Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coldplay@ Phoenix Park

• 13-07-2009 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

Coldplay are playing Phoenix Park, Dublin on September 14th. Its bound to be an amazing show! Anyone been to a gig in phoenix park before, and if so, what's it like?

Anyone planning on going to this gig? Opinions? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

Depends where they plonk the stage of course but I was at RHCP/Pixies there in 04 and I didn't think it was that great a venue. It's pretty flat so you'd want to be fairly close (or tall!) for a good view. The usual sound problems are to be expected in such a wide open space as well. Now if it was in a Big Top tent like Arcade Fire, etc. well that would be a different story... Is it?

I'd say it will be a good gig though. I was meant to be going to it but can't now, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't disappointed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Hornswoggle

Yep looking forward to this one!

Doubt it'll be a tent setup, i'm guessing an open air layout. Their setlists from recent gigs look really strong. That said, i'd like to see a little more parachutes in there.

Anyone know who's supporting yet? I heard something about 'Girls Aloud' doing a support slot - what the hell!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

Yep looking forward to this one!

Doubt it'll be a tent setup, i'm guessing an open air layout. Their setlists from recent gigs look really strong. That said, i'd like to see a little more parachutes in there.

Anyone know who's supporting yet? I heard something about 'Girls Aloud' doing a support slot - what the hell!!!! :eek:

Dont be suprised. Girls Aloud and Jay Z are supporting them at Wembley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

Support for the Dublin gig is from Elbow and White Lies. There were posters up at Oxegen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Anthem

Went to Coldplay in December '08 in the O2, and must say the show was spectacular. From the crowd engagement to the sound quality to the little coloured butterflies which fell from the ceiling (:D), everything was amazing.

I'm not sure if the indoor atmosphere added to or impeded the concert. Everyone could see etc, but were discouraged from standing at their seats for most of the concert.

I'd say regardless of setting though, the September gig'll be amazing!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

I think it is indoors. Its a €40000 capacity gig afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

With a capacity of 40000 I very much doubt its an indoor gig?? They will be supported on the night by Elbow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 biezo57

apparently in phoenix park you have to walk for miles before you get to the stage
    marlay park is much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

not a fan of those massive outdoor gigs.

if it's a small enough tent then the sound/atmosphere's grand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 red.raven

Does anyone know what kind of alcohol is served there?
    I couldnt make the concert in december so im really looking forward to this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

red.raven wrote: »
    Does anyone know what kind of alcohol is served there?
    I couldnt make the concert in december so im really looking forward to this one!

Welcome to concerts, Ireland style;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Waynecarr

Apparently this concert is in big top tent. Anyone knew if this involves standing\ seating or what kinda facilities are available. Any idea of capacity also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Waynecarr wrote: »
    Apparently this concert is in big top tent. Anyone knew if this involves standing\ seating or what kinda facilities are available. Any idea of capacity also

Where did you hear this about the tent? That would be better than open air imo. Hope it's true.

Someone in this thread said capacity was 40,000. I googled it as well and that's the same figure I found on a couple of different sites. It would want to be a fairly big tent to fit that many though.

It's amazing that there's no offical source for this kind of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    What did MCD (the promoter) say when you contacted them?

Where did you hear this about the tent? That would be better than open air imo. Hope it's true.

Someone in this thread said capacity was 40,000. I googled it as well and that's the same figure I found on a couple of different sites. It would want to be a fairly big tent to fit that many though.

Got that from ticketmaster website under the transportation part. They mention buses from city centre to big top tent site

Bluetonic wrote: »
    What did MCD (the promoter) say when you contacted them?

They said they didn't know

Waynecarr wrote: »
    Got that from ticketmaster website under the transportation part. They mention buses from city centre to big top tent site

Is this the page you're on about?
    http://www.ticketmaster.ie/venue/198604?tm_link=edp_Venue_Parking

Down the bottom of the page in the "Miscellaneous" section there is a list of gigs which were on in 2007. So I'd say all the info on that page is dated, unfortunately.

good spot, did not scroll down that far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Starmix

I saw Coldplay in Dec 08 in the 02 and it was amazing. Also saw them at Rock Werchter in Belgium 3 weeks ago and it was equally amazing and completely open air - floating butterflys and big yellow balls included!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Chris007

Anyone got any ideas regarding transport after the gig? Can't seem to find much :confused: Don't think it'll be easy getting from Phoenix Park to Swords at that time and midweek..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Chris007

Is it likely that Dublin Bus will provide transport after the gig?

