Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you join a running club? If not why not?

• 07-07-2009 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

This is inspired from another thread but I am just wondering what peoples thoughts are on running or athletic clubs here in Ireland? Are they too snobby or elitist? Can they do more to attract the 'recreational' runner? If you are a runner but not part of a club, what is stopping you? Have you had a bad experience? Any thoughts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

The main thing for me when I started running(2 years ago) was getting to and from training, now I cycle regularly though it's literally about 5 minutes to Liffey Valley and Donore though Lucan is probably not much further. I'm not sure I could stick to structured training and the like? Donore is only like a 10 minute jog from me aswell so it's not exactly inconvenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

My fitness is stopping me to be honest - don't want to be the worst one at the club. I know it sounds stupid.

My goal is to run my first marathon this year on my own, I like the idea of doing the first one as an individual (with the help of boardsies of course). Once I have the first one over I will join a club to try and improve my time.

I wouldn't find them snobby or elitist. My local one would be Tullamore Harriers which is within a mile of my house so I have no excuse not to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JKF

I think running clubs in Ireland are probably one of the better sides to Irish athletics.
    Personally I probably wouldn't have gotten into running properly without my club and I definitely wouldn't have stuck with it only for them. I had to take a break from running for the past few years due to health reasons and have only very recently re-joined: Mainly because I want to get back in shape but alot of it is due to missing the craic with the crowd there. And I've always only ever been a recreational runner(apart from dabbling in the javelin very briefly;))
    I do however think clubs need to be very careful about not becoming too elitist because it is quite discouraging for people and will eventually drive the ones considered 'elite' away into smaller clubs where things just aren't quite so intense, at least from what I've seen in my own area.

Good topic- interesting to hear what other people think :)

Sub430 wrote: »
    My goal is to run my first marathon this year on my own, I like the idea of doing the first one as an individual

That was the way I was as well, then once I had my first marathon over and was training for my second I wanted to train for my first ultra on my own etc etc etc :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chatoon

Joined my first club a year ago, paid my money and never heard anything from anyone in the club since (despite them having all my contact details!) - I think they knew instantly by the look of me that I wasn't the type of runner that they really wanted in their club! :(

Then decided to join another one so that I could use their track facilities - I knew again that they didn't want me either, mainly because they only focus on juniors (and I'm way beyond that category now!)...but I have found the whole club thing to be a real let down - I really think there is so much that could be done for the 'not-so-fast runners' like me; I would have loved to be asked by either club to participate in club events, but sadly not, so I ended up doing all my running, training and racing on my own and now always register myself as 'unattached' when asked to fill in a club name on my entry.

Final comment (sorry if this sounds like I'm whinging!) - I only wished I lived near West Waterford as from what I have seen, they have a brilliant club that's aimed to all abilities - well done to anyone involved in that or similar clubs - it's by targeting all abilities that running becomes popular as a sport...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

That was the way I was as well, then once I had my first marathon over and was training for my second I wanted to train for my first ultra on my own etc etc etc :pac:

And then you thought no that's a crazy idea and just went back to trying to improve your marathon time? Yes? please say yes...

Sub430 wrote: »
    And then you thought no that's a crazy idea and just went back to trying to improve your marathon time? Yes? please say yes...

Yes..

....then I got a place in New York and I'm currently considering running Dublin AND New York :D before getting back into training for the next Conn Ultra and hopefully next years Conn 100. So, no. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I think there is a view out there that clubs can be snobby or elitist but as I have participated in more races (particularly shorter distance ones) I have seen that this is a completely unfounded view.

I am not a fast runner but I have found everybody I have come into contact with helpful, pleasant and encouraging.

I think another element to it is that a lot of people are just happy to do their 20 miles a week in their own time on their own. I imagine a lot would not see the benefit of being in a club where as with most other sports you might have to be in a club to participate. I think most people will have goals they can achieve on their own (e.g. run a marathon, break 20 for the 5k, complete a 10k) and being in a club is seen as just an added burden to them.

