Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATH7 - proof you should never believe a PW retirement

• 01-07-2009 8:41pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

a few nights ago whilst having a *hiccing* good time in the PPV thread i posted that I would run another one of these so despite the fact that i said the last one would be the last....Its back

Alright people 90% of you either know how this works or have actually taken part before, but we do have a good number of new posters on PW atm so anyone can look back through the previous incarnations 1-5 (linked below) and see how it ran before.

ATH1 - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055176157
    ATH2 - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055187277
    ATH3 - http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54765837#post54765837
    ATH4 - http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055236240
    ATH5 - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055286903
    ATH6 - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055328650

I seem to be on boards an awful lot atm but after this month will be far busier so thought now might be a good time for this. I will post the rules in a bit (or of course you can check the previous threads), but to give people a chance to decide if they are going to participate i wont start the first round till Sunday and of course there will then be 2days per round, so if really needed you'd have till early tuesday to decide and make post your first answer.

as always ill accept question suggestion from posters via-PM once they fit the ATH style i.e questions which could have multiple answers that could be argued as correct - infact i encourage this

Former Champs are Vince135792003, Rosie1977 Charlie Mchugh, Bubs101 & the only 2 time champ Fozzy

here is the little blurb i put in every ATH thread incase anyone needs further elaboration on what this is before checking previous versions
    Around The Horn(ATH) is an american show on ESPN where a number of panelists/experts make arguments on a certain topic. The host awards points for each response depending on how well argued their point is, not neccesarily if he agrees with their point (although that helps) but how well they back up their argument. Obviously the winner is the person with the highest number of points at the end of the show. This format should work quite well here if anyone is interested, afterall there are a number of people here whom like to think of themselves as experts on all things wrestling related, so this is a chance to prove it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Why is it number seven if there have only been five previous?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Why is it number seven if there have only been five previous?

there were 6 couldent find the sixth in the quick search i did, im sure if i try again i would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭ScumdogV2

Each link posted comes up with "not found on this server". This popping up for anybody else?

ScumdogV2 wrote: »
    Each link posted comes up with "not found on this server". This popping up for anybody else?

thats odd gimme a minute ill fix em

edit: should work fine now

okay heres the blurb i usually include with regards the rules:
    The first of 5 topics will be posted on sunday and you will have two days before round two. If you need info on the rules check the above linkes to the previous threads, but here is a brief rundown of them:

I post a topic and you have to post your response including why you made that choice within 48hrs (before the next round begins), take care while making your responses however as other contestants can counter your arguement i.e pointing out possible flaws in what youve said.

*you can only counter an arguement once, although you can counter as many different peoples arguements as much as you want (but only once each). if someone's defense of their arguement isnt good it will count against them plus someone else might continue to question it in your place.

*You can use the same answer as a previous poster if you wish i.e you agree with their choice however its hard to win a debate when your making the same points someone has already made

each poster is marked out of 20 each round for a total of five rounds. If you miss a round (it happens) you can still submit an answer to that rounds question however because you missed the deadline in between rounds your late answer will only be marked out of 15.

you dont need to say im in or anything like that to enter just post an answer to the first round and your in so you have till early Tuesday at the latest to enter, but i guess itd be a good way to get an idea of numbers as the game is better if we have more than a handfull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

there were 6 couldent find the sixth in the quick search i did, im sure if i try again i would

There was a 6th ... but I think it was on done over christmas, and never quite came to a conclusion as most people dropped out. I think it was myself and another person were the only two people doing it in the end. (The other person was on higher points than me though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Is their a word limit on your argument?

Who decides who is the winner of each round?

Cactus Col wrote: »
    There was a 6th ... but I think it was on done over christmas, and never quite came to a conclusion as most people dropped out. I think it was myself and another person were the only two people doing it in the end. (The other person was on higher points than me though)

actually now that you mention it i remember that one think it may actually have been ATH7 so i guess this could be mk2 hopefully we will get it right this time... added ATH6 to the OP
    LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Is their a word limit on your argument?

Who decides who is the winner of each round?

