Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle spins in Cork?

• 17-07-2009 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭

Hi, is their any leisure cycling club in Cork city? or cyclists that get together for spins etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

calerbass wrote: »
    Hi, is their any leisure cycling club in Cork city? or cyclists that get together for spins etc?

Plenty of clubs/spins. What area are you based/what level etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭calerbass

Im based in the Blackpool area.Only recently moved here. Im doing bout,40-50k spins, cycled for years,bit of racing etc but been off the bike bout four or five years,so i was wondering were there any leisure club/groups that get together for spins.Thanks for your reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

calerbass wrote: »

Im based in the Blackpool area.Only recently moved here. Im doing bout,40-50k spins, cycled for years,bit of racing etc but been off the bike bout four or five years,so i was wondering were there any leisure club/groups that get together for spins.Thanks for your reply.

As far as I know (I'm a blow in Dub..) St Finbarrs cycling club are based around Blackpool and are supposedly a very good set up http://stfinbarrscc.com/

Out of town you could try
    http://www.blarneycyclingclub.ie/

A few others listed here:
    + O21 Racing - Co. Cork + The Cranks Cycling Club - Co. Cork + Fermoy Cycling Club - Fermoy + Kanturk Credit Union Cycling Club - Kanturk + Mountain Bike Club Cork - Co. Cork + St. Finbarrs Cycling Club - Co. City + West Cork 200 Cycling Club - Co. Cork + Youghal Cycling Club - Youghal + UCC Cycling Club - UCC

Or if it's casual spins you are looking for come out for a boards spin ! PM me if you are interested.

thanks for all the info. I might check on st finbarrs seeing as its in the area. Id be interested in the board spins for sure . Will make a change from going solo. Would help to get to know the roads around as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Anzer123

Hey, Im not far from Blackpool either and would be up for the odd spin! Maybe you could pm me if you manage to find one! :pac:

No problem, watch this space............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Boosterseat

If there are Cork spins happening I woudn't mind tagging along. I'm near Kinsale.

Alternatively does anyone know if there are clubs based in south Cork, dont want to have to travel too far but anything from say Douglas west to Bandon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I'd be interested in some leisure spins too, around 50km at a leisure pace would be nice. As far as I know there are'nt any leisure clubs in Cork City, it's all racing. I could be wrong however, I just hav'nt found any.

If anyone wants to go for a basic enough spin at some stage (no high speed long distance carry on) leaving from the city, just drop me a pm. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Now c'mere and tell me something, what is "leisurely pace"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

I would be interested aswell. We should organise something.

Now c'mere and tell me something, what is "leisurely pace"?

Ah well 20-30km/h, what I mean is not at racing pace, not bombing down the road flat out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭happy_73

would also be interested. Anyone game for lunchtime spins during the week (1-2pm starting in the city area) bout 18 miles or so?

S

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭jimshady101

I have just moved to cork, living near wilton but working in Ballincollig. I'd be up for a few spins from time to time. Been cycling about 7 months, I did the ROK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

I have just moved to cork, living near wilton but working in Ballincollig. I'd be up for a few spins from time to time. Been cycling about 7 months, I did the ROK.

Hi

Im in St Finbarrs Club we go out every Saturday morning from the Bandon roundabout at 10am we do stop in Kinsale for a coffee so if your coming bring a bit of cash.

On Sundays we meet in town on the Grand Parade just at the Turn to South Mall at 10am

So if your interested please come along your more then welcome.

Hi

Im in St Finbarrs Club we go out every Saturday morning from the Bandon roundabout at 10am we do stop in Kinsale for a coffee so if your coming bring a bit of cash.

On Sundays we meet in town on the Grand Parade just at the Turn to South Mall at 10am

So if your interested please come along your more then welcome.

Ive been thinking of joining The Finbarrs Club as im in the city. How do you find it? I would love to join but i dont want to be above my depth and slow things down.
    How is the pace and distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

I have to get my new bike in, I am too embarrised to show the piece of ****e I currently have.

The Cycle2work only just opened up for me (working at UCC) and due to circumstances have not gone ahead with it.

I live in Wilton.

Dr.Millah wrote: »
    +1 I wouldn't like to be promising to get involved in a club and then find that I am out of my depth.

Dr.Millah wrote: »
    Ive been thinking of joining The Finbarrs Club as im in the city. How do you find it? I would love to join but i dont want to be above my depth and slow things down.

