed up from the mercy to the cathedral because some individual decided it would be "fun" to lie in the middle of the road, various girls staggering around outside the education building one of whom was being dragged along the pavement by the rest, others staggering out from under the quad-arch ****-faced stumbling out in front of oncoming cars, walking from mercy up towards church watching people pissing in doorways etc. ad nauseum (pun intended)

At least during other events all this vulgarity is confined to the wee hours, but during RAG week you get all this nonsense happening before it's even fkin late afternoon which is the thing that really fkin irritates the hell out of me tbh.

I've lived in Galway all my life and tbh there is nothing like RAG week for the ridiculousness that happens. Think St. Patrick's day spread out over a week and multiplied by 50.
    Ah yes, the people who take time out of their riveting lives to write whiny letters into their local paper. Always the benchmark for a normal mindset

Well, I agree with the sentiment, but unfortunately these are the kind of things that your average Galwegian takes very, very seriously.
    Where in Galway offers a Happy Hour during RAG Week? I must check it out. Although, being Galway, it will probably still result in being ripped off for a pint.

Actually, I think it's illegal to have a happy-hour in Ireland so they have "offers". Shop-street generally tends to be mauled with these hugely irritating individuals grunting at you trying to convince you to go to some certain pub because you get two bottles of bottom of the shelf beer brands for THE PRICE OF ONE. Yay.

Which is pretty much impossible and why all this is going to fail. Miserably.

Or happily, depend on which side of the fence you are :p

BTW I'm not one of these RAG Week write-offs. I've never once ended up in hospital, or in with the Gardai for that matter after drinking and I tend to only vandalise my own property :D I can understand why residents might not like it: as much as I love Galway I couldn't see myself living there if I was in my 40s, but to be perfectly honest with you the craic during RAG Week outweighs the consequences that people do be moaning about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

to be perfectly honest with you the craic during RAG Week outweighs the consequences that people do be moaning about.

I have been a Galway resident all my life and I am a student too. I can honestly tell you that the behaviour is completely out of order. A few beers is one thing but the little ****s running around in the afternoon roaring abuse is ridiculous. Take a look over some of these 'shenanigans' in the online archives of some of the local papers ..and gauranteed that is only a small slice of the ****e that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

The goverment agency that grants special alcohol licenses could threaten to revoke their license if they carry out these daytime slots.
    Is this a possibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

I don't see how this will work! Every year clubs and socs put in a lot of time and effort into organising charity rag week events! People not involved in clubs or socs would have little or know interest in organising running charity events and those that would, would have no idea where to start. So if your asking the student union to make it more charity orientated what do you expect them to do? You're asking these people to do more work, organising events and raising money. These people have degrees to worry about to you know. Changing the student populations perception of what rag week is going to be very difficult. I think pub and club will have to make a commitment to raising money if they want save there rag week business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

'Raise A Grand Each' in big 12' high letters on the sides of the library.

po0k wrote: »
    'Raise A Grand Each' in big 12' high letters on the sides of the library.

Even if they put THIS IS NOT AN EXCUSE TO DRINK under it people would pay no notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

staple their eyelids to their eyebrows.

po0k - lateral problem solver

You have to laugh though...

People say that "oh the money raised for charity during RAG Week is negated by the costs incurred during cleaning up etc".

How is that? Do you think these greedy bastards in the council were going to set that money aside for charity?

If the council have to cut into their budget each year to accommodate for a load of students running wild and having the best time of their lives while some people raise quite a considerable amount fo charity then so be it. I think that's a fair trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭nerd3000

"major overhaul" my ass. I was hoping the SU would have a bit more cop on than this, raising funds is one thing, what about all the money that will be spent on public services like gardaí, ambulance, hospital etc. that will inevitably arise from students acting like retards come RAG week.

You make it sound like the gardai, ambulance and hospitals. work on some sort of commission! they all work 365, 24/7 regardless! Not a cent of "extra funds" are spent on gardai, ambulance and hospital's during RAG week at all. More Gardai are brought in from various other stations where they'd be scratchin' there arses that week anyway! If anythin, RAG week makes them earn every cent in their pocket!

