Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicky English, best player in Munster in last 25 years

• 06-07-2009 7:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭

In Sunday game Munster hurling special last night, Nicky English was voted best hurling player from province over last twenty five years. any other suggestions

Best Munster player in last twenty five years 80 votes

Brian Lohan
    0% 0 votes
    Sean McMahon
    8% 7 votes
    Nicky English
    7% 6 votes
    Ciaran Carey
    40% 32 votes
    Tomas Mulcahy
    12% 10 votes
    Ken McGrath
    0% 0 votes
    Brian Corcoran
    12% 10 votes
    Tony Browne
    12% 10 votes
    Sean Og O Hailpin
    5% 4 votes
    other
    1% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭AMixedBag

seanie mcmahon of clare is at the top of my list and probably many other peoples as well. Nicky English was somewhere in my top ten too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Brian Lohan Deserves a mention too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Hard to pick the No 1 from Munster but Nicky wouldn't be my TOP pick !
    Other possibilities, Ciaran Carey, Thomas Mulcahy, the 2 guys mentioned above, Ken McGrath, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

Anone think a poll might be in order?

For Waterford anyway Ken McGrath and Paul Flynn were prob their two best players in that timespan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

deisedude wrote: »
    Anone think a poll might be in order?

For Waterford anyway Ken McGrath and Paul Flynn were prob their two best players in that timespan.
    yes was waiting until we got a few posts up before we decided on a short list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

surely the legend brian corcoran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

Seanie McMahon or Ciaran Carey for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

Nicholas English was not even the best Tipp hurler of the last 25 years.

Pat Fox for me.

Hmmm.. Gary kirby would be another one on my list. He could hit frees from any angle of the pitch. Definetly one at the top IMO.

Nicholas English was not even the best Tipp hurler of the last 25 years.

Pat Fox for me.
    Nicky English's goal against Antrim still the best i ever saw in an All Ireland final. And I think Fox ended up with a burst lip in that game if i remember rightly. But most memorable moment was still when Leahy miscued in front of goal against Clare. Think he did it both in Munster final and All Ireland final. Say he had a few sleepless nights that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Nicky English's goal against Antrim still the best i ever saw in an All Ireland final. And I think Fox ended up with a burst lip in that game if i remember rightly. But most memorable moment was still when Leahy miscued in front of goal against Clare. Think he did it both in Munster final and All Ireland final. Say he had a few sleepless nights that year.

Cheers for the reminder there pal. 12 years ago and it still hurts just as much.

I think Nicky deserves it. Was involved in Munster and All Ireland wins for Tipperary in Eighties, Nineties and Bainisteoir in 2001.

No other player has contributed as much to a county, especially someone from a junior hurling club in Lattin Cullen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Remember been at the game and wishing Leahy had stuck it over the bar for a replay.

We were in Berminghams on Dorset Street afterwards and the entire Leahy clan were there getting stociously drunk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Carrickbhoy

As A Tipp supporter i voted for Nicky English, if i was neutral i would of giving it to either john fenton or Ken Mcgrath

hailing from cork, i still voted for seanie mc. Rather him than the monkey tbh. One of the greatest ive seen play seanie was. :D dunno who that sean mcmahon is up in the poll above but i voted for seanie. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Ciaran Carey gets four votes and Brian Corcoran one? FFS,come off it.

lukin wrote: »
    Ciaran Carey gets four votes and Brian Corcoran one? FFS,come off it.
    remember a month left in poll. still plenty of time to spread the word about BC

AMixedBag wrote: »
    hailing from cork, i still voted for seanie mc. Rather him than the monkey tbh. One of the greatest ive seen play seanie was. :D dunno who that sean mcmahon is up in the poll above but i voted for seanie. :D
    forgot they dont call Seanie's sean in Munster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Where's Joe Deane? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Power-surge

Tony Browne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

wheres donie ryan?!.....but seriously nicky english was some hurler...i voted carey just for THAT point against clare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

All fantastic hurlers but for me its a toss up between the two Brians - Lohan and Corcoran. The former was master of all he played against, his awareness and positional sense were first class. His long runs out of defence and booming clearances were always a huge tonic for Clare supporters. The latter was just a genius, there's not many that will win an All Ireland playing in both defence AND attack, but he managed it. What he lacked in pace he made up for with skill and intelligence. Will always remember his point off his knees against Limerick in 2004, just summed the man up. If i had to choose i'd pick Brian Corcoran.

