Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one for the experts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

now here's a funny thing...i actually saw one of those!!
    We were in Barcelona in early january and one passed by. At first i thought "ah, a nice old 5", but then i twigged the boot tacked on the back. I really haqd to do a double take, it was gone by then and i began to doubt myself. I was sure it was a saloon, but then wondered perhaps it was a Dacia, or some other east european bodied ex-Renault.
    And here's the thing - it was the exact same colour! (it didnt have the ahem, toro bars, fitted to this one)
    Never seen one before, and never knew it was badged as a R7

Great find 2cv!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

I've seen one or two years ago in Spain as well.... but never realised the rarity of them till much later... looks kinda odd though.

Its certainly odd looking from any angle but head-on - that boot is just all wrong..

I like some of the sellers strange points -
    "New traffic lights. Change on the scoreboard" ??? :confused::D

tc20 wrote: »
    Its certainly odd looking from any angle but head-on - that boot is just all wrong..

I like some of the sellers strange points -
    "New traffic lights. Change on the scoreboard" ??? :confused::D

seller is obviously spanish
    we must make allowances for poor english
    :-)

oh i'm all for it, it gave me a chuckle.. I wouldn't like to think how i'd garble an ad if i were trying to sell a car in Spain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

2cv wrote: »
    seller is obviously spanish
    we must make allowances for poor english
    :-)
    Couldnt resist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I've seen them before in Spain and France. Never knew they were badged R7 though

Asking price is a joke though :)

unkel wrote: »
    I've seen them before in Spain and France. Never knew they were badged R7 though

Asking price is a joke though :)

as far as i know, they were never marketed in france... a few of them might have been imported by enthusiasts, but that's about it

and as far as the asking price goes.... well you can't blame him for trying, bless :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭quattro777

and as far as the asking price goes.... well you can't blame him for trying, bless :D:D

If he wants to shift it he'll have to try harder, its been for sale for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Intresting.
    Grew up in the '70s myself & dont remember those.

Do remember the 4,5,6,8(rear engined),9('80s car),10(rear engined),11('80s again),12,16,18,20 & 30.

Think there might have been a 14 hatchback in the '80 too.

Was there a R25, or is my memory playing tricks.

Anywho, those are the Renaults I rem growing up.

Wait, was the R17 the forerunner to the Fuego?

Intresting.
    Grew up in the '70s myself & dont remember those.

Do remember the 4,5,6,8(rear engined),9('80s car),10(rear engined),11('80s again),12,16,18,20 & 30.

Think there might have been a 14 hatchback in the '80 too.

Was there a R25, or is my memory playing tricks.

Anywho, those are the Renaults I rem growing up.

Wait, was the R17 the forerunner to the Fuego?

There was a Renault 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16,17,18, 19, 20, 21, 25 and 30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Whatcar

The R7 was a 4 door booted version of the 5 and had chrome bumpers. It was sold in Spain and the islands. I remember seing them when I was on hols years ago and thought i was seing things :D

There was a Renault 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16,17,18, 19, 20, 21, 25 and 30

Of course, the 21!
    the big hatchback yoke.

The 19 aswell forerunner to the laguna, I think?!
    Havent seen one o them in a while..........

What was an R3?

The R3 was a budget R4 early 60's it didnt have the rear quater windows and had a 600cc engine and some other diff on front:)

Of course, the 21!
    the big hatchback yoke.

The 19 aswell forerunner to the laguna, I think?!
    Havent seen one o them in a while..........

What was an R3?

21 came in saloon, hatchback and estate... estate was called Savanna here and Nevada on the continent.

the 19 was replaced by the megane, not the laguna

Now that you mention it I think I read an article about that once..

21 came in saloon, hatchback and estate... estate was called Savanna here and Nevada on the continent.

Rings a bell alright.
    Kinda lost intrest in cars in the '90s beyond a certain few brands.

Not sure why this is what it is..
    dyn002_original_400_300_pjpeg_2539478_d5f2fca203e96caa07d9ad6dd8ec677a.jpg

But its interesting enough to post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Renotec

Yer on a roll there 2CV! - Don't forget to slot in the Dauphine, Caravelle,Rodeo, Espace, That covers 1960-ish to mid '90's (excluding commercials).

