Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Significance of a car being registered outside of Dublin

• 14-07-2009 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭

Hi

I am toying with changing cars. I currently live in Dublin and drive a D registered car. The car I am looking with is for sale in a Dublin dealer but is a Cork reg.

I personally wouldn't pay much heed to it but I have been told a few times that it is a bad idea, in terms of resale value, to not try to get a D reg car.

Thinking about it, I imagine a private buyer probably wouldn't care but what about dealers?

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

as I understand it from my experience of trading in cars for the greater Dublin area D, KE, WW, MH all fairly acceptable

others may be an issue for trading in, for your price I mean not that they wouldn't

though as you say, this may not be as important in a private sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

A plate from beyond the pale clearly suggests, bailing twine and the smell of dead sheep in the boot. Avoid.

A Dublin plate on the other hand means a burnt clutch and loose gearshift, countless dings and a whiff of overpriced for the year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

what differance would it make! if i was buying a car i wouldnt care what county it was registered in. as long as the car is in good condition is all that would matter to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It would also suggest that the car was bought second hand to neighbours and friends. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

The traditional idea behind it was that non D regs would have been driven on bad country roads and possibly used by farmers giving the impression of more wear and tear than dublin regs.

This bias is more with older people such as my father (he believes that any non dublin diesel will have had red diesel in it at some stage, although this is probably because he knew someone who used to fill their car each time they went home down the country)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

For me, as long as it's not a Cork reg, I'll take a look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

The traditional idea behind it was that non D regs would have been driven on bad country roads and possibly used by farmers giving the impression of more wear and tear than dublin regs.

This bias is more with older people such as my father (he believes that any non dublin diesel will have had red diesel in it at some stage, although this is probably because he knew someone who used to fill their car each time they went home down the country)

Lol yea everyone outside Dublin uses agricultural diesel in their cars :rolleyes:

I'd rather a car from outside Dublin tbh, the roads in Dublin that i've experienced are nothing to shout about, and most of the cars in Dublin are sitting in traffic for long periods.

Its green diesel in Ireland too by the way, not red.

Sleepy wrote: »

Amen brother. They're mostly toyotas anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Care to explain why?

I think the non Dublin reg stigma dates back to when country roads were very rough and would take their toll on a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

high horse wrote: »
    Care to explain why?

I think the non Dublin reg stigma dates back to when country roads were very rough and would take their toll on a car.
    i assume thats because he doesnt like Cork people since Cork roads are fairly decent.

Id almost be the other way with it. Cars in dublin are much more likely to have heavy wear on the clutch from stop start traffic. There are speed bumps everywhere which people inevitably go too fast over. There is much more chance of it getting dings. And from what ive seen of Dublin roads they are every bit as rough as some country roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

The first time I heard of this was when friend of mine who lives in Meath told me he registered his car at a friends house in Dublin because he too was convinced a MH plate would be less attractive at resale than a D plate for the reasons mentioned above....:confused:
    Personally I think its a ridiculous argument and besides how can anyone really be sure the D plate you're buying hasn't just been registered in Dublin (as in this case) but spent its life in another part of the country....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

From a carsales man point of view D, MH, KE, LH and even WW are ok as regard resale. LS, C, G, W, WH, KK,WX are border line for resale in Dublin BUT anything with MO, SO, RN, TS, TN, L, LK, KY, OY, LM, CN, MN and CE render a car saleproof in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭polyfusion

Saab Ed wrote: »
    From a carsales man point of view D, MH, KE, LH and even WW are ok as regard resale. LS, C, G, W, WH, KK,WX are border line for resale in Dublin BUT anything with MO, SO, RN, TS, TN, L, LK, KY, OY, LM, CN, MN and CE render a car saleproof in Dublin.

What about DL?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭LeotheLion

If your going to drive a C reg car in Dublin,be prepared to be car jacked,robbed at gunpoint,and take out windscreen cover as its common to have rotten turnips f**ked down from M1 bridge onto passing C reg bangers

polyfusion wrote: »
    What about DL?

Well thats a strange one really. Alot of cars are imported into Donegal and Louth from the North and the trade seem to let DL off the hook for this. Just my opinion , would like to hear other trade opinions on that actually.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

LeotheLion wrote: »
    If your going to drive a C reg car in Dublin,be prepared to be car jacked,robbed at gunpoint,and take out windscreen cover as its common to have rotten turnips f**ked down from M1 bridge onto passing C reg bangers

Likewise if you drive your D reg banger down here.

alo1587 wrote: »
    Likewise if you drive your D reg banger down here.

