Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girly Holidays

• 09-07-2009 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭

Do you enjoy them? Are they worth it?

I was away last weekend with a group of girls. I only knew one of them, the rest have been friends for years.

Jesus, the temper tantrums and bitching that went on!! I've never gone on a girlie holiday and this was just a weekend but I don't think I ever would. Having to decide where to eat or what to do during the day and then where to go at night. Then fighting over guys!!! :rolleyes:

My friend in the group has decided not to go on holidays with these girls again as the goings on of the weekend happen every summer holiday.

I'm going away by myself at the end of August for 2 weeks. Maybe it's just me and I prefer to be doing my own thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Urgh. I don't even like going on hen nights. Lots of tension with no outlet, the oneupwomanship, the transient cliques that form... Spending 2 weeks with more than three women sounds like the seventh of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Yeah, having been on my fair share of Hen weekends recently, I can safely say that a girly holiday is my worst nightmare. Wouldn't pay money to go and stress myself out for a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I've had some brilliant girlie holidays. But I go on holidays with easy going, fun girls who aren't in to the whole bitching thing, they'd be booted out if they were! Ah that's a shame Larianne, you really can't beat a good girlie holiday, best holidays I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

That sounds sh*t! I love girlie holidays! Fighting over guys never happens 'cause me and my bestie don't have the same taste in guys at all at all and in general have been in relationships while away but the whole fighting over where to eat etc, that is just mad! Who were these people?! Sounds totally childish!

I am with you on the doing your own thing though, I am very like that as well. Not to the extent I would rule out a holiday with the girls though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

With Clare Bear on this!
    Have had some great girlie holidays/weekends away. The memories bring a smile (and sometimes laughter tears!:D) to my face!
    Have never fought/got annoyed with any of them while on away..then again my friends are so relaxed/chilled/go with the flow/up for the craic.

Could never do a holiday by myself..need to have atleast one other person there to have a giggle with, chat to, get ready with, borrow clothes, comment on the talent around the place with, help me decide what to order, let me try their food, put the sun cream on my back, enjoy sightseeing with, have nice pictures of us in, etc!:) And it's not like I need to be around people all the time either..I love my own company aswell, be it at home alone, or out for a days shopping alone.

But different strokes for different folks when it comes to holidays I guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Completely depends on the mates you're with. I just had a 'girly break' with the wrong girl. We just didn't enjoy the same things at all. The same holiday with another friend would have been brilliant fun.

Also depends on how close you are to your friend(s).

Three friends of mine are going on holiday next week, and they're all so different I'm predicting tears before the week is up and all sorts of diplomatic crises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Hell on earth. Went with a friend once. Never again.

Thought I wouild kill myself, the never ending desire to shop, getting ready for 10 years, talking repeatedly about the same relationship issues over and over!!!

JAYSUS wept!!! :eek: the pure horror of it all, I pity men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

yeah it really depends on who youre with. i love girly holidays, trying to organise one for august at the moment.

however there is 1 girl who always without a doubt will do something to ruin the holiday. & there is 1 friend who insists we invite her. its mostly just attention seeking more than anything else, and its totally headwrecking. i just ignore her at this stage.

for the most part the rest of us get on fine. sometimes someone will annoy you cause youre spending too much time with them but for the most part we have enough common sense to just step away & take time for ourselves if its heading that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Think they can be a bit hit or miss. Depends on the group you go with really. I had a few nightmare sun holidays as a teenager - plenty of backstabbing and fighting and tears. Ventured away on a girlie hol again last year though and really enjoyed it.

Having said that I've friends that I wouldn't dream of going away anywhere with even if I was stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

I'm a very quiet person. Lots of loud people piss me off. I think I'd stab myself =P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

sar84 wrote: »
    yeah it really depends on who youre with. i love girly holidays, trying to organise one for august at the moment.

however there is 1 girl who always without a doubt will do something to ruin the holiday. & there is 1 friend who insists we invite her. its mostly just attention seeking more than anything else, and its totally headwrecking. i just ignore her at this stage.

for the most part the rest of us get on fine. sometimes someone will annoy you cause youre spending too much time with them but for the most part we have enough common sense to just step away & take time for ourselves if its heading that way.

WHy bother then? The amount it costs ya to go away.

At the weekend away there was only one girl who caused trouble and apparently she does this every time this group goes away. I honestly don't understand why they bother. I wanted to smash this girls face up after the first night and I'm not a violent person at all. :o

I do think it depends on who you go with - my 21st in Galway was a blast but 1 or 2 weeks with any girls I think is a disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I love girlie holidays. Myself and my best friends go away every year together and it is a lovely week of sunbathing, drinking and catching up. No bitchiness in sight.

As I am now on the other side of the world they on on girlie holidays without me. I'd give anything to be going with them in August :(

I guess it depends on who you go with. I've been friends with my girls since I was 12. I dont know how much fun it would be with people I didn't know as well. Their could be a lot of politics involved. At least with my mates we can tell each other to feck off if we want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I like going on holidays with just one girlfriend. Much more relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I only ever really went on one girly holiday and it was great.... me and two of my best friends went off to Cyprus. They spent a lot of time in bed during the day but I chilled out by the pool with a book....We did our own thing, I think they can work out really welll but it does really depend on your expectations. You cannot be with someone 24/7 and not annoy them and vice versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Larianne wrote: »
    WHy bother then? The amount it costs ya to go away.

why bother what?

go on holidays? cause i want a break

deal with the girl i dont like? cause i want to go away with my friends

if youre talking about not getting on with the girls all the time thats not cause of the ppl they are, thats just something that might happen if you spend 24/7 with one person in a small space. if i spend that long with ANYONE with no break i go insane, regardless of who they are.

weve never had temper tantrums or fighting over men! sounds a bit crazy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

There's 10 of us going to a not-very-big apartment in Barcelona at the end of this month, should be...interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

Depends who you go with. Choose wisely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Piste wrote: »
    There's 10 of us going to a not-very-big apartment in Barcelona at the end of this month, should be...interesting...
    Eeeps, good luck :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Eeep

Went on a weekend break with my friend and her sister once - never again ! Amount of fights I had to ref - really wasn't worth it

In saying that I do agree that if you get the right mix of women you'll have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

A friend of mine regularly goes away with a group of "friends". They all hate each other and backstab each other and swap boyfriends basically. Those kind of "friendships" creep me out... The only time I was ever away with a group of girls was with school and that always went fine really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

went on two girly holidays ... never again

1st one, 2 years on and we are only back talking with a few weeks :rolleyes:

2nd one, was with 3 of us, the other two girls were always fighting, and one of them showed a side of her personailty that i had never seen before and truely shocked me, due to other things happening totally unrealted to the girl, it was a nightmare holiday tbh.

Sooo never again no.. Altho went to London with a mate of mine at the time, and it was great fun..

so it really goes down to , choosing very very wisely