Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qualifiers Round 3

• 12-07-2009 5:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭

Football Qualifiers Round 3 Draw: (Teams named first have home advantage)

Wicklow Vs Down
    Meath Vs Roscommon/Wexford
    Kerry Vs Sligo
    Donegal Vs Derry

Hurling Qualifiers Round 3 Draw: (Teams named first have home advantage)

Cork Vs Galway
    Laois Vs Limerick

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,293 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

The hurling ties will be Galway v Cork and Limerick v Laois. Most probably a double header in Thurles. I presume the only draw to be made will be for the relegation play offs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Donegal v Derry....... who would have thought that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

shiibata wrote: »

i was thinking the exact same thing.. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭scrubs

sligo are well and truely f*cked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Awful draw for Cork - the wide spaces of the Pairc will suit the Galway's lads and thier searing pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Anyone know when the roscommon and wexford replay will be. Newstalk were hinting at midweek. That does not sound right to me. Advantage to Meath if so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Orizio wrote: »
    Awful draw for Cork - the wide spaces of the Pairc will suit the Galway's lads and thier searing pace.
    Will this not be played as part of a double header with Limerick v Laois in Thurles on Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Just had a quick look at the fixture list. This is going to be difficult to resolve.
    3rd round is this weekend coming on the 18th. 4 th round is the following week and the quarters the week after that. At this stage, the best possible solution is to have replay some night this week and move the Meath match to Sunday evening.
    Its difficult considering the distance between the counties. Some night this week, two groups of lads will play a game, probably not see their beds till the early hours and work the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭lukin

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Will this not be played as part of a double header with Limerick v Laois in Thurles on Saturday?

Would say so. I think Galway will finally break their "Cork hoodoo", (although they did beat us in 2001 I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Colm R wrote: »
    At this stage, the best possible solution is to have replay some night this week and move the Meath match to Sunday evening.
    Its difficult considering the distance between the counties. Some night this week, two groups of lads will play a game, probably not see their beds till the early hours and work the next morning.

no, this replay will be played net weekend. and there will just be a game behind for each round, no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Yeah, nice handy one for Donegal again!

So that's Armagh and Monaghan and now another Ulster team out. Becoming a recurrent theme this for the last couple of years. ;)

Anyway, a bit of Derry cockiness and an actual organised game plan from us and we might get within 5/6 points. Maybe Gallagher to be called back?

After that,

Down will not fancy this one. Should be a good match. I'd love to see Wicklow get a last 12 tie in Croker but Down by 4.

Meath, whoever the opposition is.

And Sligo :eek: Kerry by 7.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Kerry, Wicklow, Meath and Derry imo...

Kerry lucky they got a home draw!!

lads, maybe jumping the gun a little bit. last year, the R4 games were played in Croker, all in one weekend at a neutral venue.

this year, ive been told, u2 will be using the stadium in 2 weekends time. so, does anybody know if this year, it will be neutral, like say depending on the games, 2 in Semple and 2 in say Navan or will it be home/away set up? surprised the Gaa let this happen, so maybe the U2 concert is next week? then again, the pitch is being relayed, so......not sure either way.

lads, maybe jumping the gun a little bit. last year, the R4 games were played in Croker, all in one weekend at a neutral venue.

this year, ive been told, u2 will be using the stadium in 2 weekends time. so, does anybody know if this year, it will be neutral, like say depending on the games, 2 in Semple and 2 in say Navan or will it be home/away set up? surprised the Gaa let this happen, so maybe the U2 concert is next week? then again, the pitch is being relayed, so......not sure either way.

LOL, typical Kerryman, thinking of Croker already!

Seeing as there was a policy of bringing matches outside Croker, that would tie in. Don't think it's a bad idea as the Down and Fermanagh matches had poor attendances last year.

As for venues and double headers, probably depends on the matches. Too early to call.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

If Kerry were playing a team with a propensity for attacking football they would be in trouble. Whenever I see Sligo, they just handpass backwards and only score free's. This should be easy enough for Kerry. However, Pat Spillane said it would be in Tralee as the pussycat dolls or something will be using Fitzgerald stadium. If Tralee is a smaller pitch maybe Sligo can put it up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Not sure HomerJay but I thought resurfacing would take months.Croke Park won't be open to hurling or football until the AI Quarter Final.

As for the qualifier draw,it is very disappointing.I know Longford gave Kerry a lot to think about but a home game against Sligo is just too easy on paper.Losing Declan O Sullivan and Kieran Donaghy will make it somewhat interesting to see how Kerry will cope with a changed forward line.Kerry by 6 points.

Donegal v Derry would have raised a few eyebrows in years gone by but Donegal are poor and just doing enough in getting past opposition that are way below them.I can see a demolition derby here.Derry to win comfortably.

