Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Driscoll blasts De Villiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭spear thrower

Is there a video/recording of this interview, its about time someone stood up and said what they thought about that egotisticle pratt.. fitting it be one of the worlds finest players..

Good man BOD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Should add a bit of spice to the 28th of November.

Delighted to see someone bring some sanity back to the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

The same rolmodel BOD who throw the ball and then pushed Matfield and said "Bring it on" and ran away like a sissy. The same rolmodel that tackled without his hands to injure him and another player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Irishdancer

Amabokke wrote: »
    The same rolmodel BOD who throw the ball and then pushed Matfield and said "Bring it on" and ran away like a sissy. The same rolmodel that tackled without his hands to injure him and another player.

ahahahahahahahahaaaaa :rolleyes: jaysus bokkie you're gas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

did you actually read what he said?

the more i read of your posts the unbelievable and biased you seem.

We admit that BOD shouldn't of done things, mistakes happen etc and things can get out of hand in such an intense game.

The gouging on the other hand was not a mistake if you watch the video. It as intentional.

A bad tackle in general will at worst break something. A bad gouging will leave someone blinded.

Total different level of offence.

Have you ever heard another international coach downplay gouging? ever like?
    NO
    WHY?
    BECAUSE ITS WRONG

now bugger off
    I'm beginning to think you are some kind of weird persistent troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Look, PDV has been discussed to death.

This is only SSN's way of filling up space on channel/website.

Close thread please.

Edit: Ah here, Bokke!!

I should start a poll:

Who is more biased: Amabokke or RugbyFanatic (where is he btw?)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Close thread please.

I should start a poll:

He is in the sin bin thankfully :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055594838

marco_polo wrote: »

:D:D:D:D

My question is answered.

:D:D:D:D

muboop1 wrote: »
    did you actually read what he said?

the more i read of your posts the unbelievable and biased you seem.

We admit that BOD shouldn't of done things, mistakes happen etc and things can get out of hand in such an intense game.

The gouging on the other hand was not a mistake if you watch the video. It as intentional.

A bad tackle in general will at worst break something. A bad gouging will leave someone blinded.

Total different level of offence.

Have you ever heard another international coach downplay gouging? ever like?
    NO
    WHY?
    BECAUSE ITS WRONG

now bugger off
    I'm beginning to think you are some kind of weird persistent troll

What do you think? Of course I'd read the BOD transcript and to quote: "Parents watching an interview like that, questioning whether they should have their kid play rugby or soccer, that’s their decision made right there.

So my point is that parents would've watched BOD's actions on field as well as he is supposed to be a rolmodel too.

A bad tackle can leave someone paralised or injured ro long time. Remember the spear on BOD, he might've broke his neck...but wait...it wasn't that bad because it's only a tackle :rolleyes:

The part in bold I don't disagree with. If you can find anywhere in this forum where I agree with Burger's actions or De Villiers comments then I'll take back what I said. De Villiers is a nob with language difficulty it seems to me and Burger is a disgrace in what he did, will that calm you down?

If I'm the troll how come you're the one that writes jibber jabber on here and can't in a calm rational way debate it properly.:cool:

Close thread please.

I should start a poll:

If you can find any bit of information to prove I'm biased let's hear it. Explain to me why I should have to agree with every Irish person's opinion on this board? Because if not, then I'm biased.

I ask the questions that no one wants to ask or hear about.

If you can find any bit of information to prove I'm biased let's hear it. Explain to me why I should have to agree with every Irish person's opinion on this board? Because if not, then I'm biased.

Ah I was only messing mate.

That comment on Bod was biased to be fair.

/exits stage left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

biased or not, you have to be impressed by his spoon work

truely impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

PDV wrote:
    "I am against anything that's not in the spirit of the game, anything. We won't go to the lows of being negative in the sense of positive games.
    "We have brilliant players in this country and most of them are world-class. If we want to eye-gouge any Lions we go down the bush veldt, like we normally do, and eye-gouge them and see if they can run.
    "But we will never, never encourage anybody to be negative or bring the game into disrepute.
    "Eye gouging is like biting, punching, head butting, spear tackling - all those things don't belong in the game.

That is an actual verbatim quote from the interview during which he supposedly defended gouging.

The NH media have been disgraceful in this.
    They made a circus out of the press conference, taking away from the spectacle of the game COS THE LIONS LOST.