I will add a word limit if people take the piss and start writting massive essays in rd1 i think only in one other incarnation of the game did i have to do so.

as it says in the blurb i added to the OP and like in the real show the host (me:D) awards points for each response depending on how well argued their point is, not neccesarily if he agrees with their point (although that helps) but how well they back up their argument. Obviously the winner is the person with the highest number of points at the end of the show.

but writting more does not make a better answer, if someone can write an equally as good answer in less lines/words they will most likely get a higher marking. If you check out any of the previous ATH's as linked in the OP most things will explain themselves

I had almost forgtten about this but alas here we go and for the first question im going retro...

ATH:Round 1
    Q.Who is the most underutilised member of the current WWE roster? (Raw, SD or ECW) and why did you choose this person over other wrestlers?

This was the first ever ATH question on boards.ie

Okay .. to get the ball rolling I'll start. It's not very well written, or argued ... but here we go:

Q.Who is the most underutilised member of the current WWE roster? (Raw, SD or ECW) and why did you choose this person over other wrestlers?

This answer might be a little bit left field … but I’m going to say Charlie Haas. He is a three time WWE Tag Team Championship holder, twice with Shelton Benjamin, and once with Rico. The World’s Greatest Tag Team (with Benjamin) is one of the few decent tag teams created in the WWE in the 21st century. So good, that the team has reformed several times. However, WWE’s indifference to their tag team division has also led to this team being split up several times. Unfortunately for Haas, it is Benjamin who has received the big pushes, while Haas is left on the sidelines working bad gimmicks, or more often than not, just not working at all. Any gimmick that seems to be getting him over with the crowd tend to go nowhere, and remain uncapitalised on.

He has proven with his “impressionist” gimmick that he has the charisma, mic ability, and humour to get over with the crowds. His in ring performances have (for the most part) shown that he can compete with the best. I’m not saying he’d ever be a world champion, but his talents need to be used, and used properly they would benefit any show he was put on.

hope you aint the only entrant Col, weve had a great turnout in every other game except the last one when i ran it during christmass/new years when everyone was busy.

This was a hard one for me but i'm going with Jamie Noble, This 34 year old has held the WCW Cruiserweight Championship and HWA Cruiserweight Championship.
    WWE seemed to only use him in squash matches and the only good feud he has had in the last year was with Chuck Palumbo, The result was Jamie Noble getting utterly destroyed, He even jobbed to Hornswoggle before.This guy could have an entertaining match against anyone,He can be very humorous, His promos are good and overall he is quite entertaining to watch. Recently back from injury so hopefully WWE cop on and give him a decent heel push.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

I think I'd have to argue that Christian is the most underutilised on the roster.I mean ever since he came back to the WWE(with no hype at all,he just turned up on ECW randomly,even kizarny got a couple of hype videos ffs!) he has been stuck with the washed up and the rookies on ECW.

The guy can a have a good match with anybody,is a fantastic talker and can play either a heel or face comfortably.I know he's been ECW champion but nowadays that does not mean anything much.

He could be put to much better use main eventing smackdown or raw instead of having to carry Tommy Dreamer through his championship swansong!

He was so close to the main event in 2005 but WWE refused to pull the trigger with a proper push so he left for TNA in frustration,hopefully WWE will have a bit more sense this time and give him the push that he has earned!!

ill give the first round an extra day (till wednesday) for three reasons:

1) Eircom's DNS servers have been down this evening so maybe people who wanted to enter havent had the chance

2) itl give the game a chance to get 1 or 2 more competitors

3) tommorow is my birthday and ill probably be too *hiccing* drunk to grade answers / write a non unsuitable question i.e Q2 who screwed bret? :D

hope you aint the only entrant Col, weve had a great turnout in every other game except the last one when i ran it during christmass/new years when everyone was busy.

I was slightly hoping I would be ... then I could have finally claimed to be a PW champion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

This one for me is easy - Jamie Noble. This may seem like a bizarre choice as he has not achieved much in his WWE career in terms of titles, or even in memorable feuds, but anyone who has seen any of his pre WWE work or his ROH run in 2004/5 will agree with me. Noble pretty much covers all the bases in what you want in a wreslter. He can work the mat, he is a good submission wrestler, he can hit the high spots, he can sell, he can be a great babyface, as seen in his ROH title run, he can do a decent heel, as he showed in his CW ttile feud with Billy Kidman.

