Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do you Prefer: Week Four - Rey Mysterio vs Chris Jericho

• 09-07-2009 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭

Week One - Stone Cold (49) b Ric Flair (5)
    Week Two - The Rock (44) b Shawn Michaels (40)
    Week Three - The Undertaker (36) drew with Bret Hart (36)

Draw last week, jaysus!

The big names are starting to dwindle a bit, ill do me best to keep it spicey.

This week, Y2J vs Mr. 619. Jericho, fantastic wrestler and unreal on the mic. Can be a great heel or face. Mysterio, one of the most influential wrestlers ever to come into America and arguably the best High-Flyer of all time.

Has to be Jericho for me, he is, IMO, a better all-rounder than Mysterio. And he has been fantastic since his return a couple of years ago.

And ye??

Edit: And nice one to gimmick for the idea of a private poll. Ohhh the suspense!!

Rey Mysterio or Chris Jericho 7 votes

Mysterio
    0% 0 votes
    Jericho
    100% 7 votes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

yep private poll is a good move although this time im predicting the first landslide victory for one of the options and this is the Ayatollah of Rock and Rolla Y2J Chris Jericho.

was kinda hoping itd be CM Punk vs Rey just for Orestes ;)

edit: btw did you ever decide on how this is going to run i.e will their be another round of votes with the winners after, im curious after the draw in the last round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Has to be Jericho. He has a great character and great technical ability. Not to say that Rey is bad but he just hasn't been as lucky as Jericho fitness-wise and gets injured at the worst timing possible.

Jericho was a good champion and WWE bookers got behind him when they made Rey an unbelievable champion during his reign.

I'll never forget Summerslam where he smacked HBK's wife and the storyline that followed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Jericho is the easy choice here. Far more versatile than Mysterio and a far better wrestler. Far more believable as well. He is probably the most charismatic person in the company right now also. Good as a face, excellent as a heel and brilliant in the ring. Can do different types of matches, be they high flying types or scientific mat battles.

Ill be shocked if Mysterio gets anything here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

jericho all the way! great on the mic and in the ring, and he is the man of 1004 holds!

that damned midget has had his time while jericho is red hot atm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

yep private poll is a good move although this time im predicting the first landslide victory for one of the options and this is the Ayatollah of Rock and Rolla Y2J Chris Jericho.

was kinda hoping itd be CM Punk vs Rey just for Orestes ;)

edit: btw did you ever decide on how this is going to run i.e will their be another round of votes with the winners after, im curious after the draw in the last round

No idea lad, I might just do 10 or 20 votes or something and see what the craic is then. Open to suggestions though. Suprised by the lack of love for auld Rey-Rey so dar to be honest. Didn't think it'd be a landslide or anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Rey Mysterio = great in the ring.

Chris Jericho = great in the ring and on the mic.

Jericho FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

Has to be Jericho,great in the ring,great on the mic and a great author to boot!

Mysterio kind of ruined himself in my eye's anyway with all his 'I did it for eddie guererro' reference's during the run up to his world title win a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Do I even have to answer this one? :p

I actually think Rey is a great wrestler. Not a shadow of himself from a few years ago, but still good in the ring. The problem I have with him is mostly due to his booking and the single-dimension nature of his character. He is not a credible main eventer against heavyweights (Rey -vs-Big Show, I mean cmon, that was ridiculous) and involving him in those fueds makes the bigger guys look weak and Rey isn't believable enough to carry the momentum he gets from winning those fueds up to the next level of being in the title picture. They serve no purpose and benefit noone. As awful as it sounds, the only reason he was in that position at all a few years ago was because of Eddie passing away. If there was a cruiserweight division in WWE Rey would be able to shine properly, not to mention have soe awesoe matches with the likes of Evan Bourne in a division that would mean something and make them look better rather than the odd match on Raw as the curtain jerkers, and I'd have no problems with that at all.

Y2J is the full package. Great in the ring, great on the mic, can play heel or face excellently. I gotta vote for him on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Jericho, easily. I think he's much more interesting than Rey. I think if Rey did a promo I'd immediately tune out. He's a great wee high flyer etc but that's about all that he does that I like. Definitely one that appeals to the kiddies and not to me.

