Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Lenihan on Vincent Browne tonight

• 02-07-2009 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭

As it says on the tin. I think Vincent will make Lenihan squirm. It is an hour long one on one interview with the finance minister, he is bound to slip up sometime.

Should be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Fair play to him for coming onto VB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Watching it now.....great stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

Dob74 wrote: »
    Fair play to him for coming onto VB.

It's an interesting gamble. He's actually coming across as relatively reasonable, though it's hard to keep up. At least he's actually answering the questions directly, or at least that's the impression I'm getting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

Not at all, answering questions he wasn't asked. Dodged the bankers' pensions issue completely.

paddyland wrote: »
    Not at all, answering questions he wasn't asked. Dodged the bankers' pensions issue completely.

I started my post just before the banker's pension thing. :)

You're probably right, I don't really understand what's going on, as it's not a conversation and some of this stuff goes over my head. Still though, I've seen others being much more evasive. I imagine that he would see this as a chance to vindicate himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Browne is putting some serious heat on but Lenihan is just about holding him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭manster

Vincent is coming across as a complete tool. Linehan is well able for him - very surprised - my estimation of him is gone up (which wouldn't be too hard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

Aidric wrote: »
    Browne is putting some serious heat on but Lenihan is just about holding him off.

Vincent is great.....
    Lenihan does NOT look very happy in the studio......

dont think he will come back....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

The only thing BL seems to be any good at is dodging questions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Saw a few mins of it.....Lenihan refusing to ask any questions, as far as I can see "I'm not going to decide the budget tonight, Vincent" [yawn!]

If he has nothing to say and won't answer questions, why bother going on the show ?

I keep wondering what happens when they are not on screen, if it is awkward :pac:. I did expect a better performance from VB tbh. I don't think he's phrasing his follow-on questions in the context of Lenihan's responses, if that makes any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

Vincent wasted valuable time going on about his garda driver and 9 staff there are more important questions he could have asked him than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I thought he came across very well. Wish he would answer a question with just "yes" or "no" though.

How much wiser are we after watching his interview tonight? Not alot i think.

I wouldint want to be Minister for finance that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 eoghan77

Vincents got some real teeth, not letting him away with anything.
    BL is doing well tho, but sweat drips earlier in the show couldnt hide how uncomfortable he was...

Great interview!

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    If he has nothing to say and won't answer questions, why bother going on the show ?

He was expecting this to be a whole load of attacks on his character and past actions and would be there to defend himself.

He wasn't there to answer questions on how to fix the economy, evidently - not that many were asked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I wish tho that they'd have Brian Cowan on the show, he did more damage as Minister for Finance, or better yet Charlie McCreevy, the true instigator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Well done BL, good interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Mario007

i'm actually a fan of brian lenihan, but unfortunately couldn't see the interview, can someone sum it up here or at least tell me how did lenihan come across? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Well done BL, good interview
    classic irish tv

Mario007 wrote: »
    i'm actually a fan of brian lenihan, but unfortunately couldn't see the interview, can someone sum it up here or at least tell me how did lenihan come across? thanks

You can be sure to get a few answers on how BL came across. At least he didn't explode, he was uncomfortable but never in a proper corner. It was kind of disappointing in that respect.

Vincent was having a real go though, but it was all the usual stuff, like why is the taxpayer propping up the banks, why are you driven around in garda cars, etc, this is all your fault...

The answers were the usual rhetoric, saying we never expected this, the IMF supports what we're doing, and any question about what the government will actually do was either, I can't tell you yet or I don't know.

Every time VB tried to get BL to admit that the collapse of the economy was his fault, which BL refused to do, and then VB would go on as if he just had, so there was no real interaction. A lot of the sort of stuff I think ordinary people would like to say to the minister got aired, but I didn't see a proper interplay of personality. I would nearly prefer to see pat kenny do this interview.

Entertaining watching, but like themadchef said, I don't actually feel any wiser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Lots of "that would be an ecumenical matter" type answers:D

He came across very chirpy if you ask me, didn't look brow beaten, or sleep deprived with worry like half of the adult population of this country.

I liked him a little more after seeing this interview simply because he dodges exceptionally well.

You can be sure to get a few answers on how BL came across. At least he didn't explode, he was uncomfortable but never in a proper corner. It was kind of disappointing in that respect.

Vincent was having a real go though, but it was all the usual stuff, like why is the taxpayer propping up the banks, why are you driven around in garda cars, etc, this is all your fault...

The answers were the usual rhetoric, saying we never expected this, the IMF supports what we're doing, and any question about what the government will actually do was either, I can't tell you yet or I don't know.