Don't be ridiculous! :rolleyes: I'm from Cork and drive a '91 D reg car and have never experienced any bad reaction to the car.

I didn't even look at the reg when I bought the car, I bought on condition alone which is the only sensible criteria to consider IMHO :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

A few years ago I used to have to get buy back figures from one of the countries largest traders. He'd value cars with Dublin and Cork reg's the same (from Focus up to S-Class), but anything else he'd hit on the value. CE, CN and LD would be the kiss of death on low mileage presitge cars.

I drive a C reg car from Dublin to Drogheda everyday and have never once had turnips lobbed off an M1 bridge at me :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

LeotheLion wrote: »

Been doing it for years and never had a problem but then you do have a problem with Cork people;) A lad I work with from Dublin though had a water cooler bottle thrown at him on the M50 last week driving a DL reg. Very lucky.

I dont get a lot of the reg snobbery though. Doesn't matter a whole lot as long as the cars ok. Roads don't suddenly deteriorate as soon as you leave the pale, in fact often the opposite is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Well thats a strange one really. Alot of cars are imported into Donegal and Louth from the North and the trade seem to let DL off the hook for this. Just my opinion , would like to hear other trade opinions on that actually.:pac:

I would agree on this, I think it is considered that a lot of joe soaps in DL drives a northern reg car, becuase its a lot cheaper... but the few who drive DL regged cars would take a bit more care of them as they have gone to a lot more expense buying the irish plate....

I also remember when we used to be doing buybacks with dealers accross the country, the majority of them insisted that the cars be regged in Dublin...
    usually only wanted one or two regged in their own county.... and this was up to two years agao... so the practise still goes on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Thinking about it, I imagine a private buyer probably wouldn't care but what about dealers?

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Cheers
    It's quite the opposite actually, dealers don't personally care - they price cars on the basis of what they feel that they can get for them. And most Dublin buyers don't like 'country' plates, the bigger/newer/more exotic the car, the greater the antipathy. Don't bother trying to understand it, it's one of those ones that mightn't make much sense but just is.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I fcuking hate these threads.

So what you are saying really is that people from Dublin are complete imbeciles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

as a culchie

I would not buy a D registered car. fcuk that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I would think people outside Dublin wouldn't mind a D car, but not the other way around.

Imagine pulling up outside <fancy Dublin nightclub> in your S-class RN reg.

Okay so lets say you have been looking for the perfect car. Something really rare that is very hard to find. You find a mint one with an L/LK reg and then you find a decent but not amazing one with a D reg. Would some of the Dublin people seriously not buy it because it didnt have an acceptable numberplate?

If so, these people are idiots and they now go on my list of people i despise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Magnus wrote: »
    I would think people outside Dublin wouldn't mind a D car, but not the other way around.

Imagine pulling up outside <fancy Dublin nightclub> in your S-class RN reg.

RN reg cars are quality. And don't you forget it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

samsemtex wrote: »
    i assume thats because he doesnt like Cork people since Cork roads are fairly decent.

I hope you're not including the N72 in that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

as a culchie

I would not buy a D registered car. fcuk that.

As a Dub I have only ever and will only ever have a D reg car, looked at cars before, one was an RN reg and I couldn't buy it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Anybody who would be turned off buying a car simply due to the registered county go see a doctor.

You are suffering 'D4'itis snobbery

high horse wrote: »
    Care to explain why?

It's a massive generalisation as I have some friends from Cork but tbh, I just couldn't handle other drivers thinking I had a superiority complex bordering on delusion... Just hate the place...

Thats pathetic, grow up dude

In general I dislike Cork and most of the people I've met from Cork. As such, I don't want to be associated with the place or it's people. I make no excuses for this but I wouldn't apologise for it either.