Maybe athletics clubs could be doing more to attract this type of runner by really getting across the benefits of training in a group but I think this is especially difficult now with the internet as people can get all the info they need from there and also share experiences/get some of the group atmosphere through places like Boards. Thats why I think the whole Boards AC thing is such a good idea as in the future I can definitely see things moving in that direction. Whether thats a good thing or a bad thing I honestly have no idea but I definitely think thats the way things are going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I think another element to it is that a lot of people are just happy to do their 20 miles a week in their own time on their own. I imagine a lot would not see the benefit of being in a club where as with most other sports you might have to be in a club to participate. I think most people will have goals they can achieve on their own (e.g. run a marathon, break 20 for the 5k, complete a 10k) and being in a club is seen as just an added burden to them.

I think you have most of the answer there RB. Many people just don't want to be 'clubbed'. They are perfectly content to work away on their own, especially if they have no real desire to start winning things.

i organised a half-marathon for a number of years and the number of unattached runners was up around the 75% mark. in the first couple of years I made a big effort to recruit these runners into the club, but to absolutely no effect.

And I guess I'd also be 'unclubbed' only for being enveigled into track & field years ago by my daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭aero2k

I suspect a lot of us here like the solitary nature of running and the freedom of doing our own thing. Coming on to boards.ie satisfies a lot of the need for social interaction round training progress comparisons and discussions etc. I got into running to encourage my son who I "persuaded" to join the local athletics club. I started to enjoy the chat on the training runs with some of the parents and older kids, and I also got involved helping out with the park races. Then I started to wonder "how hard can it be to actually run one of these?" Before I knew it I was pinning on a number and joining the crowd. I've come a long way in less than 2 years and have thought about joining a club officially, but as it is now I turn up at the kids training when it suits, and do my own thing otherwise. I get the son and OH to help out at the races so I don't feel like a complete parasite - from my cycling days I'm indebted to the hordes of unpaid volunteers - but I think I like not feeling obliged to turn up for races or training.
    I see Running_Bing has just posted along similar lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Apologies in advance if this sounds like a navel gazing post...

In a lot of ways I think I am the sort of person clubs would be ideal for. I'm not going to win them any prizes but I'm not back of pack, I'm committed to running, have some experience, am happy to muck in and help out and I have a lot of room for improvment.

But the idea of a running club leaves me pretty cold. Even though in my head I want to join BAC I have never got round to printing out the form. I did go to a local track session but - despite encouragement from teh coaches - I didn't go back. I have a standing invitation to another clubs track sessions and again I haven't gone.

And in truth I don't know why. I used to say it's because I'm not one of life's joiners. But I joined a MA club and really enjoy it. It's got nothing to do with my self-image - I have a big enough ego to not worry about being slowest or showing myself up. But I don't think that I'm afraid to join because I think I know it all. I'll gladly ask advice from teh wiser heads on here, for example.

Maybe I'm holding off because I don't see running as a team or club thing. I train to my own schedule - I do speedwork when I want and my schedule says; not every Tuesday at 7pm because that's what the club says. I pick the races I want to run - I'll only race if I'm confident of a PB and racing to pick up club points but finishing slower than I am capable of doesn't interest me. And I peak for two races a year, my training is geared to those races, the speedwork, LSRs and build up races are focussed on those. A club would dilute that focus. Yes I know I would get coaching and advice in a club but I get advice here and without the obligation.

So the answer to why wouldn't I join a club is that I don't want too as it wouldn't suit me.

(Wow, Victor Meldrew or what?!)

[edit - RB pretty much got it before me]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

chatoon wrote: »
    Joined my first club a year ago, paid my money and never heard anything from anyone in the club since (despite them having all my contact details!) - I think they knew instantly by the look of me that I wasn't the type of runner that they really wanted in their club! :(

Then decided to join another one so that I could use their track facilities - I knew again that they didn't want me either, mainly because they only focus on juniors (and I'm way beyond that category now!)...but I have found the whole club thing to be a real let down - I really think there is so much that could be done for the 'not-so-fast runners' like me; I would have loved to be asked by either club to participate in club events, but sadly not, so I ended up doing all my running, training and racing on my own and now always register myself as 'unattached' when asked to fill in a club name on my entry.