Every time VB tried to get BL to admit that the collapse of the economy was his fault, which BL refused to do, and then VB would go on as if he just had, so there was no real interaction. A lot of the sort of stuff I think ordinary people would like to say to the minister got aired, but I didn't see a proper interplay of personality. I would nearly prefer to see pat kenny do this interview.

Entertaining watching, but like themadchef said, I don't actually feel any wiser.
    themadchef wrote: »
    Lots of "that would be an ecumenical matter" type answers:D

He came across very chirpy if you ask me, didn't look brow beaten, or sleep deprived with worry like half of the adult population of this country.

I liked him a little more after seeing this interview simply because he dodges exceptionally well.

thanks dudes for informing me:D so it was the typical political interview...but at least he didn't break down:D

I think that's what Vincent was trying to bring about, but Brian had his stab vest on. If it had two vincent brownes either side of him, it might have worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭pjproby

you just watched an historic moment in Irish politics-the next leader of ff and the rise of the most important politics show on Irish television.
    i though BL wiped the floor with Vincent-about time too

I think that's what Vincent was trying to bring about, but Brian had his stab vest on. If it had two vincent brownes either side of him, it might have worked.

ha would be funny to see a minister for finance breaking down live on tv:D but if lenihan didnt break down during the dail debate on the april budget he probably will never break down, a well done to him:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 freedomdefender

When will you all ever realize that it's not politicians but politics itself that is the problem?

Vincent Browne was very eager to press Brian on hs wages, I'd like to know what Vinnie himself is on! If Pat Kenny is on ~900,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

I'm just in, missed it. Is it availble to watch online anywhere?

When will you all ever realize that it's not politicians but politics itself that is the problem?

interesting...off topic and not supported at all...but granted, if thats what you think

All attempts to control a human population end in disastrous side-effects because humans are not inanimate chess pieces on a chess board- they have a mind and will of their own and their primary need is freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

I often wondered why people dont ask VB the searching questions. Why he isn't selling up his house and living amongst the multi-cultural delights of the inner city, or the Western suburbs ( if he thinks crime is such a "over-rated" issue) , or indeed amongst people who are not upper-middle class.

Western civilization is a zoo. What we are witnessing with crime is the behaviour of a caged existence. This manifests itself in the form of aggression and desperate attempts to nullify the pain that such an existence brings. Our true nature is to be strong, healthy, happy and free. Humanity has been living a lie for thousands of years.

Start a thread, and get out of this one.

Don't try to impose rules; underlying this assumption is that humanity is inherently chaotic, disorganized and arbitrary which is simply not true. The very existence of this site is a betrayal of human nature itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I wish tho that they'd have Brian Cowan on the show, he did more damage as Minister for Finance, or better yet Charlie McCreevy, the true instigator

I thought it was 'accepted fact' that the reason McCreevy was sacked/moved was because he wanted to start a program of frugality back in 2003/04 (which may have just saved us from some of the current woes). But Bertie, and the ministers and backbenchers at the time ignored his advice and wanted to keep on spending.
    So I think McCreevy is less culpable than many others?

underlying this assumption is that humanity is inherently chaotic, disorganized and arbitrary which is simply not true.

Assuming that humanity is not inherently chaotic, disorganized and arbitrary, and that you are human, can you please stop wrecking this thread for the rest of us, GTFO, and start your own thread.

I thought it was 'accepted fact' that the reason McCreevy was sacked/moved was because he wanted to start a program of frugality back in 2003/04 (which may have just saved us from some of the current woes). But Bertie, and the ministers and backbenchers at the time ignored his advice and wanted to keep on spending.
    So I think McCreevy is less culpable than many others?

This is why it would be worth having him on the show, if they want to delve into that sort of stuff. However, I doubt he would go on it, given his new job.

I'm a bit tired of the blaming stuff though, I suppose it's a distraction from the usual gloom and I know that every country in the world is showing this sort of stuff, but I'd like to see an interview ask a politician or strategist what they think the way out is, what we can do to help, and so on. I know that people are tired of ministers flying around in helicopters while the huddled masses queue for food and so on, but unless the only way forward is to punish the rich and powerful and/or discuss "had enough of that shower" stuff, it'd be nice to see something constructive without all the hot air.

I know it was the minster for finance and not enterprise trade and employment but not one question was asked about "what next?".