It has long been said that a credible CW division is badly needed. Well Noble is the very man who could have helped in this regard. He can carry anyone to a great match, and that is even if there was no talent available. Put him in the ring with the likes of Dean Malenko and you have 5 stars immediately. Then think that he could be in the ring with the likes of (over the years) Paul London, BNrian Kendrick, Rey Myseterio, Ultimo Dragon, Taka Michinoko etc etc etc there are alot of matches which could have happened, should have happened and been given proper ring time, but never ever will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I knew gimmick was going to post this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I'm going make an argument for Festus. He's a big guy, which is pretty much always a plus in the WWE but unlike most big guys he actually has talent, and is still very young for a wrestler at only 25 years old so could improve even further if given the chance. The last part is where it all falls apart. He's not given a chance, and when he is he's even further restricted behind a pretty terrible gimmick. His last tv appearance? Walking out of a toilet a few weeks ago. In ring? I can think of only 1 appearance in the last few months, teaming with TBK.

The others mentioned already appear on tv more often so get their faces out there. Despite that I'd be willing to bet Festus is as over as them, bar Christian, despite them being used more and despite not having a restricting gimmick. They're underutilised, yes, but they are utilised. They're helping younger guys improve in the ring by being their reliable teacher, or they're putting people over to help their opponent's stock rise. Both very valuable roles that every promotion needs. Festus is a talented young big guy without direction and basically without a role right now but I'd be willing to bet if he was given more of a chance he'd do pretty well, certainly better than the likes of Koslov and Knox, who have been given much more of a shot and failed.

ok 5 competitors so, as it was my bday yesterday and i was on the whiskey from 5ish till 5ish im only now up to getting this (2nd rd) going so ill post the 2nd round question now then edit this post to include the 1st round leaderboard.

ATH: Round 2
    Q.
    On Raw and SD The Big Show & Mysterio dont have obvious next opponents (assuming despite Edges injury Jericho has moved on from the IC title feud), choose one of these two superstars and suggest what WWE should do next with them in your opinion?

This Q was submitted as is by someone who wishes to remain annonomous

Round 1 Leaderboard

Cactus Col 17
    Dojoejoe 17
    Gimmick 17
    Currythis 16
    Jolt 2007 16

very hard to seperate choices on this one especially as 2 of you both picked Jamie Noble. It is argueable that Gimmick better argued his (Noble's) case but as the game explanation says its hard to win an arguement if your making the same points as someone else and no answers were that detailed so as to mean that either answer was really standout hense at most 1 point seperates all 5 at this early stage.

Remember you can counter each others arguements too (although only once so we dont turn into biccaring) so as to them look weaker and thus yours stronger in comparison. For instance (this is not neccesarily my opinion just an example) someone could have questioned how despite being capable of more CHristian could be considerd the most underutilised member of the whole WWE roster when he unlike others atleast gets used.

also incase your knew to the game just wanna say im not infallable so people may not agree with my rating in every round, sorry if that is the case now or in the future. Also i generally only comment on say 1 or so of the ratings i.e perhaps why i rated it so high/low cos i dont really wanna be commenting on em all and giving people things to get annoyed about and thus comment on in the thread taking it off topic.

Once CM Punk is done with Jeff Hardy I would have Rey Mysterio go up against him, be it for the IC title, world title or whatever. Reason is simple, and it is to get Punk more over as a heel, seeing as that sems to eb the way he is pushed at the moment. Rey is one of the most over faces in WWE right now, has been for quite a while and looks like it is not going to change any time soon. Punk for his part is a better heel than he is face. He needs to get established in the heel position and not float back to face-dom anytime soon, so who better for him to feud with.

Punk would also need to go over, but this would not hurt Reys Credibility as, afterall, he is the one stepping up to face the world title holder. The matchs would be outstanding, so there could be no bad in this feud.

The obvious answer would be to give Dolph Ziggler next shot at Rey, but I think he'd be better suited to teaming with Jericho right now. So I'm going to go crazy here and say Rey's next feud should be with... The Big Show.

"But Jolt, you hunky madman, they're on different brands!" I hear you cry. Well, hear me out. At Night Of Champions have Show become US Champ, and Rey defend against anyone, doesn't matter who. For fun we'll put R-Truth in there. Not every match has to be face vs heel, and the crowd would be into it. A good match and being on the PPV would help Truth even in loss. So, Rey retains. Then backstage we could have a moment with Show and Rey, and eventually build towards a title unification match at Summerslam. This gives both men something to do, and the unified champ could appear on every brand same way the tag team champs do. Having just one unified second tier title and allowing the holder to appear on all brands would give the title more credibility since currently they mean little to nothing, and it would give more options allowing the champ to cross brands to defend.