I used to love Jericho's entrance as well when they showed the video and when they cut back to him he was under the Titantron with his back to the ring and his arms outstretched. His entrance music was great as well. I haven't seen WWE for a while so it might have changed. Rey's entrance music does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Y2J all the way.

Although I was a big fan of Rey in WCW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Jericho, even though I hate what he's morphed into in recent years. Debatable who's better in the ring but no debate about who is better on the mic. Also Rey has never played heel, whereas Y2J has done both heel and babyface very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

It has to be Jericho for me, he is incredible on the mic and also great in the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Rey for me by a whisker. Hes one of my all time favourite workers and the greatest high flyer ever to wrestle. A true pioneer of the genre, the man who brought lucha libre to the mainstream and a fantastic entertainer who has consistently been one of the top three most over guys in WWE since he arrived there.

This is no slight on Jericho who is absolutely evertything I admire in a wrestler, by the way as theres absolultely nothing between them. Rey just shades it purely for the affection I've had for him since he blew my mind that first time I saw him on a grainy tape recording around 1995/6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Jericho hands down no contest really

Jericho, No one else can play such a good heel and such a good face.His finishers are brilliant too.

Jericho, even though I hate what he's morphed into in recent years. Debatable who's better in the ring but no debate about who is better on the mic. Also Rey has never played heel, whereas Y2J has done both heel and babyface very well.

What don't you like about present day Jericho MNG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

I think Jericho now is one of the very best wrestlers in the world. He's been great since he last turned heel, when he first returned he was missing a step

I picked Rey though. Over his entire career, I just prefer all the stuff that he's done. I don't buy the talk of Jericho being better all round in the ring, Rey's style has evolved a lot over the years, much of it because of injury and also because of the companies that he's worked for. He's adapted and done well and I put him slightly ahead of Jericho

Fozzy wrote: »
    I think Jericho now is one of the very best wrestlers in the world. He's been great since he last turned heel, when he first returned he was missing a step

I picked Rey though. Over his entire career, I just prefer all the stuff that he's done. I don't buy the talk of Jericho being better all round in the ring, Rey's style has evolved a lot over the years, much of it because of injury and also because of the companies that he's worked for. He's adapted and done well and I put him slightly ahead of Jericho

A boy the Fozz, i thought I'd be the only one.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭camero

CJ for me he is 100000 times bitter then that 1/2 a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Easy one this time. Jericho has been top class in his career and I hate the midget. :D

Y2J for me.

flahavaj wrote: »
    What don't you like about present day Jericho MNG?

Just don't care for the new style. Not a fan of the short hair and the fact he ditched the tights.

Old school Jericho ftw.

chris+jericho.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Jericho gets it because of his versatilty. Mysterio can only do one thing (which I think he does well) whereas Jericho can be called upon to fill any number of roles.

Just don't care for the new style. Not a fan of the short hair and the fact he ditched the tights.

Old school Jericho ftw.

chris+jericho.jpg

Surely thats just being a little picky no? I mean apart fromthe haircut and new tights hes every bit as good now as he ever was, if not an even more polished performer than ever before?

Well it's just not the Y2J persona any more. It would be a bit like Shawn Michaels returning without his long hair and ditching his tights. Just wouldn't be the same.

I'd say nature is going to take care of this before Shawn does in fairness.:pac:

Personally I kinda prefer the new Jericho persona, the slowly delivered promos, the way he tries to get in the head of whomever he's feuding with. It has much more long term value than the wise cracking Jericho of old. His feud with Rey and HBk have been immense, best stuff in WWE by a long long way these last couple of years.

On a side issue I now have Rey down as my WWE wrestler of the year at the moment. He's had a heart warming renaissance in this series with Jericho and I'm delighted hes proving those who wrote him off wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I'd say nature is going to take care of this before Shawn does in fairness.:pac:

Personally I kinda prefer the new Jericho persona, the slowly delivered promos, the way he tries to get in the head of whomever he's feuding with. It has much more long term value than the wise cracking Jericho of old. His feud with Rey and HBk have been immense, best stuff in WWE by a long long way these last couple of years.