And lads where is the Gary Kirby option? Arguably the best and most consistent centre forward of the last 2 decades. As accurate a free taker as you will find and the scorer of some class goals. Would have hurled at inter-county level well into this decade if it wasn't for Eamon Cregan treating him like dirt during his stint as Limerick manager during the late 90s.

grenache wrote: »
    And lads where is the Gary Kirby option? Arguably the best and most consistent centre forward of the last 2 decades. As accurate a free taker as you will find and the scorer of some class goals. Would have hurled at inter-county level well into this decade if it wasn't for Eamon Cregan treating him like dirt during his stint as Limerick manager during the late 90s.

i said that already but sure, us cork ones are never taken seriously. Look at the likes of the orizio.. Hes usually right but sure..never taken seriously. And did i mention seanie mcs a ledge of a hurler! :D

Gary Kirby goes under other. looks as if Nicky is well ahead at this stage.

Bit derogatory to the man to lump him under 'other'. But thats just my opinion.

Yes plenty of good hurlers in Munster. you could make up two good polls really. But end of the day, Nicky seems to be most peoples choice here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Deedsie wrote: »
    I think Nicky deserves it. Was involved in Munster and All Ireland wins for Tipperary in Eighties, Nineties and Bainisteoir in 2001.

No other player has contributed as much to a county, especially someone from a junior hurling club in Lattin Cullen.
    Yes but the management bit or what level his club played at shouldn't really come into it, I'd say.
    i voted carey just for THAT point against clare!
    Unless you really feel that that point was typical of him (it wasn't), then I don't think that should really be the deciding factor either.

I voted Brian Corcoran - could just as easily have gone Brian Lohan though. Possibly a few others too, very tough to decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Nicky English had 2 brilliant seasons towards the end of his career.

Come on lads over 25 years .................It must be Brian Lohan or Brian Corcoran.

They played at the highest level consistantly , for 10/15 years

Week-in / week-out they were consistant powerful in their position .

Nicky English was a great forward, he was more of a poacher and a great eye for goal. But for me, Brian Corcoran was better, a more all rounded player who could play in more than one position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Nicky English had 2 brilliant seasons towards the end of his career.

Come on lads over 25 years .................It must be Brian Lohan or Brian Corcoran.

They played at the highest level consistantly , for 10/15 years

Week-in / week-out they were consistant powerful in their position .

Thats simply not true Nicky had already won two all stars before Tipp made the breakthrough in '87 he was on he's day simply unmarkable and was the most natural forward I've ever seen an incredibly intelligent hurler.

Said by a tipp man. Your from tipp, of course you would say nicky english is the greatest hurler in the last 25 years. Never actually got to see this man play but if he could top the lohans, seanie mc, corcoran then he must have been fcukin fantastic. Wish I was just those few years older..
    And whoever voted sean og is... Off the ball altogether..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Said by a tipp man. Your from tipp, of course you would say nicky english is the greatest hurler in the last 25 years. Never actually got to see this man play but if he could top the lohans, seanie mc, corcoran then he must have been fcukin fantastic. Wish I was just those few years older..
    And whoever voted sean og is... Off the ball altogether..
    Nicky is running away with the poll and it's not only Tipp people voting on that,thankfully i did see him play and he is def the best player i ever saw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

Lads English has almost twice as many votes as Lohan, Seanie and Corcoran put together. That can't be right FFS. He was a classy finisher and all, but those guys were just awesome hurlers. Consistently brilliant and with some incredible individual highlights. I suppose I didn't see much of Nicky playing but I couldn't imagine him carrying teams to the extent they did. Corcoran came back and won two all Irelands for Cork with no pace and no experience in attack, and the other two are among the best defenders to ever play the game.

