Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

Well at least you tell her some stuff, so that will keep her slightly happy that you share some things with her :) Let her complain all she wants, but as you said...it keeps you out of trouble so no loss there it seems:p

What did she say about the veggie meet-up thing then?

you need to work more on your non-obsessive stalking skills then hehe

It was good since most of it I was actually awake here talking with you:p the rest I dont remember because of the whole sleep thing ^_^

Hmmm...the sleep is always welcome and keeps me happy, so in my eyes I'm gonna go with sleep = female :D

p.s. Training tonight sucked, should not have gone at all...that'll make you happy now lol!

Well I told her what I ate and where, how little I drank (if I drink a lot I normally mention one or two drinks anyway so she sees I'm all responsible) and a bit on how nice yous are. She said you sounded like nice people, and then changed the subject to something else.

Why does sleep make people happy? The way I see it is that a lack of sleep makes people cranky and irritable, but that sleep merely keeps the irritability away. Do most people actually like the act of being asleep? How can you possibly enjoy a mini coma?

I can't believe you've just complained about training. I want old Darrykins back :p

I'm soooo happy that mum managed to keep Sam alive. Sam is my sourdough starter btw. It's still very active and has just spawned some new deliciously crusty bread.
    Before leaving I actually froze some of the starter, dried some of it, kept some at room temperature and some in the fridge. I figured mum could only kill 3 out of 4 versions of starter in the 3 weeks I'd be away. The main one is still alive so I'm really happy ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well I told her what I ate and where, how little I drank (if I drink a lot I normally mention one or two drinks anyway so she sees I'm all responsible) and a bit on how nice yous are. She said you sounded like nice people, and then changed the subject to something else.

Why does sleep make people happy? The way I see it is that a lack of sleep makes people cranky and irritable, but that sleep merely keeps the irritability away. Do most people actually like the act of being asleep? How can you possibly enjoy a mini coma?

I can't believe you've just complained about training. I want old Darrykins back :p

I'm soooo happy that mum managed to keep Sam alive. Sam is my sourdough starter btw. It's still very active and has just spawned some new deliciously crusty bread.
    Before leaving I actually froze some of the starter, dried some of it, kept some at room temperature and some in the fridge. I figured mum could only kill 3 out of 4 versions of starter in the 3 weeks I'd be away. The main one is still alive so I'm really happy ^_^
    Ahh thats good so, at least she didnt freak out or something haha! like * oh my...what have you gotten yourself into?*:p

Sure you never drink alot anyway, we know that:) (and yes you're responsible...you made it back here didnt you?:D)

But sleep is great! And you get to dream of stuff that may never happen and if you learn it, you can control your dreams when in them too:D It refreshes the body, mind and soul (I have no soul as I'm a redhead) but yeah sleep is great!:) Do you not like it much, or not at all?

Yes I felt dizzy and had a headache from not eating for a long time so sat most of the session out:( Had to be something really wrong for that to happen haha, me complain about training!?:pac:

Sam sounds really cool, happy to hear at least part of him/her survived the mother influence and can now keep you happy with homemade bread:D What do you have on the bread once it has been created?

Ahh thats good so, at least she didnt freak out or something haha! like * oh my...what have you gotten yourself into?*:p

Sure you never drink alot anyway, we know that:) (and yes you're responsible...you made it back here didnt you?:D)

But sleep is great! And you get to dream of stuff that may never happen and if you learn it, you can control your dreams when in them too:D It refreshes the body, mind and soul (I have no soul as I'm a redhead) but yeah sleep is great!:) Do you not like it much, or not at all?

Yes I felt dizzy and had a headache from not eating for a long time so sat most of the session out:( Had to be something really wrong for that to happen haha, me complain about training!?:pac:

Sam sounds really cool, happy to hear at least part of him/her survived the mother influence and can now keep you happy with homemade bread:D What do you have on the bread once it has been created?

I used to have a lot of sleep problems. Doctor considered giving me sleeping pills then pulled back because she thought I was too young at 16. Thank God, because I wouldn't take them anyway. I get a lot of nightmares as well so I really don't like sleeping. It's like being dead. I've been able to control dreams in the past though, and that was cool but not enough to make me like sleeping. Also, if I don't have nightmares or don't forget last night's dream, I have some freakishly weird dreams.

