Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your hero

• 30-06-2009 7:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭

Since Michael Jackson's death, the papers have been full of tributes. It's obvious how much of a hero and an inspiration he was to many people.
    What makes me sad is the fact, often, it takes a death to make people realise how much a person means to them. Often, we don't acknowledge the important people in our lives, until it's too late.

With this in mind, I'm asking the question who inspires you? Who would you consider your hero to be? - Could be a family member, a celebrity, someone you work with, anyone!

I guess this is just a chance for people to talk about someone who means a lot to them! Vocalise our thoughts, as we so often do in tLL! :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Honnestly, My hero would have to be my dad.

Not that he's faster then a speeding bullet, not that he's Stronger then Concreate. Its Just the things that you dont expect.

My dad's always been there for us, even when he wasnt around.

when i was growing up during the late 80's. it was a bad time to be in the construction business. My dad went away to work, to england, canada. He travelled the world to provide for his family.

He's always been there for us, for me. we dont really share our feelings. Its just not whats really done. But its the small moments that mean the most. Like when my Grandmother died, we were at the funeral. My father and i, solid as rocks. then he Just puts his arm around me. Little things like that.

when i came out of an exam and he collected me, and i told him straight away that i thought i failed. His reply was just "people survive without pieces of paper joseph"

heres to you dad. You legend you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

my hero has always been - Ryan Giggs. in his younger days it was how fast he was on the field and how cute he was now a days it's how he keeps his life private and doesn't do a david beckham job on it.

i was very lucky to meet him bout 3 years ago when he was in dub signing his book. bless the poor guy he spelt my name wrong but ill get over it.:) seen him play in old trafford twice and you name it i have everything you could possibly imagine on the man. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Easy.

Peter Petrelli!
    20071029192223!Peter.Petrelli.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Myself actually. I think I'm so great, that I think I should get the other parachute too! :pac:

Of course I'm messing, but I think we under estimate our own strengths and our resiliance against the shit that we face sometimes. Whenever we want to achieve something, it takes hard work and courage. That is something we have to dig for in ourselves, despite words of praise and support from family and friends. We have to put in the leg work ourselves.

Outside of that, my Dad gets the vote too. Like Agent Smiths dad, my Dad is a man of few words. But he only has to get wind of any problem I'm having and hes at my doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Easy.

Peter Petrelli!

I would say Hayden Panitierre but whatever :P

I don't think I could pick just one. There are many people I look up to and who inspire me but just in differ ways and in different aspects of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

My grandmother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Lovely tribute there AgentSmith. My Dad went away to work as well and missed out a huge (most of) our growing up years. Never a word of complaint from him or my Mother. They just accepted it as part of life.

I have heros and then I have people that I dont know personaly that I admire.

Heros - Mum, Dad, my brother who despite being deaf and blind on one side has never let it stand in his way. My younger bro for his fierce enjoyment of life and never taking anything too seriously and always being the talker in a crisis and bringing people down off the ledge with his wit and humour. One of my best friends has 4 children and is raising them alone through no fault of her own. Her courage in facing life head on and just getting on with it whilst loving her children without reserve is amazing to me. Her strength is an inspiration.

Mary Robbinson is a woman I admire hugely for her principals and courage in standing up for what she believes in.

Pope John Paul was another, as was Mother Theresa. Their conviction and love for humanity was amazing and we could do with alot more of it in the world.

Anyone who looks after sick children. They do something that I could never as I dont have the strength of charachter to look at the heartbreak in parents eyes everyday or and their ability to relate to little people in such pain who dont really understand whats happenning to them just knocks me over every time.

People who dedicate time from their lives to go and work in countries, areas and places that there is desperation and human sufferring on a scale that I will hopefully never know. My Dad was in Sudan when the fammine was happenning and the stories he tells would chill you to the bone. God will never forgive us for what we do to each other.

Boyzone! Just cos yer chancers and got away with it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

People who give up their own lives to help others. People who work with animal charities, sick children, old people, those nurses who would do anything for you and are born to do the job they do, they are my heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I admire many people who've done good things for the world, but have a few personal heroes aswell, the main one would probably be my Nana on my mam's side, she's amazing, and despite having a very hard and difficult life, she's the happiest and most content person I know. And she makes great tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

None really, Love my Parents and all, and thank them for raising me well, but truth be told there is nothing heroic about that.