Look we all had to start some where and it takes time but if you feel your not strong enough stay at the back of the group and after a few weeks when you feel you are getting stronger then you can work within the group. While your at the back there will be different guys coming back you can ask them for advice.
    Thats how i did it.

The pace is not too bad at this time of years between 27 to 30 K per hour and about 60 to 80 k so noting major with a stop somewhere. We do like our coffee.

If you want check out or our main site Or you can email or club Sec Andrew registrar@stfinbarrscc.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

What would you suggest as training crashoveroid? Being able to cycle 15 km in half an hour? Or maybe something like that?
    There must be something that can be done before going with the big boys? :)

What would you suggest as training crashoveroid? Being able to cycle 15 km in half an hour? Or maybe something like that?
    There must be something that can be done before going with the big boys? :)

The first rule about cycling i learned was its much easier to cycle in a group then it is the cycle on your own you wold be amazed how easy it is to fly along in a group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 spincess

Hi All

I've recently moved to Ringaskiddy and would be up for a group spin.

Also, there is a cycle touring group in Cork called An Oige I intend to check out.

Were any of you at the Rebel Pedal yesterday? I tried to take the backroads to Cork without a map and got a bit lost. I arrived too late for the official Rebel cycle but enjoyed my spin there anyway, went on a mini spin with some folk from the festival to the planetarium and got chaperoned to Easons where I picked up a couple of maps for Cork. after the festy it was on to the best greasy spoon eaterie on MacCurtain Street and then to Sin E for some Rebel Red, great day out :)

So now that I'm all mapped up who's up for a spin this Saturday? Where should we meet? BTW I've no car so I've got to cycle to the meet up spot.

What kind of distance are you used to doing Spincess?

Not a lot actually Nova-era, it's a long time since I was doing 50miles a day! These past few years I've really only been commuting and pootering about but this year I got into track racing and also did a couple of 40k-60k rides and the boards 25mile tt.

Seeing as there is no track/velodrome here in Cork this season will be about leisurely miles and lots of lovely hills and scenery I think, not to mention attempting to master my newly acquired unicyle.

It sounds as though we may be well matched on pace and distance. Where do you live/work/study?

I live in Douglas, around a 25/30 minute cycle from Ringaskiddy. There seems to be a few people on here who are up for a circa 50km cycle, the only problem with organising one of those in Cork, is that there's a very good chance of encountering a few deadly hills in the middle.

Does anyone know a decent 50km/60km route in Cork? Nothing too insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭adodsk

Cycle out the Inniscarra Road through Dripsey to Coachford turn over the hill to Farnanes and back along the N22 to Cork. The only hill of note is between Coachford and Farnanes but it's a gradual climb and a nice fast descent with one hairpin to watch out for.

adodsk wrote: »
    Cycle out the Inniscarra Road through Dripsey to Coachford turn over the hill to Farnanes and back along the N22 to Cork. The only hill of note is between Coachford and Farnanes but it's a gradual climb and a nice fast descent with one hairpin to watch out for.

Thanks a lot, I'll check it out. Dripsey is a lovely area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

I'd probably be up for this aswell, as long as I don't slow ye down too much cos im still rubbish :)

I live in carrigaline but don't mind driving to meet.

What time had ye in mind? this saturday morning?

Nova_era wrote: »
    I live in Douglas, around a 25/30 minute cycle from Ringaskiddy. There seems to be a few people on here who are up for a circa 50km cycle, the only problem with organising one of those in Cork, is that there's a very good chance of encountering a few deadly hills in the middle.

Does anyone know a decent 50km/60km route in Cork? Nothing too insane.

Bandon and back - some nice hills on that route http://connect.garmin.com/activity/10861448

Might be doing Innishannon and back on Sunday morning (starting at 9ish) it the new bike arrives from wiggle on time :)

S

Im up for any spins around cork anyway. Anywhere is pretty cool

Yes saturday spins sound good. I am maxed out at doing the 60k Rebel Tour last week so that sort of distance would be great, and sure we can always built it up a bit. I dont know whether its easier to try and find a central point to make travel easier for everyone, I'm near Kinsale but don't mind travelling if there are some nice routes out there. One suggestion, Dunnes at Bandon Road down to Bandon, back cross country through Brinny and on to Crossbarry, then left up the hill and down again to Kilimney and from there back into Cork. Works out at around 57km, nice route, gradual 5km climb from Crossbarry to Begley's Forge but its worth it for the descent into Kilumney. I dont know what the section from Bandon to Crossbarry is like but the rest I am familiar with and it is fine. All in all though, I am happy to travel to whatever people decide is the nicest route. Certainly Dripsey/Coachford as mentioned earlier is very nice.

