Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Voodoo Card Club Opening Weekend!!

• 10-07-2009 11:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭

Please feel free to join us on Friday Saturday and Sunday for our opening weekend!!
    84725.jpg84726.jpg

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    The Voodoo Card Club

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    Club Opening

3. Date and Location of event
    Saturday 11th July

4. Registration and Start time of event.
    19:30 for 20:30 start

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    Join Club (free, no waiting period)

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    First Come, First Serve in person

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    NLH, One Rebuy

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    €50 with one €50 rebuy

9. Cost of registration
    €5

10. Percent of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    100% into prize fund

10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much
    No

11. Any guaranteed prize pool.
    €1000 added money

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    1 Rebuy taken in first three levels (75 mins)

13. Starting Chips

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.

15. Blind levels
    SB BB Ante
    25 50 0
    50 100 0
    100 200 0
    100 200 25
    150 300 25
    200 400 50
    300 600 50
    400 800 75
    500 1000 100
    600 1200 100
    800 1600 200
    1000 2000 200
    1200 2400 300
    1500 3000 300
    2000 4000 500
    3000 6000 500
    4000 8000 1000
    5000 10000 1000
    6000 12000 2000
    8000 16000 2000
    10000 20000 3000
    15000 30000 3000
    20000 40000 4000

16. Blind timeframes
    25 minutes

17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    Assuming over 50 players, top 9 paid (final table)

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    Paid Trained Dealers

19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    TDA Rules www.pokertda.com

20. Is there a tournament director
    Yes, Nick Van de Weyer

21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    The floor person’s decision is final

22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered.
    Games Spread on Demand, hourly per player maximums apply
    50c/1€ tables charged at 5% with €5 cap,
    1€/2€ tables charged at 5% with €10 cap,
    Bigger Games charged at 5% with €25 cap.

Please feel free to join us on Friday Saturday and Sunday for our opening weekend!!

The Voodoo Card Club Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Cant make it tonite guys but i will try make it up tomorrow afternoon. Best of luck in the new venture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Can the topup 5000 chips be taken immediately upon entering the tournament? Or do you have to wait to bust the first 5k chips?

Hoping it's the former.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭VoodooCC

You can take them immediately.

VoodooCC wrote: »
    You can take them immediately.

Excellent. One last irritation (:)), why no 75 / 150 level?

Just asked Nick the TD here, he felt that removing the an early level, given the starting stack, would be compensated by play in the later levels but as with all things we are going to take into account the wishes and feedback of players.
    This is a brand new club so inevitably there will be changes subsequent to launch but we're also keen to try new things and see if they work. If they dont, we'll change them back!

Anyone with questions, do please ask them, we are up to our tonsils getting ready for tonight but we are checking this thread regularly and welcome any reasonable questions.

Just asked Nick the TD here, he felt that removing the an early level, given the starting stack, would be compensated by play in the later levels but as with all things we are going to take into account the wishes and feedback of players.
    This is a brand new club so inevitably there will be changes subsequent to launch but we're also keen to try new things and see if they work. If they dont, we'll change them back!

Anyone with questions, do please ask them, we are up to our tonsils getting ready for tonight but we are checking this thread regularly and welcome any reasonable questions.

Thanks for the response. I agree that the structure in the middle part looks very good. If its a compromise between either having a 75 / 150 or the likes of 800 / 1200 and 1200 / 2400 then I would much prefer the latter to get priority. Cheers, see you over the weekend.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The rake looks pretty high in the cashgames compared to others around the city. The tournament structure does look pretty good though, but I won't be around this weekend to play. Looking forward to reading trip reports though.

What is Sundays tourney btw?

5starpool wrote: »
    The rake looks pretty high in the cashgames compared to others around the city. The tournament structure does look pretty good though, but I won't be around this weekend to play. Looking forward to reading trip reports though.

What is Sundays tourney btw?

Nick the poker manager has been running 1/2 games previously with this structure and says a full game will typically be charged €80 an hour.
    With nine players this equates to less than €9 per person per hour. We think most will agree that this is a competitive rate and with planned loyalty promotions giving value back to regular cash players the Voodoo Club will be the best value for money club in Ireland.