Final comment (sorry if this sounds like I'm whinging!) - I only wished I lived near West Waterford as from what I have seen, they have a brilliant club that's aimed to all abilities - well done to anyone involved in that or similar clubs - it's by targeting all abilities that running becomes popular as a sport...:)

I know in my club they will do this provided you show your face at the club maybe train with some of the runners. Like it is one thing to pay membership but attendance in the club and them getting to know your face is a big part of it and i sure there would be runners who are more than willing to bring new members out on training runs with them. How often did you attend club training times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Most clubs train at 6:30 or 7pm. This is just not feasible for many people with full time jobs. I've two good clubs on my door step but up until a few months ago I'd be only getting home at 7 in the evening. If clubs had a later training time say, 8pm, they might have more active members. Thats the beauty about BAC, I can train when the time suits me. Clubs officials are still living in the 70's when people worked 9-5 and were home by 5:30 at the latest- the working world has long since changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Maybe I'm holding off because I don't see running as a team or club thing. I train to my own schedule - I do speedwork when I want and my schedule says; not every Tuesday at 7pm because that's what the club says. I pick the races I want to run - I'll only race if I'm confident of a PB and racing to pick up club points but finishing slower than I am capable of doesn't interest me. And I peak for two races a year, my training is geared to those races, the speedwork, LSRs and build up races are focussed on those. A club would dilute that focus. Yes I know I would get coaching and advice in a club but I get advice here and without the obligation.

Loads of people in clubs are doing exactly that too though. It just means that when the Tuesday 7pm session is convenient for them they can turn up and have a group to help push them on. And when they turn up for a road race sometimes they'll have a team. This thing of pressure and obligations doesn't really exist much because clubs are so happy just to have members.

cfitz wrote: »
    Loads of people in clubs are doing exactly that too though. It just means that when the Tuesday 7pm session is convenient for them they can turn up and have a group to help push them on. And when they turn up for a road race sometimes they'll have a team. This thing of pressure and obligations doesn't really exist much because clubs are so happy just to have members.

I run alot with my club members however not a club times because not always convienent with work. my schedule is my own though i hop in the odd session with other club members when it suits. Clubs dont enforce having to train a certain way they just help to allow like minded or level people to train together what ever they want to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

i joined a club after i did the connemarathon to help improve my running. Prior to this, i thought club runners were just the scary looking whippets at the front of the race in singlets.

For me, its no major commitment, I do a once a week track session (and thats actually with a couple of guys at a similar level from different clubs), i've run a few local road races and i enjoy the whole putting on the singlet thing and the chance to win medals for your club (the like of which i haven't seen since i was 13).

Maybe as my club is a small rural club my experience isn't typical, but its good for me so far.

edit: +1 to ecoli's post - you are not forced to run at any time or in any way; you just work out what is good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I've always been a club member juv through to vet, even in the many barren years when I did not run.
    Why?
    • I enjoy the company from time to time, running can be a lonely sport and my club has 3 training slots each week, so I try to make at least one of them.
    • Speedwork, Intervals, etc, I always get more out of them in a group session.
    • Giving something back - remember the Juvenile section and it's a nice feeling to contribute and as you become more experienced, one day a newbie will turn up for the first time and look to you for guidance.
    • Being part of a team, running is primarily an individual sport, so it's nice during the XC season and the odd road race to run as a team.
    • The banter.
    • Coaching - we have a very experienced runner taking a group of about 15 through their DCM preparations, with a group get together once per month in the club house.
    I agree with the points on the times of the sessions, it's a debate we are having at the moment and will probably move one of mid week sessions to a later time to accomodate.
    Also, communication has changed, 90% is done on email, this is something we are also in discussion about, sometimes the personal touch is lost and to chatoon's points, clubs need to pick up the phone more often and not rely on email.