Love lots of Musicians but none that I would call my hero's

My friends are great and I would do anything for them, but still not my hero's.

If anyone, then I am my own hero. I have been through plenty and seen myself safe through it all.

All Hail me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

liah wrote: »
    I don't have one.

Me neither! The closest I have to a hero would be my admiration for Richard Dawkins for writing The Selfish Gene and thus helping me to really understand evolution, also Robert Jordan for writing The Wheel of Time and giving me a lifelong obsession.

I feel a bit shallow now for not admiring more philantropic people :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

Beyond friends and family and people who would be personal heroes to me - i think that blood donors are pretty fantastic people.

Anyone can be someone's hero on a particular day - the stranger behind you in the bus queue handing you 10 cents when you've had the absolute day from hell and can't find that coin you had a minute ago and it's beginning to rain and you just want to get home...that person is a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'll also +1 my dad.

Huge influence on me, worked as a teacher in an inner city school during the 80s in an area with a chronic heroin problem and around 80% unemployment. Always did his best for the kids; including leaving when he felt he was too old as the kids needed a younger teacher.

He was always a big family man but was willing to leave the country for work while we stayed behind in order to provide for us. Like Agent Smith's dad, he also travelled the world to provide for us; family came first for him, even when he couldn't live with us.

Always been the voice of reason in my family and has often been the one holding us together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

One of my heros would be my husband - when the chips were down at my darkest hour he was there for me, I also admire his strength coping with a serious long term illness.

My cousin Brenda would be another - she nursed her sister through cancer and helped me and my husband through a really dark time.

My dad - he is a full time carer for my mum and has always been one of my best friends.

Sai (Scenic911) - RIP my friend, we met at a difficult time in our lives but I will never forget you.

I respect anyone who is a carer or who has a serious illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I admire lots of people for different reasons, no particular hero. I think most people have a little something heroic in them, it just takes the right circumstances to draw it out. Two of my best friends come from very difficult home situations, and they still get on with everything with a positive outlook - I find that impressive. I try to be a positive person (and fail pretty spectacularly - I was born to whinge!) but positivity and resilience are two qualities I admire most in people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

My aunty - she's the most amazing person I know. She looked after my Granny and Grandad til they died and never got married or had childen, she raised me and she looked after me when I had no one and never once complained. She's on a pension but she'd always spend money on someone else before herself and is the least selfish person I know. She once walked in 2 miles in the rain and then got a bus into the nearest bank (I'm from the country) one time I lost my wallet and was completely stuck with no money, and she's 63.

I love her so so much and I consider her a mother to me. I can never ever pay her back for all she's done for me, but by being successful and living my life well - I can at least show her that it was worth it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

My Mum and Dad, I know what and how much the sacrificed for their children, to make sure we had a better quality of life then they did, and its something I hope I can do for my children in turn.
    After over 30 years of marriage its great to see a couple who love, respect and listen to each other as much as they do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Well, I'm going to have to go for Agent Smith's dad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Yunalesca

Tee hee! Peter is my hero too. Though Hiro is a close second :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Abigayle wrote: »
    Myself actually. I think I'm so great, that I think I should get the other parachute too!

Agreed. You're my hero too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

G86 wrote: »
    My aunty - she's the most amazing person I know. She looked after my Granny and Grandad til they died and never got married or had childen, she rasied me and she looked after me when I had no one and never once complained. She's on a pension but she'd always spend money on someone else before herself and is the least selfish person I know. She once walked in 2 miles in the rain and then got a bus into the nearest bank (I'm from the country) one time I lost my wallet and was completely stuck with no money, and she's 63.

I love her so so much and I consider her a mother to me. I can never ever pay her back for all she's done for me, but by being successful and living my life well - I can at least show her that it was worth it.
    Aww, she sounds wonderful...that story gave me a lump in my throat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Agreed. You're my hero too. :)

Gawd, she is going to thank your brains out for that one. High five!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

another one touting their Dad :D

I honestly have nothing but respect and admiration for my dad and have said for years I'd love to end up like him. He's never complained about any illnesses or anything, used to come in bleeding and scratched to crap when i was a kid from working in the garage and he wouldn't even think of complaining, but would instead pull me out to the garage to look at the new toy he built me, be it a cart, swing or anything. He seemed to be able to handle anything and always was able to figure out a solution to anyone's problems.

