Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling Helmets Compulsary From Next Year

• 16-07-2009 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

About time I say. I have always worn a helmet from when I started playing, we were not allowed even train without one. Progressing through the age grades some people stopped wearing them, I could not understand why.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0716/helmets.html
    The GAA has re-affirmed that the 2009 senior hurling championships at various different levels will be the last that permit players to take to the field without a hurling helmet and full face guard.

New regulations, which come into effect on 1 January next, require all players to wear helmets and face guards at all times for both training and matches.

The move will see senior players follow the minor and U-21 grades where the use of protective headwear has been compulsory in recent seasons.

The new regulations will mean match officials will be obliged to stop play if a player appears on the field without the necessary equipment.

Each player will be advised of the requirements that the new rules place on him and his continued participation will be dependent on his compliance with these rules.

This initiative has been designed with the health and safety of the players in mind and with the special intention of reducing head and eye injuries that the use of helmets can help prevent.

GAA President Christy Cooney is confident that the new regulations will further assist in the enhancement of the safety of adult hurlers at every level.

He said: 'We appreciate that the new rulings which come into effect on 1 January next will mean a change and a challenge for some of our adult hurlers.

'However, in the interests of the safety of those who play our games, it was incumbent on us as an association to reach this point and a date is now fixed and in front of us to work towards.

'When the same rule change was announced for the minor and U-21 grades some of our followers predicted problems but thankfully the players, trainers and managers bought into the spirit of the rule and helped create a general acceptance of the change.'

He added: 'Our senior players do as much as anyone to help put our games in the shop window enticing younger players to play our games and it is a logical progression for us to insist that they lead by example.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I don't like it. Like Diarmuid O'Sullivan said, a grown man in his 30's whose played hurling his entire life shouldn't have to be told to wear something he's never needed to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Imagine John Mullane with a helmet? Crazy stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

An absolute load of bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭RAFC

Have to say I agree with this rule - my eldest is minor this year and has always worn a helmet, glad to hear if he stays with GAA and goes up to play with the junior or senior team he will still have to wear one :) Just a mother's opinion :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Don't play hurling myself but surely certain helmets seriously affect your range of vision on the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

yerayeah wrote: »
    Don't play hurling myself but surely certain helmets seriously affect your range of vision on the pitch?

You get used to it, it becomes natural as you begin as a child with the helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Does this apply to keepers? Keepers need their peripheral vision and the helmet limits this. Goals will fly in if so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Great rule tbh. Its all well and good being manly and saying you can play without a helmet but when you get your nose broken or worse then there's no ****ing going back.

I can rely on myself without a helmet but I don't trust any smartass who tries to catch you on the sly.

Most have us have been wearing a helmet all of our playing days so the rest of ye can get used to it and be safer for it.

/Rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭hawkwing

They might start putting names on the back of the jerseys now as everyone looks the very same except for ("the guy in the yellow helmet etc!).They should be forced to wear gloves also as you are more likely to get a slap on the fingers and break one of them as your nose,and a bulletproof vest to stop the pain from hurley digs perhaps:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Daysha wrote: »
    I don't like it. Like Diarmuid O'Sullivan said, a grown man in his 30's whose played hurling his entire life shouldn't have to be told to wear something he's never needed to use.

and what if he or any other player happens to get a nasty blow to the head that renders him unable to work again or live his life as normal? Who will be expected to foot the bill? More pressure on the GAA for more funds? The GPA? Insurance companies?

Helmets make sense and should be used.
    Some people have said they affect one's field of vision but does this helmet rule require face masks also?

I understand even without a face mask a helmet can affect field of vision but it's important to ensure the helmet is of the right fit to minimise it.
    DJ Carey wore a helmet and a face mask, didn't do his field of vision any harm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Some people have said they affect one's field of vision but does this helmet rule require face masks also?

Looks like face guards are required as well. It does not really affect your visions as you become used to it. As for it having more of an affect on goalkeepers, well it does not seem to affect keepers in ice hockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Looks like face guards are required as well. It does not really affect your visions as you become used to it. As for it having more of an affect on goalkeepers, well it does not seem to affect keepers in ice hockey.
    I think they will need to rethink the helmet for goalkeepers. Perhaps a plexiglass piece over the eyes is what's needed. Could work for outfielders too.