Sunday's tourney kicks off the normal weekly schedule with a 2010 WSOP qualifier with a freeroll entry with €10 rebuys.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

OK, fair enough. Maybe I'm in the minority, but the perception may be different to the reality in this case, and this is what will sway people one way or another. Most other cash games here are run with an hourly charge (as I'm sure you are aware), and doing something different which amounts to essentially the same thing in revenue terms, might not be the best idea.

I've been in places before where dealers count the pot at the end, then take some money for rake. Even if it amounts to the same thing as taking it during a hand, the perception is different, and this might be an important factor. I may be overstating it somewhat, as most people might not know how rake is normally taken, I guess, but it's just my 2c.

Also, where is the rest of your tournament schedule? Is it the one on the website only?

We've debated that here ourselves. The way we are doing it is more transparent and we believe amounts to a better deal for the players (for example, on a slow or tight table the dealer doesnt have to rape the pots to make his half hourly targets).

However being more transparent has it own business drawbacks as you point out. We felt we'd rather be very very clear about everything we do with the players money, even when taking charges for playing. In the end we felt it was fairer to take a % with a cap and make that clear. Of course we'll consider anything the membership suggests!

ps: As for the weekly tournament schedule it can be found here: http://voodoocardclub.com/touraments.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 manthol

just wondering is this where the voodoo lounge used to be? and assuming the structure is the same as saturday, what is the starting stack for tonight?

manthol wrote: »
    just wondering is this where the voodoo lounge used to be? and assuming the structure is the same as saturday, what is the starting stack for tonight?
    It is where the Voodoo Lounge used to be alright.

Contact Details
    Voodoo Card Club
    39 - 40 Arran Quay Dublin 7
    +353 (0) 1 8727918
    info@voodoocardclub.com

Parking
    Free parking is located behind the club from 7pm - 7am.

Directions
    voo_16.jpg

From North
    Travel along the quays heading towards the city centre. The club is located just after Bargaintown. Take the left immediately after the club. Parking in this area is free from 7pm - 7am.

From South
    Travel along the quays heading out of the city centre toward Heuston Station. When you get to Heuston Station take the bridge over the liffey and head travel back along the quays heading towards the city centre. The club is located just after Bargaintown. Take the left immediately after the club. Parking in this area is free from 7pm - 7am.

Luas
    The red line Smithfield stop is located directly behind the club.

Tonights tournament is meant to be a bit of fun and more for something to do while we guzzle some champagne. The stack is 3k, I think (Nick just went home to wash!) but the structure starts at 25/25 and will be different from the main event on Saturday, ie: slower at the start.

It will surely be just as much fun if you throw an extra 1k onto each stack, right? :) I'll be playing either way obv.

I'll suggest it to Nick but we also have to have it reasonably over by 11 for the food and then we are putting on a game at midnight for the UK players (everyone welcome of course)

In the end, not everyone is looking for a long, well structured, serious game of poker, sometimes ye just want a laugh with yer mates :)

The serious poker starts tomorrow!!

I'll suggest it to Nick but we also have to have it reasonably over by 11 for the food and then we are putting on a game at midnight for the UK players (everyone welcome of course)

In the end, not everyone is looking for a long, well structured, serious game of poker, sometimes ye just want a laugh with yer mates :)

The serious poker starts tomorrow!!

It won't amount to that either way!! ;)

Seeya later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭8ofSpades

Is there a dress code
    Jeans, thsirt and shoes ok
    wont have a chance to go home after work

Jeans and a t-shirt is what I'm wearing so it better be acceptible!! :)

Just checked here, there is no dress code though we would ask that people DO wear something.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

Thanks for the invite tonight guy's, down in wexford with the Chernobyl kids until tomorrow morning but will be back for the tourny tomorrow afternoon, good luck for the future and have a great night!
    Phil Baker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Germag

Best of luck with this new venture and venue. We hope someday soon to see it for our selves.
    Gerry & Margaret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Wont expect a reply tonight from you but will I need photo ID first time joining?

Hope to see you tomorrow @ 2.30pm till late.

Cheers

p.s drove past the place at about half 3 this afternoon, finishing touches I see, looks good and good luck, hope your club sticks around for a while, more cardrooms please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭aceofspades.ie

Best of Luck with the new club.....