Chris007 wrote: »

The ticketmaster page at the link below, that I posted a couple of weeks ago, was updated since, so that info should be correct now.

FWIW it still states venue as "Big Top site"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Anthem wrote: »
    Went to Coldplay in December '08 in the O2, and must say the show was spectacular. From the crowd engagement to the sound quality to the little coloured butterflies which fell from the ceiling (:D), everything was amazing.

Yeah, was at it also and it was great. I've just only today got round to putting some vids of it up on YouTube if you wanna take a peek. Make sure to click the HQ button at the botom of each vid.

Coldplay @ The O2

Nic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

weird day to have a gig aint it. not sure if i go. wasoffered a ticket but 79 for a gig in the phoenix park on a monday night is a bit steep. seen the rhcp and the pixies a few years bk. thaught the sound was ok but gigs were great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭gar32

I got tickets last year thinking I would love to go but thinking Monday night and the long walk to the top of the park. I am sure no car will be allowed near the place. The dublin buses 25, 66 etc stop on the capilizard side of the park still leaving 10 to 15 min walk to stage. I know buses from city centre where layed on for a few gigs there at E4 return or E2.50 one way but we will have to wait for that one. I live near the park so the getting home should not be too bad. As for drink at the show. It is a 16 years age limit see below. I am sure they will have half liter beers for E5 or E6 a pop. Small flask and buy a coke in there is my advice. Did not listen much to near songs any one have a fav I should listen to before going? You can still buy tickets at ticket master so its not sold out thats for sure. any one know whats on there the sat and Sun ??? some fest with no info online ??? Summer fest??

"Under 16s Must Be Accompanied By Parent / Guardian
    NO Cameras OR Camping allowed
    See Less"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭romah

just rang dublin bus and were told NO SPECIAL BUS SERVICES

so the normal BUS is the 25/25A from Pearse street..

i could be a long walk so ..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭balliali

Will be travelling from Letterkenny, so what's our best route? Have to drop 2 fellas off for concert, find something to do for the few hours it's on, and pick our passengers up again after show. Any suggestions on parking places, hotels/whatever to spend a few hours (on Monday, there's prob not a lot on), and where we could meet the noisy passengers after the gig??? They are raving about it already. Incidentally, what gate to Phoenix park is the nearest one to the concert tent. Thanks:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cathmolan

Staying in Jurys Parnell Street that night, so would the best bet be for transport to the concert be ...

Hawkins Street to Blackhorse Avenue or Castleknock Road – 37?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

gar32 wrote: »
    any one know whats on there the sat and Sun ??? some fest with no info online ??? Summer fest??
    Rash statement, plenty of info online about whats on this weekend - SeptemberFest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

got a ticket pretty cheap :D
    it looks messy with transport and school :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Laneybow

I think the Coldplay gig will be amazing!! I have a ticket to the gig, I've had it since before last Christmas but now I'm not sure I'll be able to go as I have to be in cork the following morning at 8.30 :( I can't mannage it by public transport or Ryanair...Does anyone have any suggestions???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭romah

Laneybow wrote: »
    I think the Coldplay gig will be amazing!! I have a ticket to the gig, I've had it since before last Christmas but now I'm not sure I'll be able to go as I have to be in cork the following morning at 8.30 :( I can't mannage it by public transport or Ryanair...Does anyone have any suggestions???

try car hire cost €28 ..quotation from a well known car rental company

Pickup Date:
    Monday, 14th September 2009, 11:00
    Dropoff Date:
    Tuesday, 15th September 2009, 07:00
    Rental Duration:
    1 day
    Pickup Location:
    Dublin - City Centre
    Dropoff Location:
    Cork Airport
    Car Group:
    Economy 2 Door ....e.g. Opel Corsa or similar

Anyone up around the park recently? Have they started on the stage yet? Where is it? What's the ground like? Wellies or runners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Isaacs n Jacobs

Coldplay are playing Phoenix Park, Dublin on September 14th. Its bound to be an amazing show! Anyone been to a gig in phoenix park before, and if so, what's it like?