I tried wearing a helmet as a goalkeeper and it does seriously restrict your peripheral vision. I've also played ice-hockey (very badly) as goaltender with a normal (cheapish) outfielders helmet and a neck guard and it felt very strange and would take a hell of a lot of getting used to - as does all the ice-hockey gear in fairness.

There are quite a few differences between the 2. In ice-hockey you have so much padding (to the front at least) and your job is to get in the way. As a goalkeeper in hurling you also have to catch the ball - in ice-hockey your catching glove is almost like a baseball glove and play is stopped usually when the puck is caught. In hurling you also need to know who or what is around you in order to make sure when you do something you manage to get the ball to safety. This isn't as much of a concern in ice-hockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Fatswaldo

Dont agree with the 'absolute' nature of the ruling. Should be a gradual thing. As someone who never wore a helmet in all my years hurling, it may have put a premature end to my competitive career had the rule come in ten years ago. I tried to wear one when I was about 21 or 22 but it felt like I was 'boiling my head'. Cant imagine what the added weight and restriction of a face mask does!

Having said all that, I do think that players should wear helmets. My three lads all do so without any problems and sometimes even wear them when not hurling! Once you start out wearing them, it should continue. Its when you have never wore that the problem begins.

Can anyone remember when the compulsory helmet rule for U21s was introduced - this should have been continued on an age basis all the way up - increased by 2 years every 2 years. Then players would have had to always wear the helmet and by now it would nearly cover all those currently playing. Would have been hard to police though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

I think that there should be a little give on the part of the GAA - Ok, make helmets compulsory but do they have to be the helmets with the guards??

Personally, I have never (when I say never, what i really mean is I have tried a few times) worn a helmet - In the rain, there's a river running down in front of me and in the heat, its a river of sweat :)

That said, I have 11 stitches in my lip from a match last weekend :o

On our team (Junior B) there are 4-5 lads that dont wear helmets and are in the same boat as me, never liked wearing them and think it will effect how they play - e.g. Catching the ball, peripheral vision etc..

I could get over wearing a helmet without a guard but the prospect of wearing a helmet with a big awkward gaurd depresses me

Would be crazy to apply the rule to Goalkeepers too IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Yeah like has been said by many the idea of enforcing it on Goalkeepers is crazy, look at Brendan Cummins, Damien Fitz, Donal og -these guys have been hurling for over 20 years and are the best in the bussiness and now they're goin to be forced to wear a helment and face-guard??

As for someone who said it doesnt really affect your vison, seriously are you for real, you've obviously never played in goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Think this is ridiculous, I wouldn't mind but all young players coming through onto senior ranks in the last number of years all wear helmets anyway-Noel McGrath (Tipp), Noel Connors (Waterford), Cha Fitz (KK), Patrick Horgan and Pa Cronin (Cork) to name a few. The problem would have sorted itself over the next few years IMO as it would have got to the stage where everyone would have helmets. I don't see how keepers could wear them at all either. Looking at the Tipp, Dublin and KK senior teams, I think nearly all bar maybe 2 or 3 wear helmets anyway.
    Also, to back up my point, when was the last time somebody got split open or needed serious medical attention in an intercounty senior match coz I for one don't think I've ever seen it. Maybe a few stitches but always back on the field soon after. I just think at senior, players are old and mature enough to be given the choice whether they want to wear a helmet or not. Think seeing Ken McGrath, Sean Og o hAilpin, Dan Shanahan, Mick Kavanagh, Brendan Cummins (and all other intercounty keepers) wearing helmets would just look wrong.

Just thinking about this and visualising some of the teams, Waterford would be one of the worst affected actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

He used to wear a red one without a faceguard

I got a clatter on the side of the head from a hurley last week - I say clatter because it hit the helmet, and though I've no way of saying how much this particular clatter would hurt if I hadn't had the lid on, I am happy to do without knowing.