My mum dreamed a couple of days ago that she had a really cute blonde granddaughter with striking blue eyes. I asked her if she was mine or my sister's daughter. She said she didn't know. Out of both couples (me and Dec, and Izzy and Alberto) only my boyfriend has very strong blond genes, and very very blue eyes, so that seriously freaked me out haha. See? Dreams are evil!

Oh and you're not a true redhead sorry. So I'm afraid you do have a soul =/ Why would you want to be redhead/ginger anyway?

Next time, please try to eat more.

You said a mixture of flour and water sounds cool :p I have a habit of eating bread by itself when it's just out of the oven. Yes I know you should let it cool down a bit before cutting it so it doesn't become slightly doughy, but I can't help myself. While it's warm margarine by itself or with something on it is fine (I don't like butter. I'll have it if I must but I'd rather not). If it's cold, it depends on the type of bread. Sundried tomatoes with a bit of basil is nice, or hummus sandwiches and stuff like that. Idk really! Sourdough bread makes incredibly nice toast.

I used to have a lot of sleep problems. Doctor considered giving me sleeping pills then pulled back because she thought I was too young at 16. Thank God, because I wouldn't take them anyway. I get a lot of nightmares as well so I really don't like sleeping. It's like being dead. I've been able to control dreams in the past though, and that was cool but not enough to make me like sleeping. Also, if I don't have nightmares or don't forget last night's dream, I have some freakishly weird dreams.

My mum dreamed a couple of days ago that she had a really cute blonde granddaughter with striking blue eyes. I asked her if she was mine or my sister's daughter. She said she didn't know. Out of both couples (me and Dec, and Izzy and Alberto) only my boyfriend has very strong blond genes, and very very blue eyes, so that seriously freaked me out haha. See? Dreams are evil!

Oh and you're not a true redhead sorry. So I'm afraid you do have a soul =/ Why would you want to be redhead/ginger anyway?

Next time, please try to eat more.

You said a mixture of flour and water sounds cool :p I have a habit of eating bread by itself when it's just out of the oven. Yes I know you should let it cool down a bit before cutting it so it doesn't become slightly doughy, but I can't help myself. While it's warm margarine by itself or with something on it is fine (I don't like butter. I'll have it if I must but I'd rather not). If it's cold, it depends on the type of bread. Sundried tomatoes with a bit of basil is nice, or hummus sandwiches and stuff like that. Idk really! Sourdough bread makes incredibly nice toast.

Sounds like bad stuff that, good thing you didnt get pills for it they could make things worse in the end someitmes:( I used to get lots of nightmares in my teens and early 20's and hated sleep, in the last like 5 years though it has been much better although the bouts of sleep paralysis didnt help:(

Freaky dream that!:eek: You must have been thinking "woah...hold on there a second...it's only a dream":p She must have been thinking about you and how you would be heading home, it just appeared to her that way:)

Oh yes I am! I was redhead since birth until I was around 15-16 then hair started getting darker:( It gets more red the longer it gets I believe...hair is pretty short now got it cut lol. I would love it to be even more red than now...dying species and all that would make me more noticeable too!:)

I'll not forget to eat again!

Food combo sounds really good there, I had toast earlier too:D A homous or pesto on the bread would taste really nice, or a type of herb butter with cheese:)

I don't normally mind sleep paralysis at all (except for this one time that was actually the worst experience of any kind that I've ever had, because it involved the feeling of dying while some devil-like thing kept screaming "die!!!" in the background). Normally I can will myself to move again so it's fine.

Thinking about me heading home? I don't have any blondness and she still doesn't know about my boyfriend. That's what made it freaky! She's said before that if I ever get pregnant she'll be very supportive though. Never said it to my sister >_>

I think you're sorta blond actually. Why would you want to be more noticeable for all the wrong reasons?

I had a lot of hummus while interrailing so now I need a break from it. I also had a lot of falafel though but I'll never get tired of it ^^

I don't normally mind sleep paralysis at all (except for this one time that was actually the worst experience of any kind that I've ever had, because it involved the feeling of dying while some devil-like thing kept screaming "die!!!" in the background). Normally I can will myself to move again so it's fine.

Thinking about me heading home? I don't have any blondness and she still doesn't know about my boyfriend. That's what made it freaky! She's said before that if I ever get pregnant she'll be very supportive though. Never said it to my sister >_>

I think you're sorta blond actually. Why would you want to be more noticeable for all the wrong reasons?