Anyone planning on going to this gig? Opinions? [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/user/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/msohtmlclip1/01/clip_image001.gif[/IMG]

Phoenix park is right in the city so it’s a perfect location.
    It will however be open air so bring your rain coat weather can never be guaranteed.

if you need accommodation we still have beds in our hostels which are right in the city centre, we also have a Coldplay competition running this week if you want to check it out.

www.isaacshostel.com

enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Isaacs n Jacobs

Laneybow wrote: »

try aer arann sometimes they have special deals.
    29.99euro one way
    http://www.aerarann.com/skylights/cgi-bin/skylights.cgi
    would be a shame to miss the gig

isaacs.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

cathmolan wrote: »
    Staying in Jurys Parnell Street that night, so would the best bet be for transport to the concert be ...

Hawkins Street to Blackhorse Avenue or Castleknock Road – 37?

10 bus from parnell square across the road will bring you up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Coldplay live at Phoenix Park

Ticketmaster would like to take this opportunity to thank you for booking your tickets to Coldplay with us. Please read this email carefully as it contains important information regarding the concert.

If you selected "mail" as your delivery method, your tickets should have arrived at their intended destination at this stage. If you have not received your tickets by now please contact Ticketmaster Customer Services:

Phone Number: 0818 903001
    Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday 09.30 to 18.00

Box Office Information

If you selected Box Office Collection, your tickets will be available for collection on the day of the concert. The box office will be open from 15:00 for Collections and Guestlist and will be located near the Phoenix monument on Chesterfield Avenue. Please bring the credit/debit card used to purchase the tickets in addition to the Ticketmaster reference number as proof of purchase.

Ticket Sales

Available at:
    1. Conyngham Road at the Parkgate street entrance.
    2. Castleknock gate entrance.

TicketFast

If you have selected TicketFast as your delivery option and have not printed your tickets by now, please log on to My Ticketmaster, view Order History and choose Print My Tickets. For more information on printing your tickets, please visit our TicketFast help page.

Concert Information

Coldpay – Phoenix Park, Dublin on Monday 14 September 2009

With Special Guests Elbow & White Lies

Gates Open At 17:00
    Show Starts 18:15
    No Queuing Allowed Before 16:00

Patrons Are Advised To Be In The Ground At Least 45 Minutes Before Show Time. Please Note Times Are Subject To Change

The Phoenix Park Is The Largest Urban Park In Europe With A Unique History & Ecology. Following Consultation With The Gardai And Park Management The Following Arrangements Have Been Made

PUBLIC TRANSPORT

PLEASE USE PUBLIC TRANSPORT AS THERE IS VERY LIMITED PARKING AT THE VENUE IF YOU ARE TRAVELLING FROM DUBLIN CITY CENTRE THE QUICKEST WAY TO THE PHOENIX PARK IS TO WALK. IT IS APPROX. 45 MINUTES FROM O'CONNELL BRIDGE.
    IF YOU ARE DRIVING PLEASE USE CITY CENTRE CAR PARKS AND WALK TO THE VENUE AS THERE IS VERY LIMITED PARKING AT THE VENUE.

SHUTTLE BUS
    A limited direct shuttle bus service to the Phoenix Park will operate from Custom House Quay in the City Centre. Service will start at 4pm. A limited return service will operate after the show.

