If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ever Decreasing Circles:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Well done! That run should have brought you loads of confidence! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

That's a great confidence booster, delighted for you, setting yourself up nicely for a good track season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

A thing of beauty Dom. Perfect timing for a solid result too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Grabbed my camera this morning to take some pix of the Wicklow HM - what a beautiful day: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dominic67/sets/72157629662968185/
    Then threw on the the Response Cushions and went for a gentle trot from the house down the Murrough and back, body surprisingly ok after yesterday, calves a little tight and quad still letting me know it's not quite 100%, Dr Foam Roller awaits this evening.
    7.47 miles @ 7:42 pace

Totals update - had to run to a birthday party earlier.

WTD: 65.8M (105.8k)
    MTD: 235.1M (378.3k)
    YTD: 451.5M (726.4k)

Highest 4 week average ever I would say, 63.2 (101.6k), only 9 miles off my highest monthly mileage (with 6 days to go) and weight down to 72.8kg (lowest in 15 years).
    39 consecutive days - 335 miles - daily average 8.6 - Rest Day tomorrow if you count 19 hrs door to door travel as rest :D

Felt reasonably ok after hitting the hotel on schedule 19hrs after leaving this morning. So at 5am local time, 12:30 am back home I threw the gear on and hit the treadie for an easy 5 miler in 40 mins. Nite Nite

Nite, nite. ;)

Work, Eat, Sleep is the mantra this week, squeezed in a short progression run on the hotel treadie this morning @ 1% incline:
    • 2k @ 5:00
    • 2k @ 4:40
    • 2k @ 4:20
    • 2k @ 4:00
    • 1k @ 3:40
    • 1k @ 5:00
    Felt like a good workout and got the HR moving in the right direction.

PM: Got back to the hotel at a reasonable time, 11pm so hit the treadie for a 4 mile recovery run - body feels great, bit of unplanned carbo loading this week :o

Easy recovery run on the treadie 10k @ 4:50 pace - glad that's my last hotel treadmill run.

So due to my connections with Hyderabad I've been engaging online with the local Hyderabad Runners group. So this isn't a club as we would know it back in Ireland, but more a bunch of like minded individuals with running in common. They meet several times per week and I see organized sessions ranging from hill workouts at Whisper Valley to 32k runs at the weekend. Most of the group have already completed a marathon or have ambitions in doing so in the near future.
    This group also sold out their first marathon last August with 1200 runners competing in the first Hyderabad Marathon - how cool is that? There are plans underway to exceed that number this year.
    So when Rajesh heard I was in Hyderabad he organised a group to get together for an early morning run at KBR Park an oasis in the middle of a chaotic city, how could I resist, even if it meant getting up at 5am after 4hrs sleep :eek:, but boy was it worth it!
    A nicer bunch of people you could not wish to meet and as I was 'runner of the week' :cool: I received an introduction, got to lead the group out and took them through their post run stretching and to top it all was presented with my very own Hyderabad Runners T Shirt - pics to follow.
    The run itself was a nice gentle affair as we looped around a few of the internal tracks dodging all the folks out for their early morning stroll - think Grafton Street on a Saturday afternoon and 30 mins later we were done - just what the body needed as I enter my taper.
    Thanks Hyderabad Runners I'll be back!
    563892_3342497215572_1662987617_2664845_1087544999_n.jpg

Got back to the house 41hrs after getting out of bed - yes I've been up since and including yesterday's post, give or take a few power naps on the flight segments. Toyed with the idea of getting in my planned 6 miles, but in my fatigued state felt it could do more harm than good. An hours kip and steak on the grill as I type is the sensible option - 16M tomorrow.

What a cool story about your new running mates! Wow. And runner of the week....what an honor! ;) Love it. Can't wait for more pics. :D

T minus 2 weeks <GULP>

Last of the biggies, I got a great nights sleep of about 9 uninterrupted hours, but still felt goosed after the last 2 days and took a bit of time to get myself out the door as 9am eventually became 10:30. Parked the car up from Hunter's hotel and headed off on my 5.38 mile lap, it felt easy running between 7:30 and 7:40 pace as it should and soon I was coming back to life. Came passed the car and continued on until the watch turned 45 mins [5.93 miles @ 7:36] and was off on 4 miles at PMP, bit of a breeze to contend with on the first 2 miles, but I decided this week to go with pace rather than effort and the pace felt grand, it probably should have after the carbs I had last week and almost 2 full days rest. Came through the 4 miles @ 6:45 pace couple of seconds too fast [6:45, 6:45, 6:45, 6:43], but I felt fairly comfortable. Eased back to 7:30 pace for 10 mins and went again from the same spot, took a bit longer to get going but soon got back in the groove again for another 4 miles @ 6:45 pace [6:46, 6:44, 6:46, 6:43] before completing the lap @ 7:20 pace to round off 16.1 miles @ 7:09 pace.
    The only other thing I'll add to this is that I ran this one without gels or water as I wanted to get the body under a bit stress - the stress never came.
    Mileage a bit lighter than planned, so will keep it flat next week.