The only thing i don't like is because we have a relationship where all we do is slag one another, I can't think of a way to tell him how much I admire him without him either
    • ignoring me
    • slagging me
    • thinking i'm about to drop a serious bombshell

Def my hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Fradz knows how I really feel.........

/wetness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I can't high-five you, my fingers are too busy crossing in anticipation of your prediction coming true!

fingers_crossed.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭illiop

I didn't have a hero uptil recently. Sure, there was my parents and a few friiends I admired, maybe even the odd celebratey. A lot of them were even heroes in their own right but none were my hero.

Really he's my hero because he genuinely saved me. He saved me from making stupid mistakes that would have ruined my life, he's saved me from so much probable heart-ache and lonlieness I cannot begin to thank him. But more than that he's made me feel truly loved for the first time in a long time (platonically, mind) and I love him so much. It's hard to explain what he has done for me without going into long and boring details but before I know him I thought people who talked about having heroes were just sentimental idiot trying to look cool...I'm pretty sure I was wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

My hero's my dad as well, although I love my whole family ... and my friends, I feel so lucky to have so many wonderful, supportive people in my life.

My dad's my hero because he's just an amazing person. He's a canon in the church of Ireland. He has great faith, but I respect the fact that he keeps his believes private, he doesn't try to convert people, or force them to believe. It's lovely to see him in conversation with people, when I'm at home, because he's so kind and compassionate - he's always smiling and he just always seems to have this great enthusiasm for life.

He's also my hero because he's hilariously funny. No one makes me laugh or smile like he does. I remember once a friend of mine from school was over one night, my dad made her laugh so hard she fell off her chair and whacked her head off my dishwasher ... Good times! :p
    Everything from the way he regales his stories growing up, to his impressions of people, make me laugh.

I also love the way he's incredibly cool. He has an amazing taste in music, I was brought up listening to blues and old skool rock. He has an amazing taste in comedians. He has a great sense of style - I never worry about him wearing something that's going to make me cringe! :pac: He's a fantastic chef and he's more technically advanced than I am (I couldn't work his iPhone so he told me my fingers were "too fat"!)

He's just incredibly supportive of me and everything I do. He understands my passions in life and he encourages me. He knows I want to design clothes, so he sent me money to buy a sewing machine the other day. He encouraged me to get my job in TV. He's just really great!

I also like the way he calls me "applecheeks" ... I think that's quite cute. And I'll never forget the time I was putting on make-up and he gave out to me and told me "You don't need to wear it, you're beautiful as you are" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

My hero was my grandmother(RIP nana)...she more or less brought me up.
    She wasnt an affectionate person but I knew she loved me dearly & was very proud of me. She was a wise woman & taught me about the important things in life(she tried to teach me to cook but said I was hopeless....this still hasnt changed) She went though really tough times...she never shed a tear.
    Ill never forget a time when I was argueing with some boyfriend or another...she pointed at my grandad & said ''Your worried about men.....thats what men turn into'' I went from sobbing to curled up in a ball laughing.
    My nan wasnt a woman who had much in material posessions but I hope that the one thing she left me was her bravery & her ability to look at the positives in life. She didnt molly coddle me either....she was the type of person that would tell you to cop on to yourself If you were upset over silly things.

She was & always will be my hero.
    Love you nan xx

Actually am shedding a bit of a tear now....damn you Pikachucheeks :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

I have a few.

Firstly my Moma...who has had her share of problems but raised myself and my bro when my dad left and always made sure we had all we could possibly need, often going without herself. I had a spectaculay (sp?!) happy childhood and got to go to all the art, dance, swim, pony lessons I showed an interest in. She was battling her own demons but never, ever let it affect our childhood.