Q. On Raw and SD The Big Show & Mysterio dont have obvious next opponents (assuming despite Edges injury Jericho has moved on from the IC title feud), choose one of these two superstars and suggest what WWE should do next with them in your opinion?

I think that I'd stick him with Dolph Ziggler(his mini feud with Khali seems finished)
    It would be a good 'rub' for Ziggler to be paired alongside a credible main eventer like Rey,it would also be nice to see rey work with somebody new and fresh as his feud with y2j seemed to drag on a bit.

Plus it would be a good test of wrestling ability to see how good a body of work Dolph could put together with mysterio after being lumbered down working with khali for the last while.

Give him a few wins on heel wins on tv over rey(in tag matches etc),then say at a ppv have maria(they did a backstage angle with him and her a few weeks ago)hesitantly in zigglers corner and have her turn heel to cost rey the match and have her as zigglers manager/valet.

Have ziggler and maria act all cocky and beat down rey for a few weeks on tv and
    then have rey beat him in their final match in a cage(or a mach maria couldn't interfere with),it keeps rey's momentum going and elevates ziggler a bit,a win-win scenario.

I call shenanigans here. Strikes me as way too much of a coincidence that (SD Spoiler alert)
    Ziggler and Rey interact in this weeks Smackdown, for which spoilers have been available for some time

Sorry to be a prick about it.

gimmick wrote: »
    I call shenanigans here. Strikes me as way too much of a coincidence that (SD Spoiler alert)
    Ziggler and Rey interact in this weeks Smackdown, for which spoilers have been available for some time

that is a good point but doesent mean that you couldent think up something better than what the WWE are actually doing.

and sure its about how you argue your point not if your right/wrong or even if me the host agree's with you. One of the best answers i can recall (might have been Bubs) was with regards to a question about who should end Takers WM streak? he chose Morrison which personally id disagree with but the scenario he suggested was so good i gave him top marks in tht round.

btw i edited my previous post.

gimmick wrote: »

The only spoilers I ever read are TNA ppv ones cos I can never find what time they're on tv at.

If I knew Rey and Ziggler had already interacted on screen I would have never suggested that scenario.

Q.
    On Raw and SD The Big Show & Mysterio don’t have obvious next opponents (assuming despite Edges injury Jericho has moved on from the IC title feud), choose one of these two superstars and suggest what WWE should do next with them in your opinion?

I would hook The Big Show up with The Miz. Miz is a pretty decent wrestler, more than competent in the ring, very good on the mic. However, he was seen as the weaker partner to John Morrison in their tag team. Since splitting he has been involved in a feud with John Cena, however, nobody had any doubts about who was going to win that one. By providing Miz with Big Show in a body guard role, he is an instant threat to any wrestler on the card. A loss to Miz, backed up by Show, would not make a face look bad. First of all I’d put Miz in a feud with Kofi to win the US title, and over the course of the next couple of months have Miz defend against Kofi, Evan Bourne, and Jamie Noble (maybe backed up by Festus). While also engaging in tag action with Show, possibly for the tag titles if they land in a face team’s hands. Miz’s title run could be ended by MVP, who would overcome the odds to become US champ.

Q. On Raw and SD The Big Show & Mysterio dont have obvious next opponents (assuming despite Edges injury Jericho has moved on from the IC title feud), choose one of these two superstars and suggest what WWE should do next with them in your opinion?

1, The Big Show.
    I would have Big Show feud with Mark Henry.Henry seems to be getting a push with him destroying Orton and Rhodes. And Big Show would be a logical opponent for him. This would eventually lead to a title shot for either of them with Big Show beating Mark Henry to the punch.Seems a good way to have a monster push.

2, Rey Mysterio.
    I would have Mysterio feud with a heel John Morrison, Mainly because I think the chemistry in the ring would be great. Morrison,Having beaten CM Punk would be a great opponent for Rey to face. Rey needs another push and beating Morrison in a Mask v Hair match would be great. Mainly because Morrison without his hair would be hilarious.