On a side issue I now have Rey down as my WWE wrestler of the year at the moment. He's had a heart warming renaissance in this series with Jericho and I'm delighted hes proving those who wrote him off wrong.

Yeah he was awesome in the Elimination Chamber as well. He really outshone the likes of Hunter, Edge, Taker and the others involved. His Raw run was hugely underrated, I remember him having some really fun tag matches with the likes of Bourne, Kofi and Mizorrison involved. Their were some cack like th Kane and JBL stuff but it was much better than people give him credit for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Slowly becoming my all time favourite past austin and luger at a time the product it very bad. Jericho is god, say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

This is going to be a landslide beyond EPIC proportions.

Good call keeping the votes hidden.

I think that would have made a lot of a difference in the past weeks, but keep it that way with the whole uncertainty(except this week) of who will win.

And even IF rey wins, we all know orestes is just going to edit the poll anyway. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Jericho because he got better while Rey stagnated and got worse. I do think that Rey is at the very least just as good a wrestler as Y2J and probably had a bigger impact for an Irish audience (who never saw WCW) than anybody in the WWE this decade. Remember the first time I saw him I was blown away. Wouldn't say the same about Jericho though. It'll be a landslide although it's unfair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

CMpunked wrote: »
    And even IF rey wins, we all know orestes is just going to edit the poll anyway. :p

[southern accent] I say good sir, you have offended my honour, I demand satisfaction! *glove-slap* [/southern accent]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I'm going to join the minority here and go for Rey. I've always been a huge Rey fan and personally I think his overall match quality over his career has been above Jericho. Mysterio's stuff as a Cruiser in WCW was nothing short of phenomenal and he'd be much better received in WWE if they stopped booking him against big men (I don't think people would have liked Jericho as much in 2008 if he spent the entire year booked with Mike Knox and Kane).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Minto

Four words: Break the walls down!

If you still need a clue who I'm voting for, go back to the psychiatric ward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

jericho in an absolute cake walk for me!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

I'll join the opposition here, Rey for me. When I first saw him I was amazed and in awe, when I saw Jericho he was good but not breath taking, sorry.

Nody wrote: »
    I'll join the opposition here, Rey for me. When I first saw him I was amazed and in awe, when I saw Jericho he was good but not breath taking, sorry.

Same here, and it wasn't as if it was just the first Rey match that I saw that amazed me. He had so many amazing and new matches. I think some people are holding his knee injuries and bad booking against him

If only we could all book our own programs, right Jericho? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

Chris Jericho for me. At first I didn't like his new heel turn and that he got rid of the tights, but now I think he is better than ever, the character he plays is one of the best in wrestling, probably the best in the WWE.

Saying that I do like Rey, but I find it very hard to watch his matches. They all come across very choreographed, as when he hits someone with a chair or a dropkick they coincidently fall on to the ropes for the 619 instead of falling to the groundlike they do for everyother wrestler. It ruins his matches and makes my blood boil, if anything ever looked so fake. He is a good wrestler though, its just these few problems I have with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Saying that I do like Rey, but I find it very hard to watch his matches. They all come across very choreographed, as when he hits someone with a chair or a dropkick they coincidently fall on to the ropes for the 619 instead of falling to the groundlike they do for everyother wrestler. It ruins his matches and makes my blood boil, if anything ever looked so fake. He is a good wrestler though, its just these few problems I have with him.

That's it really. If he didn't do the 619 in every single match, he'd be a lot more watchable - and would be better than Y2J. As it is, even though he's getting on a bit and wouldn't be capable of doing the things Rey does, Jericho still pulls more unpredictable stuff out and puts together a great match. Jericho it is.

Just watching the latest instalment of their feud right now, though. Is it just me, or is that angle the single best one in the WWE right now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭lankysexybeast

jerico is an entertainer of epic proportion on a par in my opinion with austin (mybe not just as good as the rock) his promos when he's face are so funny and you love to hate him as a heel. he's also a great worker and i'v seen him carry more than his fair share of matchs.

i'm now a mysterio hater but i do remember that he had his day that he was amazing in wcw with eddie. i can still watch those matchs with ow because they came up with so many of the spots that have become regular now. bu i don't like were he's gone now or his "619....912.....1178 promos he has fallen into a bad place charecter wise and even working wise he has fallen into overlee routeen match for a high flyer

Jerico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I used to be the same until I thought of it along the lines of him being particularly good at setting people up in the position for his finisher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Welcome to Monday Night Jericho!

