Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Galway bate Mayo

• 06-07-2009 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭

Will Galway bate Mayo
    Do you think will Galway beat Mayo
    Not if they have Willie Joe
    They haven't a hope of beatin' Mayo
    hay!

Poor display by Galway v’s Silgo and after Mayo’s brilliant performance v’s the Rossies everyone is tipping Mayo. (I think the green and red paint is on stand by to paint the sheep:D)

Mayo midfielder Ronan McGarrity looks set to miss Sunday week's Connacht SFC final against Galway after suffering a suspected broken jaw in a club game. I wish him a speedy recovery. I’d prefer to see two full strength teams facing each other. Galway’s midfield is its weakest link we just can’t get the right partnership. McGarrity (if he won’t play) would be a huge loss for Mayo.

I think Galway will do it but just about. Always enjoy a Galway mayo Connacht final. Herself is from mayo so for the past few years I’ve been winning the slagging matches. So I don’t want 12 months of listening to “The green and red of mayo”

Come on the tribes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Galway have 2 chances - S & N :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

form never seems to matter in this clash , hard to call .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

Previous performances mean nothing... it's a derby, I'd be staying away from any betting on this one except maybe a draw if I *had* to put money on it. Anyone thinking Mayo will give Galway a hiding is underestimating Galway IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭AMixedBag

Yeah galway will beat mayo and joyce will lead them to victory. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

phil wrote: »
    Previous performances mean nothing... it's a derby, I'd be staying away from any betting on this one except maybe a draw if I *had* to put money on it. Anyone thinking Mayo will give Galway a hiding is underestimating Galway IMHO.

I don't think anyone expects Mayo to give Galway a hiding. Games between the two are nearly always close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Mayo are over-rated. A win over Roscommon can only cover so many flaws.

As previously mentioned form never comes into play in a Connacht final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Mayo have flaws sure they do. We have a dodgy pair of wing backs defensively and a rookie full back line, add in to the mix McG missing. But we're improving year on year. More options this year, a stronger and bigger spine and a bit more belief.

Still we aren't as good as Ros made us look and Galway prob aren't as bad as Sligo made them look.

If I was from Galway I'd be concerned about midfield, the fact the Meehan doesn't seem to be on top form and the lack of consistent selection in defense.

If we had McGarrity and it was in Castlebar I'd be confident but we don't and it's not so it's going to be tight again.

I'd still fancy us to come out on the right side of the result simply because I think there is more belief this year and I reckon we have a stronger bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

A lot of people are underestimating Sligo. That is not a bad team at all, they showed that in the league albeit against weak opposition. In fact the Antrim vs Sligo games are very interesting now. Sligo gave Galway a great run and Antrim beat Donegal and Cavan.
    We also need to forget the Roscommon match, well apart from one important thing and thats the free scoring nature of the Mayo forwards that day.

Galway are pretty decent and the way they closed that game out against Sligo showed a bit of bite and hunger which has been missing at times. They do have a problem in midfield though and I do see problems for them there with McGarrity and Heaney looking very formidable. However their forwards are classy and down the years they have kept Galway in games that they should have been out of and in that department they have had an edge on Mayo for many years. Too often its been a case for Mayo of kicking themselves out of games, they always seemed to rack up a lot of wides when pressured.

Galway will rack up their 12+ points and its all about whether Mayo can match that, I like their chances to be fair, besides Mortimer there is now Dillon and Kilcoyne who can score from play along with young O'Shea who looks like a future star. The lack of a scoring threat from open play has hampered Mayo on many occasions but now they seem to have solved that problem.

I don't think they are legitimate Championship contenders just yet but this team does remind of the 98 Galway team in that O'Mahony has got rid of senior players and blooded youth. Last year they almost took out Tyrone, who knows what they are capable of now but I do like their chances.

Like a poster above has said, calling a result here is usually very hard and thats the case here again. I'm going to trust my gut which tells me that the Mayo forwards are the best bunch they have had for some time and I think they can win a high scoring game(which is unusual between these two) if as expected they win the midfield battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Too hard to call really. Galway will have a point to prove given how muck they were against Sligo.