ATH: Round 3
    Q.
    What in your opinion is the greatest feud we never got to see but that we could still see? and why did you choose this feud over other possibilities.

This Q was also submitted by someone who wishes to remain annonomous, jaysus people getting firce shy these days

Round 2 Leaderboard
    Cactus Col 35
    Gimmick 34
    Currythis 33
    Jolt 2007 33
    Dojojoe 32

for once im going to go through all of you, its very difficult atm to seperate you as nobody is countering each others suggestions and everyones in general are quite short although that can be a good thing as it avoids essay like answers and as i said the longer your answer is wont equal how good a mark you get.

Jolt: thinking outside the box (although not that far as the two were the two named in the Q) and explaining how itd work well.

Currythis: logical, may actually happen and would be good

Gimmick:Rey is the perfect face for any new heel to face so it would work well

DoJoJoe: the question did say choose one of the two and you chose both and probably wrote half what you would had you choose 1 on both b'cos of that

CactusCol: Seems the WWE need to find something for these two heels atm and together they could be great as suggested

so far ive only really been giving out 16/17s nothing has really been a OMG this is brilliant idea i.e a 19/20 answer but there have been no real poor suggestions either.

Chris Jericho vs Undertaker. Right now Jericho is the best heel in the WWE and before his break you could easily say Taker was getting the biggest pops. The most hated against the most loved sounds good to me. In the ring they're both working probably better than they ever have and the build up promos should be golden too. I could be mistaken but I can't remember a feud between those two and I can't think of two bigger names who could still perform to a high enough level do the feud justice.

Q. What in your opinion is the greatest feud we never got to see but that we could still see? and why did you choose this feud over other possibilities.

Shawn Michaels vs The Rock

Could easily still happen if The Rock was convinced to return at say wrestlemania or another big ppv.

With rocky as face and HBK as a cocky heel(like the one he played when he wrestled Hogan a few years ago) would be amazing.
    Both of them are brilliant on the mic,The Rock is great in the ring and Michaels is possibly THE best ever,the feud would be outstanding and would draw monster money if promoted even half correctly!.

Q. What in your opinion is the greatest feud we never got to see but that we could still see? and why did you choose this feud over other possibilities.
    HBK V CM Punk.
    I think this feud has great potential, Mainly due to the fact that HBK has so much to give and CM Punk is still coming up the WWE ladder.Punk and HBK would easily make a WM Main Event, Both wrestlers athleticism would look great in the ring along with HBK's mic skills. Punk would have everything to learn from this feud and it gives HBK a chance to teach the future of WWE. I chose this feud over other feuds for this reason, HBK has feuded with nearly every main-eventer in the WWE and The Showstopper V The Straight Edge superstar would be a classical match up.

2 personal things have come up that mean i probably wont be able to complete this game 1 of which is a funeral and the other will see me out of the country for 2 nights, i may still be posting i honestly dont know what way my being near a computer/online will be but if anyone wants to set questions or rate answers in my absence speak now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

2 personal things have come up that mean i probably wont be able to complete this game 1 of which is a funeral and the other will see me out of the country for 2 nights, i may still be posting i honestly dont know what way my being near a computer/online will be but if anyone wants to set questions or rate answers in my absence speak now

If worst came to worse I would give it a go as your temp replacement. Next week i am reasonably free as well.:o

Rjd2 wrote: »
    If worst came to worse I would give it a go as your temp replacement. Next week i am reasonably free as well.:o

well seing as i gotta go for that funeral in the morning if you wanna do the marking / set the question for atleas the next question then you can cos i wont be able to.

unless your just going to say yeah sure or nah actually i guess pm me

well seing as i gotta go for that funeral in the morning if you wanna do the marking / set the question for atleas the next question then you can cos i wont be able to.

unless your just going to say yeah sure or nah actually i guess pm me

PM Sent.

PM Sent.

Rjd2 will be the temp ATH host so he will be marking round 3 and setting the next question atleast but may just be doing the rest of the thing, so fair play man for not letting the game die

The greatest feud we've never gotten to see, but could still happen?

That would be Sting vs The Undertaker.

