Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGA Championship Live Scoring

• 08-07-2009 8:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭

Anyone got a link/feed to live leaderboard/scoring in Irish PGA Open Championship from the European club please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Stella89

Voila :) There is a link on the right hand side of the page .

http://www.pga.info/IrishPGAChampionship.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭'scorthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Jaysus, not great scoring there! I know the European is tough but some shocking cards there for professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Wow, some lad is 16 over after 9 holes. The place must be playing savage hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭keane16

Par72 wrote: »

He had a 9 on the 2nd a par 3 and an 11 on the 9th a par four, poor bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

It's tough but not that tough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Interyurauldone

Do ye lads reckon Lowry would have been better off taking a leaf from Harringtons book and warm up for the open on the links course at the PGA instead of playing on another parkland course at the Scottish open?

Lowry comes across as been a good links player so i thought it was a strange decision for him to opt for Loch Lomond.

Do ye lads reckon Lowry would have been better off taking a leaf from Harringtons book and warm up for the open on the links course at the PGA instead of playing on another parkland course at the Scottish open?

Lowry hasn't qualifed for the British Open and I'd presume thats the reason he is playing the Scotish Open as the top 5 qualify for the Open.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

He needs to do well in Scotland (top 5 I think) to qualify for The Open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Interyurauldone

Really? i assumed he had qualified by virtue of his Irish open win. Plus Paddy power have him at 400/1 to win the open.

If he hasn't qualified that would explain it alright.

Our pro is there today and he reported that the course is playing as tough as possible. Someone else commented,whether justifiably or not, that the rough was let grow to suit Harrington...Eemm.:rolleyes:

Someone +22 for 9 holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Christ that's embarassing shooting... an 11 on a par 4. Two 8s on there also.

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Christ that's embarassing shooting... an 11 on a par 4. Two 8s on there also.

I'd say he just wants the ground to open up and eat him at this stage. Will be doing well to break 100.

8,000+ yard par 71
    Yikes!

I'd say he just wants the ground to open up and eat him at this stage. Will be doing well to break 100.

He should surely be looking at an Nr... feel sorry for the two lads he's out with - one of whom is currently 6th and the other is top 20.

Harrington -2 thru 3 holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

'scorthy wrote: »
    Our pro is there today and he reported that the course is playing as tough as possible. Someone else commented,whether justifiably or not, that the rough was let grow to suit Harrington...Eemm.:rolleyes:

Who is your pro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

Licksy wrote: »
    8,000+ yard par 71
    Yikes!

Surely that's wrong? Are they getting the yards mixed up with metres? It's a brute at 7300 yards... nevermind 8000.

Marian Riordan is hardly playing off the mens tees... is she? +10 through 15 isn't too bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

was down there today, the rough is penal & fairways very narrow in landing areas. good test for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭BillyBoy

Great score from Leslie Walker. -4 with no dropped shots. He's the brother of our pro Dave Walker so delighted for him (not a great score from Dave though!)

BombSquad wrote: »
    Surely that's wrong? Are they getting the yards mixed up with metres? It's a brute at 7300 yards... nevermind 8000.

Marian Riordan is hardly playing off the mens tees... is she? +10 through 15 isn't too bad...
    Yes, the totals they have for metres is actually the distances in yards (7355)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

It's still long enough and according to the Independent this morning Harrington only used the driver once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Boethius

f22 wrote: »

ah right? even though Pat Ruddy's aim is to create the hardest golf course in the world. They're playing off tees this week that you wouldn't even know existed if you were there for eastern alliance...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Anyone else getting problems using this page this morning?

It says - Live Scoring is not in Operation - for me.

I'm getting continuous java pop ups. I had to kill IE7

Edit: Ahh scoreboard not available now. They've twigged something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

Back working again.

Harrington -2 thru 6 holes today, tied for the lead with Leslie Walker (-1 thru 6 today) on -5

Stephen Fitzpatrick is the new pro in Enniscorthy... was down there for the Mixed Foursomes recently and he was getting the tour...

Licksy wrote: »
    Stephen Fitzpatrick is the new pro in Enniscorthy... was down there for the Mixed Foursomes recently and he was getting the tour...
    How'd ye get on? Yeap, nice guy...shot an 80 yesterday. Updated the PRO section of the clubs website for him this morning. He's heading out about now.