Maybe this will drive helmet design forward. I used to hate wearing a helmet when I started wearing one again, and got rid of the first helmet i tried and replaced it with a new mycro because there was a bar just above the eyes blocking my line of sight for high balls

Maybe it's time to put names not on jerseys but on helmets? Getting complicated doing that though. Maybe the govt could introduce a helmet scrappage scheme..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

I think its a wee bit different making helmets compulsary for adults, in fairness a lot kids from 5 to 18 can be more dangerous when pulling their hurl than Mature adults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I think this is a great rule actually, about time they finalised putting it in the rulebooks. I'm playing junior hurling and at times it can get a bit hectic so i'd rather wear my helmet and not be so over-protective of myself during a game and concentrate on my job in LCF and scoring.

In our last match just a few days ago one of our midfielders took a massive blow to the side of the head from a hurley, if it wasnt for him wearing a helmet, hitting the deck and being slightly concussed, i dont dare to think of the damage that swing would have done to him without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

The face guard with the shell forms the overall 'helmet' so it won't be possible to opt out of using the guard. All helmets will have to bear the NSAI IS355 stamp to show that they have passed the stringent testing required to meet the standard.

I agree that it will difficult for older players to be forced to wear a head/face protector but younger players shouldn't have a major problem as they will be used to it. At some stage the GAA was going to make wear a head and face protector/helmet mandatory for all players, in 5 years time it won't such be a big deal. Some very nasty injuries over the years have occurred on the field of play (e.g. Joe Rabbitte in 1997) and wearing a helmet makes perfect sense.

I understand the need to do something for health and safety purposes but why not phase it into senior hurling like has already been said all younger players have no porblem as they have been forced to wear them underage for the last few years already, so why not say from next year all players under 25 and then the year after under 26 and so on it would make alot more sense than telling a guy wha has played hurling for the last 20 years or more that he has to wear a helmet from next year.

Just thinking about this and visualising some of the teams, Waterford would be one of the worst affected actually

Yup, Mullane, Kelly, Ken and Eoin McGrath, Shanahan, Seamus Prendergast, none of them bother with helmets. And knowing those guys they'll kick up a right fuss about it too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Daysha wrote: »
    Yup, Mullane, Kelly, Ken and Eoin McGrath, Shanahan, Seamus Prendergast, none of them bother with helmets. And knowing those guys they'll kick up a right fuss about it too.

Prentergast has a red one?? and mullane used have a red. But I think its only recent years Waterford started wearing the helmets, the young fellas all have them I think?

But I seem to recal last year the Gaa saying that in '09 helmets would be compulsary, but I think they're taking things further this year you neer know though.

Oh and at the mention of face masks they must be worn but I was looking at a hurling photo the other day and his visor thing had a different design. The bars went down, at the outsides of his eyes and went down between them And the horizontal bars started under his eyes and left room for his mouth.. Basicly it was completly suited to his features so he could see perfectly and could get a drink fair easily too! If they work on the design of them they mightent be to bad

deise_girl wrote: »
    Prentergast has a red one?? and mullane used have a red. But I think its only recent years Waterford started wearing the helmets, the young fellas all have them I think?

Yeah I wasn't 100% sure on S.Prendergast. I know he has definitely gone without one in the past but maybe he has switched back to helmets recently. You're right though, Moran, O'Sullivan, Molumphy, Kearney, Kennedy, Connors, they all wear helmets throughtout the year which is good to see. But that won't make it any easier for the more experienced players who'll have quite a bit of adjusting to do in the future.

Brian Cody has his 2cents on the hurling helmets ruling and does not see a problem

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=115485
    Brian Cody doesn't foresee major problems with the GAA's plans to make the wearing of helmets compulsory from January 1 next.

Former Cork star Diarmuid O'Sullivan recently revealed that the prospect of having to wear a helmet influenced his decision to quit hurling, while the rule change will create difficulties for a host of other inter-county players who have never worn headgear before.

Click here
    "It's going to be a strange situation for those players. I think it's a psychological thing, something you've been doing all your life. Michael Kavanagh and James Ryall are examples for us, and you'd see Tommy (Walsh) throwing off the helmet as well," the Kilkenny manager said.

"When you are playing for so long without it, you can find it strange wearing one. Nowadays, it's part and parcel of the gear for young players and that's the way it is. Diarmuid O'Sullivan has already stated how he feels, but I think it's a psychological thing."

