Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Spin 18th July

• 16-07-2009 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭

Weather permitting, naturally...

Meet at 9:30 by the LUAS bridge? Wouldn't mind heading in the direction of Kildare but I don't know the roads at all so that could involve lengthy periods of being lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Could we do something like ...Maynooth - Naas - Blessington - Larragh - Sally Gap - Home Via stoking lane so we mix both flat and hilly? Wouldn't be more than 150km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I know a nice route down by Ballymore Eustace that can take in the Wicklow Gap on the way back- or vice versa.

Maynooth-Naas is not great TBH, road is quite busy and non-descript.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

That sounds good. Will you be there on Saturday or will we have to call you every half an hour for directions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

I'm on for this. Ivan, this "nice route to Ballymore Eustace" wouldn't be the same one that saw us crawling home at 8 pm a couple of weeks ago, would it...?

WW on the way back would be nice

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The_Claw wrote: »
    ...crawling home at 8 pm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

The roads from BMore Eustace to say Punchestown are pretty good. Fast rolling route and very little traffic.
    Ye don't have to do Naas Maynooth, could to Johnstown Kill Straffan. Pretty quiet roads and good surface.

But given that I won't be there I should mind my own business really.

Enjoy.

The_Claw wrote: »
    I'm on for this. Ivan, this "nice route to Ballymore Eustace" wouldn't be the same one that saw us crawling home at 8 pm a couple of weeks ago, would it...?
    Depends on how fast ye can cycle it :) Seriously though, no, I was thinking of the Wicklow Gap rather than the Shay Elliot-Slieve Maan combo we did that day. Significantly shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

I'm up for the spin, dont really mind where we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Might be around for this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭waitforme

I'm in!

(subject to the usual 'post-Friday night hangover no-show' clause)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

If the route is going to be out Kildare way we can meet at the pope's cross.Makes a lot more sense...:D

i

That works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

emty wrote: »
    If the route is going to be out Kildare way we can meet at the pope's cross.Makes a lot more sense...:D

...and gives me an extra 30mins in bed. Pope's cross FTW!!

+1 for pope's cross and extra sleepy time for us westerners for once

If I wake up on time, expect texts for my inevitable getting lost.

Is heading out to Kildare a flat route?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

Is heading out to Kildare a flat route?
    well it starts out flat but if we head towards WW from the west: we will climb grasshopper, yes we will.

That looks like a cracking route, really hope I don't stay out late friday!

@Caroline: Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭D!armu!d

blorg wrote: »

I think that first section of tubber lane road past Lucan is one-way since the road improvements, but you can get back on to it through the Dodsboro estates afaik.

well it starts out flat but if we head towards WW from the west: we will climb grasshopper, yes we will.

Wicklow Gap from the west is barely a climb at all...lovely descent though.

D!armu!d wrote: »
    I think that first section of tubber lane road past Lucan is one-way since the road improvements, but you can get back on to it through the Dodsboro estates afaik.
    I only really know the route from Cromwellstown/Kilteel- was just trying to plot out on back roads until there. I'll do it up as a Garmin route. There is a damn good hill between Cromwellstown and the N81 that we will unfortunately be missing :(
    Wicklow Gap from the west is barely a climb at all...lovely descent though.
    This is very true... I have plotted a bumpy route by Lough Dan after Laragh but if people are feeling frisky we could always head up Sally Gap (either straight up or by Lough Dan and then up Lugalla.)

Nice.
    I only really know the route from Cromwellstown/Kilteel... I'll do it up as a Garmin route.

We're going to get lost, aren't we?
    This is very true... I have plotted a bumpy route by Lough Dan after Laragh but if people are feeling frisky we could always head up Sally Gap (either straight up or by Lough Dan and then up Lugalla.)

No decisions before cake please.

OK, so 9:30 at the Pope's Cross it is then. Unless, as I say, it's lashing in which case I'm staying in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

rottenhat wrote: »
    OK, so 9:30 at the Pope's Cross it is then. Unless, as I say, it's lashing in which case I'm staying in bed.