Wicklow v Down is an interesting one.I like how Wicklow are progressing and they seem to be taking Ulster teams under this year.First Fermanagh and then Cavan.Will Down be next?I think so.

Meath v Roscommon/Wexford,this one is a mess.I can't say I can see Meath losing this to be honest.Meath are at an advantage and will be refreshed after their facile win over Westmeath.Wexford are suffering too much with injuries and Roscommon are a team that wouldn't be strong enough to expose a poor Meath team.Hopefully the winners of this draw Limerick,We might have a repeat of last years qualifier between Limerick and Meath with hopefully the same result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

If Kerry were playing a team with a propensity for attacking football they would be in trouble. Whenever I see Sligo, they just handpass backwards and only score free's. This should be easy enough for Kerry. However, Pat Spillane said it would be in Tralee as the pussycat dolls or something will be using Fitzgerald stadium. If Tralee is a smaller pitch maybe Sligo can put it up to them.

No Tralee will actually make it worse for Sligo as there will be a fairly full house there compared a half empty Killarney for the game. Maybe with a bit of luck we could get Nicole Scherzinger into the forwards, I'm sure she would distract the Sligo backs for a while. There was a secret dread in the Kingdom the last week that if Kerry drew Derry at home then holding it in Tralee might not be a possibility as such a fixture would draw a very good crowd.

The Kerry engine will keep spluttering and clunking along before throwing out a few cobwebs in August and roaring to life come September. Kerry are written off but I think hats will be on the menu come the evening of the 20th of September.

netwhizkid wrote: »
    No Tralee will actually make it worse for Sligo as there will be a fairly full house there compared a half empty Killarney for the game. Maybe with a bit of luck we could get Nicole Scherzinger into the forwards, I'm sure she would distract the Sligo backs for a while. There was a secret dread in the Kingdom the last week that if Kerry drew Derry at home then holding it in Tralee might not be a possibility as such a fixture would draw a very good crowd.

The Kerry engine will keep spluttering and clunking along before throwing out a few cobwebs in August and roaring to life come September. Kerry are written off but I think hats will be on the menu come the evening of the 20th of September.
    I would love some of that optimism! The second half against Longford was pathetic, as bad as I have ever seen Kerry. The list of teams you would fancy to beat Kerry keeps growing, Derry, Kildare and Dublin now look a lot stronger than us imo. We might make the quarter finals but I can't see us beating any of the provincial winners...

Can you imagine what Cork, Dublin or Tyrone would have done to that Longford team?! Donaghy is the only player who can save us at this stage imo, if he's missing the next day expect another non appearance from the Gooch... Too many players have too many miles on the clock but unlike other years there's no new blood coming through. After losing to Tyrone last year, a lot of people thought it was the end of an era for this Kerry team, and the longer this loss of form goes on, the more convinced I'll become that this is the case:(

K-9 wrote: »
    Maybe Gallagher to be called back?

Was told last Friday this is a strong possibility alright, he was hard done by in the first place to be dropped, unlike the other clown who deserved to be thrown out.
    Hard to see any other result though than a Derry win, we could not score for 31min in 2nd half against Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Was hoping for a Kerry/Derry draw here. Both should win easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

lukin wrote: »
    Would say so. I think Galway will finally break their "Cork hoodoo", (although they did beat us in 2001 I think).
    I think this will be a big test of where both these teams are at and the winner will be marked down as contenders to take on Kilkenny.

Galway hit the ground running for the first round of the Lenister Championship against Kilkenny and really put it up to them. But the one thing I think Galway have missed in the last few years was consistancy.

We (Clare) were utter muck on Saturday night. Wheather we were just sh1te, or wheather we were not let play by Galway, it was hard to tell. But to me Galway looked much more like a hardened Championship team than they have for a long number of years. Full back line was solid. Half back line was solid (Apart from Lee who was more than just solid. He was utterly outstanding - MOTH by a country mile) Midfield was well on top. However from there up, they will need to improve. Canning was well marked by James Mac. Damien Hayes and Andy Smith were fairly anonomous. Cyril Donnellen was probably the best of the forwards when it came to getting on the ball, but his poor shooting let him down. I think he scored something like 1-2, but he had about 5 bad wides as well.