My Papa...he mightn't have always been there for us but I understand it was never because he didn't love us. I am so close to my dad that he actually wrecks my head at times...we are very similar in alot of ways. Ten years ago I would have said I love my dad but he was not a hero to me. Then he got sick. His job let him go. He lost his house, his dogs. He lost everything. I was about to do my LC so he didn't tell me. He lived in his car. When I found out I held it together pretty well because he seemed so fine and cheerful. You see you can't get a home without a job and you can't get a job without a home. Him being in his 50s didn't help. There was nothing I could do to help him and it destroyed me. He was living in his car for 18months and rarely if ever let it get him down. And he was still there for my younger bro and me....so much. He actually went public about it and his story was in the media. He teamed up with Focus Ireland to highlight the fact that it is not just drunks and junkies on the streets but in fact ordinary people fall through the cracks of our system. I am so proud of him, a man from foxrock with a Trinity education, being brave enough to face the world and admit he was homeless. He lost some friends because of the 'shame' but he made new, amazing friends. After he was good again, new place, new job I totally lost it and went on a total destructo binge. It was the guilt of being so young and not being able to help him. You know what...instead of letting me get a job to help him out....he insisted I go to college. He was a rock for me when I should have been the rock for him. His positive attitude (he says the whole experiance was the best thing to happen to him) inspires me every day. Sure he ain't perfect but he is one of my heros.

My Aunt Mary...the best lady god ever gave us. Her health was bad from birth but she never complained or let it stop her improving others lives. She died a few years ago but she was a wonderful person. Very like G86's aunt I think. She had little but what she had she gave to others who needed it. She would visit old ladies and sit in their flea infested apartment and discuss ways of helping them pay their vets bills. She would take homeless people in to cafes where she knew the owner (she knew everyone in London!) and pay for meals for them. I can't even list all the other things she did without even thinking. I wish she was still here to tell her how much she meant to me. I feel bad that my bro and I would make faces behind her back coz she would drag us to mass every day when we would visit her in London every summer....despite the fact this was the only thing she ever asked of us and I see now that she just wanted to share her happiest moments with us (she adored going to church and all aspects of her religion). We also used to moan that she would bring us to visit old nuns or old priests (which we found boring) not realising that these old people didn't have their own families and she just wanted to ease their lonliness. There are a million more examples but it is making me so sad to think that I didn't cherish her enough when she was here. At her funeral in London there were so many people that it was like a famous persons. It was beautiful to see the mix of people whos lives had been touched by her. She was a hero to me and to many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Maddison wrote: »
    Actually am shedding a bit of a tear now....damn you Pikachucheeks :P

Oh, I shed some too! I think it's good for the soul though, it's nice to remember people fondly, think about memories and vocalise why somone's important to you - I think people leave a lot unsaid, it's good to open up! :)

I haven't seen my dad in weeks and I miss him. I shed a few tears in the office there, thinking about funny times we've had ... Him in Wagamama's laughing hysterically at me trying to use chopsticks and shouting "Andrea, you will not embarrass me by asking for a knife and fork!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Heroes. John McEnroe, Kenny Dalglish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

my grandad, he was forrestor of the year 10 times ina row worked till he was 85, was an ox of a man as a kid he taught me all about nature (england) and wild life at the age of 10 he went a killed a grass snake and an adder then explained to us why we should never go near them... stuff like that... Was really interesting, My dad to he used to bring me rock climbing when i was like 7 till 16 taught me load about climbing moutains and photography....... Any one whos ever taught me soemthing i use.....

My councilor he really helped me from things like, controlling how I feel and learning how small things bring everything down on you and just, controlling my emotions, helped me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Fair play to you for the thread...Its nice putting into words what my nan means to me.
    When she passed away my great aunt said to me ''your nanny never called you her grand-daughter you were always her little girl''

Well I sobbed like a baby.

She died in May 2006 just a month before we moved into our 1st home, I miss her every day & there are times where I have picked up the phone to tell her something that happened & I realise she is not there....so I will just sit there & think of what she would have said and laugh....she was the funniest person ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

My grandads they fought the black and tans ,so that myself and everybody else in this country could enjoy the freedom we have today .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

My lovely kind and calm Dad. He always stood by me and supported while allowing me to make my own mistakes. He was great fun and always told me I was lovely and fab. He gave me a great attitude and joie de vivre!
    He bore his ilness so well and with such dignity.