They were both great in WCW, but Rey has been a shadow of his former self for most of his time in WWE.

Jericho has just kept getting better and better though. He has adapted his style as he has gotten older and can work a good match with anybody.

This is the man who had a month long feud with Goldberg without ever having a match. He has proven that he can do comedy or serious, heel or face.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Rey is amazing. One of the most exciting guys around and born to be a wrestler. The first time I watched Rey I couldn't believe my eyes. The inovative moves he can do get you out of your seat.

Jericho was a born performer. He could of taken many avenues to perform but chose to wrestle. Jericho's reivention of his persona shows he could of worked in any era, his promos are great, his expressions in the ring are great, he tells a great story in the ring and he has fantastic matches. Jericho's is captavating and puts your bum in your seat.

For me I would go for Jericho in this one, Rey is limited when compared to Jericho.

Another good pick by Ger C, I really had a hard time deciding who to vote for.

I used to be the same until I thought of it along the lines of him being particularly good at setting people up in the position for his finisher.
    he never sells his set ups well though as soon as he goes into the huricanranna or anything like that to through them in, you know it's coming. I think it's a terrible spot and that it's his weakest move, it's imposable for someone to take it well you always see them looking and then flying away from the ropes in an over unrealistic way cause it's all that they can do.

look at jerico's finishers you can imagine someone hittin the codebreaker or the walls in a real match but never the 619

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

jericho all the way

I'm going to join the minority here and go for Rey. I've always been a huge Rey fan and personally I think his overall match quality over his career has been above Jericho. Mysterio's stuff as a Cruiser in WCW was nothing short of phenomenal and he'd be much better received in WWE if they stopped booking him against big men (I don't think people would have liked Jericho as much in 2008 if he spent the entire year booked with Mike Knox and Kane).

have to disagree with one point here jerico can sell working with most people well and he can sell the more unrealistic story lines as well. ray has had a huge amount of time booked against chavo in the wwf. when it comes down to it jerico is popular cause he has his own brilliant style of promo which backs up his matchs

look at jerico's finishers you can imagine someone hittin the codebreaker or the walls in a real match but never the 619

If you can imagine someone hitting the Codebreaker in a real fight then you've got a great imagination :pac:

Just to add a talking point here, in a recent Wrestling Observer issue when talking about Rey's unhappiness with WWE a few weeks back, it was mentioned that he's the second most popular person in Mexico right now, behind the president. I still don't think that WWE have fully capitalised on his popularity with not just Mexicans, but with the Hispanic population of America as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

Big LOL at the idea of putting someone in the Walls of Jericho in a street fight.

There's no doubt whatsoever that the WWE neither have, or want to capitalise fully on Rey's popular. I still maintain that they never have done, with anyone Vince doesn't "get". So essentially, aside from Taker, the same could be said of the entire smackdown roster.

I'm not one for rating wrestlers against each other, but if I had to pick one over the other, I'd go for Jericho. He's just a more versatile performer, and his grasp of character and storytelling ability is outstanding. Rey's a fantastic, fantastic underdog though. I think he's undeserving of some of the critcisms he gets though.. everytime he's afforded the chance to go out there and try something, he breaks from routine and makes the most of it.

just to clarify i meant in a wrestling match not a street fight lads were the walls are really just a camel cluth etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

just to clarify i meant in a wrestling match not a street fight lads were the walls are really just a camel cluth etc

Don't be telling fibs, you've pulled a Walls out on a saturday night, haven't you...

The 619 does require a fair suspension of disbelief though.

To those bemoaning the use of the 619, if you paid to watch a Smackdown show in which Rey was set to appear and he didn't use the move would you be fine with that? Because I sure wouldn't be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭DinnyBatman

Easy one this. Jericho - by a landslide.