Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is irish cusine so bad?

• 14-07-2009 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭

i was just there on wikipedia checking up austria(as you do) and went down to cuisine and see how its been shaped by jewish/french/german etc. styles, everything looked so delicous, why is it in ireland we have such a bland national cuisine? this is not hatred for everything irish but its fact irish cuisine is ****e, and ironically so is the UK's, so their stupid colonial rule over here has led to a **** national cuisine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Too many spuds imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Have you never tasted a spice burger? Full Irish Breakfest? Coddle? Stew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Too many spuds imo
    There's no such thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Maybe just because you're so used to it you've become bored with it?

Spuds
    Bacon & Cabbage
    Stew
    Coddle
    Puddin'
    Stout

are all typical 'Irish' foods. Go into any busy Irish town and have a look round they pubs and restaurants frequented by visitors / tourists. They do be lapping it up. They love it! Similarly, when I travel to other countries I like to try their national cuisine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭devereaux17

IvySlayer wrote: »

irish stew is nice but very bland. irish breakfast? hell no, im a fitness expert, spice burger, see before and wtf is coodle.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

why is irish cusine so bad?

You're eating in the wrong restaurants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

im a fitness expert

Aren't you only 17? :eek:

Also, where in Ireland are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

It's not really that bad, is it..

We were too busy making the worlds greatest beverages anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Nothing like a full Irish to get me set for the day if I'm suffering from a hangover.

But apart from that, I'm not a great lover of stuff like spuds, stew, coddle, etc...I'm more of an Italian cuisine person myself - I could live on pasta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Traditionally we never had much food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

wtf is coodle.:confused:

Its like a hug.....only tastier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭itouchmyself

irish stew is nice but very bland. irish breakfast? hell no, im a fitness expert, spice burger, see before and wtf is coodle.:confused:

Giving out about Irish cuisine and doesnt even know what coddle is......
    :rolleyes:...H A!!!

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Aren't you only 17? :eek:

Also, where in Ireland are you from?

Yes I am 17. I am from Dublin.

ironically so is the UK's, so their stupid colonial rule over here has led to a **** national cuisine.

we gave you the only decent bit of Irish cuisine there is, the Full English Breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

It has only been within the past 100 years that Ireland has started to escape for widespread poverty and oppression. These 2 factors don't exactly lend itself to a history of gourmet cooking. Our national cuisine is not too different from English or even regional french cuisine.

As said before tourists love the food. It's good cheap hearty food which was what was required by irish people down through the generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Come on lads let's sort him out, CODDLE AT MY PLACE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

baaaaaahahahahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Boxty is our queen

Nothing like a full Irish to get me set for the day if I'm suffering from a hangover.

But apart from that, I'm not a great lover of stuff like spuds, stew, coddle, etc...I'm more of an Italian cuisine person myself - I could live on pasta!
    No you couldn't you'd get scurvy.

Tinytony wrote: »
    It has only been within the past 100 years that Ireland has started to escape for widespread poverty and oppression. These 2 factors don't exactly lend itself to a history of gourmet cooking. Our national cuisine is not too different from English or even regional french cuisine.

As said before tourists love the food. It's good cheap hearty food which was what was required by irish people down through the generations.

that could be it.... only how do you explain all the creative sicilian cuisine?

austria is at the crossroads of europe so i think that explains its interesting cuisine, whereas in ireland 88% of people have been here for 10,000 years in a form of cucoon. and yes i agree with the english/ regional french cuisine part. and as i said bland tasteless unimaginative crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

i was just there on wikipedia checking up austria(as you do) and went down to cuisine and see how its been shaped by jewish/french/german etc. styles, everything looked so delicous, why is it in ireland we have such a bland national cuisine? this is not hatred for everything irish but its fact irish cuisine is ****e, and ironically so is the UK's, so their stupid colonial rule over here has led to a **** national cuisine.
    Being Irish and living in uk ,dont think their is that much difference between English /Irish cusine ,they like their fiull english brekie as much as the irish love their's but you will find diversity of food from different countries if you look for it , you might just pay that bit more for it .

baaaaaahahahahahahahahaha

:rolleyes:. oh my

88% of people have been here for 10,000 years .

Obvious Troll is obviously crazy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I suggest you go to Austria and eat. It's mainly just some sort of meat with chips/potatoes.

Damn good quality meat though.

Latchy wrote: »
    Being Irish and living in uk ,dont think their is that much difference between English /Irish cusine ,they like their fiull english brekie as much as the irish love their's but you will find diversity of food from different countries if you look for it , you might just pay that bit more for it .
    But English sausages are mank. Their black pud is is like a slice of play doe and their tea is weak like France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Giving out about Irish cuisine and doesnt even know what coddle is......
    :rolleyes:...H A!!!