Cork, the hoors, are being awful quite. They had an ok enough first round against Tipp, especially considering their lack of match practice. They have gone back into hiding since, re-emerging only briefly a few weeks ago to bate Offaly up a stick in Tullamore. They certainly feel they have a lot to prove and I think they will be utterly utterly driven to get to Croke Park in September. The two questions for me are, 1) Do they have they have the forwards to be serious contenders and 2) Will their lack of early season matches and training catch up with them ?

madness having concerts in major Gaa grounds in Late July. there was always a high chance that we would be playing a qualifier game given the fact it was either us or cork who would be knocked out early.

hopefully we will get 12,000-15,000 in tralee next saturday nite. should hit that easily going on previous years (18,000 v longford)

Was told last Friday this is a strong possibility alright, he was hard done by in the first place to be dropped, unlike the other clown who deserved to be thrown out.
    Hard to see any other result though than a Derry win, we could not score for 31min in 2nd half against Clare.

There wasn't much between us last year but going on the Carlow and Clare matches, not much for us to go on. Hopefully they'll actually try and mark Paddy Bradley properly this time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Whens Meath v Roscommon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Dools2007

anyone know if the times / venues have been confirmed yet. Couldn't see anything on GAA website or RTE.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The Kerry -v- Sligo match has been confirmed for Austin Stacks Park in Tralee this coming Saturday at 5pm...tickets will be available at the gate on the way in.

K-9 wrote: »
    There wasn't much between us last year but going on the Carlow and Clare matches, not much for us to go on. Hopefully they'll actually try and mark Paddy Bradley properly this time!

Ye, was embarrassing how they left Bradley unmarked for 70mins, he is hard enough to mark without giving him the freedom of Ballybofey for the day.

Things are looking bleak for the Derry game this weekend but ye never know, anything can happen on the day (Derry bus might break down on the way):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭gipo2

Kerry Vs SLigo @ 5pm Saturday in Tralee.
    Also to be shown live on TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭sgthighway

The GAA have confirmed the times and venues for next weekend's championship matches in both hurling and football.

On Saturday the All-Ireland Round 3 Football qualifiers take centre stage with Down's visit to face Wicklow in Aughrim opening proceedings at 3.00pm.

Sligo make the long journey south to face Kerry in Tralee for a 5.00pm throw-in, while the all-Ulster clash between Derry and Donegal is fixed for 7.00pm in Ballybofey.

Meanwhile, the Round 2 GAA All-Ireland Football qualifier replay between Roscommon and Wexford will have a 3.00pm start at Dr Hyde Park

Both of the Phase 3 GAA All-Ireland Hurling qualifiers will be at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Laois will face Limerick at 5.00pm, while the much anticipated clash of Galway and Cork will get underway at 7.00pm.

The hurling relegation play-off between Antrim and Offaly will take place on Saturday week at Parnell Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Fook-if TV3 are showing Kerry, and Cork v Galway is fixed for 7pm, which will clash with Donegal v Derry, I wonder will Donegal v Derry be shown anywhere?

No live games online last weekend and I don't think BBC show Qualifiers, so looks like I'll miss out on the Donegal game as we have guests this weekend?

Don't really think much of our chances given form so far this year-Derry aren't the most consistent, but they have enough talent to whup us if they are in the mood-they have a massive phyisical advantage which they could utilise as well. Neil simply has to come back in if he is fit, but Christy Toye is a huge loss. We never are poor tactically at the best of times, so I can't see us being smart enough to employ a effective sweeper system, and our best defender (Lacey) can be destroyed (remember Tommy Freeman?) if isolated, so I fear for the worst if Derry are in the mood.

I hope Durcan is dropped from the panel never to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭The Minstrel

Is it this saturday the 18th that the matches are on? Anyone know the time of the Wicklow match down in Aughrim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Is it this saturday the 18th that the matches are on? Anyone know the time of the Wicklow match down in Aughrim?

I deleted your other thread as the question is more likely to be answered here. A friend of mine from Wickla says it is on at 3pm

RTE have 2 games, with those other shower of muppets showing one.

i think this will be the set up -

rte - 3.00 - wicklow v down.
    tv3 - 5.00 - kerry v sligo - confirmed for tv.

rte - 7.00 - derry v donegal.

the other game will be non televised as its the R2 game. hurling was not planned on being showed i think. though this could change with a 3rd game fot RTE in between.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    The Kerry -v- Sligo match has been confirmed for Austin Stacks Park in Tralee this coming Saturday at 5pm...tickets will be available at the gate on the way in.

receipe for disaster IMO. this game will be packed. though stack park is a great venue, you cant prepare for the madness that i assume will follow. get there early everybody please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

RTE have 2 games, with those other shower of muppets showing one.

i think this will be the set up -

rte - 3.00 - wicklow v down.
    tv3 - 5.00 - kerry v sligo - confirmed for tv.

rte - 7.00 - derry v donegal.

the other game will be non televised as its the R2 game. hurling was not planned on being showed i think. though this could change with a 3rd game fot RTE in between.