Nothing pathetic or juvenille about it imho. I'd find the need to call others on an internet forum pathetic far more juvenile behaviour tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

This D reg business isn't about the state of the roads and what abuse a car may or may not have taken down the country. On the whole, we have much better roads now than ten or twenty years ago. Ultimately, it is all down to snobbery and ignorance. A lot of Dubliners are very insular. They think most people from the country are either unsophisticated or culchies (as a result of limited social interation with same or regular visits to the countryside) and do not want to be perceived as such by association. A county reg makes them look like someones "country cousins". As Bazz said, It also makes a car look second hand which doesn't keep up appearances (important to common snobs). Despite this I can see the added advantage or even the insistence of having a D reg on a very expensive car which would only be affordable to a smaller audience. It makes sense to combat this snobbery as far as residuals or easier resale is concerned.

A car with a tow-bar would put me off (not the reg plate), which when you think about it, is as likely to have been pulling a horsebox or a boat as bringing sheep, cattle or lambs to the fair.

In general I dislike Cork and most of the people I've met from Cork. As such, I don't want to be associated with the place or it's people. I make no excuses for this but I wouldn't apologise for it either.

Nothing pathetic or juvenille about it imho. I'd find the need to call others on an internet forum pathetic far more juvenile behaviour tbh.

I think if you held off on giving your opinion on Cork people which is not needed on a motors forum you might not get such comments. This is the second time in a week that such comments have been uttered here (an earlier poster on this thread went on a personal rant about me last week because I'm from Cork originally).

And I'm not just jumping on the band wagon because I'm from Cork either - it could be anywhere. People are entitled to their opinion but there's a time and place

Heroditas wrote: »
    I hope you're not including the N72 in that statement.

That was the exact road that almost made me not post that! That road is a disgrace alright, way too much traffic on it for its size especially trucks.

It's not like I started a thread about disliking Cork, my post was in keeping with the OP's topic - whether the reg of a car influences prospective buyers in the second hand market. The reg would influence me - ideally I'd prefer G, WW or D on a reg as I'm from Galway, live in Wicklow and work in Dublin but when looking second-hand I'd consider anything outside of Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

That was the exact road that almost made me not post that! That road is a disgrace alright, way too much traffic on it for its size especially trucks.

What's wrong with the N72?

I especially like the run from Castletownroche to Mallow. That's a beautiful twisty flowing stretch that really nice if you get it right. It can be travelled at the legal limit no problem at all (except for trucks getting in the way:mad:)

Millstreet to Killarney is almost arrow straight, what's wrong with that?

Edit - Back on topic. I avoid D regs cars as there may be a possibility of it being confused with an unmarked Garda car and it being so decorated by the local youths. It happened to a buddy who had a D reg Mondeo, and he lost the hubcaps, and a rock was thrown through the window with a shout of "F**k off pigs!". I was in the car at the time....

Okay so lets say you have been looking for the perfect car. Something really rare that is very hard to find. You find a mint one with an L/LK reg and then you find a decent but not amazing one with a D reg. Would some of the Dublin people seriously not buy it because it didnt have an acceptable numberplate?

If so, these people are idiots and they now go on my list of people i despise.
    Would I buy the L/LK regd car? Sure. Would I pay the same as I would for the same example with a D reg? Of course not, because it'll be harder to sell. It's like buying a white car - I like white, but most people don't and the white car is therefore worth less.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Would I buy the L/LK regd car? Sure. Would I pay the same as I would for the same example with a D reg? Of course not, because it'll be harder to sell. It's like buying a white car - I like white, but most people don't and the white car is therefore worth less.

I dont really agree with you. We've never had a D reg car at home and we've never had to accept below the going price just because it had a C or TS reg. Maybe there are some clowns out there who wont buy it but i think it must be a small minority. We even managed to sell an RN reg C-class for above the going price, it was in mint condition.

The only reg i personally would try to avoid is KY and that is because the roads are off the wall bad. Ive spent a lot of time down there at cousins and it really is amazing how much more abuse those suspensions must put up with. The roads are not just riddled with potholes but they subside too so its all up and down.

I dont really agree with you. We've never had a D reg car at home and we've never had to accept below the going price just because it had a C or TS reg. Maybe there are some clowns out there who wont buy it but i think it must be a small minority. We even managed to sell an RN reg C-class for above the going price, it was in mint condition.
    Is 'at home' in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭jmck87

It's not like I started a thread about disliking Cork, my post was in keeping with the OP's topic - whether the reg of a car influences prospective buyers in the second hand market. The reg would influence me - ideally I'd prefer G, WW or D on a reg as I'm from Galway, live in Wicklow and work in Dublin but when looking second-hand I'd consider anything outside of Cork.