My Mom too because she was a strong motivated woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Like a lot of others here, my parents
    My Da. He was born one of 10 to a bog worker in Offaly. He had dyslixia and lost his mum at 13/14 to a brain anurism. He started work at 15. met my mum at 19 and in the following 42 years he worked very hard for his family, providing a very comfortable and happy life for us. He was always strong and fair, allowed us all to make mistakes and was there to help us recover from them. Offered advise but never said I told you so. Helped anyone who needed it and never shied away from messy jobs. He was a family man who loved all six of his kids, adored his wife, and was proud of everyone in his family. If you needed something done, you could wake up to him hammering away doing it without ever having to ask. We lost da very suddenly at only 61, 16 days ago. He is missed and loved as the man who made all of us at home what we are. If I can be half the person he was, I'll be a great one.
    My mum. She is and always has been strong. Her love for my da and all of us has never wavered. She always has our backs and always believed us where appropriate but could also always catch the lie. She is adored by all of us, her family and her friends. She has been sick for the past 15 years, (hep C) and battles it with courage and fortitude. She worked from the time she was 13 and always put family first. She's smart and funny and we love her to bits. When I get the chance to be a ma I hope I'm half as good as her :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

I have three heros - my Dad, my Grandma and my Grandpa.

Basically my dad was in the American Air Force and he met my mom and so I was born and then my middle brother was born. My mom was really messed up with drugs (I googled her so I know :eek: - won't go into detail, its a very american story! :) ) and they ended up getting divorced. My dad was only 20 when I was born and in the 80's that was shock horror! He got custody of me and my brother and did the only thing he could do. He sent us to Ireland to my grandparents. It might seem like a cop out but because of all the stuff my mom did, it was for the best. He moved around a lot with the Air Force and wanted to make sure we had some stability in our lives.

Then my youngest brother was born in the middle of the divorce and my mother got custody of him (me and brother 1 were in Ireland when this happened). She tried to put him up for adoption without telling my dad and luckily he found out. He got brother 2 and brought him to Ireland to be with us.

I used to see my dad only once a year (at xmas) and I'll never forget how exciting it was when I knew he was coming home. He did and still does work so hard just to make sure me and my brothers want for nothing. He is one of the most self-less people I know. He had three kids by the age of 24 and now he's 44 and is the most grounded and amazing person. I respect him so much for what he did all those years ago. He has never once bad-mouthed my mother even through all she put him through. He was even hesitant telling me why they split up - I kept asking and eventually he had to tell me.

Then come my grandparents for bringing me and my brothers up. They took us on when they were both 58, when they should have been enjoying life, and they never made us feel like anything other than their children. Even their pasts (long long before us) are amazing. My Grandpa was the actor Robert Mitchum's boss and Matthew Broderick's dad's boss in New York. My grandma used to say hello to Humfrey Bogart walking down the street. They both lost their siblings when they were very young (out of 8 in my grandma's family there 2 left) and they ploughed on. They have known each other from birth, made their communion and confirmation together and I think that is amazing. Thats 81 years that they have been together and that is rare and beautiful. (chissakes, I sound so cheesy right now!)

Ok... you guys probably get the idea! :) so I'll stop now... sorry about the length.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

My hero was, is, and always will be, my deceased disabled brother who never spent a single day of his life without the most infectious and sincere smile on his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

As above with allabouteve .My sister has spent most of her life with crippling Arthritis .I cant remember a time when she wasn't in pain, both physicaly ,mentaly and emotionaly .I know that many people in in her situation including myself would have caved in long ago , with suicide never far from my thoughts .It's only through her own determination to live a life as positivly (as one can in such a situation) a loving caring husband and sisters ,does she have any quality of life .The hardest part is watching somebody you love suffer knowing that there is very little you can do .But we do what we can to make her life as comfortable as possible .She is a Hero .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

Jose Mourinho, Arnold Schwarzeneggar, Will Ferel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭madbev90210

I dont have any real life heroes.. dont get on with parents at all, and not close to any other family members. But like someone else said, I admire the everyday people that show consideration and kindness in caring for people, ie nurses, charity workers, carers etc..

And not that Im one of these, but people who have had a really bad/tough upbringing and are fighters and who dont carry on the cycle of their childhoods..

Makes me a little sad though that my mam and dad are not who Id like them to be.. cest la vie eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My grandad. He is the best person in the world and I do not know what I'd do without him. He's 85 and he is just so cool. On Sunday he told me to be careful when I go out 'cause there are a lot of people going around putting drugs in drinks, bless him. He is the most thoughful and considerate person I have ever known and I only hope that I am a teeny, tiny bit like him. :) I love you, grandad :)