Had problems myself also trying to get live scoring from the link I posted. Firefox crashed. Like Mountjoy Mugger said "it's o.k. now".

Marian Riordan started off with 3 birdies today which was pretty impressive, has a bad run on the back 9 though before finishing with a birdie on 18.

Harrington finishes 4 under after 2 rounds, topping the leaderboard at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

:eek:There's a guy there 40 over for the two rounds! I'm sorry but is it just me or is that bordering on ridiculous. Surely there are guys here who could better that, even off the tips, even at the European! Jaysus!

Myksyk wrote: »
    :eek:There's a guy there 40 over for the two rounds! I'm sorry but is it just me or is that bordering on ridiculous. Surely there are guys here who could better that, even off the tips, even at the European! Jaysus!

It's not good, but i'm pretty sure that everyone there had to go through qualifying to get there. I'd be pretty confident that i'd be able to better 40 over for 2 rounds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

I would fake an injury after the first 18 - no actually after the first 5 or 6 holes yesterday. Humiliating is an understatement.:pac:

Ha ha but it's hardly Sludds as he left your club weeks ago according to some work mates of mine that are members there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭BillyBoy

Paddy McGuirk. Played with him in a pro-am in our place. Won the Carroll's International (effectively the Irish Open, just not using the name at the time) in
    1973, so was a very decent player in his day. They call him the 'One-Handed Chipper' because these days he hits all his chips with one hand. Apparently has just lost all confidence in chipping 2 handed so is doing it one handed now. Very nice guy though, so don't judge him too harshly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

If you look at the stats for most pro tournaments you will see some horrendous rounds but it doesn't mean they are not trying. Every pro goes through it. Glad to see Padraig playing well and hopefully this is the spark he needed to kickstart his season and give him back some confidence. I don't expect him to retain the Open but I will not write him off (ever). All you have to do is think back 12 months ago and the injury he had just at the start of the Open. Good luck to him and hope the rest of the season goes well.

I wouldn't be getting too carried away about Harrington just yet. Sounds like he actually played a lot of Barry White today...

FROM IRISH GOLF NEWS:

Padraig Harrington is running out of time to be ready for the Open after a confidence-sapping performance in the second round of the Ladbrokes.com Irish PGA.

The Dubliner hit a one under 70 to grab a one-stroke lead over Dundalk’s Leslie Walker on four under par at The European Club.

But he completely lost his trust in his swing and spent nearly three hours bashing balls on the range in the afternoon to try rectify his faulty backswing in time to chase a hat-trick of Claret Jugs at Turnberry next week.

With just two days to go before he jets off to Scotland, he said: “Hopefully it will be better tomorrow. We’ll have to wait and see. I’m not going to panic over one day, let’s say.”

One behind Walker overnight after a sublime first round putting performance, Harrington raced into the lead with three birdies in his first 12 holes before his game started to fall apart at the seams.

But had it not been for his brilliant short game and competitive drive, he could easily have dropped several more shots coming home.

The first blow came at the par-four fourth, where he took one hand off the club in disgust as he watched his three-iron tee shot sail right into the deep jungle, forcing him to chip back into play.

Still a class act, he almost saved par after a sublime 188-yard five iron cut through the wind to nestle just six feet from the flag but missed the putt on the high side.

But he could thank is putter for rescuing him from an even bigger disaster at the par-three sixth, where he tugged a cut-off eight iron into a water hazard.

After a penalty drop on the bank, his chip came up 10 feet short but he steeled himself to “save" bogey and then got up and down from 20 yards left of the seventh for his par four after two successive pulls.

He said: “I obviously didn’t play very well. I seemed to lose a bit of rhythm with the swing out there. It was gradually getting a little bit worse as the round went on but I can’t really complain about the score.

“When you are thinking about your swing, you overthink it, you doubt it and you don’t commit to it and the idea this week is to see those mistakes.

“The ideal would be to leave here on Sunday where I am committed to every shot, so that I am committed for next Thursday. I’ve got two more days to get it right because I failed miserably on it today.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭karlyk1

f22 wrote: »

My society have played here on the week after this tournament for the last few years, and it is left the same (severely penal rough, shaved run-offs around the greens, etc) - although obviously we play of girlier tees than these lads. I can safely say that, when set up like this, it is the toughest golf course I have ever played. Out of group of around 60-odd players of varying degrees of ability, the average score is about 16 pts stableford:eek:!!!! However, it is an absolute thrill and I'm looking forward to playing here on Monday week once again. Will have to stock up on ProV1s though!