Myles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Get In There

This reminded me of the Loose Cannon card club in London. I really like the layout of this club and I'll be back again for sure. Very nice staff and very nice facilities. Food was great. I would encourage anybody to pop in and see it for themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 VoodooDonkey

'Twas worth a visit just to see Dev make a final table!!! :eek:

The standard of play is obviously pitched exactly
    where any poker player would want it. :cool:

Smart ass ribbing aside, wp sir.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

*cough*... Well that was somewhat embarrassing... I went and won the thing. I cant win a coin-flip usually, then win our opening tournie. I'm never going to live this down with the team, I'm already getting the "didnt you get the memo" ribbing

I really enjoyed the evening and spent the first half mostly joking with my table and trying, unsuccessfully to lose my chips! There was a great atmosphere and most people where there for the refreshments and have a good laugh. Unfortunately we were late starting so we had to start at 25/50 (we had intended starting at 25/25).
    The club also added money to the prizepool.

I had a good start and with one or two wobbles along the way seemed to have a decent run of luck or at least, I *didnt* have bad luck so that was a help!

I got heads up with a young lad who played a stormer all night but since I had consumed the third placed finishers stack whole, he had a bad disadvantage going into heads up. I would have offered him a deal as he was playing well but I was 4:1 in chips and despite Lloyd alleging that live poker is rigged, I wanted to win it.
    Turned out it was his first time playing live!! We took some pictures of us with the cards etc and I hope he had a good time, he certainly seemed to have!

Finally a big thanks to Nick and the dealers, difficult circumstances given how busy the club was but they did well!

Good to be back at the tables and good to take that down. :):)

Many thanks to the great number of people who came out to support the club and we hope to justify that support in the future.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

DeVore wrote: »
    *cough*... Well that was somewhat embarrassing... I went and won the thing. I cant win a coin-flip usually, then win our opening tournie. I'm never going to live this down with the team, I'm already getting the "didnt you get the memo" ribbing

I really enjoyed the evening and spent the first half mostly joking with my table and trying, unsuccessfully to lose my chips! There was a great atmosphere and most people where there for the refreshments and have a good laugh. Unfortunately we were late starting so we had to start at 25/50 (we had intended starting at 25/25).

I had a good start and with one or two wobbles along the way seemed to have a decent run of luck or at least, I *didnt* have bad luck so that was a help!

I got heads up with a young lad who played a stormer all night but since I had consumed the third placed finishers stack whole, he had a bad disadvantage going into heads up. I would have offered him a deal as he was playing well but I was 4:1 in chips and despite Lloyd alleging that live poker is rigged, I wanted to win it.
    Turned out it was his first time playing live!! We took some pictures of us with the cards etc and I hope he had a good time, he certainly seemed to have!

Finally a big thanks to Nick and the dealers, difficult circumstances given how busy the club was but they did well!

Many thanks to the great number of people who came out to support the club and we hope to justify that support in the future.

DeV.

Fix i want someone to look into this.

DeVore wrote: »

DeV.

You win a live tournament for the first time since 2004 on the opening night of your new club? It is rigged. :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

aodea wrote: »
    Fix i want someone to look into this.
    Wow... what a coincidence, I've also just appointed myself Chief Rigged-Tournie-Investigator! I'll get right on it.... :p

DeV.

Whats the situation with the wsop freeroll on sunday, whats the prizes on the night if you get the runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

chieft.jpg

I might pop in tonight if I'm drinking anywhere near by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭FuttBucker

Played both tournaments last night, great place and excellent staff. Had the pleasure of meeting some boardsies too such as Lloyd and pgodkin, very sound guys. Final tabled the 2nd tourney but my 83cc was obv no good vs. Q10s :( out in fourth, however, it was a great night and i hopefully shall be returning.

Not sure what the story is with the team event but is there a 50 rebuy on at half eight tonight or no?

Yes the main event, 50+50 Double Chance is on at 8:30 (as per the original post in this thread if you are looking for details).

On Sundays, as part of our regular schedule, we have a freeroll (e10 rebuy). The prize is a ticket to the monthly final. The prize of the monthly final will be a package to Vegas for the 2010 WSOP. (hope thats clear, its pretty straightforward but complicated to explain!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Tough Johnnson!

how long are you allowing late entries in untill tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Lady Di

The prize of the monthly final will be a package to Vegas for the 2010 WSOP. .

How much is a ticket into the monthly final?