So for me although I do 90% of my running away from the club, it's just nice to belong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Another way to look at it Tingle might be to ask 'Why did you join a club?'. In my case I started running to lose a considerable amount of weight and decided that committing to a marathon would be the best way to do this. So initially just started jogging 10-15mins a few times a week, was all I could manage and once I started to get into it I was advised to get the Irish Runner magazine. This pointed me in the right direction training wise. I signed up for the marathon race series as this was recommended. This was probably the first thing that got me into running as opposed to just training-to-complete-a-marathon. In these races I noticed that there seemed to be some distinct groups - elites, club runners, regular runners, people fit from other sports, people just doing their first race or occasional race i.e. fun-runners. I think I started off in the group of 'people fit from other sports' but wanted to get amongst the faster groups. I also realised that I enjoyed those shorter races and having done a 5, 10 and 13.1mile wanted to find out how much better I could do in those. I dilligently followed the Irish Runner training guide for the marathon, so having completed the marathon, I wanted to try and better my time but having trained well, I couldn't see how I could improve without jooining a club. So essentiially I joined a club to improve my marathon time.

Joining a club was intrepidating. I looked up the Evening Herald to see which clubs were near me. The one neareast had an e-mail so I e-mailed asking if I could join and listing my times so they could let me know if the club was appropriate for me. No reply so I assumed I wasn't good enough so they weren't going to waste their time answering. Not to be put off, I rang the number in the Herald listed for the coach. The coach was very helpful, asking my times and on hearing these just told me to come up any training night and to ask for a certain person. I later found out that they just don't have the man power to answer e-mails.

First night was nerve-racking, but put in the appropriate group, I was assured that my times were average for that group and so I wouldn't be out of my depth. So to the session, 10 x 400 and I absolutely loved it having never done anything like that before, yet read lots about such sessions. I was at the back purely because I wasn't used to it and had too much respect for the othere there (or didn't want to look like a show-off). At the end the lads said invited me for a drink in the club bar after, but I didn't bother with this. Next week, I decided to go harder on the last rep and finished with the front runners. And I went to the bar :). So next week I was gently encouraged to lead out one of the reps and week by week I moved through the pack until eventually I was one of the front runners. So it was a great experience really, best move I ever made.

Interestingly after a few months of training and some club races, I had completely changed my goals from wanting to improve my marathon time to wanting to run a good 1mile time...

In relation to not being good enough to win medals, because of the senior/inter/novice structure, in most clubs the novice teams are crying out for runners and you get situations where if you have 3 good runners, you might get a medal as the 4th runner even if way down the field. Similarly in smaller road races, your team might win a prize with modest times. Being part of a team also is brilliant. Running races like National Novice XC isn't the most appealing for most people but when asked to do it with the team it makes it more worthwhile and enjoyable.

For those who don't join because times don't suit them, if you could get down a few times to get to know people, you'll probably find that the runners arrange for sessions and runs themselves at more convenient times if the club times don't suit - we nearly always have a few fellows from the core group starting earlier or later than everyone else because of this, or fellows doing the session on a different night or at the weekend or whatever instead.

@ chatoon, I can't understand paying your money and getting nothing in return - at our club, newbies are given a few weeks if not months of grace before they are asked for joining fees.

So as others have said, many may not join purely because they don't want to for various reasons outlined by them, but if anyone does not join due to fear of not being good enough I'd say 'Get down and join'. You'll probably be surprised at the range of talent at clubs, i.e. there would be a lot of 'slow' runners at clubs aswell, and even some walk/run starter groups at even the top clubs in the country. Also, IMO I improved a lot more due to joining a club than if I had carried on alone. You'll also probably get an oppurtunity to try things you otherwise might not as a road runner, such as track races and cross country races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Joining a club was intrepidating. I looked up the Evening Herald to see which clubs were near me. The one neareast had an e-mail so I e-mailed asking if I could join and listing my times so they could let me know if the club was appropriate for me. No reply so I assumed I wasn't good enough so they weren't going to waste their time answering. Not to be put off, I rang the number in the Herald listed for the coach. The coach was very helpful, asking my times and on hearing these just told me to come up any training night and to ask for a certain person. I later found out that they just don't have the man power to answer e-mails.