When people talk about WCW, there are only two names that are truely representative of the best they could offer, Ric Flair, and Sting. From the start of the nineties through to the end of WCW in 2001 Sting was a main event star for the company, putting in great performances time and time again. Now in TNA he is helping build a company into a true alternative to wwe. He might be towards the twilight of his career, but he can still go as he has proven as a three time TNA champ.

Like Sting, Taker is an icon, another living legend. The man has spent close to twenty years on top of the WWE ladder. When he should be slowing down, he is putting on matches that are true match of the year contenders, and upstaging much younger (and supposedly more talented) wrestlers at the biggest stage of them all.
    In WWE there has been but one constant, and that is THE UNDERTAKER.

Why would I go for this feud against an other ... any other? Well, lets face it, there aren't any matches or fueds out there that could have the impact of this.

Very good answers so far, I am just waiting for Gimmick so we can wrap this round up. :)

HBK Vs AJ Styles
    These men are at opposite ends of their careers, HBK has been there and done it, Styles will be there and shoudl do it. Both are well capable of carrying a match with just about anyone, so imagine what they could do together? Both are fast, both are innovative, both can sell and both are fan favourites.

The reason I would do this feud is simply for watchability and work rate. AJ may not be the best on the mic, but his ring work will more than make up for that. The reason I would do it, is HBKs days are limited and he has hinted at a retirement soon. Unlike Flairs retirement, I think HBK should pass the torch down to the next generation, and who better to carry said torch than the phenomenal one? This feud would sell a PPV. I have no doubt.

Ok I read the answers in the previous rounds and that is the final grading.
    I will explain in the morning a little bit more articulately the marking system.
    Round 3 Leaderboard
    Cactus Col 53
    Gimmick 51
    Currythis 50
    Jolt 2007 50
    Dojojoe 49

Q3.
    HBK normally steals the show at Mania and its easy to see why. The fans love him and he consistently delivers the match of the night. His match at the majority of the Mania's since his return was the most anticipated match of the night and most people raved about them. Next year who do you want to see him wrestle at Mania? Why would it be special and how would it unfold?
    You can pick guys from the SD and ECW Rosters if you want. The brand split is worthless when Mania comes around.

Q3.
    HBK normally steals the show at Mania and its easy to see why. The fans love him and he consistently delivers the match of the night. His match at the majority of the Mania's since his return was the most anticipated match of the night and most people raved about them. Next year who do you want to see him wrestle at Mania? Why would it be special and how would it unfold?
    You can pick guys from the SD and ECW Rosters if you want. The brand split is worthless when Mania comes around.

I would put HBK up against Edge. Edge is arguably the best heel in wrestling at the moment. Not only is he great on the mic, he’s very good in the ring. (I would say this side of Edge is underrated). He stole the show at Wrestlemania 22 in a brutal match with Mick Foley. Put on a great main event match against ‘Taker at Wrestlemania 24, that was overshadowed by a the Ric Flair retirement match. The only thing Edge has been missing is that one iconic feud. The one feud that will cement in everyone’s minds that he is a true legend. And Shawn Michaels is the person that can provide this. The two would have fantastic promos, as well as a fantastic match at mania. They have feuded before, mainly in a DX v Rated RKO, but also a short singles feud that led to a match at the Rumble a couple of years ago.

How would it unfold? Well …. I’d have Edge playing the usual arrogant, slightly demented, heel that he is playing. Winning the title at the Rumble, Edge would begin boasting that he is the biggest show stealer in WWE, recounting his matches with Mick Foley, TLC, Undertaker, Money in the Bank, etc. Only for HBK to appear and lay claim to the title of show stealer. This would lead to them guest commentating each others matches on raw and smackdown, and ultimately with Edge interfering in HBK’s Elimination chamber, either coming up through the floor, or throwing a weapon into a rival.

This of course leads to further promo’s against each other, with both interfering in the others matches. The feud would feature a one off Rockers reunion taking on a reunited Edge and Christian. Finally the two would face off in a hard core / no holds barred match at mania.

(Trying to keep my answers short ... so sorry if I rambled a bit)

I'd have HBK v John Morrison. With the way JR is putting JoMo over as a young Shawn Michaels, it could build to a feud between the two with HBK annoyed people are saying this because he's the show stopper, the main event, etc. and nobody will ever be the new him. Could then have Morrison argue that he's not the one calling himself the new Shawn Michaels, that he doesn't want to be the new Shawn Michaels, that he's better. He's better looking, has a better body, has better hair and is better in the ring. It's a feud that could really bring JoMo to the next level and the match itself I think would easily be match of the night no matter who else is on the card. Morrison has been in some amazing matches the past few months. If I were to compile a list of the top 10 matches of the year he's be in at least 5 of them and in ring has been the best this year so far. HBK, well, who better to help put John over and make him a new credible face to the main event?

