Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leonard Cohen at the O2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

The times I've been there I thought the seating on the flat looked awkward as the stage was set a bit high, so in effect there is a lot of looking up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Dante09

I went to one of last years gigs. It was sublime. Just wondering if people think he'll stick to the same type of set list/set-up for this years gigs. Hope he plays famous blue raincoat and/or chelsea hotel no.2 as both were left out from last years set and they're my favorite songs ever!
    Also does anyone know who will be the supporting act? Last year it was damien rice, any chances of his doing doing it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭smithcity

Half heard something on the radio,not sure if I got it right.
    Is Leonard Cohen playing an extra date on the 25th and if so, does anyone know when tickets go on sale.

Never saw him live and half to do it before he decides to retire or something equally terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭strongbluebell

Just the 19,20, 22,23 July according to Ticketmaster.
    Have a look at it, there are still some tickets available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Palimpsest

:eek: Help!! I opted to get them posted to me-anyone else still waiting on theirs-the beyonce tickets arrived last week and the gig isn't until November!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Just call them and tell them you haven't received them yet. they'll most likely arrange for you to collect them at the box office at the venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

You can check your Ticketmaster account to see if they have been posted out to you yet. If they have been sent out, just ring Ticketmaster and say you havent recieved them.

So who cant wait for Mr. LC ?!!!! ME!!
    What songs are yee hoping to hear? Hopefully he keeps the setlist similar to last years but adds

the partisan
    famous blue raincoat
    chelsea hotel

though no matter what he plays, its going to be awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Saw him at Kilmainham last year..amazing..even treated ourselves to Champers...:D

He play only 3-4 songs from his first 4 albums. He didnt play anything from my favourite album.."Songs of Love and Hate". I get the feeling that he has moved away from that period and is in a better place now.

perhaps you're right.
    songs of love and hate is my fave album too
    agree last years gig was the best gig i was ever at, and ive been to a few for my 21 years.
    though i heard he played chelsea hotel earlier this month in berlin so here's hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Looking forward to this. He was amazing at Glastonbury last year. So much so that I wouldn't be in a hurry to see him outdoors again as it could never match it. This will be my first time in the O2 though so hoping it lives up to the hype.

3 days to go!!

Anyone know what time he's due to come on stage? It just says doors open at 6.30 on the tickets. Hate being way too early..
    I think he had a support last year in Kilmainham.
    Roll on Sunday

heya, i think hes due on stage at 8.
    Im pretty sure there is no support act this time though id love to see damien rice opening up again...doubt it though

Just got an email from Ticketmaster, doors open at 6.30, no support act and Leonard on stage at 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Limerick91

Wow what a gig last night.

Would not have been a massive fan before the gig.

Bono and the boys have a lot to live up to at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Was some gig alright. A little annoying how the screens were out of sync with the sound, but couldn't take form the performance. Great show, what a legend.

Can't wait. Was he on at 8 on the dot? Any reason to be there much before (other than a pint or two)? How was the traffic? Haven't been since The Point days and only out of work at 6 so going to be cutting it close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

Anyone have a rough idea of his set-list from last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

setlist.fm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eimsRV

Brilliant concert, felt he was more relaxed in the second set. First set he didnt interact with audience apart just before the break. Highlights for me were bird on a wire, thousand kisses deep and so long marianne.

Looking at setlist from Liverpool on July 14 it looks like what he played last night. He didn't play Chelsea Hotel no2 in Dublin.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/leonard-cohen/2009/echo-arena-liverpool-england-3bd65814.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Can't WAIT for tonight.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Ian C

Was some gig alright. A little annoying how the screens were out of sync with the sound, but couldn't take form the performance.

Thought it was so it'd be in sync for the people at the very back...

Awesome, definitely worth going to see again... Sisters Of Mercy, The Partisan, So Long Marianne, Famous Blue Raincoat... brilliant. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Wow what a gig last night.

Would not have been a massive fan before the gig.

Bono and the boys have a lot to live up to at the weekend

imagine how annoying Bono would be if he was actually half as good as Leonard Cohen.. What a gig.. His band are amazing, the Webb sisters sublime.. I'd love to go again tonight!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭FatBeard

Ian C wrote: »
    Thought it was so it'd be in sync for the people at the very back...