Great post RF. I think that point is worth highlighting because I imagine it happens a lot...people are interested in joining, email and when they get no reply get discouraged.

I would'nt rely on emails in such situations, as beepbeep points out they can be very impersonal and your never sure of getting a reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

I took up running about 8 years ago and trained hard for 12 months until I got injured.....I got a stress fracture and was advised not to run for 9 months...never got back running then until last year. Work had me travelling a lot and when I finally got settled back in Cork last year I made a decision to join a club and get back running. The club I joined were extremely welcoming, refused payment for about 4 weeks to ensure I was happy with the club, were always really encouraging and best of all I got to know people who I could chat to when I turned up at local races. I would finish ahead of some of the club runners at the local races and not too far behind some others....the next race I would know who was next on the list to beat and who would be breathing down my neck. I'm full sure if I hadn't joined a club I wouldn't have made such progress in the last year and my enjoyment of the local race scene has been so much more enhanced....I don't think i would be as addicted to running as I am now if I hadn't joined a club.

I don't go every week to the training sessions, work/family commitments make that not possible but I'll meet some of the guys for the odd run, warmup with them at local races....I even managed to win my first medal in a team event a few months back! (as the slower 4th runner mentioned earlier by Racing Flat...twas the same medal though as the fastest on the team!) I would recommend to anyone to join a club. My experience of the clubs is that there really is every ability there and I could almost guarantee you that no matter what level you think you are at there will be someone just a little bit faster than you at the club who can aim to beat and also someone slower than you...no matter how slow you think you are!

Join a club.....it'll only enhance your love of the sport. I would agree though there are some clubs who are results driven but a look at the local race results will show you which clubs have a big membership of more average runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Yeah,
    To be honest if somebody is really interested in joining etc they will ring or pop down to the club. An email can be a bit wishywashy. Anybody who buys and sells on the net can tell you 90% of emails are from timewasters. If somebody rings me they are more interested.

Not sure about that. I'd think that any club who couldn't answer my email had just wasted my time. If they put their email as contact they should resource it, even if it's an auto-responder with more info. If you want to grow your club you need to catch the 10% who aren't "time wasters".

asimonov wrote: »
    Not sure about that. I'd think that any club who couldn't answer my email had just wasted my time. If they put their email as contact they should resource it, even if it's an auto-responder with more info. If you want to grow your club you need to catch the 10% who aren't "time wasters".

Most club struggle to get volunteers for coachin and entrying members into races etc. As such there are very few who invest too much time in the IT department out of sheerly not having man power. The sites are more so just to give information so that you know when to meet with the club

The problem is some clubs can be a bit "old skool" re replying to emails i'd imagine. I still think hiding behind an email instead of getting up of your arse and turning up is a cop out.All clubs have their times in the papers and their websites.

Understood on both counts, the resource is an issue and there is no doubt someone who drops in is a more likely new member than some who flings off an email. But to go back to the business analogy, if the intent is to recuit new members its important to remove the barriers, so it's easy for anyone to make contact with the club and get a welcome and response that entices them to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

I'm not a member of a running club but I reckon I'll join one soon. Too many work and other commitments at the moment.

However, when I started running a couple of years ago I didn't realise that clubs were for normal people too. I thought they were exclusively for...
    asimonov wrote: »
    Prior to this, i thought club runners were just the scary looking whippets at the front of the race in singlets.

.... the scary looking whippets!