Mayo can have no idea of their weaknesses after the Roscommon game, although they at least got a bit of Target practise in, so hopefully they'll have less wides than usual.

Heart says Mayo. Head says too close, not putting any money on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

As has been said form really goes out the window in games like this. Having said that you'd have to fancy Mayo. Not for the hiding they gave Roscommon but because without Joyce Galway would have lost to a poor Sligo team. Has to be a worry for the Tribesmen!

corny wrote: »
    As has been said form really goes out the window in games like this. Having said that you'd have to fancy Mayo. Not for the hiding they gave Roscommon but because without Joyce Galway would have lost to a poor Sligo team. Has to be a worry for the Tribesmen!

Are Sligo really that poor though? The way they played the last day they would have given most teams a game, and down through the years Galway have nearly always found them tricky opponents, especially in Markiwiecz Park. So even though Galway were poor enough on the day I wouldn't read too much into that, same as you can't read too much into Mayo's trouncing of a weak Roscommon team (who Galway also hammered last year). It suits me fine (as a Galwayman) that Mayo are being talked up for this one, as traditionally they don't like the favourites tag. McGarrity's absence is also a big plus for Galway given that midfield is aproblem area. That said, I'd rather McG was playing.

EDIT: Sligo are always better at home but don't be too surprised if they go to Tipp and win at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Are Sligo really that poor though? The way they played the last day they would have given most teams a game, and down through the years Galway have nearly always found them tricky opponents, especially in Markiwiecz Park. So even though Galway were poor enough on the day I wouldn't read too much into that, same as you can't read too much into Mayo's trouncing of a weak Roscommon team (who Galway also hammered last year). It suits me fine (as a Galwayman) that Mayo are being talked up for this one, as traditionally they don't like the favourites tag. McGarrity's absence is also a big plus for Galway given that midfield is aproblem area. That said, I'd rather McG was playing.

EDIT: Sligo are always better at home but don't be too surprised if they go to Tipp and win at the weekend.

Suppose you're right. Poor is a bit harsh. They never threw in the towel against Galway and fought for everything which is half the battle in itself. They are limited though and again this is speculation but i think Mayo would beat them with a bit to spare.

corny wrote: »
    Suppose you're right. Poor is a bit harsh. They never threw in the towel against Galway and fought for everything which is half the battle in itself. They are limited though and again this is speculation but i think Mayo would beat them with a bit to spare.

They are limited for sure, but sometimes a limited team can make up for their shortcomings by working their socks off and scrapping for every ball, and that's what Sligo did.

And you may be right in saying that Mayo would have beaten them by more. Possibly they would, but either way that will have no bearing at all on what happens on Sunday week.

BTW, Sligo and Leitrim have had a habit of making life awkward for both Galway and Mayo down through the years, especially when they're at home. I suppose they often life their performance for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Will Galway beat Mayo I hope so. Its impossible to call though as it always is. Mayo must be favourites and its played in Pearce stadium both will suit Galway. This is not a good time of year for my nerves.:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Just checked out the odds -
    Galway evens, Draw 15/2, Mayo evens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭corcaioch

Starie1975 wrote: »
    Will Galway bate Mayo
    hay!

Poor display by Galway v’s Silgo and after Mayo’s brilliant performance v’s the Rossies everyone is tipping Mayo. (I think the green and red paint is on stand by to paint the sheep:D)

Mayo midfielder Ronan McGarrity looks set to miss Sunday week's Connacht SFC final against Galway after suffering a suspected broken jaw in a club game. I wish him a speedy recovery. I’d prefer to see two full strength teams facing each other. Galway’s midfield is its weakest link we just can’t get the right partnership. McGarrity (if he won’t play) would be a huge loss for Mayo.

I think Galway will do it but just about. Always enjoy a Galway mayo Connacht final. Herself is from mayo so for the past few years I’ve been winning the slagging matches. So I don’t want 12 months of listening to “The green and red of mayo”

Come on the tribes!!