How is English so far ahead when all the comments seem to be favouring the three boyos?

English was the Jimmy greaves of hurling. deadly in front of goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

There is a similar poll on rte website and ken mcgrath is well out in front

Nicky actually even eluded to something along these lines in he's acceptance speech, he said it was obvious that the poll he topped wasnt an internet based poll because most people who seen him play wouldnt know how to use the internet :D

As I said I personally would have voted Nicky without even a seconds thought but I was suprised he won because I thought it would like a lot of these votes go to a more recent hurler.

One thing that amazes me about the poll here is the number of votes Ciaran Carey has received, ok he was a great hurler with tremendous heart etc. but I can easily think of 3 better Centre Backs alone namely Seanie Mac, Corcoran and Ken McGrath.

English was the Jimmy greaves of hurling. deadly in front of goal.

so people are just counting the scores that he got as a reason? Theres other hurlers in the last 25 years that maybe werent deadly infront of goals but they sure were a players nightmare. Dan shanahan was deadly infront of goals a while back, where is he in this poll so?

again under other but only three votes in that category so far. may have polls for seperate munster counties in the near future.

In fairness there was so much more to Nicky than the goals, just happens that he was incredible at scoring incredible goals, and no disrespect to Dan Shanahan but to draw comparisons between the two is madness and I'm sure even Dan himself would agree, the only Waterford forward who would come close would be Paul Flynn on a good day, but even at that Nicky was far classier and more consistent.

I think his two most famous goals sum Nicky's best qualities. balance, timing, and deadly accuracy.

I was making no comparison at all! I never would have voted dan shanahan as a top player. I was just saying that if Nicky English is only based on his scores then he must not be the best as dan shanahan was a goal scorer but look where he is now?? Premier, you cleared it up for me there so its grand now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

I was just saying that if Nicky English is only based on his scores then he must not be the best
    For a corner-forward, it's not about all-round play necessarily - he would've spent most of his career within 35 yards of the posts so what else are you going to judge him on?

To consistently score at the highest level, you need accuracy, skill, good movement, strength, etc. What's wrong with that?

I voted Brian Corcoran by the way but I don't really see why you're so against Nicky English - different skills for different players.

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    I voted Brian Corcoran by the way but I don't really see why you're so against Nicky English - different skills for different players.

Im sorry. Ok, I dont like English. Dont bother asking me why, its just one of those things. Same with my hatred for sean og. No-one slaughter me please :P anyways, I just cant see how anyone could beat Corcoran or seanie. Ill have to find videos of this english one in action so.

I think hatred is a very strong word to be using for any hurling player playing at the top level.

yeah agree... Dislike? No.. Dont enjoy watching is probably the best to say although I havent really seen english play but I have with sean og. Can we just forget about my 'non-enjoyment' of some hurling players and move on? :P

"dont rate" or something like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

nuff said, the man shudn't even get a nomination imo!!

deccy15 wrote: »
    nuff said, the man shudn't even get a nomination imo!!
    wonder can you vote twice on that RTE site. only one vote allowed here per person.

i always cheat on those polls. When the de la salle v portumna poll was on the rte website I kept voting for portumna until they beat de la salle. Hahaha... But I cant here. So unfair :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

i always cheat on those polls. When the de la salle v portumna poll was on the rte website I kept voting for portumna until they beat de la salle. Hahaha... But I cant here. So unfair :(

me too! Im just gonna pick a hurler that I actually remember! Colin Lynch was class!!! Dunno if he would be the best in the last 25 years but it would be either him or seanie mcmahon :D Everyone knows seanie from Doora! :D