Q3. HBK normally steals the show at Mania and its easy to see why. The fans love him and he consistently delivers the match of the night. His match at the majority of the Mania's since his return was the most anticipated match of the night and most people raved about them. Next year who do you want to see him wrestle at Mania? Why would it be special and how would it unfold?

HBK Vs Jeff Hardy

This is assuming Jeff sticks around after Summerslam!

I'd love to see this match at mania,HBK playing the character he is now trying to offer advice to the troubled jeff hardy(fans could be reminded of hardys past suspensions etc)

Michaels could say that he see's a lot similaritys between himeslf in the old days and the present Jeff Hardy and that he doesn't want to see him make the same mistakes as he did and maybe have years shaved off his career.

Jeff would naturally refuse such advice and turn into a sort of tweener right up until the week before mania when he'd turn fully heel and beat the crap out of Michaels and tell him that he never respected him and that he's better than him,all leading up to an epic Wrestlemania.

Q3. HBK normally steals the show at Mania and its easy to see why. The fans love him and he consistently delivers the match of the night. His match at the majority of the Mania's since his return was the most anticipated match of the night and most people raved about them. Next year who do you want to see him wrestle at Mania? Why would it be special and how would it unfold?

HBK V Chris Jericho
    Chris Jericho is one of the best all round wrestler on the roster today. He can carry a match with anybody and is excellent on the mic. A feud coming up to 'mania would generate a lot of interest and is a great draw as Jericho is a brilliant heel, The chemistry between these two would make a great match and the road to wrestlemania would be a must see between these two, HBK's consistent 'mania classics would catapult the match to Match Of The Year.

I was going to go with Jericho, but having thought about it, I am going to go with HHH.

These two have had the best in ring chemistry I have seen either have with each other. They have been able to all kinds of match before - hardcore, last man standing, straight out wrestling. This feud could even be booked any number of ways - friends competing to see who the better man is for the last time, one being heel, retirement match etc. HHH brings the best out in HBK, they should have headlined Wrestlemania alone as it is. There is still time for them to do so.

It would start out much like the Flair/HBK storyline with HHH getting increasing more bitter at the adulation HBK is getting leading to a heel turn, which is desperatly needed for him anyway. This would add more heat to the match as babyface matches can lose something by not having a clear favourite. For a title or not, this should headline WM26.

just wanted to say that yes im back (should be posting regulaily again) now but since youve all only got 1 rd left and Rjd2 did express an interest in doing the rest of it im going to stay on the sidelines for the finish and let him choose the final question/winner.

some very interesting answers in the last round

So all answers were very good and its hard to find much holes in any of them.

Cactus... Very strong answer, it really is, I like how you built that feud up with the Rockers and Edge and Christian reforming. Stuff like that would definitely get people interested. Then of course with both guys mic and in ring skills it would be a cracker.
    Currythis... Those two have hardly wrestled over the years which would mean it would be fresh, although I dunno about Jeff been tweener. He's that over right now unless he killed Rey in the middle of the ring he will never be booed. Its still definitely something that would be fitting for Mania judging by their popularity and ability to work the crowd. Jolt...
    Jericho its been done quite a bit, and it would be tough for them to top their work in 2003 and 2008 which was super stuff. Still tough Stonecold and Rock worked together quite a bit and they always delivered, so this could work again.
    Jolt... That would work perfectly. Jo Mo needs that money feud to be capitulated into the big time because beating the likes of Shelton and even Punk is not enough. They teased it last year when Jo Mo hit Sweet chin music on Shaun and the crowd reacted massively to it.
    Gimmick....Thats a Mania main event for sure. Two HOF veterans going at it with that type of build up would steal the show, just look at the Taker and HBK encounter. You just have to look at the Summerslam match from 2002 which was an utter classic which showcases the incredible chemistry they have with each other.