DUBLIN BUS
    These Dublin Bus routes serve the Parkgate Street entrance of the Phoenix Park approx. 15 minutes walk to the concert site:
    10 Donnybrook (UCD Belfield) to Phoenix Park (Infirmary Road)
    10a Stillorgan (Shopping Centre) to Phoenix Park (Infirmary Road)
    25 Pearse Street to Lucan (Dodsboro)
    25a Pearse Street to Lucan (Esker Church)
    26 Pearse Street to Palmerstown (Cherry Orchard)
    66 Pearse Street to Maynooth (Straffan Road)
    66a Pearse Street to Captains Hill (River Forest)
    66b Pearse Street to Leixlip (Castletown)
    66d Waterloo Road to Leixlip (Easton Road)
    67 Pearse Street to Celbridge
    68 Aston Quay to Newcastle / Greenogue Business Park
    69 Aston Quay to Rathcoole

Routes 37, 38, 39 & 70 serve the Ashtown Gate of Phoenix Park approx. 15 minutes walk to concert site.
    For more information tel: 01 873 4222 - 0830hrs ¬ 1800hrs (Monday - Saturday excluding Public Holidays) or www.dublinbus.ie. Remember there is no Nitelink service on a Monday night.

LUAS
    The closest LUAS Red Line stop to the Phoenix Park is Heuston Station. You can leave the car at the Red Cow Park & Ride site on the N7. Heuston Station is approx 20 minutes walk to the concert site.

IARNROD EIREANN
    If you are travelling from the south of the country the closest train
    station to the Phoenix Park is Heuston Station. If you are travelling from Connolly Station, Ashtown Station (Connolly to Maynooth line)
    is closest. Both stations are approx. 25minutes walk to the concert site.

PRIVATE TRANSPORT
    AS TRAFFIC & PARKING DELAYS ARE INEVITABLE PLEASE AVOID DRIVING TO THE VENUE. USE PUBLIC TRANSPORT OR CARPOOL.
    If you have to drive, leave at least an extra 3 hours for your journey to and from the venue.
    There is very limited parking available at the venue with at least 15
    minutes walk to the concert site.
    There will be a minimum 90 minute delay in exiting the park by car after the show.
    Before you set out check the AA Roadwatch website or call AA Roadwatch on 1550 131 811 (Premium Rates apply) for updates on road conditions, traffic delays & roadworks on your route.

PLAN YOUR JOURNEY TO THE PHOENIX PARK USING THESE DIRECTIONS:
    FROM DUBLIN CITY CENTRE: Use Parkgate Street Entrance
    FROM M11, N81, N7, N4: North on M50 to Junction 6 to N3 towards City Centre and follow traffic signs to Concert Car Parks through Castleknock Gate of the Phoenix Park. Please note there are extensive roadworks on the M50 FROM M1, N2, N3: South on M50 to Junction 6 to N3 towards City Centre and follow traffic signs to Concert Car Parks through Castleknock Gate of the Phoenix Park. Please note there are extensive roadworks on the M50

* SPECIAL NEEDS PARKING ON CHESTERFIELD AVENUE IN PHOENIX PARK
    * SPECIAL NEEDS INFORMATION HOTLINE TEL. 0818 715 627 OR VISIT WWW.MCD.IE

CREDIT CARD COLLECTIONS AND GUEST LIST AVAILABLE FROM OFFICIAL TICKET OUTLET

YOUR SAFETY

THIS IS AN OUTDOOR EVENT. CONCERT RAIN OR SHINE.

DO
    * Dress appropriately and always be prepared for the Irish weatherŠ bring your Wellington boots!
    * Always check the weather forecast before setting off.
    * Please note that under 16s must be accompanied by parent/guardian.
    * Respect the property and privacy of residents in the vicinity of Phoenix Park.
    * For your own safety please co-operate with stewards and Gardaí and follow any loudspeaker announcements.
    * For your own & the safety of others please move slowly & quietly when exiting the Concert site & co-operate with stewards¹ directions.
    * Note that catering & bar facilities are available inside the venue.
    * Photo proof of age is required for sale of alcohol.
    * Note that official merchandising will be available in side the grounds only.
    * Note that the concert is being recorded for visual & audio broadcast.
    * Note location of Information Point, Meeting Point, First Aid Areas and Water Points.
    * Wear bright clothes or luminous armbands if you are walking in the dark.