Ya, thought crossed my mind alright but I was more than half way up the back and was still out of sync. Fabulous gig though.

Used be a big fan in my teens and was a bit worried I wouldn't enjoy the show anymore but I was proved wrong. The only dissapointment was listening to the Live London show today, a lot of the laughs he got last night were the same as the live CD. He doesn't seem to wander too much off script.

Brilliant show...better than last years solely on the basis that he played the partisan and famous blue raincoat!! absolutely delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 thebionn

Fantastic. I was disappointed that I missed out last year, so jumped at the chance to catch it this time around.

Only slight disappointment was that they didn't play one of my faves 'Hey that's no way to say goodbye', but hearing 'famous blue raincoat' made up for that.

Living legend.

...& the new O2 is a massive improvement on the point, well impressed with the layout, facilities and organisation.

Note to anyone going to the gigs: very punctual, 8pm start means 8pm. Almost missed the first song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭andy1249

Great gig last night , the man played for just over 3 hours !! The Muscianship was excellent and they all got to do some extended solos , he played famous blue raincoat and the Partisan which he didnt play at the gig I was at last year in Kilmainham.

The screens were out of sync and this led to some old dears gossiping behind me saying he was miming !! Sacrilege !!

Anyway , I thoroughly enjoyed it , great show , I lost count of how many encores he did.

Edit: By the way , that was my first time in the point since it was transformed into the O2 , its very impressive , and the general area around the gig is not nearly as scary as it used to be.

Screens were in synch tonight. Venue isn't big enough to have noticeable sound vision delay so if they were out yesterday they were out for everyone.

Excellent gig. He dropped a line in for Dublin to one of the songs maybe to dispell the miming rumours. It was shocking how amazing his voice was so I could see how it was easy to assume that.

First time in the O2 as well. Certainly better than the point. Sounds was crystal and view was good even though we were well up the back. It felt a bit claustrophobic at times is my only complaint. I'd be reluctant to end up in the higher seats for something more lively but it was grand for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭McCruiskeen

I saw him twice last year and it was a wonderful experience. I love Leonard Cohen but decided not to go and see him this time because of the cost and also because the two times I saw him were basically the exact same gig to a tee. The DVD again was the same with the same jokes etc.

Can anybody confirm whether my suspicions were correct and whether there was any variation in this gig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I bought 2 tickets for tonights gig as a gift for the parents. My old man is a big fan.

He rang me at 11.30pm just as they were leaving. He was completely taken aback by LC's performance. He was genuinely stuck for words on the phone....thats how much he enjoyed it! Best gig they've been to apparently.

The gig was quite different to the kilmainham shows , with the web sisters doing some cartwheels in The future ,( at the line " see the white girls dancing " ) also a quite impressive " guitar " solo by the main stringed instrument player , sorry but dont know his name and its not a guitar hes playing.

Also the set list , while largely the same , does vary quite a lot , famous blue raincoat and the partisan being my particular favourites , he also played a sort of a country number ... I think it may have been " The Captain " but digging it out on my CD's tonight I dont think so.

Sharon Robinson sang Boogie street on her own , which was excellent.
    So no , it wasnt identical to the DVD or last years shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 catratbat

Saw him at Kilmainham last year and last night O2... i was afraid that this gig wouldn't live up to the exceptional standard of the first... No Fear :D..

It was superb ... Yes there were similarities but he played for 3 hours and all of it pure class. Fair play to his musical director Roscoe Beck. The arrangements were gorgeous.

O2 (or the Vodafone as Dustin calls it) is a pretty darn good venue...

Brought my mum last year. She STILL goes into rhapsodies and declared it best mothers day gift ever...:p and she's usually so fair....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Great, great gig! Well worth every cent, over a three hour set is more than generous, especially from a 74 year old. He really came to life after the intermission IMO.

It was my first time in the O2 as well. The venue is just superb - excellent sound, brilliant viewing positions from nearly every seat, good hospitality, good drink etc etc. Faultless..

PS. The LC merchandise they sell there is a rip-off eg. The Live in London dvd was selling for €20. Buy it online for around €10.