Round 4 Leaderboard
    Cactus Col 70
    Gimmick 69
    Currythis 68
    Jolt 67
    Dojojoe 66

Q5
    Smackdown has undoubtedly improved. Younger guys are getting pushes and its the show which seems to always have at least one PPV quality match. However its also had terrible luck since the Draft, Umaga was fired, Jeff the shows biggest star could be gone soon, Edge its number one heel is injured and Matt who was superb in his last term on the show is injured. If Vince were to send people over to replace those who were gone which TWO stars would you like to see on the Blue Brand?

Q5
    Smackdown has undoubtedly improved. Younger guys are getting pushes and its the show which seems to always have at least one PPV quality match. However its also had terrible luck since the Draft, Umaga was fired, Jeff the shows biggest star could be gone soon, Edge its number one heel is injured and Matt who was superb in his last term on the show is injured. If Vince were to send people over to replace those who were gone which TWO stars would you like to see on the Blue Brand?

Shawn Michaels:Has been on Raw since his return about 7 years ago so he could use a change of scenery,plenty of fresh feud possibilities(CM Punk,Jeff Hardy,Rey Mysterio) and is a top name that would balance out the loss of Edge as he would slot right into the main event,would be a great addition to Smackdown!

Christian:Has been on ECW long enough(was pinned by Shelton Benjamin last night ffs!)
    Again plenty of fresh feuds for him as face(Punk) or if he were to turn heel(Rey).
    Great wrestler,great promo and is pretty popular,he deserves another crack at the main event of one of the big two and Smackdown would be perfect for him.

Q5

I would argue that Smackdown has actually done quite well out of the last draft, getting Rey Mysterio, Chris Jericho, John Morrison, and CM Punk. However, improvements can always be made.

With The Hart Dynasty currently feuding with Cryme Time I can't help but wonder who they will face next. As we all know there is a very small pool of tag teams in the wwe at the moment. So my first choice would be to return Festus back to Smackdown, and re-unite him with Jesse. Here you have an established face tag team, that was actually quite over with the crowds. The opportunity could be taken to evolve the Festus character, giving him more control of his rage, and less the drooling idiot outside a match. A quick build while the Harts are busy with Cryme Time would give smackdown another decent tag team, and could make Festus into a monster for the long term, instead of a short term joke. When he finally splits with Jesse, you then have one heck of a monster heel.

My second choice to move to Smackdown would be Evan Bourne. For the last few years, it seems to me, that smackdown is the show that builds new talent into stars, or rebuilds careers. Mr Kennedy, MVP, Carlito made their names on smackdown before being drafted to Raw (where Carlito's momentum was squandered, kennedy was too injured to do anything, and we'll see what happens with MVP) .... Orton and Matt Hardy re-ignited their careers on Smackdown. Evan Bourne is a wrestler of great talent, however, on Raw the glass ceiling is much lower, and much harder to crack due to the number and size of their main eventers. On smackdown Bourne could face smaller opponents, could focus more on wrestling, and, maybe, break into the top tier of the business. The matches he could have with Mysterio, Jericho, and a host of stars are potentially fantastic.

(sorry for the length I tend to ramble)

Q5

Smackdown being a more pushing brand my two stars are going to be technical wrestlers who can get a good push other than charachterised RAW stars.Also given that Smackdown is the stairs between ECW and RAW I'm going to choose two
    stars that need kickstarts in their careers.

1, Chavo Guerrero Jr.
    This guy is a great technical cruiserweight, If he made the move to Smackdown he could play a great heel and cuts some good promos
    A feud with Rey,Jo Mo, or Ziggler could make a great PPV match,It will save him from handicap matches with Hornswoggle and could turn him from a dead-end into a mid-card wrestler.Given that Smackdown pushes young talent to the next level Chavo's lineage and technical soundness could get him over on smackdown and could help replace the loss of their heels.

2, Christian
    This mans popularity is fairly high at the moment and given smackdowns loss of Edge, He could jump in on the unified tt at NoC. Christian can play a quality heel and a great face,Christian is a decent technical wrestler and has a nice thign going with the peeps gimmick. Teaming with Jericho or feuding with Punk or Mysterio could make his WWE comeback a great success.Smackdown would gain a great replacement for Edge with this guy.This could tease Edges return and the two of them turning on Jericho, Leading to a great PPV showdown.

p.s Sorry for the long answer