Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lazy Academics Discussion? Gone completely off topic!

• 30-06-2009 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭

This year has really opened my eyes as to how lazy and over-paid some of our Lecturers really are!

Some just down-right ignore emails from students and others will refuse to correct Continuous assessments/ assignments for weeks/months on end!

Anybody else have any similiar issues with faculty members, I'm intrigued by it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭fredmc

I had one this year who refused to correct a CA, he gave a different excuse to everyone who went to his office(as far as I know he didn't reply to e-mails). I wouldn't mind so much but it was handed up in November and we'd been given results for a project that was longer and handed up later. Most lecturers are grand though, we'd always get exams back within a few weeks and some would tell us their office hours in every lecture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Same As

fredmc wrote: »
    I had one this year who refused to correct a CA, he gave a different excuse to everyone who went to his office(as far as I know he didn't reply to e-mails). I wouldn't mind so much but it was handed up in November and we'd been given results for a project that was longer and handed up later. Most lecturers are grand though, we'd always get exams back within a few weeks and some would tell us their office hours in every lecture.

We might have had the same guy :eek:? What department was he from?

He was Management. I heard bad things about him from other years.

Same guy I'd say!

Would his initials happen to be Mr K S ?

That's him:pac:

Was it the MG**** module by any chance?

Yup. 2 hours every Friday morning...

A fellow Commerce head so I'd assume? :pac:

Yes indeed. There seems to be a lot of us on here.

Ah right, I actually emailed both K S and J W after we got our results last week, still no word back, useless f**kers! :rolleyes:

Heard that J W was caught giving a whole class around the same mark a couple of years back? Wanted to see if he was up to his old tricks again, considering we didn't get the results for either of the CA's...

I heard that too. I also heard he gave results to people who didn't submit anything which is how he got caught. It'd be nice to know how I did , I put a lot of effort into JW's CA.

If they won't reply to emails during college, what d'ya think the chances of them replying during the Summer is?:p

I heard that too. I also heard he gave results to people who didn't submit anything which is how he got caught. It'd be nice to know how I did , I put a lot of effort into JW's CA.

If they won't reply to emails during college, what d'ya think the chances of them replying during the Summer is?:p

Haha really? Never heard that side of the story! :D

Ya same here, those damn clogs were a pain in the hole!

That's true, we live in hope though, might call to their offices and ask them what their problem is, especially the K S knob! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Same As wrote: »
    Ah right, I actually emailed both K S and J W after we got our results last week, still no word back, useless f**kers! :rolleyes:

Heard that J W was caught giving a whole class around the same mark a couple of years back? Wanted to see if he was up to his old tricks again, considering we didn't get the results for either of the CA's...

I went to J W just before the month off to try and get the result and he just blamed K S. said he couldnt give out results until he did too. Now whats his excuse like? You are allowed to view examination scripts if i'm not mistaken so technically they should tell us what percentage we got in the individual continuous assesments.

deisedude wrote: »
    I went to J W just before the month off to try and get the result and he just blamed K S. said he couldnt give out results until he did too. Now whats his excuse like? You are allowed to view examination scripts if i'm not mistaken so technically they should tell us what percentage we got in the individual continuous assesments.

Can't believe it, I ACTUALLY got a reply from K S! J W wasn't the problem, K S was the module co-ordinator!

I wonder is it possible to review the CA's, would love to give K S some extra work over the summer! :D

I went to KS's office a few times, and he was never there. JW told us he had to wait for KS to give out his results first.

I wouldn't risk reviewing it, he might actually read it and give me the result I deserve;) Do you think if enough people emailed him he'd post the results online?

I went to KS's office a few times, and he was never there. JW told us he had to wait for KS to give out his results first.

I have an inkling that I may have been there with you, perhaps after an Enterprise meeting? :confused:
    Do you think if enough people emailed him he'd post the results online?

I dont think he would tbh, even though the Market Research Results were put up on Blackboard? Online petition perhaps? :D

I wouldn't risk reviewing it, he might actually read it and give me the result I deserve;) Do you think if enough people emailed him he'd post the results online?

Ha we could try. We now have 3. He's bound to cave in now!:D

Can't believe it, I ACTUALLY got a reply from K S! J W wasn't the problem, K S was the module co-ordinator!

I wonder is it possible to review the CA's, would love to give K S some extra work over the summer! :D

What did K S reply to you if you dont mind me asking if he didnt give you the result?

He gave me the marks for each of the Essays and added them up for me, what a hero! NOT!

Very disappointed with the result of his essay - thought I wrote a good essay! Did quite well in JW's, going to plague KS until he tells me where I went wrong with my essay ha! :D

I have an inkling that I may have been there with you, perhaps after an Enterprise meeting? :confused:

:eek: That is possible. Frank?

3 is not enough deisedude, we took hot girls to him and he still wouldn't cave;)

Spot on boss! Got an e-mail from LD that i'll forward onto you too...

:eek: That is possible. Frank?

3 is not enough deisedude, we took hot girls to him and he still wouldn't cave;)

The chicks work better on a lecturer with a damn sexy mullet :D

Woodsy - Some Man!

Woods by name, and woods by nature!!!