And if only some of the named models like this one made it to Europe!!
    http://bringatrailer.com/2009/04/30/rare-in-the-usa-1977-renault-torino-zx/

Trivia: There was a 13 planned but never made it. Apparently half of the Renault people did not want it because of the "unlucky" number, the other half wanted it as they believed it would boost sales being the "taboo" number. But the French public declined the magic number as a result of a marketing campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Renotec

Trivia: The 21 was the most expensive venture for Renault. It had 12 body/engine configurations!

Renotec wrote: »
    Yer on a roll there 2CV! - Don't forget to slot in the Dauphine, Caravelle,Rodeo, Espace, That covers 1960-ish to mid '90's (excluding commercials).

And if only some of the named models like this one made it to Europe!!
    http://bringatrailer.com/2009/04/30/rare-in-the-usa-1977-renault-torino-zx/

Trivia: There was a 13 planned but never made it. Apparently half of the Renault people did not want it because of the "unlucky" number, the other half wanted it as they believed it would boost sales being the "taboo" number. But the French public declined the magic number as a result of a marketing campaign.

i was only mentioning the numbered ones.... lol
    otherwise the list would be endless...

there was a renault 9 convertible in the states as well...

Do you remember the 20 and 30 :) I had one for my wedding in 1978 :D
    they were so comfortable a great drivers car. I also had a 15 GTL and 17TS

Whatcar wrote: »
    Do you remember the 20 and 30 :) I had one for my wedding in 1978 :D
    they were so comfortable a great drivers car. I also had a 15 GTL and 17TS

you can still pick up a decent 20 for little money in france

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DannyBuoy

I kinda like that 7, it has the double take factor when someone looks at it and thinks they're seeing a 5 and then looks back when they see the boot.

On the 20 and 30, what I remember most was the weight of the gearboxes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

I remember seeing a TV clip of the Renault 7 going down the production line years ago, they had a kind of acro jack between the rear wings and were making adjustments with the jack and a large hammer to get the boot lid to fit!
    Obviously not assembled by robots! :D

invest4deepvalue.com

Do-more wrote: »
    I remember seeing a TV clip of the Renault 7 going down the production line years ago, they had a kind of acro jack between the rear wings and were making adjustments with the jack and a large hammer to get the boot lid to fit!
    Obviously not assembled by robots! :D

That was a very normal thing on assembly lines then before robots :D
    They use to do the same on the Mini when fitting the doors, they had to jack the corners with a jig to get them to fit.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

It looks like a cross between a 5 and a 12 to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Luke Crowley

I think it's kinda pretty, looks a bit like a tidied-up 12.

EH Guys!!!! Its fuppin Ugly :eek: even in the 70's, dont forget it was a R5 first. It actually looks like a Toledo and I am sure they used one in a recent
    ad :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Not sure why this is what it is..
    dyn002_original_400_300_pjpeg_2539478_d5f2fca203e96caa07d9ad6dd8ec677a.jpg

But its interesting enough to post!

obviously brand new, unregistered and a motorshow cutaway/exhibitionist.:D

The 7 is just another of those cars whose origins came from a hatchback and
    when the Spanish motor industry was just a bunch of licenses handed out to Franco to put an extra 2 doors in cars like the Seat 600 or 850.

There is also a Renault Fregate, Corale, Floride, Oudine and Juvaquatre.

Is there a Renault 1, 2?

I know of a Renault Thalia/Symbio that resides down the road from me, today's Renault 7 (Clio with a boot), like the Ford Fiesta sedan being sold in developing countries.

G Luxel wrote: »

Is there a Renault 1, 2?

I know of a Renault Thalia/Symbio that resides down the road from me, today's Renault 7 (Clio with a boot), like the Ford Fiesta sedan being sold in developing countries.

There was never a Renault 1 or 2 as far as i know, correct me if i'm wrong...

The Thalia or whatever it is is just a Clio with a boot indeed. Let me guess, polish plates?? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I know it's not a classic, but it had a 15 year production run and sold 2.5 million times (in LHD), so it should get an honorary mention:

The Twingo

375_Renault_Twingo_01.jpg

peasant wrote: »
    I know it's not a classic, but it had a 15 year production run and sold 2.5 million times (in LHD), so it should get an honorary mention:

The Twingo

375_Renault_Twingo_01.jpg

Absolutely LOVE the Mk1 Twingo. Fabulous little motor!!! Especially the later versions (1999 onwards) in "Initiale" version (top of the range).