Leslie Walker just pulled out after injuring his wrist badly after connecting with one of the sleepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Leslie Walker just pulled out after injuring his wrist badly after connecting with one of the sleepers.

Man, that's a crying shame. How was he doing?
    I know those sleepers come in for a lot of criticism - I've always liked them - but if that's the end result then something's wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

karlyk1 wrote: »
    However, it is an absolute thrill and I'm looking forward to playing here on Monday week once again. Will have to stock up on ProV1s though!

Commandos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 TigerPhil

Man, that's a crying shame. How was he doing?
    I know those sleepers come in for a lot of criticism - I've always liked them - but if that's the end result then something's wrong.
    They shouldn't have been there when he was hitting but that's the price to be paid for holding it in Wicklow.

If he'd a bit experience he'd have told them to move along.

Not sure Kevin i think he was in second place when it happened,i just got a brief text when he got injured..

Third Round Scores (Par 213):

211 – P Harrington (Unattached) 68,70,73.

215 – S Thornton (Unattached) 75,67,73;

217 – G Lunny (Naas) 70,73,74; R Kilpatrick (Banbridge) 70,70,77;

218 – B McElhinney (Team Ireland) 70,76,72; J Kelly (St Margaret’s) 75,71,72; G Robinson (St Helen’s Bay) 70,74,74;

219 – S McMonagle (Unattached) 69,75,75;

Bit more info on Walker's injury here...

PGA Irish Championship; Never mind the oranges at halftime, Irish PGA officials were called into action midway through the third round of the Ladbrokes.com PGA Irish Championship today when they had to find a replacement to play with Pádraig Harrington after Leslie Walker was forced to retire.

Overnight leader and defending champion Harrington, and his nearest challenger Walker, set off in the final group at The European Club just before midday. However, Harrington finished the round with Banbridge amateur Conor Doran after Walker suffered a recurring wrist injury.

The Dundalk pro was playing out of a bunker at the par four third when he aggravated an old wrist injury. The 40-year-old tried to play through the pain but eventually had to call it a day after 10 holes.

PGA officials then recruited irish international Doran, who had come down to support his friend Richard Kilpatrick, to play alongside Harrington as a marker for the remainder of the round.

It was a big disappointment for Walker, who led after the first day following his opening four-under 67, before he kept close tabs on Harrington for the next day-and-a-half.

In difficult wet conditions at Brittas Bay, Harrington maintained his advantage at the top of the leaderboard despite not recording a single birdie.

Today’s third round contained two bogeys - sixth and the 12th - and the rest pars as his two-over 73 left the world number 12 the only man below par with a two-under 211 aggregate going into the final round.

With the rough so penalising at the Wicklow venue today’s golf quickly became an exercise in damage limitation.

Simon Thornton was one of the few players to cope with the conditions as the Royal County Down pro matched Harrington’s 73. The 31-year-old birdied the opening hole but gave shots back at the fourth and sixth and 14th.

At two-over, four shots off the lead in second, the two-time PGA order of merit winner who competes mainly on the Chllenge Tour this season, will get the chance to go head-to-head with Harrington in tomorrow’s final round.

Naas professional Gavin Lunny (74) and Banbridge's Kilpatrick (77) share third on six-over.

David Higgins, who must surely have one eye on next week’s British Open at Turnberry, fell further off the pace after today’s 80 dropped the Waterville pro to 19-over.

Tomorrow's final round has been brought froward in the hope of completing the tournament before the forecast of poor weather comes in.

Final Round Tee Times

1st Tee
    8.00 – Dignam, Fitzpatrick
    8.09 – Cullen, Gleeson
    8.18 – Allan, Kerr
    8.27 – Bolger, Mooney
    8.36 – O’Callaghan, McNamara
    8.45 – Rice, O’Rourke
    8.54 – Collins, Staunton
    9.03 – O’Sullivan, McGovern
    9.12 – McMonagle, Robinson
    9.21 – McElhinney, Kelly