Lady Di wrote: »

Random guess....€270??? I dunno why :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭FishFlop21

Any update on the team event?????? is it over? who won? etc etc

The Voodoo Card Club won the cup. It was close up to the last 2 tables but the International team suffered a bit of a collapse after that. Good fun though and the rematch is already being planned.

Sorry TJ... didnt see your post until now. If you ever need to know something like that please give us a shout on the office phone. Details can be found here:

http://voodoocardclub.com/contactus.php

The cost of the monthly WSOP finale is 100 euro as I recall. Will check that but I'm pretty sure its 100. The package is flights, accom and a 1k tournie entry, we'll be doing sats for the main event in time.

How did the Bruce team do?

Bruce team had two on final table and there was a chop done three way with jp still there so i would imagine they were up there. international and voodoo had a lot of players so would be hard to come ahead of them. Not sure how the chop was worked out for points but jp was the chip leader at the time. Nice cup too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭jimsmith09

well done guys had a great 2 days in the voodoo great craic and we even won the cup. thanks to derek, eamon, willo and all the staff for a great week-end.

thanks,

jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

FishFlop21 wrote: »
    How did the Bruce team do?

There was only really 2 teams in the team event with Voodoo having 40 players and the international 30.

Phil Baker and myself made the final table out of our 5 players.

I did a deal 3 handed with Christy Smith and Irene ? I had just about half the chips in play but didn't mind doing a deal as it was for just of €1000 between the 3 of us and the evening game had just started which we wanted to play.

Nice club, good luck!

Yeah it was meant to be the Voodoo vs The International but then a few smaller teams wanted to join in (like Devil Fish Poker and Bruce). There was no charge to enter a team so we thought "ah fcuk it" :).
    To be fair to them, they put the big teams to shame with DFP getting 2 of 4 into the points and Bruce doing even better with 2 on the final table and 3 (I think) getting to the last 18 and into the points.

DFP had Papasmut on their team who hasnt played in 3 years and who made the points nicely!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

lets call a spade a spade... proportional representation, Bruce Poker are the moral winners with only 5 runners......... GIVE US THE CUP!:D

JP Poker wrote: »
    There was only really 2 teams in the team event with Voodoo having 40 players and the international 30.

Phil Baker and myself made the final table out of our 5 players.

I did a deal 3 handed with Christy Smith and Irene ? I had just about half the chips in play but didn't mind doing a deal as it was for just of €1000 between the 3 of us and the evening game had just started which we wanted to play.

Nice club, good luck!

Well done JP at least we were not put to shame, by all those sharks:D,
    Thought it was a nice club, and i'll be sure to be back soon.
    Best of luck with things in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nick V

I'd like to personally thank everyone for a great opening weekend here at the Voodoo. The atmosphere on Friday was electric with 95 runners for the first tournament and cash action ranging from 50c/€1 all the way up to a €5/€5 PLO that broke in the "TV" table on stage where bands used to play in the club's former music hall days.

Feedback from players in the Saturday Night's Deepstack seemed positive. I hope that they will recommend our Friday night €100 freeze to friends - it plays with the same long and smooth structure. Anyone with any specific gripes or questions please feel free to Post / PM / Email / Ring / IM me.

The first monthly final is in August. We generated three €110 tickets already tonight - the final table is in progress as I type with Devore making it for 3 out of 4 finals since the club opened. The monthly final will award as many Vegas Packages as possible with direct buy-ins permitted.
    how long are you allowing late entries in untill tonight?

Apologies that we did not reply to this query on the night - I think we must have been a little pre-occupied :) In all tournaments at the Voodoo late comers are permitted up to an hour into the tournament, so missing the start is no excuse for absenteeism.

For those who couldn't make it down this weekend - I look forward to seeing you soon at one of our nightly tournaments or for all forms of cash action...

Just wondering how many runners the first few tournis have gotten? Was thinking of heading in tonight but depends on numbers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

I played the 50/50 deepstack there on Saturday night and there was about 70 runners (slightly under I think, 67, 68 maybe).

I played (and luckboxed my way to winning ;)) the freezeout there last night and there were 32 runners.

I played the 50/50 deepstack there on Saturday night and there was about 70 runners (slightly under I think, 67, 68 maybe).

I played (and luckboxed my way to winning ;)) the freezeout there last night and there were 32 runners.

32 was not bad for last night.