I had a lot of hummus while interrailing so now I need a break from it. I also had a lot of falafel though but I'll never get tired of it ^^

I've had nasty hallucinations from it too, I had one like yours but it was a demon saying "you're not getting out of here, I have you":eek: I got back to normal soon after but was still freaked out!

She can sense it in her dreams you have a bf lol, you still wont tell her though I know it:D

I'm sorta blonde? never noticed it really except when I was much younger the ends of my hair would go blonde due to sunshine during summer:) There is nothing wrong with being red!:eek: I think it is a gift ^_^ You dont like redheads nope?

Can never get tired of falafel...so nice! Homous is good for a while, then it gets boring and something else has to take it's place for another while hehe!

Oh I see you're gonna be bringing the bf along on Thurs too?

I'm planning on telling her about the bf some time in the next couple of weeks. Or rather, I'll casually say that I'm gonna meet him, then go out the door as fast as I can so as to not hear her trying to start an argument. It must be done, I guess. I'm still very scared of telling her =(

I thought LOS also agreed that you're a bit blonder than ginger. My sister is a redhead (proper red in the sunlight, not carrot ginger). Nuff said :rolleyes:

I'm not sure if he'll be able to come. He said he'd like to because yous all sound like a funny bunch, but it all depends on work and he's been very busy lately. Meh he's always busy anyway so I can't honestly say I expect him to end up coming. You'd think he has a boss to answer to >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Not fun! I walked off my camogie team a while ago, guts of a month ago but I'm going back tomorrow. Chances are the same crap will happen again but I just miss the sport so much!

About the bad sleep, I know what it's like! For years I had this recurring dream that I wasn't in but I was watching it all happen. There was a little old lady pushing a little stroller with a baby in it, but I could never see any of their faces. Then all of a sudden a gang of big men on quadbikes wearing white hoodie jumpers appeared out of a garage and killed the old woman and the push bike. It was horrible and happened for years.

There was another dream that this tiger chased me and I ran and ran and ran and then the tiger caught up with me and bit my head off. The dreams swapped with each other, one would happen for ages and then swap to the other.

I can start a dream again if I wake up mid-dream. It's great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Evening veggies,

Stupid moving house and having to be up early means less late night musings lately...speaking of recurring/bad dreams, I used to constantly dream that three binmen would call round, shove me into the back of their van, and have a big binman orgy with me on the top of the wastepile in the dump. I was 14/15 at the time...traumatic shít man.

kellief wrote: »
    Not fun! I walked off my camogie team a while ago, guts of a month ago but I'm going back tomorrow. Chances are the same crap will happen again but I just miss the sport so much!

About the bad sleep, I know what it's like! For years I had this recurring dream that I wasn't in but I was watching it all happen. There was a little old lady pushing a little stroller with a baby in it, but I could never see any of their faces. Then all of a sudden a gang of big men on quadbikes wearing white hoodie jumpers appeared out of a garage and killed the old woman and the push bike. It was horrible and happened for years.

There was another dream that this tiger chased me and I ran and ran and ran and then the tiger caught up with me and bit my head off. The dreams swapped with each other, one would happen for ages and then swap to the other.

I never quite understood camogie. I was made to play it for all of two PE classes back in first year, and I didn't even speak English so I found it so weird! Haha I feel like the only non sporty person here. Fair play to you for not being a lazy ass like me!

Recurring nightmares are terrible :( Yours sound horrible! I hope you don't get them anymore.

I've always wanted the ability to go back to a nice dream if I wake up in the middle of it. I'm jealous hehe
    Evening veggies,

Stupid moving house and having to be up early means less late night musings lately...speaking of recurring/bad dreams, I used to constantly dream that three binmen would call round, shove me into the back of their van, and have a big binman orgy with me on the top of the wastepile in the dump. I was 14/15 at the time...traumatic shít man.

Being up early... I feel your pain =/

That's a weird bad dream. Binmen? I didn't think they existed in the world of dreams.

I'm planning on telling her about the bf some time in the next couple of weeks. Or rather, I'll casually say that I'm gonna meet him, then go out the door as fast as I can so as to not hear her trying to start an argument. It must be done, I guess. I'm still very scared of telling her =(

I thought LOS also agreed that you're a bit blonder than ginger. My sister is a redhead (proper red in the sunlight, not carrot ginger). Nuff said :rolleyes:

I'm not sure if he'll be able to come. He said he'd like to because yous all sound like a funny bunch, but it all depends on work and he's been very busy lately. Meh he's always busy anyway so I can't honestly say I expect him to end up coming. You'd think he has a boss to answer to >_>
    That should be fun haha! I awaik the text telling me the reaction she gives^_^ Oh I think it'll be ok really, once she knows that you are happy!