They coloured the events and now you have drico, reading bull**** Journos saying PDV condoned Gouging, and shooting his fruit salad off.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    That is an actual verbatim quote from the interview during which he supposedly defended gouging.

"The NH media have been disgraceful in this.
    They made a circus out of the press conference, taking away from the spectacle of the game COS THE LIONS LOST.

They coloured the events and now you have drico, reading bull**** Journos saying PDV condoned Gouging, and shooting his fruit salad off.

actually those quotes seem to be from the next days conference when he tried to clarify what he had said the day before

"The lunchtime rendezvous had afforded de Villiers the opportunity to retract his ludicrous assertion that Schalk Burger didn’t deserve a yellow card or a citing for gouging Luke Fitzgerald.

But despite the eight-week ban imposed on the Boks flanker, as well as Bakkies Botha’s two-week suspension for dangerously charging at Adam Jones (who suffered a dislocated shoulder), de Villiers singularly declined to do so in a rambling defence of a favoured player he admits to building his team around.

Asked if he was against foul play, de Villiers said: “I am against anything that’s not in the spirit of the game, anything. We won’t go to the lows of being negative in the sense of positive games. We have got brilliant players in this country; they are world-class, most of them."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I think most of us would run away from the likes of Matfield. :pac:

Originally Posted by PDV
    "I am against anything that's not in the spirit of the game, anything. We won't go to the lows of being negative in the sense of positive games.
    "We have brilliant players in this country and most of them are world-class. If we want to eye-gouge any Lions we go down the bush veldt, like we normally do, and eye-gouge them and see if they can run.
    "But we will never, never encourage anybody to be negative or bring the game into disrepute.
    "Eye gouging is like biting, punching, head butting, spear tackling - all those things don't belong in the game.

:D In the bold print he is actually referring to real Lions and adds a bit of sarcasm :D :rolleyes: - Hook, line and ssssuckers.....

Ah yes, blame the messengers. It's their fault.

They made up what PDV said.
    They made up Burgers gouging - it didn't happen.
    THey made up Bothas charging on Jones - it didn't happen.

By the way, Sheridan should have been cited/suspended for punching Botha(?) in the bollix in the 2nd half as well.

What the hell are you on about?
    They cherry picked quotes from PDV and ignored his condemnation.

The rest of that quoted text is utter nonsense.
    I mean its just silly sarcasm for the sake of silly sarcasm. It brings nothing to the debate.

By the way, Sheridan should have been cited/suspended for punching Botha(?) in the bollix in the 2nd half as well.

Dancer = Rugby does not go well together, we know what PDV said about it so please change your username.

No one is defending Burger's gouging.
    Botha did in fact nothing illegal with clearing Jones out of the ruck. He was cited because Jones got ingured.

IF Sheridan enjoys touching other player's balls rather than the rugger one it's his perogative.

I mean its just silly sarcasm for the sake of silly sarcasm. It brings nothing to the debate.

These are the comments from PDV on the Burger incident

"It is a contact sport and so is dancing. Guys who can’t take it, let’s go to the nearest ballet shop and get some tutus," De Villiers said.

When he was asked if he thought the sport was becoming more violent De Villiers said: "If we are going to make it soft because we want a safe series and people don’t like it, I can’t do anything about it."

Television footage showed Burger’s fingers making contact with Fitzgerald’s eye inside the first minute of the game in Pretoria.

"I have watched the television footage, and am still convinced that nothing he did was on purpose," said De Villiers. "He is an honourable man – he never meant to go to anyone’s eye."

It is these comments that annoyed people

the NEXT day he made the comments d'Oracle posted above condemning gouging etc those comments were published in the NH media..HOWEVER.....he still did not actually condemn Burger or admit that Burger gouged Fitzgerald

OK - here.....

De Villiers added that as Springbok coach he stood against play that was not in the spirit of the game.

"Eye-gouging is something that we as a team will never be part of," he said.

"The same applies to biting, head-butting, spear tackling or any other foul play that doesn't belong in the game.

"My comments on Saturday were based on what I know of Schalk Burger as a player and not on what occurred. It was never my intention to suggest that I condone foul play – that is the last thing I would ever do and I apologise for creating any other impression."

OK, that's what he said. On Monday. as he said himself his comments were about Schalk Burger personally and not about what Burger did on Saturday. I was talking about what Burger did on Saturday, as were most of the journalist (NH & SH incidentally) as most of the journalists don't know Burger personally. We only get to form an opinion of him when he is putting his fingers into an opponents eyes in the first minute, not about all the wonderful things he probably does outside of this.