Just so you are aware there will be around 5,000 runners in the park tomorrow morning for a 5 mile race that starts at 10am.

What about Farmleigh gates then? Runners usually gather at the Popes cross ... and you want to mix with 'these people' ...

B on that map - ( A being the Pope's cross )

Sack of balls...anyone got a good suggestion for a meeting place then? The church in Phibsboro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

When I eventually start getting up to these distances, we can stop off at may parents' house in Donard, be assaulted by their dogs and eat cake and <insert tasty cooked food here>. So if you want tasty cooked food, supply me with money, cos everyone knows better gear == better rider. :p

I did place an order for my roadie on Wednesday though, so that's one step closer.

Church? Phibsboro? Can we keep it simple please!

I never thought I'd see the day but I think I've finally found someone who's more of a southsider than I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

St Peter's Church, North Circular Road/New Cabra Road

Serioulsy lads - the PH park is on the way - phiboro is not -
    I suggest we meet at the roundabout between Mary's gaff and the ambasador's house in the PH park. there will be no lieutering crowd there but us.
    THk me if you agree

Serioulsy lads - the PH park is on the way - phiboro is not -
    I suggest we meet at the roundabout between Mary's gaff and the ambasador's house in the PH park. there will be no lieutering crowd there but us.
    THk me if you agree

I don't know if 5000 qualifies as a loitering crowd...would it not be better to meet somewhere away from Phoenix Park altogether?

Not really. They're only joggers. Let's not overreact.

Just move the meeting point from the il papa's X to another point in the park. Say here?

But the route is out of the park towards Kildare right?

As long as we dont cycle on the cyclelane the runner will not bother us. it's only a meet, not like we re planing to do laps of the park.

+1 on Niceone's meet point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I find this hilarious.
    For the gentle folk from the Southside, the park is not a scary place. It is easily navigable.

There will be 5000 joggers BUT THEY WILL NOT BE ON BIKES.

The hanful of boardsies on bikes will be easily identifiable.

Jaysus, I know we are badly organised, but this takes the biscuit.

Ah, would 5000 runners not constitute some kind of race with attendant road closures? It suggests a pretty big event to me, not a handful of geeks in runners and singlets, making it a pretty asinine point to meet anyone. I know the north side is a barren wilderness but there has to be more landmarks there than an unusually large park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Ah, would 5000 runners not constitute some kind of race with attendant road closures? It suggests a pretty big event to me, not a handful of geeks in runners and singlets, making it a pretty asinine point to meet anyone. I know the north side is a barren wilderness but there has to be more landmarks there than an unusually large park.

There's a burning car at the end of O'Connell Street. Maybe there?

I know where Tom's meeting point is. I can get there. Huzzah!

Raam wrote: »
    There's a burning car at the end of O'Connell Street. Maybe there?

Finally a practical suggestion...good for visibility too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

Surely if we meet at 9.30, before the run actually starts, there shouldn't be too much hassle? Pope's Cross or Farmleigh gate ought to be fine. I vote PC for maximum findability for our southside friends, unless someone's stolen it overnight

And after all that, I'm out.

Need new cables, not gonna happen before the spin tmw. :(

Actually, and I know I've said this before, but if I wake up I might take the singlespeed. Assuming I don't slow the whole show down (if I do, keep motoring and I will cut my spin short!) then I could get around that route no bother.

We shall see.

If anyone has any objections to me singlespeeding it, let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

So where are we meeting?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Yes, is it roundabout, popes cross or farmleigh gate? Someone please be decisive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Lets just go with tom's suggestion.

quiet part of the park, easy to find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

No,stick with the pope's cross.Everyone know's where it is.We meet there and we move off.

emty wrote: »
    No,stick with the pope's cross.Everyone know's where it is.We meet there and we move off.

OK, see you there.

And after all that, I'm out.

Need new cables, not gonna happen before the spin tmw. :(
    Jesus H Christ Dirk.
    I might take the singlespeed
    Yes! Do that.

Needing cables is the worst excuse ever. Surely they'll last for one more spin?