Jaysus man your a bit OTT with your generalisation and stereotype of Cork people.

Im a dub and I hate Cork people too. The difference between me and you though is that Im joking!

The only reg i personally would try to avoid is KY and that is because the roads are off the wall bad. Ive spent a lot of time down there at cousins and it really is amazing how much more abuse those suspensions must put up with. The roads are not just riddled with potholes but they subside too so its all up and down.

That is true - always remember my dad not buying a car years ago because it had a KY reg. The car was mint and at a good price but not a hope would he touch it. It's true some of the worst road surfaces are down there when you're off the beaten track a bit

Anan1 wrote: »
    Is 'at home' in Dublin?

No and i dont really see why that would matter. Our C-reg Passat was sold to a person in Kildare, or RN C-class to someone in the midlands and most of the cars we have had were sold to people who lived a fair distance away. The issue of the numberplate has never been raised. If people who dont have a problem with "culchie" regs are willing to travel to us in North Cork/East Limerick and pay the money i dont see why they wouldn't be willing to travel to Dublin.

Half the people living in Dublin at this stage are from some other part of the country originally so why would they care that its not a D-reg?

No and i dont really see why that would matter. Our C-reg Passat was sold to a person in Kildare, or RN C-class to someone in the midlands and most of the cars we have had were sold to people who lived a fair distance away. The issue of the numberplate has never been raised. If people who dont have a problem with "culchie" regs are willing to travel to us in North Cork/East Limerick and pay the money i dont see why they wouldn't be willing to travel to Dublin.

Half the people living in Dublin at this stage are from some other part of the country originally so why would they care that its not a D-reg?
    The reason it matters is because this thread is about D regd cars being worth more in Dublin.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Lol at all the people getting all hot and bothered at perceived and real sleights to their county!

Twenty-five or thirty years ago buying a car that had been registered and used in Cavan was asking for trouble. So many of the roads back then were nothing more than dirt lanes with huge tufts of grass in the centre. I know this because I have relatives living in the back arse of beyond. They ALWAYS registered their cars in Dublin and then sold them in Dublin (cute hoors) :D

These days, it makes no difference really where the car has been bought so long as it has a good service history, verifiable mileage and imo, has no sign of ever having had a towbar on it. As soon as I see a towbar I don't want to know about it because while a lot of people just hook up something the engine can handle to the car, others think that they can hook up a 40 foot container and the engine will be fine :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭LeotheLion

EPM wrote: »
    Been doing it for years and never had a problem but then you do have a problem with Cork people;) A lad I work with from Dublin though had a water cooler bottle thrown at him on the M50 last week driving a DL reg. Very lucky.

I dont get a lot of the reg snobbery though. Doesn't matter a whole lot as long as the cars ok. Roads don't suddenly deteriorate as soon as you leave the pale, in fact often the opposite is the case

I was correct about what I said in the other thread have you seen it?they are dodgey car dealers.cork(green plant type thing that's grows in the garden that people consume)

what do you know about D regs
    ahahahahahahaha

So what you are saying really is that people from Dublin are complete imbeciles?

No and before we go any further with this its nothing personel. By and large cars from these counties in days gone by were worked harder be it because of how the owner used it, how it was maintained and the roads it was driven on. Its never been shaken. look ask yourself if you were waying up the risks would you rather take a chance on a D reg car that in all fairness might well have spent most of its life in traffic or would you rather an RN plate that spent most of its life pulling a trailer on sh!te roads. Both are stereo types but ask yourself which would you take the chance on. ( PS answering this as the RN car is only pig-headedness...you know the real answer :D)

Jebus lads I've just read some of the other posts here and the egos and complexes going on are plain crazy. Im amazed that some of ye let this turn into a Dublin is better than Cork and so on argument ( and that says alot coming from me ). Back to facts lads and the simple facts are what they are and its not all Dublin versus the country here. A tenner says a Wexford person wouldnt buy an SO reged car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I'm from sligo and i wouldn't touch a DL reg car. Especially one with a yellow rear plate. It is more than likely the arse has been driven out of it on some of the worst roads in the country by someone who thinks he's sebastian loeb and as a neighbour of the donegal boys, i'm well used to seeing them in action so i am telling it as it is.