20,000 euro is what NUIG SU and students raised last RAG week, who cares if there was mayhem, we are only young once and at the end of the day its all the papers making mountains out of molehills.

nerd3000 wrote: »
    20,000 euro is what NUIG SU and students raised last RAG week

That's pathetic when you consider there are over 15,000 students in the college.
    who cares if there was mayhem

People who are having their lives disrupted by this mindless BS?
    we are only young once

That's not an excuse for people to behave like animals.
    at the end of the day its all the papers making mountains out of molehills.

No. It's ordinary people sick of having their lives disrupted because some students drink way more than they are capable of dealing with.

If the council have to cut into their budget each year to accommodate for a load of students running wild and having the best time of their lives while some people raise quite a considerable amount fo charity then so be it. I think that's a fair trade.
    20,000 euro is what NUIG SU and students raised last RAG week, who cares if there was mayhem, we are only young once and at the end of the day its all the papers making mountains out of molehills.

And I suppose this begs asking, why is it that Irish students are only able to have "the best times of their life" when there is alcohol and mayhem involved? Also, I must congratulate all these people on keeping the Irish stereotypes alive and well.
    You make it sound like the gardai, ambulance and hospitals. work on some sort of commission! they all work 365, 24/7 regardless! Not a cent of "extra funds" are spent on gardai, ambulance and hospital's during RAG week at all. More Gardai are brought in from various other stations where they'd be scratchin' there arses that week anyway! If anythin, RAG week makes them earn every cent in their pocket!

I thought it was pretty obvious that I'm referring to indirect costs... as in the economic impact of gardai/medics having to cope with more incidents and the fact that they are alcohol related incidents instead of something worthwhile.
    Not to mention all the more practical and logistical concerns like fuel costs, potential psychological impact, impact on tourism etc.

To be fair the clubs send some/all of the door charges to charity so that should be included too in the 20k (if not already included).

That's pathetic when you consider there are over 15,000 students in the college.
    It's still 20 000 more euros than what would be raised without RAG Week.
    And I suppose this begs asking, why is it that Irish students are only able to have "the best times of their life" when there is alcohol and mayhem involved? Also, I must congratulate all these people on keeping the Irish stereotypes alive and well.
    So... absolutely no different to English, Welsh, Scottish or American students then.
    I thought it was pretty obvious that I'm referring to indirect costs... as in the economic impact of gardai/medics having to cope with more incidents and the fact that they are alcohol related incidents instead of something worthwhile.
    Obviously there are more anti-social behaviour incidents (like with any large event) but from experience it seems the ACAB's attitude definitely contributes toward the number of arrests. They seem to become even bigger arseholes during RAG Week, chasing after people and screaming at them because they're walking along quietly with a can in their hand. I've even had unopened drink taken off me by them while I was just walking along the road ("because I can, and if you argue I'll arrest you" was the reason the cow in uniform gave).

So... absolutely no different to English, Welsh, Scottish or American students then.

Ahhh, well if the British and Americans are at it, then it's actually perfectly alright. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

The students involved seem to become even bigger arseholes during RAG Week, chasing after people and screaming at them because they're walking along quietly minding their own business.

Fixed it for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

The interview with outgoing SU president put it at €32,000. Not the worst but could improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

ethernet wrote: »
    The interview with outgoing SU president put it at €32,000. Not the worst but could improve.

All most twice the previous years figure of 17,000. The most successful rag week ever by far. Myself and a lot of friends did a lot of work for rag week this year and we were really all very excited and very proud of what we had achieved, then to have the media come out and blow things out of proportion was just a kick in teeth. Also the no. of stupid arrest that were made for minor things that would have usually just merited a slap on the wrist but because the cops knew it was Rag week and decided they needed to set an example all of a sudden. The whole thing makes me sick. You try and do something positive and end up being branded as a yob!

You try and do something positive and end up being branded as a yob!

No one branded you a yob. The only people that were complained about were those that were disruptive and used RAG week as an excuse to act like a tool.