He said coodle though. I'd like to know what that is too.

ScumLord wrote: »
    But English sausages are mank. Their black pud is is like a slice of play doe and their tea is weak like France.

you're joking surely?? you have to spend a fortune and go to a butchers to get a decent sausage in this country, much better bangers in England.

Not sure how you can tell the difference between teas tbh, Lyons and PG tips are the same thing aren't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭TedB

How on earth is Irish cuisine ****e?

Kebabs? (Yum)

Fish and chips? (Awright mate!??)

Chicken Fillet Rolls? (for less than 2 quid these days)

How can you possibly go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Isn't Coddle more of a Dublin dish, all the culchies I'v ever mentioned it to never had a clue what it was.

But nothing beats a good coddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

that could be it.... only how do you explain all the creative sicilian cuisine?

austria is at the crossroads of europe so i think that explains its interesting cuisine, whereas in ireland 88% of people have been here for 10,000 years in a form of cucoon. and yes i agree with the english/ regional french cuisine part. and as i said bland tasteless unimaginative crap.

It's only as unimaginative as you make it.

Tell me about the "creative sicilian cuisine"? Is it anything do with the fact they have a better climate suited to growing more exotic fruits and vegtables? Or the fact it is very close to Africia, Greece, Italy and would at one stage have been very close to what was considered the center of the world, so would have had much more exposure to other cultures throught the years gone by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭pablodunlop

in ireland 88% of people have been here for 10,000 years in a form of cucoon.

45% of statistics are incorrect though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

I'm eating coddle right now. mmmmmmmmmmm.......

And a nice buttered bread roll..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

ScumLord wrote: »
    Now I like a nice cup of Barrys tea and a piece of Galtee pudding as much as the next but apart from occasionaly , I will not pay the extra prices they are selling those products for over here when their are other suitable types on the market . But as I say ,you pay the extra if ya want it bad enough .

Tetley / PG tips are good quality teas in my opinion .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

IvySlayer wrote: »

My mother's disgusting stew has put me off stew for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Coddle is vile. Also, coodle sounds durrrty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Latchy wrote: »
    Tetley / PG tips are good quality teas in my opinion .

How dare you!! Hand back your passport. Your not allowed to be Irish and say anything remoting positive about English tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The UK had very little influence in our main dishes. That's one thing that truely survived.

Our food is not crap, your mothers cooking is, or whoever cooks for you. And the crap you get in a tin? It's not realy italian cuisine...

We have extremely good chefs and recipes in Ireland. Stew, be it lamb beef or rabbit, is loved by people all over the world. So is ham and cabbage, although we are just used to these foods. Same can be said for most countries. I am sure they are thinking the same in a lot of cases.

Bland? Whoever is cooking this for you, doesn't have a clue. Stew is very very tastey when done right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

The reason Irish food is so bland is because most of the time people were lucky if they got any food at all. Sustenance was the number one concern of most people and therefore they didn't develop many recipes due to lack of ingredients/inadequate amounts of food. Therefore adventurous cooking couldn't blossom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

dont think their is that much difference between English /Irish cusine

Both Cuisines have come on a lot. British pubs , country pubs etc. have some brilliant food these days. I had a Game Mixed Grill in a cotswold pub recently. Fantastic.

Obvious Troll is obviously crazy!!

He is probably right about the 88% ( well 80%) being here for so long.
    I suggest you go to Austria and eat. It's mainly just some sort of meat with chips/potatoes.

Fried Spuds!!!! And Balkan food is the same. Greate but bland stuff.

but great. Lots of meat.

Great.

By the way, most people dont see fish as a national cuisine, but it is, where it is served fresh on the coast. Same in England. Rick Steins places are English cuisine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Austrian food looks sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Austrian food looks sh1t.

Exactly. Out of all of the countries in the world he could have picked as an example of great cuisine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Yeah, out of all the countries you could have picked, why did you choose Austria? :confused:

latenia beat me to it!

:rolleyes:. oh my

oh my what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

asdasd wrote: »
    He is probably right about the 88% ( well 80%) being here for so long.
    No he isn't.

Yes, he is. We are a bit off topic here but genetic influences from English, Normans, Vikings were less than 20%. Thats actually a lot higher than Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Historically we had a rich and varied cuisine until the pesky Brits forced their ways upon us - See here:

http://www.ravensgard.org/prdunham/irishfood.html

Yes for example I would have Norweigan/French/English genes, however I doubt there is much difference between French(Northern particulary, Irish and English(unless they have roman genes which English and French who came here most likely had)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Spuds are great, I won't hear a bad thing said about them.