Blonder? weird that haha maybe its true! Now I see the aversion to redheads lol:pac:

Sure we'll see what happens on the day...yeah not like his boss can't give him some time off for dinner even >_>

Sure you'll have good company with you one way or another ^-^

I can fully understand it Kellie! I'd miss the game so much now if I stopped, and I've not even been playing 2 years:eek:

Dreams are weird, I think we can all safely assume that haha:D Doing that with dreams is sooo hard though, most of the time it begins a new one, even if it was a really good one beforehand:(
    Evening veggies,

Evening :)

Still, at least the move should be worth it in the end! And once that is done, then you can get back to having some quality time with guitars and boards :D

Binmen....dirty even in your dreams:(

I can fully understand it Kellie! I'd miss the game so much now if I stopped, and I've not even been playing 2 years:eek:

Dreams are weird, I think we can all safely assume that haha:D Doing that with dreams is sooo hard though, most of the time it begins a new one, even if it was a really good one beforehand:(

I left under quite awkward circumstances, I walked off the pitch in tears and told my managers that I was fed up being made a fool of. I'm feeling very nervous about going back.
    Evening veggies,

That's a horrible dream!! Where are you moving to?
    I never quite understood camogie. I was made to play it for all of two PE classes back in first year, and I didn't even speak English so I found it so weird! Haha I feel like the only non sporty person here. Fair play to you for not being a lazy ass like me!

Recurring nightmares are terrible :( Yours sound horrible! I hope you don't get them anymore.

I've always wanted the ability to go back to a nice dream if I wake up in the middle of it. I'm jealous hehe
    It's great fun! I love it! Just hate fighting for your place!
    I'm being very good and watching what I eat and exercising and lost weight so I'm keeping it up!
    Yeah they were really terrible! Still have dreams where I wake up screaming. It's horrible and scary!!

It's great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

That's a weird bad dream. Binmen? I didn't think they existed in the world of dreams.

I know, it's just flat out peculiar. I never looked at them in the same light again :/

Evening :)

Still, at least the move should be worth it in the end! And once that is done, then you can get back to having some quality time with guitars and boards :D

This is true, and it's a move from a flat to a house so I can crank the amp up that little bit more :)

From the city centre to Bray...must have done something wrong in a past life!

It seems like a hard game to get into, takes a while but is quite fun if you dont mind being occasionally hit with sticks:pac: The lack of English at the time may have hindered you knowing anything other than hitting a slíothar into, or over some metal poles:p

Being lazy is not so bad though!:D
    I left under quite awkward circumstances, I walked off the pitch in tears and told my managers that I was fed up being made a fool of. I'm feeling very nervous about going back.

It's great fun! I love it! Just hate fighting for your place!
    I'm being very good and watching what I eat and exercising and lost weight so I'm keeping it up!
    Yeah they were really terrible! Still have dreams where I wake up screaming. It's horrible and scary!!

It's great!!
    Ahh I see....earlier in the year I was starting to let the bulls*it politics in GAA teams get to me and was ready to walk, but stuck it out. You will be fine when you go back, I dunno about the girls on teams but lads will just say "welcome back" etc

Fighting for your place is grand...I normally start but for reasons unknown to me (stupid reasons at that), I sometimes get taken off after 50 mins even if having a brilliant game setting up loads of scores and running circles around the right-full back...

Gonna hit the hay early tonight veggies, have a good night ok! :D

Is the GAA really that bad?

Night night M&Ms! *hugs* ^_^

It seems like a hard game to get into, takes a while but is quite fun if you dont mind being occasionally hit with sticks:pac: The lack of English at the time may have hindered you knowing anything other than hitting a slíothar into, or over some metal poles:p

Being lazy is not so bad though!:D

Ahh I see....earlier in the year I was starting to let the bulls*it politics in GAA teams get to me and was ready to walk, but stuck it out. You will be fine when you go back, I dunno about the girls on teams but lads will just say "welcome back" etc

Fighting for your place is grand...I normally start but for reasons unknown to me (stupid reasons at that), I sometimes get taken off after 50 mins even if having a brilliant game setting up loads of scores and running circles around the right-full back...