Finally, by PDV apologising for what he said on Saturday, it seems to suggest that he had said something for which he should apologise? Like condoning foul play?

Riskymove wrote: »

"It is a contact sport and so is dancing. Guys who can’t take it, let’s go to the nearest ballet shop and get some tutus," De Villiers said.

When he was asked if he thought the sport was becoming more violent De Villiers said: "If we are going to make it soft because we want a safe series and people don’t like it, I can’t do anything about it."

Television footage showed Burger’s fingers making contact with Fitzgerald’s eye inside the first minute of the game in Pretoria.

"I have watched the television footage, and am still convinced that nothing he did was on purpose," said De Villiers. "He is an honourable man – he never meant to go to anyone’s eye."

the NEXT day he made the comments d'Oracle posted above condemning gouging etc those comments were published in the NH media..HOWEVER.....he still did not actually condemn Burger or admit that Burger gouged Fitzgerald

I'll start off again by saying what Burger did was dispicable and PDV is a clown. But I've watched the media footage of PDV again and it seems that the main issue here is his mother tongue, the dude just can't explain himself properly on camera. I thought I was bad but I look like a genius compared to the way he spat out his words. I think he was dissapointed in Burger too because from a previous quote "we base 60% around Burger" and don't think he wanted to acknowledge that which is cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

PDV's problem is he's so goddamm incoherent that I don't think even he knows what he's saying. A stream of non-sensical rubbish just spews from his mouth which people are then forced to pick through and try interpret.

I watched the press conference and could make little sense from what he said, other than that he will judge Burger by what he knows of the man, not the incident. This alone is unacceptable - imagine a court of law working on this principle? Laughable.

Amabokke, your comparison of Burger's gouging to BOD's attempted tackle on Russow is equally laughable, and pathetic. Those horrific images of Burger's hands reaching around for Fitz's eye sockets sicken me just as much now as they did last Saturday.

OK, that's what he said. On Monday. as he said himself his comments were about Schalk Burger personally and not about what Burger did on Saturday. I was talking about what Burger did on Saturday, as were most of the journalist (NH & SH incidentally) as most of the journalists don't know Burger personally. We only get to form an opinion of him when he is putting his fingers into an opponents eyes in the first minute, not about all the wonderful things he probably does outside of this.
    quote]

No you don't. Search through this post and you'll find loads of posters bashing Burger as a dirty player. Opinion about Burger has been formed long before this match.

I understand the issue here.
    My problem is the BS surrounding it.
    I don't particularly like the language he used, or his timing, but there is an issue in the dancing comment.

Of course it shouldn't be raised with relation to Gouging, but there is a clear movement to soften rugby at the moment.

The question of intention is a total non-issue. In all my years watching sport I could probably count the times a coach has found fault with their players foul play on one hand.

The fact is that I read articles from PDV saying he condoned Gouging, whilst quoting the conference which contained the passage I quoted.

Now I am hearing BOD saying PDV condoned gouging and said its "part of the game". I don't like putting words in people mouth.

Dancer = Rugby does not go well together, we know what PDV said about it so please change your username.

No one is defending Burger's gouging.
    Botha did in fact nothing illegal with clearing Jones out of the ruck. He was cited because Jones got ingured.

IF Sheridan enjoys touching other player's balls rather than the rugger one it's his perogative.
    Bokke...jaysus...i wondered when someone might take notice of me name!!

I take it you ARE joking about changing my username, or have you issues with your masculinity being attacked on the forum by usernames....:D

Thats harsh on Botha if he got done for playing the game fairly. Hard, but fairly.

If Sheridan was only touching Bothas balls, it might be one thing..he puched him which is a little more S & M in my view. Still it takes all sorts...

ALH-06 wrote: »
    Amabokke, your comparison of Burger's gouging to BOD's attempted tackle on Russow is equally laughable, and pathetic. Those horrific images of Burger's hands reaching around for Fitz's eye sockets sicken me just as much now as they did last Saturday.

Now where did I compare the two? I did acknowledge countless times what Burger did and my view on it. Where did I suggest BOD's tackle was equal?

My point is that BOD jumps on the bandwagon about being a rolmodel and Dad's not wanting their kids to play rugby because of it when BOD also don;t show good rolmodelship.