Despite Kilkenny's vice-like grip on the Bob O'Keeffe Cup, Cody is adamant that the Leinster hurling championship is going from strength to strength.

"It's been a very, very strong Leinster championship. They were massive tests against Galway and Dublin. To me, the Leinster championship is always competitive, but in other years we had bigger wins. The league final was another phenomenal test, so a lot of players were exposed to real tests.

"Dublin had been threatening for a few years, Galway will always be contenders for All-Irelands, but the biggest thing of all this year for me was probably the Laois performance against Limerick last Saturday night.

"Niall Rigney has come in this year and done a great job, and they are realising the potential and they will be even stronger for the experience next year."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

All i can say is I'M FCUKED now. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

do cooper helmets with a kilkenny guard pass the safety standards?? like can ya wear one next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

MickTipp wrote: »
    do cooper helmets with a kilkenny guard pass the safety standards?? like can ya wear one next year?

No, the old cooper helmets do not reach the required standard (IS 355). Only the most recent helmets on the market will suffice. As far as I know, the helmets will have to show the NSAI stamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

MayoForSam wrote: »
    No, the old cooper helmets do not reach the required standard (IS 355). Only the most recent helmets on the market will suffice. As far as I know, the helmets will have to show the NSAI stamp.

will that mean that a referee will have to check all the players helmets before a match?? or will it be the players own responsibility .i.e they wont be covered by insurance if they do happen to get a head injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

and what if he or any other player happens to get a nasty blow to the head that renders him unable to work again or live his life as normal? Who will be expected to foot the bill? More pressure on the GAA for more funds? The GPA? Insurance companies?

I understand even without a face mask a helmet can affect field of vision but it's important to ensure the helmet is of the right fit to minimise it.
    DJ Carey wore a helmet and a face mask, didn't do his field of vision any harm!

I don't think a blow to the head would do much damage to O Sullivan LOL

Despite what you think you are not very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Despite what you think you are very funny

FYP

FYP

How clever :rolleyes: If you want I can actually fix that post for you so that the quotation is correct ;)

Anyway, back on topic, I have yet to see anybody present what I would consider a good arguement as to why players should not wear helmets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

my friend plays in goals limericks minor team and he doesnt have any problem saving a ball he is a great keeper and has worn a helmet all his life and would be crazy to stop, helmets are crucial for saftey, they do not affect any players abilities, end of

rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

Blasphemous!!!! It won't be the same - cant see the mad head on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Joe Canning wears a helmet :cool:
    I've always been forced to wear a helmet [in camogie] so I know you get used to it but I can imagine it would be a fair bit harder for players like John Mullane...
    As for the goalkeepers, I can't see how this will work. Do minors and U-21 goalies have to wear helmets? If so, I suppose they'll manage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭sos33

just wondering what happens if your helmet is broken during a match eg:faceguard comes loose,chinstrap breaks or the helmet is pulled off your head lets say in a difference of opinon and you cant wear it for the rest of the game ,are you allowed to hurl on without it or not
    have the gaa rules on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Not sure of the wording, but i'm led to believe that the rule states that a ref cannot start a match unless all players on the field are wearing appropriate helmets, and can stop a game if one of the players removes the helmet during play. Imagine a replacement helmet would have to be used, or the player substituted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

you'd have to get one off a sub...simple as that really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭sos33

all well and good in theory ,we will wait and see but the size of the heads on some of the lads i hurled with that woulnt be an option might aswell put a barrell on my head:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 bobsy

I heard that Diarmuid O Sullivan has changed his mind and is coming out of retirement.He originally decided to retire because of the new helmet rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭gav4321

I have to say i agree with helmets becoming compulsory. Take hurling goal keepers for example. We say Brendan Cummins getting a sliotar in the head during the chapionship(2009). He was very lucky. :D.

There will be a lot of cutting bars etc. but its for the better .

gav4321 wrote: »
    I have to say i agree with helmets becoming compulsory. Take hurling goal keepers for example. We say Brendan Cummins getting a sliotar in the head during the chapionship(2009). He was very lucky. :D.

There will be a lot of cutting bars etc. but its for the better .

That wont be allowed the helmets can not be modified in anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sliotars

no modifications can be made to the face guards.

<snip>