I was on the RTE website earlier and it said that their coverage of the Hurling and Football Qualifiers starts at 6.40 with Michael Lyster. I would be amazed if they show the football over the hurling. (But I hope you're right)

Edit: Just checked on Aertel and RTE2 and RTE.ie are showing the Wicklow V Down game at 3pm and the Hurling at 7pm.

des cahill advertised 2 football games on the sunday game last night. HOWEVER, looks like an update -

On Saturday, the All-Ireland Round 3 Football qualifiers take centre stage with Down's visit to face Wicklow in Aughrim opening proceedings at 3.00pm. The game will be live on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie.

Sligo make the long journey south to face Kerry in Tralee for a 5.00pm throw-in, while the all-Ulster clash between Derry and Donegal is fixed for 7.00pm in Ballybofey.

Meanwhile, the Round 2 GAA All-Ireland Football qualifier replay between Roscommon and Wexford will have a 3.00pm start at Dr Hyde Park.

Both of the Phase 3 GAA All-Ireland Hurling qualifiers will be at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Laois will face Limerick at 5.00pm, while the much anticipated clash of Galway and Cork will get underway at 7.00pm and will be live on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

receipe for disaster IMO. this game will be packed. though stack park is a great venue, you cant prepare for the madness that i assume will follow. get there early everybody please!

too true honeyjay. Stacks' always was a shocking venue for matches with parking being nothing short of a joke!

Gates open for pussycat dolls at 5:30 in Killarney so maybe some might opt for the 'gig' as opposed to the match, time will tell I suppose. I will be in Tralee, though I'm supposed to go in for an hour or so in Killarney afterward if I can get away in decent time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 nadasky08

Any word on 'Star' Donaghy's injury? Heard talk of him doing his cruciate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

nadasky08 wrote: »
    Any word on 'Star' Donaghy's injury? Heard talk of him doing his cruciate?

:(:(:(:(

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=580&Itemid=2

says it all really

netwhizkid wrote: »

Cheers for post Netwhizkid. A certain Noel McGuire will be happy with that news. Only Tommy Walsh to mark then:o

tadhg is out also for sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

3pm Saturday. Gates open 2.30............am

Would love to see Wicklow win. Great inspiration for all "weaker" counties and they deserve great credit.

Never thought i see Wicklow odds on favourites to beat Down with the bookies.

nadasky08 wrote: »
    Never thought i see Wicklow odds on favourites to beat Down with the bookies.

but i also bet you never thought ud have the greatest manager in the history of the GAA over you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Dools2007

Is this stadium really that bad to get in / out of? Thinking of heading down on Saturday. How long realistically before the game would you want to be getting down there?

How far away from the stadium is the majority of the parking?

Any help appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Wicklow Football Team on the telly twice in one year?

I'm sure thats a pig i just saw flying over my house, and the weather is reporting ice in Hell!

Never expected this, here's hoping it continues!

Dools2007 wrote: »
    Is this stadium really that bad to get in / out of? Thinking of heading down on Saturday. How long realistically before the game would you want to be getting down there?

Any help appreciated.

you coming from sligo?

the town has about 15,000 -20,000 in it, imagine what another 15,000 people will add to it!

stadium is located in the town pretty much, right beside the train station and about 10 mins walk to the hospital. game is on at 5, i would advise park well away from the pitch and walk. get there early and get your tickets early. there will be a big crowd there IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

Wicklow Football Team on the telly twice in one year?

I'm sure thats a pig i just saw flying over my house, and the weather is reporting ice in Hell!

Never expected this, here's hoping it continues!

Oh it will. All the way to September..................

UP THE GARDEN COUNTY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Dools2007 wrote: »

Any help appreciated.
    Expect delays when exiting the town itself, there's only one way out of Killarney in any direction, and given that alot of Kerry fans will also be heading out the Limerick road along with the Sligo ones, delays are to be expected. Dont be in any rush home basically! Best off to head into town, get something to eat and then head home. Leave all the traffic off.

grenache wrote: »
    Expect delays when exiting the town itself, there's only one way out of Killarney in any direction, and given that alot of Kerry fans will also be heading out the Limerick road along with the Sligo ones, delays are to be expected. Dont be in any rush home basically! Best off to head into town, get something to eat and then head home. Leave all the traffic off.
    The game is on in Tralee!:P I think people might be exaggerating a bit with regard to the crowd that will show up to this one, no disrespect but bad as Kerry are it's still only Sligo they're playing. That said maybe people will realise that with Star's injury it's only a matter of time until we meet a half way decent team to dump us out and will turn up to this thinking as we might not get a chance to see them in Croke Park this year, they might as well see them in Kerry...