No you don't. Search through this post and you'll find loads of posters bashing Burger as a dirty player. Opinion about Burger has been formed long before this match.

True.
    He is also one of the best 6 forwards in the world, which usually implies a bit of dirt, but he goes too far.

I recall the time when he picked McCaw up around the shoulder and leg, slammed him side down on the ground, and protested the yellow with the ref.
    Grounds: "but it wasnt a speeah!"

I don't like putting words in people mouth.

Niether do i which is why i looked up the quotes

there has been an over reaction to the original comments but to be fair if anyone is asked what they thought about a gouging incident and the answer was "ah lets all get tutus if you cant take it" then i think its fair to read that as meaning you see gouging as part and parcel of a hard physical game

I also understand that managers don't like to condemn their own players publically

Bokke...jaysus...i wondered when someone might take notice of me name!!...

Try to be the devils advocate, that'll work better.

My point is that BOD jumps on the bandwagon about being a rolmodel and Dad's not wanting their kids to play rugby because of it when BOD also don;t show good rolmodelship.

please provide a quote of BOD claiming he is a rolemodel

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

no, thats not the quote. This is
    should it have been a sending off?

"I don’t think it should have been a card at all,For me and for everybody, this is sport. This is what it is all about.

"What people think and what people say to us is their opinion and we honour their opinion but it doesn’t mean we all agree with it."

are you condoding gouging?
    "You must understand very clearly that rugby is a contact sport,
    If you really know the game and dissect it, you'll see all sorts of malicious and off-the-ball incidents. In this game, people sometimes get away with it. "If you're not up to the contact why not go to a ballet shop and buy a tutu? "In this game there will be collisions. There are no collisions in ballet.

Whatever about the media involvement, you are making out that he didn't say the above, and he did. He even bloody apologised for it!
    Eye-gouging is something that we as a team will never be part of," he said. "The same applies to biting, head-butting, spear tackling or any other foul play that doesn't belong in the game.

"My comments on Saturday were based on what I know of Schalk Burger as a player and not on what occurred. It was never my intention to suggest that I condone foul play - that is the last thing I would ever do and I apologise for creating any other impression."

quote]

Yes i Do Bokke! Perhaps I should have said I instead of We..

TBH, I couldn't care less what anyone else here thinks of Burger or his reputation. Each game is a new event. I let my eyes decide on what kind of player he is. What Burger did on Saturday was scumbag dirty play in my eyes. (or in Fitzgeralds:) )
    It appears that he is one of the worlds great players, and I bow to superior knowledge of others here about that. But he was a scumbag on Saturday. And PDV's refusal to condemn him when asked directly led the IRB /SARU to have to "persuade" PDV to recant what he said on Saturday.

copacetic wrote: »
    no, thats not the quote. This is

Yes it is.

In fact, you quoted the same passage at the bottom of your post.

Frankly, I don't care what you think I'm making out after that doozy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

Now where did I compare the two?

Right here, when you brought up the following in a thread about BOD's condemning of gouging:
    The same rolmodel BOD who throw the ball and then pushed Matfield and said "Bring it on" and ran away like a sissy. The same rolmodel that tackled without his hands to injure him and another player?

Just a quick note on one of the more basic points in debating / general discussion - the illustrating of an unrelated incident to properly contextualise a specific matter of discussion is 'to use a comparison'.

If you don't want to stand by what you say, don't say it in the first place. It is deeply irritating when you then renege on past comments, however badly thought out they may be.

Yes it is.

In fact, you quoted the same passage at the bottom of your post.

Frankly, I don't care what you think I'm making out after that doozy.

As already pointed out to you, you quoted the apology quote the next day as if it was the press conference that started all the fuss. Which of course it wasn't. You of course left out the key bit where he mentions what he said on saturday.

you quoted the apology quote the next day as if it was the press conference that started all the fuss. Which of course it wasn't. You of course left out the key bit where he mentions what he said on saturday.

Nothing of the sort. You came to that conclusion by yourself.

My point is the fact that the media have blacked out the fact that the man condemned gouging. In favour of painting him as this devil figure and now after 4 days of Journo (OMG PDV IS TEH DEVIL) we have drico slamming him.

People have a right to reply in these situations. His reply is being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

A bad tackle can leave someone paralised or injured ro long time. Remember the spear on BOD, he might've broke his neck...but wait...it wasn't that bad because it's only a tackle
    Who said it wasnt a bad tackle?