Even after I completed my first marathon I didn't realise that a club would *allow* somebody like me to join. I thought you'd have to qualify or something. I don't know where I got this idea from. When reading up on running you'd often see "come and train for the marathon" where you pay some lad to run with a group in the Phoenix park. Just never really saw a club as an option. I suppose I wouldn't try to join a soccer club unless I was really very good. I don't think they'd take beginners. I thought it was the same with running clubs.

But now hopefully other lurkers realise that you can be at any level to join most running clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

jinka wrote: »
    Yeah,
    To be honest if somebody is really interested in joining etc they will ring or pop down to the club. An email can be a bit wishywashy. Anybody who buys and sells on the net can tell you 90% of emails are from timewasters. If somebody rings me they are more interested.

I suppose I come from a different generation. I consider an email to be a perfectly legitimate means of communication. It's more permanent than a phone call. You've expressed interest and the person at the receiving end is somebody who is going to reply because the email has been published on a website/poster. Certainly not wishy-washy. If somebody is going to ignore an email then why have one available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

I started out thinking clubs were just for the whippets too... but eventually joined up with my local club having met a few members.
    Caught the running bug, and ended up being the chairperson.

We actively encourage new members, and 'the average runner'.
    One of our weekly sessions is always done at about 8 min miles so a lot of people can take part.

We started a fit4life programme before the AAI ever had the idea, when we had maybe 2 or 3 female members.
    We now have over 50% female membership!

We actively encourge ALL members to wear the singlet, and it shows other runners that there are club runners at ALL levels, not just the top 10 or 20 in a road race.

I used to run a lot of races before I was a club member. I'd show up, run the race, and go home.
    I thought it was great - but its nothing compred to the craic of being part of a big club group doing a race!
    Banter, Slagging, comparing injuries, outsprinting your training partner - how did I manage without it!

Anyway - join a club!

I think if any club saw the email they would reply. Only takes seconds. But people are pretty busy especially runners so still think its best to make contact by phone or drop down. Too many timid people making excuses before they have gone down!! It's like they are looking for a reason not to go down!! Also not everybody spends as much time on the net as us and clubs are not run like offices. Mine certainly isnt.

Clubs dont bite and any club worth its salt will welcome you with open arms. Still think its much easier for ladies to join though as most have a meet and train section for beginners.

All clubs will let you run with them a few times before signing you up and if you dont like them dont go back. Lots of great ones out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

I'm involved with a club and regularly try to recruit new members, particularly after road races.

The conversation usually goes something like this (after a general conversation about the race itself): "Are you joined a club?" "No" "Did you ever think of it?" "I wouldn't be good enough" - and this sometimes coming from someone who has just absolutely kicked my ass!

That seems to be the biggest fear amongst non-club people - that they wouldn't be good enough! ...and most clubs are crying out for them to join.

Many runners think that all clubs are elitist - [some are. I spent (too) many years with another club before I got sense. Anyone not capable of running sub 27 min for 5 miles was not regarded/valued. {Unfortunately I didn't fall into that category!}One 28 min runner was referred to at a committee meeting as "A trier, just a trier!"] Thankfully my current club isn't like that and encourages athletes at all levels.
    Hint: To get an idea of what a club is like, look at race results sheets. If you see members listed throughout the sheet, it's probably a good club for all levels. On the other hand, if its 'top heavy', with all or most members in the top, say, 10 to 20%, then it's probably elitist.

Another common misconception is that one has to turn up for all training sessions. I don't know of any club that operates that way. Our main meeting point is at track sessions, however I suspect that at least 10% of our members have never, ever, been to the track and that several don't even know where it is. At best we get between 10 and 30% of our active members turning up on any particular club training session.

The benefits of being in a club (random order):
    Usually have a track available. Very important (but not essential) for speed improvement.
    Group Training Sessions
    Coaching & Schedules
    Advice & Tips
    Team races (road/XC/Track)
    News/What's happening
    Insurance
    (Sometimes) shop discounts
    Organised (running) trips
    Informal group runs
    Training with others of similar ability/training plans
    Social events
    Foreigh running trips
    ...probably loads of things that I havn't thought of!