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Why won't Lenihan just say out straight why he's letting the bankers and financial regulators off essentially scot free? He's just like his father before him - in bed with Banks and big business.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Vincent Browne was very eager to press Brian on hs wages, I'd like to know what Vinnie himself is on! If Pat Kenny is on ~900,000
    A quarter of a million according to George Hook a few nights ago. But to be fair to Browne, he isn't a government minister paid by tax payers and he has said on many occasion that he considers himself one of the rich of society and that he doesn't pay nearly enough tax.

Anyway I thought it was a good interview. Lenihan held up well but I expected as much, he's barrister and knows how to dodge questions.

Browne has more than one job, though. TV3, IT, SBP and his own vanity magazines. He could lose one. Or two.

In an egalitarian sense. Anyway the 250K is about the same as the Taoiseach

A quarter of a million according to George Hook a few nights ago. But to be fair to Browne, he isn't a government minister paid by tax payers and he has said on many occasion that he considers himself one of the rich of society and that he doesn't pay nearly enough tax.

Anyway I thought it was a good interview. Lenihan held up well but I expected as much, he's barrister and knows how to dodge questions.

I wonder has he given many donations away? Of the two of them, Brian has the far more important job. I suppose it just shows how society is scewed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

surely you mean bertie aherne

ive alot more time for lennehan than cowen btw and while brownes interview might seem like a real grilling , in reality it was akin to some hysterical woman screaming for half an hour

vincent browne doesnt know enough about the dynamics of the economy to properly interview the fiance minister on the subject , the man is a walking cliche when it comes to the economy , BANKS , INEQUALITY , the usual banners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭CorkFenian

People saying "Isn't lenihan great for going on the show" and that he looks to be coping fine with all the pressure...What pressure exactly??This guy is gold plated, on a lot of public sector monies, pension etc and the sooner people see that FF are looking after themselves the better...Whatever happens he will come out much better off than you or I..Fact!!Hes connected with the banking set, who will no doubt sort him out in the future as a sign of their gratitiude..
    They broke the habit of the past 9 months by sending on one of the main men rather than Manseragh and his ilk...People feeling sorry for Lenihan are just having a laugh!! He's well able to defend himself..Guy is a qualified barrister..Doesnt mean hes any good and truthful as a Goverment Finance minister IMO...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I'm just wondering if "freedomdefender" IS Brian Lenihan - 3 contributions of something that he wanted to say even though it's completely irrelevant and off-topic.

Aside from those 3 inserts of irrelevant rubbish, the posts here are typical of what's wrong with Irish politics - wanting blood vs wanting the potential future leader to be able to bull**** and dodge and stonewall.

What about straight answers to straight questions ? What about actual fairness, regardless of what "an bord snip" suggests ? What about action, rather than bull****ting that "the IMF agree with us" (debatable, and even then that's like the Old & New Testament - before ye f**ked up and what ye've done since)

And when he brought up the newspaper front pages about the tribunals, I was waiting for VB to strike; when the cost was mentioned, BL was on about how that would never be spent again and how procedures were in place to avoid it.......what procedures ? And why didn't Browne hammer home that if Bertie & Haughey & Co didn't stall them, they wouldn't have taken so long ?

And can we trust alternative procedures from a party whose top brass [necks] have been at the forefront of said-same tribunals ?

Politics in this country is a complete joke - stonewall, obfuscate, f**k up knowing there's zero accountability, throw schoolboy snide remarks and insults at any constructive criticism, and apply misdirection whenever possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭InvisibleBadger

I thought it was a good interview, funny in places.
    I was hoping for less angry questions, and a bit more of the discussion that usually takes place on Vincent Browne.
    Hopefully more members of the government will end up in front of Vincent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Don't try to impose rules; underlying this assumption is that humanity is inherently chaotic, disorganized and arbitrary which is simply not true. The very existence of this site is a betrayal of human nature itself.

Posters failing the Turing Test will be banned.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

A nicely timed article from Morgan Kelly then appears in the papers :)

Brought to our knees by bankers and developers - The Irish Times - Fri, Jul 03, 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

spadder wrote: »
    I'm just in, missed it. Is it availble to watch online anywhere?
    www.tv3.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

A nicely timed article from Morgan Kelly then appears in the papers :)

Brought to our knees by bankers and developers - The Irish Times - Fri, Jul 03, 2009

Can anyone spell out in plain english what happens if this country DOES go bankrupt? What happens to ordinary people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I'm no fan of Lenihan or FF as you all know but I thought VB last night was made look like a complete whinger. He failed to really raise his fist never mind land a killer blow, just whinging and bitching like an auld wan who was just told she wasn't being let into the pub.