You tried to do something positive and were overshadowed by a hell of a lot more people doing negative things that were branded as yobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 xxxLoueeZxxx

Some people in this thread are really getting on my tits.

Its only one week a year... its not like people are swinging off the lamp posts 24/7!

I worked very hard last year and went completely daft RAG week, not to the point of getting sick everywhere or getting arrested but I just embraced it and enjoyed myself!

It annoys me that people in Galway give out about students on RAG week, you dont hear them complaining about the amount of money they make from us students through rent/food/taxis etc. oh no, their fine with us keeping money in the local economy!

And anyways more people were arrested in Galway on St. Paddy's Day then the entire RAG week!

Of course there's always the few who ruin it for everyone else but over all most students I saw while they may have been drunk they weren't intimidating the locals, stealing from places or making a show of themselves! Besides its usually people from outside Galway Uni's that are causing trouble not the acutal Galway students

And anyways more people were arrested in Galway on St. Paddy's Day then the entire RAG week!

Did they? There was way more knackers, drunks and people drinking in the streets on Paddy's Day, yet the Garda weren't chasing after people shouting at them and confiscating their drink.

I got a closed bottle of beer (in a plastic bag) taken off me during RAG Week, yet walked past the Guards on Shop St while drinking a tin of Bulmers without any hassle. As I said before, the amount of arrests in RAG Week is certainly influenced by the way the Garda take the piss with students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭dmullins3

both the drinking and fundraising sides to nuigalway rag wks can and will continue, even if banned by the college administration. nuig students now how to stand up for ourselves, we stood up to "poor" bertie when he came and he couldnt even attend his talk. if the administration cancel rag week there will be an outcry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

That's pathetic when you consider there are over 15,000 students in the college.quote]

Key word, students. Students are skint. And dont say its because the moneys blown on drink. Think rent food clothes travel ect and no income

It annoys me that people in Galway give out about students on RAG week, you dont hear them complaining about the amount of money they make from us students through rent/food/taxis etc. oh no, their fine with us keeping money in the local economy!

So you pay for rent, food and taxis, thus you can do whatever the hell you like in the city?
    Infallible logic there...
    dmullins3 wrote: »
    both the drinking and fundraising sides to nuigalway rag wks can and will continue, even if banned by the college administration. nuig students now how to stand up for ourselves, we stood up to "poor" bertie when he came and he couldnt even attend his talk. if the administration cancel rag week there will be an outcry

Yes, what you did to "poor Bertie" was very heroic indeed. Thankfully the papers and college admin properly highlighted how much of an insignant minority you people are and that you do not in anyway represent the college as a whole.

Key word, students. Students are skint. And dont say its because the moneys blown on drink.Think rent food clothes travel ect and no income

You're entirely missing CT's point, it's got nothing to do with the fact that students are skint, he's highlighting how insignificant the money raised is in comparison to number of students on campus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Laoch'Rione

Listen guys, stop arguing with the obvious plants here. Some posters here are fuddy duddies who spend their days whinging about everything from the weather being too hot/too cold to RAG week!!

Fionn MacCool et al, you've made good points and you're only going to frustrate yourselves responding to anti-student, ageist nonsense. I'm a mature student, a resident of Galway too (ooh I should HATE RAG week!! Must remind myself, am old, must hate RAG week!! :p )

Young people are the bane of society according to some, no matter if its students in Galway or teenagers in the bog-hole of nowhere running around drunk and knickerless!! Every college/university everywhere in Ireland have RAG week - GET OVER IT GALWAY - You're nothing special, suffer it, deal with it, build a bridge and get the hell over it!! RAG week is as much a part of college life as lectures, you can like it or lump it!!

Fionn et al, enjoy RAG week, or College Week or "Let's pretend it's not RAG week!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 xxxLoueeZxxx

So you pay for rent, food and taxis, thus you can do whatever the hell you like in the city?
    Infallible logic there...quote]

i dont remember saying that at all im just sayin that u dont hear residents complaining about the amount of money generated every year for Galway by the students to live there with out the students Galway is just any other Irish town... makes money on tourists for 3 months a year and survives off that living for the other 9