Will Galway bate Mayo
    hay!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3pFpfBTcY0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭biscuits1981

galway will win by 3 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

After the league, I fancied Galway to be a dark horse in this years championship. They haven’t shown it so far, but I fancy them to be close to or beat Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Newstalk 104's offtheball show is being broadcasted from Massimo's Bar down the west tonight. (It's all ticket) I think David Brady with be there along with Jamie O' Connor. I'll be there winding up DB.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I got my tickets this morning. Really looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

really cant see galway winning.
    mayo were improving lats year and were unlucky to lose by a csore to a i winners tyrone. this year with o shea they see even bettre. galway will rely on that great man joyce again. but.....one to many drinks from the well????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭DC_Roscommon

Mayo to win by 5 points

Starie1975 wrote: »
    Newstalk 104's offtheball show is being broadcasted from Massimo's Bar down the west tonight. (It's all ticket) I think David Brady with be there along with Jamie O' Connor. I'll be there winding up DB.:D

Was away yesterday. Does anybody know of a way to listen back to any of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

When are the tickets on sale?

Edit
    Tuam Stadium: Sunday July 12th & Tuesday 14th between 7.30pm
    and 8.30pm on both evenings.

Claregalway Hotel , Tuesday 14th, Wednesday 15th & Thursday 16th between 7.30pm and 8.30pm each evening.

Pearse Stadium Offices: Monday 13th, Tuesday 14th, Wednesday 15th & Thursday 16th from 9.30am to 4.30pm daily & from 9.30am until 1.00pm on Friday 17th. The office will remain open during lunch hour on the above dates.

Local GAA Clubs: On Request all week.
    Tickets are priced as follows:
    Stand: €35 Each
    Terrace: €25 Each
    Terrace Juvenile: €5 Each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 juanpablo1983

Come on Mayo.

grrrreat first post.

c'mon the red and green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Yes that time of year again people are not giving sligo the respect they deserve
    their result against what is a very decent tipp team at the weekend shows that
    home advantage and the fact that Galways forwards are and have been for the
    last 15 years on a different level to Mayo will make the difference in the end
    hopefully the hurlers will already be in quarters at that stage could be a great
    weekend for Galway

Hay saved and Cork and Mayo bet and all that stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Been available via ticketmaster since last Thursday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭tennessee time

with mcgarrity - mayo , without mcgarrity - mayo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Them tickets are shockin expensive. I was going to go but now I'm not so sure.

kraggy wrote: »

ya agreed. nothing new there tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

McGarrity looks like he may be available, that's a surprise - mind games?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0715/mayo.html

I guess he'll be looking like the Phantom of the Opera if he does line out so ;)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

kraggy wrote: »
    ya agreed. nothing new there tho.

Expensive in comparrison to what exactly? Its a connaught final have you ever seen ticket prices for other sports ffs its even more expensive to see Liverpools 2nd/3rd string play a team of pub players from west cork :rolleyes:

oh yeah, you're right there. we have to pay for players wages etc..............oh, hang on......no............no.........we dont.

its expensive in comparison to my bank balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Yeah your right of course use the amateur card :rolleyes: And the GAA costs absolutely nothing to run their making a fortune out of poor fools like you, you should get on to the Connacht Council in fairness they should be paying you to attend these games ;)

lost respect for the gaa since they allowed the queens games into croker.

not to mention her gr ASS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

That's the sort of backward attitude that has been in the GAA for years gone by. Thank God some people at the top saw sense and stopped listening to bigoted and ignorant people such as a man from atlantis.

What's the bet this is you:

fa24ec96b625683a59fffccae63e8645.jpg

Back on topic anyways. Think this is going to be a seriously tight game with the usual point or two winning margin. Mayo to pip it though.

look at the celtic fc jersey on yer man ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

s_carnage wrote: »
    That's the sort of backward attitude that has been in the GAA for years gone by. Thank God some people at the top saw sense and stopped listening to bigoted and ignorant people such as a man from atlantis.
    look at the celtic fc jersey on yer man ! :D

Back on topic please people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

Edit
    Tuam Stadium: Sunday July 12th & Tuesday 14th between 7.30pm
    and 8.30pm on both evenings.

Claregalway Hotel , Tuesday 14th, Wednesday 15th & Thursday 16th between 7.30pm and 8.30pm each evening.