GoGoEnpea wrote: »
    Who said it wasnt a bad tackle?

Who said it was a tackle?

d'Oracle wrote:
    Nothing of the sort. You came to that conclusion by yourself.

Rubbish, you said this:

and gave a quote from the wrong interview, ie the one he apologised in, not the one he defended gouging in. simple.

Rubbish, you said this:

and gave a quote from the wrong interview, ie the one he apologised in, not the one he defended gouging in. simple.

Ah. Right.

Point still stands.
    There still exists a point where he condemned gouging which has been ignored by the media and Mr. O'Driscoll.

It doesn't sit right with me.
    His right to reply is still being washed away.

Ah. Right.

Point still stands.
    There still exists a point where he condemned gouging which has been ignored by the media and Mr. O'Driscoll.

It doesn't sit right with me.
    His right to reply is still being washed away.
    Not in my opinion.

Here is his reply and the reply of the SARU

http://www.rugby365.com/all_news/sa/news/1771460.htm by a SH Journo I think...

Again, in my opinion, PDV STILL tries to row back at the end by talking about Burger the man as opposed to what he did on Saturday, which to me is an attempt to gloss over a sincere apology.

I can see that he is mates with Burger, but there is an expectancy (among the IRB as well it would appear) that coaches are seen NOT to condone scumbag behaviour on the field.

please provide a quote of BOD claiming he is a rolemodel

‘Parents watching an interview like that, questioning whether they should have their kid play rugby or soccer, that’s their decision made right there

If he did not consider himself to be a rolemodel he wouldn't be so concerned about what kids and parents might thought of it.

Not in my opinion.

Which I have no respect for.

:D That was good. Did you google that response?

You also failed to mention that you have no respect for the truth either, judging by your inability to accept what PDV actually said between Saturday and Monday.

If he did not consider himself to be a rolemodel he wouldn't be so concerned about what kids and parents might thought of it.

rubbish....you have decided that he puts himself up as a rodemodel and are trying to make things fit your previous statements

more stirring

anyone involved in rugby should be concerned at how it is percieved to ensure people do get their kids involved, you do not have to be a role model to care about how rugby is portrayed

ALH-06 wrote: »
    Right here, when you brought up the following in a thread about BOD's condemning of gouging:

If you don't want to stand by what you say, don't say it in the first place. It is deeply irritating when you then renege on past comments, however badly thought out they may be.

No, I did not compare the two (please quote if you can) - I said BOD = pot, kettle, black for blasting someone when he is also not being so honest on the pitch.

If I was comparing the two I'd say BOD tackle was just as bad as Burger's or should've been red carded too, which you won't find me anywhere saying.
    Just a quick note on one of the more basic points in debating / general discussion - the illustrating of an unrelated incident to properly contextualise a specific matter of discussion is 'to use a comparison'

Then you should take note, BOD's incident is not unrelated to Burger's. The heading of this forum is "O'Driscoll blasts De Villiers" and I made the point that he blames someone for something if he too is playing negatively so it is 100% related. We're not discussing the Burger incident, we're discussing BOD's blasting. It irritates me too if posters can't get their stories right and repeat what everyone else is saying.

rubbish....you have decided that he puts himself up as a rodemodel and are trying to make things fit your previous statements

more stirring

anyone involved in rugby should be concerned at how it is percieved to ensure people do get their kids involved, you do not have to be a role model to care about how rugby is portrayed

Although in fairness, parents who are comparing the portrayed values of the two sports, would be mad to think that the crap that goes on in football these days will stand to their kids.

Personally a few isolated incidents from a couple of dirty players, is nothing compared to the highlight reel of cheating, elbowing kneehigh tackles and generally dishonest and underhanded crap that goes on in Association Football.

And Amabokke, in all fairness to both players, BOD is pretty clean. That barge tackle was on the limit of what could be considered "not using the arms". I think he actually tried.
    And I don't see any problem with pushing and sledging. NO SOUTH AFRICAN FAN CAN EITHER.

Burgers is that dirty, that I makes BOD looks like a saint.

more stirring

Rubbish. If you can prove that he does not want to be a rolemodel for kids and parents and just saying these things for the sake of saying it then I'd agree with you.

BOD is a very big figure in rugby so when he talks people listen. If my son saw the incident I'd tell him that is not part of rugby and we don't support it. I don't need BOD to tell my son that through the media. Why make a big deal then if BOD says it.

YAY!!

I found the BS Thread!!