DO NOT
    * Bring garden furniture, deckchairs, fold up chairs, shooting sticks.
    * Do not park illegally. Towing in operation. Please follow signs to carparks.
    * Do not buy tickets from unofficial sources.
    * Do not bring umbrellas, flagpoles or alcohol into the grounds. These will be confiscated at the ticket barriers.
    * Do not rush the exits after the concert.
    * Do not bring cameras or recording equipment into the grounds.
    * Do not crowd surf or mosh, as you will be removed from the venue without refund.

WE WOULD APPEAL TO ALL FANS TO RESPECT THE LOCAL COMMUNITY BY NOT LITTERING, NOT ENGAGING IN ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR AND BY NOT PARKING ILLEGALLY.

THE SECURITY MEASURES BEING TAKEN ARE FOR THE SAFETY OF ALL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE - ENJOY THE CONCERT

Best Regards

Customer Services Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

anyone got the times for elbow and white lies??

set list
    1. Life In Technicolor [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    2. Violet Hill [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    3. Clocks [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    4. In My Place[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    5. Yellow [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    6. Glass of Water[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    7. Cemeteries of London[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    8. 42 [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    9. Fix You [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    10. Strawberry Swing[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    11. God Put A Smile Upon Your Face
    12. TalkPartial Techno Remix[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    13. The Hardest PartChris Solo Piano [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    14. Postcards From Far AwayChris Solo Piano[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    15. Viva La Vida [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    16. Lost![URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    17. Green EyesAcoustic[URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    18. Death Will Never ConquerAcoustic - sung by Will [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    19. Billie JeanAcoustic (Michael Jackson cover) [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    20. Viva La VidaRemix Interlude [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    21. Politik [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    22. Lovers In Japan [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    23. Death And All His Friends [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    24. Encore:
    25. The Scientist [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    26. Life In Technicolor ii [URL="javascript:void(0);"][/URL]
    27. The Escapist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Swayzee

there's no times up for when the acts come on, but the first act is 6.15 on the site.

anyone going to cois farraige this wknd???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Dozo

What time will it be finished? Last bus to Maynooth is 23:30 , I am afraid that that will be somewhat optimistic. Not even mentioning the amount of people who want to go on the same bus...

Yea im thinking about going myself but due to the last train/bus going back to kildare is 11 , but since its a bit of a walk i might leave just at the encore if they are not over by just after 10 to make sure i get the train back . Ill prob make up my mind at the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 cozziej

is it not gonna go on til at least 11?? i can't wait for this...going to Cois F today...hopefully will be fully operational for monday...Elbow AND Coldplay at one gig...ridonkulous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭miftha

Any idea of the play order, will it be Elbow or White Lies first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

miftha wrote: »
    Any idea of the play order, will it be Elbow or White Lies first?

Surely White Lies first, then Elbow.

Have stage times been announced no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 red.raven

Coldplay have just put up the stage times for the gig Monday on their official website.

Follow this link below!

http://www.coldplay.com/newsdetail.php?id=498

I also got the weather forecast after the 1:00 news today and their aint gunna be a dirty rain cloud in sight on monday, weather is going to be the same as it is today! perfect!

Good times ahead!!! :):):)

red.raven wrote: »
    Coldplay have just put up the stage times for the gig Monday on their official website.

Follow this link below!

http://www.coldplay.com/newsdetail.php?id=498

I also got the weather forecast after the 1:00 news today and their aint gunna be a dirty rain cloud in sight on monday, weather is going to be the same as it is today! perfect!

Good times ahead!!! :):):)
    Cheers for that. Ill prob still have to leave at the encore to make sure i get home :( Yea i heard we are supposed to get great weather until at least mid way during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Anyone know setlists for Elbow or White Lies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭AntoSRFC

Can someone please shed some light on a few things for me? Is there much of a walk from the railway station. And is this in a tent or not? Also were will the ticketmaster box be? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭jojo2

ticketmaster says its a 20min walk from heuston station, I'm planning on being at heuston at 5 so will hopefully be at the big top for white lies! the website says the box office is in the park so im sure there will be plenty of signs.
    id say itll be a mad long walk back to town, took me 3 hours to get home to maynooth at a gig a couple of years ago! hopefully not as many people at this gig!
    cant wait for all 3 bands though!!