Pearse Stadium Offices: Monday 13th, Tuesday 14th, Wednesday 15th & Thursday 16th from 9.30am to 4.30pm daily & from 9.30am until 1.00pm on Friday 17th. The office will remain open during lunch hour on the above dates.

Local GAA Clubs: On Request all week.
    Tickets are priced as follows:
    Stand: €35 Each
    Terrace: €25 Each
    Terrace Juvenile: €5 Each

would there be a student discount on the 25 ticket? making it 15?

MayoForSam wrote: »
    McGarrity looks like he may be available, that's a surprise - mind games?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0715/mayo.html

I guess he'll be looking like the Phantom of the Opera if he does line out so ;)?

I wouldn't call it mind games. It looks like the injury isn't as bad as first feared alright but it was never said officially hoe long he may have been out for. A lot of the media said it was a broken jaw - which would obviously rule him out for a long time - when in fact it was a fractured cheekbone which is not quite so bad.

Still I wouldn't expect him to start. Bench maybe but I prefer to hold him in reserve and only use him if absolutely necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Great news for Mayo. McGarrity to start:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0716/mayo.html

I'm sure he will be wearing some kind of protective mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

1 point between the sides in 5 of the last 6 Championship games. Fiercely competitive - Mayo strongest since O'Mahony took over.

DRAW - Fill yer boots

really think mayo alot stronger this year than galway. but ye have joyce who is worth 2 palyers any day of the week. if he doesnt do the usual damage i think mayo will win relatively handy (3-4 points).

s_carnage wrote: »
    Great news for Mayo. McGarrity to start:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0716/mayo.html

I'm sure he will be wearing some kind of protective mask.

Yeah wouldn't be 100% sure yet that he will start. Has to overcome a fitness test (as does L O'Malley) but he seems fairly certain at least to be on the bench which is great news by itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭tennessee time

great that mc is back but does barry moran deserve to keep his place??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

great that mc is back but does barry moran deserve to keep his place??

I think so, it's strange how fickle Mayo fans are (in general, not talking bout yourself TT) when he scored 2-3 in two games in 07' - one of those games against Derry and Kevin McCloy.

Missed 08' and now that he's back he gets the guffaws from a lot of people.

I think he provides something there and it's very unlikely in this day and age that a full-backline is going to have 2 very tall markers to deal with O'Shea and Moran. Hanley is poor under the high ball and I think Mayo can punish them.

Think the team deserved to stay the same but a bit worried about defenders. Ger Caff, Trevor Howley and O'Malley are fine but the other lads looked too loose against Roscommon and they had 2-3 goal chances in the first half despite being walloped. Against the likes of Nicky Joyce and Michael Meehan, they'll be converted.

All in all, I think Mayo will beat Galway by 2-5 points but only if they come out with the same intent as they did against Roscommon i.e. hitting the full-forward line early as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 nadasky08

After their non-preformance against Sligo I'm expecting Galway to come out all guns blazing especially against the old enemy. All depends on the team Salmon picks....Nicky Joyce to come back in hopefully and Coleman to start midfield with Mullaghy wingback. Play Army and Mikey Meehan two man fullforward line and play through the Joyces...

At 11/10 at home, I fancy Galway. Any word on team news from the Tribesmen yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Galway Team V Mayo
    The following is the Galway team to play Mayo in Sundays Connacht Final, it shows a number of changes from the team that beat Sligo.
    Garry Sice replaces Declan Meehan at no 7, Niall Coleman comes into midfield to replace the suspended Gary ODonnell and in the forward division Nicky Joyce replaces Cormac Bane while Declan Meehan moves from the half back line to corner forward in place of the injured Matthew Clancy.
    The team in full is
    Adrian Faherty
    Niall Coyne
    Finian Hanley
    Damien Burke
    Garreth Bradshaw
    Diarmuid Blake
    Garry Sice
    Paul Conroy
    Niall Coleman
    Joe Bergin
    Padraic Joyce
    Nicky Joyce
    Sean Armstrong
    Michael Meehan
    Declan Meehan

It looks like Liam Salmon is going to sacrifice a forward. Dec meehan will not be playing at 15.
    COME ON GALWAY !

come on MAYO