It got too much but I had to walk. I'm determined to stick it out. It's good craic! none of the girls actually knew what happened. They all want me back.

Gahh I won't be able to sleep tonight because I'm scared. Yup, scared the way a little girl is scared and tries to get into her parents' bed.

First of all, my favourite film is The Ring/Ringu. Which means that I'm traumatised and can't have a tv in my room. It amused my friends no end during the trip. They made me cry :(
    When I was 3 my dad used to let me watch Freddy Krueger films, which of course had the effect of making me be too scared to sleep. That's gone now, thank God. The fear of ghosts remains however, and it's not helped by the fact that I've seen a few things myself, as has my dad, and my mum. My mum's stuff was actually told by my dad, and it took years until my mum admitted to having seen that stuff. Scary stuff too. Have you ever heard of Joelma Building in Sao Paulo? Employees still complain of hearing people screaming, and it was left empty for years for that reason.

Oh yeah I'm also scared of masses water in the dark. Like when someone forgets to drain the bathtub and I see it in the dark. Or open wardrobes in the dark. And mirrors/reflective surfaces. Ugh.

The funny part is that I used to be a very brave kid, but the older I get the more things I see and the more scared I get. :(

Feel free to laugh at me >_<

*feels better*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

hey guys! what's the plan for tomorrow?!

Veggie meet is kicking off at 7 in Govinda....(It is the abbey st one?)

You want to do anything beforehand?

I believe it's 7pm at Govindas in Abbey St.? I better go wash my hair:pac:

In other news: I won a bottle of Russian Standard (awesome) vodka tonight in a table quiz:D:D

I'll be free from earlier in the evening if anyone fancies an early coke! (I'm driving haha!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I believe it's 7pm at Govindas in Abbey St.? I better go wash my hair:pac:

In other news: I won a bottle of Russian Standard (awesome) vodka tonight in a table quiz:D:D

best vodka everrrrrrrrrr

you guys talk a lot :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Look at you go anothernight! Spamming like a Tar there, good work :P

I got the bus home to Phibsboro coz that's the first one that came, thought I'd get a bit of a walk in, didn't cop till way after my stop I should be getting off ahhhhh.

where the hell has the week gone :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I saw it tehre teh other day...then I went for a walk and it's alll gone ahhh

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Look at you go anothernight! Spamming like a Tar there, good work :P

I got the bus home to Phibsboro coz that's the first one that came, thought I'd get a bit of a walk in, didn't cop till way after my stop I should be getting off ahhhhh.

where the hell has the week gone :eek:

Love the way 'Tar' is now a noun. Like a Tar. :p
    tar 1 |tɑː|
    noun
    a dark, thick, flammable liquid distilled from wood or coal, consisting of a mixture of hydrocarbons, resins, alcohols, and other compounds. It is used in roadmaking and for coating and preserving timber.
    • a similar substance formed by burning tobacco or other material : [in combination ] low-tar cigarettes.

Oooh hate it when I miss my stop! I hope you got home safely =] Though I guess you must have seeing as you were posting on boards. Hmm..

Summer weeks are a third of the length of winter weeks. Didn't you know that?

I ordered my debs dress today. So excited! ^_^

likes a tar. I have tar all over my shoe laces :_;

ah to be young :p

Emm how did you get tar on your shoelaces? (why does that sound so weird? It's like I'm ripping the fabric of space and time or something. Or like Tar has been converted into Tar juice and actually stained his own shoelaces while wearing his shoes, but he's already Tar juice so... hmm.. nvm)

Youth is relative. There's 5 years between you and me, but there's another 5 years' difference between you and Darrykins :p

I didn't want to go to my debs and spent 5 years saying I wouldn't go. Only to be pushed into it at the last minute by my friends >_> But I'm excited about the dress ^^

How are you?

How does tar get anywhere >_>

sticky sticky

never went to my debs, just uni balls, they were savage even if the girl at the first one was turned lesbian by me :p

whats the dress like /gay

I'm good ^_^ you?

just finished the penultimate season of supernatural...mmmmm yum, so good.

(about god)
    Castiel: He isn't in Heaven. He has to be somewhere.
    Dean: Try New Mexico. I hear he's on a tortilla.
    Castiel: No, he's not on any flatbread.

lmfao!