WTD: 40.9M (65.8k)
    MTD (March): 259.9M (418.1k)
    YTD: 492.3M (792.2k)

I'm curious, with no water or gels, what was the temp/weather like when you were running?

Dory Dory wrote: »
    I'm curious, with no water or gels, what was the temp/weather like when you were running?

Yep, as I'm light on long runs I wanted one more where the body could attack itself a little. It was a beautiful morning for running here on the East Coast, 12 degrees C, sunny with a light breeze, would sell a kidney for that in Rotterdam, but expect it to be closer to 20.

Mon:
    Just a recovery run in Shanganagh on the way home followed by some stretching, added 6 x 30 secs from midway.

Tue:
    Had 3M in the schedule, but with the weather out there didn't see the point in getting changed to get hail stoned on, day off will do no harm.

Wed:
    Wicklow 5k Road Championships
    Normally this is one of my target races, but the plan tonight was just to get a decent workout and not jeopardize the Marathon, plus I would not have run this quick since the injury. A good splattering of Boardies were about, Pronator and Abhainn plus others, Pre was there all wrapped up in layers and double quilted jackets (has he gone soft :p).
    Conditions were less than ideal on an out and back undulating course with a swirling breeze mainly against on the return. I lined up a few rows back in the 100+ field and eased myself into the race letting my usual cohorts stride ahead. The 1st is marginally uphill and I clock 3:42 sitting in with a little group having a chat and slagging one of the Kilcoole lads as the cheers go up from his rent a mob. Pace felt really comfortable on the toughest k of the race which was predominantly uphill and when I looked down and seen 4:00 lap pace it was time to giddy up and leave my comfort zone group, dragged that k back to average 3:54 pace and just focused on running tall and in control as I started passing my way through some bodies for 3:47. Not happy with the average pace at this stage I decided to stretch it out for a 3:30 for the 4th again this had a nice downhill stretch although against the wind. And then opened the hips for the final k, but again concentrating on form to finish with a 3:20.
    It's a great way to run a race, no pressure and having loads in the tank at the end, if I add some quality after all this Marathon lark there could be some PB's up for grabs in the summer.

5k in 18:13 (5:53 per mile pace, target 5:55).
    3rd M45 (my 1st over 45 race ha)
    2nd team

Total miles - 7.6

Nicely done, Beepbeep. What team won?
    I see your Training Effect seems to be working better too.

What team won?

Controversy, Roundwood 1st, Bray 2nd, Parnell 3rd, Kilcoole had a large contingent and should have placed but apparently neglected to enter a team sheet. Mick Kavanagh won, Pronator was 2nd and Richard Hourihan was 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Controversy, Roundwood 1st, Bray 2nd, Parnell 3rd, Kilcoole had a large contingent and should have placed but apparently neglected to enter a team sheet. Mick Kavanagh won, Pronator was 2nd and Richard Hourihan was 3rd.

Well done tonight. You looked very fresh and strong. #
    Correction to the above, I was 3rd :)

Abhainn wrote: »
    Well done tonight. You looked very fresh and strong. #
    Correction to the above, I was 3rd :)

Oopsie ;)

Nice run for an easy taper 5k. ;) Looks like you are right on target to have a great marathon!!! And top podium finish in your age to boot! Just a little icing on the cake. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

It's a great way to run a race, no pressure and having loads in the tank at the end, if I add some quality after all this Marathon lark there could be some PB's up for grabs in the summer.

Well done on a comfortable 5K, not bad going for your age, you have beaten me to the big 45 by a few weeks too. Enjoy the taper.

Just a slow recovery trot around Shanganagh with the club this evening, nice to run and chat and catch up with everyone's training. 6.54 miles @ 8:13 pace.

Q/Q I have 13 with 3 x 1 @ tempo pace this weekend - what's preferable 8 days out or 7 days out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

nice going in the 5k, a good time for an old fella ;)

i'd say 8 days out for your Q, but there's more experienced here that could give you a better answer? Would you knock it back to 10miles maybe?

Hazy, Lazy & Eazy

Straight out of bed and up to the local GAA pitch for an easy trot on grass in fantastic early morning hazy sunshine - does the soul good.
    5k @ 4:44 pace

Q/Q I have 13 with 3 x 1 @ tempo pace this weekend - what's preferable 8 days out or 7 days out?

8 days if you can

Then all easy runs thereafter (max 6-7 miles) but on alternate days incorportate 4 x 100 strides / pick ups to keep leg turnover in good nick

Abhainn wrote: »
    8 days if you can

Then all easy runs thereafter (max 6-7 miles) but on alternate days incorportate 4 x 100 strides / pick ups to keep leg turnover in good nick

No PMP miles in the last week?

My programs usually have a 6-7 mile run, including 2 miles @pmp, 4 or 5 days out from the race. It's kind of like Abhainn's 100m strides, it's purpose is just to keep the legs in good nick, and also to give you a bit of a mental lift (the two miles should feel easy).

If you've got niggles, or have recently done a pmp session, then they serve little purpose/should be avoided.

Yes you got it in one there. You'll have 3 x 1 done today and that should be sufficient