31.jpg

dscd0588.jpg

What do you make of this Dave?
    ralliance87.jpg
    A renault allience GTA,american i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ti gui

Looks like a r9 or r11 with 2 doors and funny stikers:rolleyes:

Love the garda r4 they look so scary:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...back is very Simca-like imho.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

It's american, just look at the headlights :-)

There's a convertible version of this as well...

^^ whats with the two R4s in Carch's post above (post # 35) ?
    The bodies look...i dont know exactly.....wrong? It looks like they've been on the oul' steroids. Or have they had the Mitsuoka treatment? :confused:

edit: i'm also a fan of the Mk1 Twingos - a friend had one in Germany in the early 90s. cheeky little car, and surprisingly roomy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ti gui

they are Suzuky Ancel Lapin with a body kit from DAMD (japan) for around €3000 if you want a r4 look.
    a bit mad I think but hey its for the japanese they are a bit different that way.
    I have more pics but havent a clue how to stick them here:o! I'll ask 2cv on saturday.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

A version of the 9&11 were assembled in the USA for their market.
    They were called the ALLIANCE & GTA.
    Some more info
    The 17 was sold in Italy as the 177 as the number 17 is unlucky in Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Whatcar wrote: »
    EH Guys!!!! Its fuppin Ugly :eek: even in the 70's, dont forget it was a R5 first. It actually looks like a Toledo and I am sure they used one in a recent
    ad :rolleyes:.

Are you thinking about the ad for LV insurance on the sat channels, the red Toledo lookalike that gets destroyed by the Volvo estate is an Austin Apache, a rebodied Austin 1100.

I saw a R21 hatchback this morning in Oranmore, dark grey, i've seen it a few times and its the only one i've ever seen.

Was the R3 sold in Ireland?, I could swear i've an old ad in a magazine for the R4 showing a model with no rear quarter windows.

Also, the 7 was not marketed at the 7,,but as the French/Spanish(not sure) Word for Seven which is Siete---"The new Renault Siete". As far as I know they were originally only suppose to be for the French/Spanish/Eastern Markets.Look at the similarity
    The Renault Thalia would be the current version,which is a saloon of the Clio CAMPUS.
    7.jpg
    renault_thalia_2002_02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

and then there were the Renault 8 / 10 /12 clones from Dacia

800px-AutoDaciaBucarest.jpg

And for the really obscure.The Brazilian Ford Corcel is actually a Renault 12 mechanically even down to the 3 stud wheels. The estate actually looks a bit like a 12.
    11384.jpg

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Jump to: navigation, search
    The Ford Corcel was a car sold by Ford Motor Company in Brazil, Chile and Venezuela.

The Corcel's origins lay in the Renault 12. Willys-Overland's Brazilian operation included manufacturing the Renault Dauphine and, when it was bought by Ford do Brasil in the late 1960s, plans were underway to replace it with the Renault 12, and Ford inherited the project. [1]

However, the styling of the Corcel was unique to Brazil before 1978. From this year, the Corcel II, as it became known, bore a strong resemblance to the Ford Escort and Ford Taunus sold in Europe and in Argentina, but its underpinnings were the same.

The first year of production of the Brazilian Ford Corcel was 1968, when it came as a four-door sedan with a 1.3-litre, 68 hp (51 kW) water-cooled engine. A coupe and a three-door station wagon version of the Ford Corcel, the latter called Belina, were eventually released. Later, a L (for "Luxury") and a GT version were made. With each passing year, many styling changes were made, borrowing several details from the Ford Maverick, and becoming more and more like a Pony car.

The facelifted Corcel I (mk1.5) had a more aggressive look in contrast from the conservative 1968 version. On other hand, the Corcel II had a very conservative and family-oriented design.

Side view of a 1975 CorcelSome of the L and all GT versions also came with 1.4-litre 85 hp (63 kW) water-cooled engine with double-barrel carburetor, which was very easy to modify for greater power. Some shops had the option to install an unofficial small tuning kit that would improve the engine's horsepower to 95. Note that all of these HP values were accounted using the low quality, low octane south-American petrol of the time. Using today's better fuel would improve these values significantly.