Well you would know:p You must have some fine titties!:D

Way to lower the tone of the thread, I was refering to his passion for the outdoors
    and I don't mean dogging

Way to lower the tone of the thread, I was refering to his passion for the outdoors
    and I don't mean dogging

So i take it you are as flat as an ironing board then!:(

He's some man to give some of the women the exam 2 days before and practically do the exam for them on the day too! :D Ah well, was at more college balls than economics lectures this year and still managed to pass so I couldn't care less if he's into dogging Steve or flat chested women DECLAN (wild guess?)!

Declan thought you were Conor with glasses. Woodsy gives the answers to the exam for nothing but Yvonne wouldn't even give a hint in return for a free lunch.

Cheers for the email. Did you ask him about our lovely tables? They got us the 1H.

He's some man to give some of the women the exam 2 days before and practically do the exam for them on the day too! :D Ah well, was at more college balls than economics lectures this year and still managed to pass so I couldn't care less if he's into dogging Steve or flat chested women DECLAN (wild guess?)!

Damn thats a good guess. Ya i cant complain about him giving out the exam TBH. I can imagine him leaning over the women in the exam looking down their tops as he gives them the answers. What a ledge!:D

So i take it you are as flat as an ironing board then!:(

Not where it counts;)

Declan thought you were Conor with the glasses.

Ah ffs Declan, ha! :pac:
    Cheers for the email. Did you ask him about our lovely tables? They got us the 1H.

No problem, that was pretty much all he said, never asked him about the tables - I'm fairly certain they got us the 1h though , along with the Logo and that lovely picture of a car park on the front page! :pac:
    Damn thats a good guess. Ya i cant complain about him giving out the exam TBH. I can imagine him leaning over the women in the exam looking down their tops as he gives them the answers. What a ledge!

Spot on!

Not where it counts;)

*fap*fap*fap*;)

I feel sorry for anyone else who bothers to read through this thread and wont have a fcuking clue what we are on about!

Ah ffs Declan, ha! :pac:

My most sincere apologies. Steve recognised the way you typed, now thats quite sad

No problem, that was pretty much all he said, never asked him about the tables - I'm fairly certain they got us the 1h though , along with the Logo and that lovely picture of a car park on the front page! :pac:

The lovely picture of a car park that I stole from QPark's website?:D
    Rename the thread to BComm Class of 2011 Appreciation and hopefully it won't be closed.

deisedude, thanks for changing your FB settings.

*fap*fap*fap*;)

I feel sorry for anyone else who bothers to read through this thread and wont have a fcuking clue what we are on about!

I accordingly changed the title of the thread ! :cool:
    My most sincere apologies. Steve recognised the way you typed, now thats quite sad

Very distinctive alright! Happy with the results?
    The lovely picture of a car park that I stole from QPark's website?
    Rename the thread to BComm Class of 2011 Appreciation and hopefully it won't be closed.

Yeah thats the photo alright, he did comment on the lack of the pie chart on the 3rd page though, that pri*k in An Scolaire and his sh1te printer! :D

Hai, I spent enough time reading stuff he'd written last year, and giving out about KS and JW was a dead giveaway:p

Yeah thats the photo alright, he did comment on the lack of the pie chart on the 3rd page though, that pri*k in An Scolaire and his sh1te printer! :D

Didn't we submit an electronic copy? He could've checked that. He is so LAZY (see how I got the thread back on topic) Don't forget the cvnt who printed off 2 copies of his 100page thesis.

giving out about KS and JW was a dead giveaway:p

You couldn't blame me though!! :pac:

That was some pain in the hole waiting for feckin ages and then handing the project in late!

Fair play, ya almost got us back on topic!

I accordingly changed the title of the thread ! :cool:

Very distinctive alright! Happy with the results?

Yep fairly happy with the results, no repeats so cant complain. Dont get me started on that prick in an scolaire. He raped me ..........financially for the market research project!:eek: You still heading to glasgow next year?

Hai, I spent enough time reading stuff he'd written last year, and giving out about KS and JW was a dead giveaway:p

Giving out about those 2, that could have been anyone in our year in fairness

Yep fairly happy with the results, no repeats so cant complain. Dont get me started on that prick in an scolaire. He raped me ..........financially for the market research project!:eek: You still heading to glasgow next year?

Nah man, packed in that idea, gonna chance my arm with placement, unlikely there will be many jobs on offer but sure how bad!

Giving out about those 2, that could have been anyone in our year in fairness

I know sure, that's who we were both on about in our first posts:D

Nah man, packed in that idea, gonna chance my arm with placement, unlikely there will be many jobs on offer but sure how bad!

You can always do the (*shudder!*) research project if you are stuck anyway

Oh dear god no! I'd work for free before I'd do it!

You might be working for free anyway. Sheila Byrne told me that some people might get to do 3 month placements instead.

I'm outty, gotta go to work(unlike some) Catch y'all on the flipside!

You might be working for free anyway. Sheila Byrne told me that some people might get to do 3 month placements instead.

I'm outty, gotta go to work(unlike some) Catch y'all on the flipside!

'scuse me I've been working all day! :D

Oh dear god no! I'd work for free before I'd do it!

The thought of having to go in to college during the summer to do it is enough to put you off it

'scuse me I've been working all day! :D

I think that was directed at me!:(

Yes it was. And Same As, you've been talking to me on boards since 2, that's hardly working:)