That sounds like a good route. I cycle around Dripsey/Coachford most weeks and know the area pretty well at this stage. But of course im completely open to new routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Here is my 45km-50km mid week route:

http://www.bikehike.co.uk/mapview.php?id=20818

It has a steep hill at the start & at the end, you can see this in the gradient information. It normally takes me 1hr 50mins, so that's about 25km/hr average speed. The road surfaces are good, the city bits are a bit disjointed because of traffic lights. I'm not great on hills but I can manage any that are on this, the finish up Clarke's Hill/Garryduff is still a real challenge for me but I'm getting better every week.
    My main driver for cycling is just working on getting a bit fit, I'm not looking to become the next Sean Kelly!

It's looking good - lots of suggestions there and plenty of interest!

@TheTubes - Carrigaline is less than 15 min cycle for me and I think it's pretty much en route to Douglas too.

So folks, shall we say Saturday morning, maybe 9 or 10 am?

One of ye pick where to meet and which route to take..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 joshor123

would love this living practically in blackpool aswell dublin hill,only 14 wud be well able 4 this

I won't make this weekends cycle but hopefully it can become a regular thing in Cork, it seems like there's a good number or 4 or 5 at least up for doing it. :)

I'll be picking up my new racer at the weekend so getting dropped won't be (as much) of a problem anymore. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

I'll be picking up my new racer at the weekend so getting dropped won't be (as much) of a problem anymore. :)

What are ya getting?

Either a Specialized Allez or else a Giant Defy 4. It's my first racer so I'm really not sure, I'm basing it on which looks better. The Specialized has a compact chainset, and the Giant has a triple.. but the Giant looks nicer.

Payslip is in on Friday, so I've gotta make up my mind by then.

Any comment on either bike? I could do with some advice!

Either a Specialized Allez or else a Giant Defy 4. It's my first racer so I'm really not sure, I'm basing it on which looks better. The Specialized has a compact chainset, and the Giant has a triple.. but the Giant looks nicer.

Payslip is in on Friday, so I've gotta make up my mind by then.

Any comment on either bike? I could do with some advice!

wud go specialised myself;)

joshor123 wrote: »
    wud go specialised myself;)

Any reason in particular? :)

no really :Dnever had one just heard good things about them

no really :Dnever had one just heard good things about them all pros no cons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

spincess wrote: »

So folks, shall we say Saturday morning, maybe 9 or 10 am?

One of ye pick where to meet and which route to take..

I should be able to make it sat morning.
    my preference would be for an early start so 9 would be fine with me but I'll go with whatever suits the group.
    Anyone want to pick a route? I don't have a clue, sorry :o

I would suggest that we decide on a time/location soon though so we can get a good idea of who will be able to make it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

Hi
    Living in Passage, myself and another rider would be interested if that is ok. Just starting out and doing around 40Km.

anyone have interest in a spin on Sunday 9am-ish, meet at Bandon Rd roundabout and head down to Bandon and back.

S

TheTubes wrote: »
    I should be able to make it sat morning.
    my preference would be for an early start so 9 would be fine with me but I'll go with whatever suits the group.
    Anyone want to pick a route? I don't have a clue, sorry :o

I would suggest that we decide on a time/location soon though so we can get a good idea of who will be able to make it :pac:

@Tubes - I'm only in Cork just over a week and on my only trip over 5k I got lost so I'd rather somebody else choose the route!

@Happy - Bandon looks to be too far to get to for a starting point for me anyway, I need to explore closer to home first.

If no one picks a route for Saturday I will likely experiment with getting into Cork without getting lost or maybe head towards Crosshaven.

Thats my usual route, passage, carrigaline, crosshaven, a very good run.

Got out this am, Passage,Douglas, Grange, up the road running parrallel to the Airport rd. (fecking climb) nearly killed me. Out to Riverstick, turned left at Belgooly, over to Ballyfeard, onto Carrigaline and Ringaskiddy and home just under the 60Km. My longest run.

Enjoyed it except for the back rd to the airport, I suffered there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

my bike was stolen on the south mall today :(

Any details?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Is anyone doing the tour of the Knockmealdowns tomorrow?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.