The Corcel GT was moderately successful in Brazilian Tarumã, Interlagos and beach rally street car championships during the seventies, thanks to its front-wheel-drive stability and low weight (920 kg), which allowed a high power-to-weight ratio. It would not be faster than the V-8 Maverick and Chevrolet Opala, but it would beat everything else, including 4- and 6-cylinder Mavericks and some Dodge Chargers that subscribed the events. Those championships unveiled that the front drive universal joint was prone to break under heavy stress, so in 1976 the Corcel line adopted the Constant-velocity joint.

In 1978, following the Corcel, Ford launched the Corcel II, with completely re-made design and straight lines opposing the pony car style. These changes were also applied to the Belina, while the 4-door version was dropped. But the Corcel II was heavier too (970 kg). The Ford Corcel II originated a pick-up version called the Ford Pampa in 1982, which would eventually be available with four wheel drive.

The Ford Del Rey, introduced in 1981, with a more upright roofline and a four-door model available. A station wagon version (Ford Scala) differed from the Belina only in trim.

All had a slight face lift for the 1985 model year. The Corcel II became known again simply as the Corcel. The interior was now the same for all four models. Outside, while the Corcel and the Del Rey were fastback and sedan versions of the same car, the Belina and the Scala, which where the same car with some interior/exterior differences were now almost identical; only a few details, such as the taillamps, differentiated these two models. The Belina was made available with the same four-wheel-drive system used in the Pampa. This system seemed to have questionable reliability; Quatro Rodas magazine did a long-term test of a Belina 4x4 (50,000 km) in which breakdowns were very frequent.

1986 was the last year for the Corcel. The Belina was also discontinued in 1986, but its name was, from then on, applied to what had been the Scala (a name that had never really caught on).

The engine was a CHT, an improved version of the Ventoux engine used in the first Corcel of 1968. By now it had been bored and stroked to 1555 cc, with a redesigned cylinder head, a rotating valve design and many other peripheral improvements.

In 1989, as a result of the Autolatina joint-venture, the much stronger Volkswagen AP-1800 engine replaced the 1.6L in all models of the Del Rey and Belina, and made available in all models of the Pampa except for the ones with four wheel drive.

The Del Rey and the "new" Belina were discontinued in 1991, being replaced by the Ford Versailles and Ford Royale respectively (Passat B2 version fascia). The Pampa would soldier on until 1996, when Ford introduced the smaller, Fiesta Mk2-based Ford Courier

Blue850 wrote: »
    Are you thinking about the ad for LV insurance on the sat channels, the red Toledo lookalike that gets destroyed by the Volvo estate is an Austin Apache, a rebodied Austin 1100.

I think your right :rolleyes: good one man ! there were simular cars sold in both
    Spain (Victoria)and South Africa (Apache) all have a great look of the Toledo and 2000 :)

8v01974apache.jpg

yeuado16spain07.jpg

eokado16spain06.jpg

jun800pxaustinvictoriamkiivm6.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Luke Crowley

dscd0588.jpg

Wow, I've never seen one of those in full Garda livery before. I used to have one that I was told was ex-Garda (registration ZS 3514) but by the time I got my hands on it, it had been stripped of all Garda logos and equipment - except for a few extra mystery switches on the dash. :)

Theres an air of kilinascully about it,yer man on the right almost looks like pat shortt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

The Thalia or whatever it is is just a Clio with a boot indeed. Let me guess, polish plates?? :D:D

yes 2cv, your right, its on polish plates, but its the earlier version, from around 2002 . There is also a new booted version of the present model.

Speaking of old Renault 4's, have these postcards, obviously it appears that photographers of the day just took pictures of anything, just to make money for their employers.. Take the 2nd one, O Connell Street Dublin, before 1966, and you will find an R4 approaching the Daniel O Connell statue on the right, could it be an R3 as the rear screen is very small.

and, specially for u ....2cv, u will find something of interest in that pic too:D

Not sure when the top picture was taken, possibly after 1970, but I can assume that there was no tidy towns competition ................ so much litter, filthy cars abandoned everywhere (or maybe in the case of the Anglia and the Thames van, looks like a bank robbery), and no white lines and pride of place goes to an R4.