Another area that clubs are crying out for is for admin people - particularly suit anyone retired from running. There are lots of areas: admin, coaching, organising, AAI representation <giving hex sign as I say this!!:eek:>

Best way to improve: Run with others of similar ability.
    Best way of finding people of similar ability: Join a Club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Tingle wrote: »
    This is inspired from another thread but I am just wondering what peoples thoughts are on running or athletic clubs here in Ireland? Are they too snobby or elitist? Can they do more to attract the 'recreational' runner? If you are a runner but not part of a club, what is stopping you? Have you had a bad experience? Any thoughts.
    I would think if you are going to join a running club you need to be more than a recreational runner. as a rule runners are very set in their ways. unless you can run at their pace you would be slowing them down.

But as Condo131 says in his excellent post above, any half-decent club will have runners of your pace/ability. No one expects a novice runner to be keeping up with the faster ones. This is just a perception that doesn't (usually) exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

I joined a well-established club after completing my first marathon and went along to training twice a week with them (one speed session and one road run session). The benefit I felt I got out of it were an introduction to speedwork and the camaradarie at training/seeing a friendly face at a race. However, getting to/from training after work was awkward and I lost motivation to continue going.

What disappointed me about the club set-up (or maybe it was this specific club, which is one of the best known clubs in the country), was the lack of formal training. Pretty much everything at the sessions was done ad-hoc and decided based on the group mood on that particular evening, and I don't think any of them had formal training qualifications.

Boards gives me everything that I would hope for from a club (although more conveniently than going to a club), and with the establishment of Boards AC, also provides a club singlet to run in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭domcq

I live 5 mins from Donore Harriers in Chapelizod. What I enjoy most about running is the freedom of the training schedule (within reason). Personally, I prefer to come home, hit the Pheonix park and have my run over for the evening.

With a club setup, you're waiting around after work to go to training later in the evening which just eats up your afternoon. I do see the benefit of clubs in terms of motivation though - my Garmin 405 is my new motivator :D

i think the reason for that is because clubs compete for team rankings over the course of the year in the various road races they are very reluctant to take on older runners. ie if you were a sixth runner running in a race with them you might affect their points from that race if you clocked a slow time.

Sorry but I don't know where you're getting this stuff from. Do you not think that a club would rather have a slow runner in 6th place than no runner?

To repeat much of what has been said, most clubs welcome new members of whatever ability, with open arms. Very little is expected of you other than you pay your subs. No club will expect you to run outside your ability range and they certainly won't expect you to race unless you want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I go to a fit4life group (the peoples running club :D) and we're encouraged to put the club name (rather than f4l) down when we register for races. If they were worried about slow runners affecting their league status they wouldn't bother since there's a few that frequently toddle in in Paddy last and nearly last position. The focus is very much on inclusion and participation at every level.

littlebug wrote: »
    I go to a fit4life group (the peoples running club :D) and we're encouraged to put the club name (rather than f4l) down when we register for races. If they were worried about slow runners affecting their league status they wouldn't bother since there's a few that frequently toddle in in Paddy last and nearly last position. The focus is very much on inclusion and participation at every level.

its a good description littlebug - the harriers in kilkenny run a very good fit4life group and this translated into big fields for the road league series in april with fields of up to 150 with a huge spread of ability. Cut to 6 weeks later, and the country road championships had a field of 20 for the men and fewer again for the ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Depends what you want out of it.
    To chase a time, be competitive then a club can help.
    For someone who enjoys it regardless of where and when they can then a club not that important.

I'll be running for the rest of my life and I'll probably live in numerous places in between, will I join a club ever? maybe.
    Does it matter? no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I'd agree that most if not all clubs will treat new members well, the problem is not usually with the clubs attitude (maybe sometime) but with hoow people feel about their running. If you think that most club runners will have their training group and for an outsider to get into them can feel hard.