For people who havent been here is a shot from section P which is one of the higher areas.
    lennyo2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Big al

Excellent gig, the idea he was miming is nonsense, based on monday nights gig anyway, no way you could have mimed So long marieanne like that
    also a quite impressive " guitar " solo by the main stringed instrument player , sorry but dont know his name and its not a guitar hes playing.

You cant remember his name??? He introduced the whole band twice...a practice that gets on my wick but I'll forgive him that (no i can remember his name either)

The O2 is a good venue, certainly anything is better than the rubbish we had to put up with when it was the point

Having been to both Kilmanham last year and the o2, I think this years gig was much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭FatBeard

Big al wrote: »
    Excellent gig, the idea he was miming is nonsense, based on monday nights gig anyway, no way you could have mimed So long marieanne like that

Agreed, sure it could be seen that the big screen was lagging behind his movements on stage. It was a syncing issue. Plus, I was at last nights gig too and the sync issue was fixed, atleast better than the night before anyhow. Out of the two gigs I preferred Sundays although he did interact with the crowd a lot sooner last night than the night before. He also threw in an extra joke or two. Fabulous performance though on both nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Monday, 20th July

Dance Me to the End of Love
    The Future
    Ain't No Cure for Love
    Bird on a Wire
    Everybody Knows
    In My Secret Life
    Who By Fire
    That Don't Make It Junk
    Waiting for the Miracle
    Anthem
    ---
    Tower of Song
    Suzanne
    Sisters of Mercy
    The Partisan
    Boogie Street (Sharon Robinson)
    Hallelujah
    I'm Your Man
    A Thousand Kisses Deep
    Take This Waltz
    ---
    So Long, Marianne
    First We Take Manhattan
    ---
    Famous Blue Raincoat
    If It Be Your Will (The Webb Sisters)
    Closing Time
    ---
    I Tried to Leave You
    Whither Thou Goest

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Big al wrote: »

You cant remember his name??? He introduced the whole band twice...a practice that gets on my wick but I'll forgive him that (no i can remember his name either)

The O2 is a good venue, certainly anything is better than the rubbish we had to put up with when it was the point

Having been to both Kilmanham last year and the o2, I think this years gig was much better.

I think that it's a sign of the gentleman that Leonard is that he introduces his musicians twice (twice is enough mind you, I heard he did it more often previous). His band are fantastic and deserve every credit for making this concert the event that it was.. The guy you speak of is
    Javier Mas, banduria, laud, archilaud, and 12-string guitar, I think you'll agree he certainly knew what he was doing.

Javier Mas, banduria, laud, archilaud,

Excellent player , very unusual 12 string guitar , Ive never seen one like it. I play myself , though nothing even remotely close to that standard , but I dont think he uses a standard tuning ? Does anyone know ?

I never would have remembered that name anyway , and my chances of spelling it correctly would have been nil...:D

Edit: , just done a bit of research on this , his name is Javier Mas , the instruments he plays are not guitars , they are called the Laud

http://larkinthemorning.com/Laud/p/MAN090/

and the Archilaud and these are tuned differently from a guitar , they are similar to the Lute and Bouzouki.

He also plays the bandurria
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bandurria

More information on these instruments here , at the bottom of the page ,
    http://www.atlasofpluckedinstruments.com/se_asia.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Johnny Volume

Looking foward to tonights show now :). Does he take the stage bang on 8pm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

starts bang on time 8pm

finish at 11.10pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Johnny Volume

Pal wrote: »
    starts bang on time 8pm

finish at 11.10pm

Thanks Pal :)

The songs are still poppin into my head since Sunday's gig. What a show.

The bandurria has a different tuning to guitars. I would check out any album by yer man from Barcelona or the Webb sisters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 simp

Anyone know how long the shuttle bus takes to get from Stephen's Green?
    Would we be okay leaving at 7pm?
    Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

simp wrote: »
    Anyone know how long the shuttle bus takes to get from Stephen's Green?
    Would we be okay leaving at 7pm?
    Thanks!

You should be grand leaving at 7pm. I think it only took around 15mins. I was after a few by then, so that might not be totally accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 DS19

I'm going to Leonard Cohen tonight (Thurs) and am wondering could someone who has already been there tell me what the enforcement of the “no cameras” policy was like? Thanks

Finally going to the gig tomorrow night...I CANT FLIPPIN' WAIT..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Just back from the gig . Cant remember a better one .