If your very new to the sport it may not be possible for you to go out on a scheduled 5 mile club run or do some of the sessions there needs to be a gradual introduction to the club with some sort of program that is designed for the individual. Something like the fit4life may help in this regard. I went down to one club last year and was show around the set up but in regards to training was told that “were doing a 7 miler tomorrow” I would have only been able for 3 miles at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Any club that competes in the masters categories is crying out for older members, both male & female. The problem for most clubs here is the lack of sheer numbers for, say, M50 teams.

Wrt affecting points, I don't understand where this is coming from. Any system I'm familiar with relies on the first 3, 4, 6 or 8 and anyone beyond that doesn't affect scores.

I think its important to point out also that, just because you don't get into the scoring team, your preformance, even though it may be well down the field, may be critical. For example, in one AAI road championship, with 4 to score, our 7th man finished well down the field but nearly killed himself to pass a rival in the last 200 metres. Turned out the rival was a scoring member of an opposition team and we tied with them. Our man didn't score for us, but if he hadn't passed the other guy, we'd have lost out on 'countback'. That guy was our most important man that day!

Our club's championship philosophy is, in order of importance:
    Representation - get the club singlets out!
    Teams - field teams
    Winning medals - the bonus

For road races, it's just great to see club singlets on people, irrespective of club. Even in BHAA races, I wear my club singlet.

okay this is completely off the mark.
    1. if you were to score on a team as a sixth runner it would mean that you have improved the team overall by beating who ever would have got sixth.
    2. The older runner thing is a myth in fact many teams relish older runners to fill teams in the older age categories beacuse it means they are able to race for something without being disappointed not being high up in the senior placings. Many road races have O40,O45 etc up so more categories they are able to cover the better it looks for the club

I can see from many of the positive posts about running clubs that my experience with the two clubs I joined was not the norm - I did turn up to club leagues and asked what nights training was on but was told that training nights varied and there were no real training sessions. :confused:
    I later discovered that this was not the case and that there was a bunch of runners who met up regularly to train, but they were completely out of my league in terms of speed. With the second club I joined I spent hours (yes, hours!) running around on my own on their track and when I asked about training sessions, I was told that there was a group who went training but these were mostly juniors and there was nothing really for seniors... anyway, I'm sure there are brilliant clubs out there and well done to everyone who puts in so much time and effort involving all their members; I may have to consider travelling further to join such clubs, but in the meantime, I'm sticking to solitary training (albeit I do get a lot of inspiration from boardsies, so maybe it's not that solitary after all...!!) :)

I can see from many of the positive posts about running clubs that my experience with the two clubs I joined was not the norm - I did turn up to club leagues and asked what nights training was on but was told that training nights varied and there were no real training sessions. :confused:
    I later discovered that this was not the case and that there was a bunch of runners who met up regularly to train, but they were completely out of my league in terms of speed. With the second club I joined I spent hours (yes, hours!) running around on my own on their track and when I asked about training sessions, I was told that there was a group who went training but these were mostly juniors and there was nothing really for seniors... anyway, I'm sure there are brilliant clubs out there and well done to everyone who puts in so much time and effort involving all their members; I may have to consider travelling further to join such clubs, but in the meantime, I'm sticking to solitary training (albeit I do get a lot of inspiration from boardsies, so maybe it's not that solitary after all...!!) :)
    have you tried joining a gym. Known there were a lot of runners in mine who went out and still go out on a regular bais.

Cheers for that! I have been a member of a gym but I absolutely hate running on a treadmill and would much sooner be pounding the roads...but I'm sure it would be a good (if rather expensive!) way of meeting people to go running outside with...thanks for that - I will consider it....
    yes well they went running outside. Never liked running inside myself. and advantage of gym is you get to work on your strength as well as warming down in sauna afterwards. Not sure where you are from but local gym in Raheny is very good and very well priced.

I am so shocked that any club would have this attitude i really feel that if we get the numbers up in the sport it has such a benefit at all levels (national general health,race quality, publicity, media coverage, funding all the way up to international level).
    Hopefully this an isolated incident and no other athlete would have to be subjected to what you went through