Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

match tmrw ...drink last nite...wat 2 do?

• 27-06-2009 11:08AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭

have a big hurling game tmrw nd had a few pints last nit? wud i be bttr to sweat it out of me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭offaly4sam

just eat well and drink lots of water. About 3-4 litres and u should be grand by the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Dioralite in your chemist, or, failing that, make your own rehydration drinks. Plenty of water, bit of salt, something sugary (like mi-wadi).

Eat well, plenty of sleep tonight. You wont perform at peak tomorrow, but you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭curious guy

okay will do...tanx.. the match is on at two tmrw any recommendations for pre- match food ie times and type of food?...

also wud doin a bit of exercise to sweat out the drink be a bad idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

okay will do...tanx.. the match is on at two tmrw any recommendations for pre- match food ie times and type of food?...

also wud doin a bit of exercise to sweat out the drink be a bad idea?

How much did you drink? and how important is this match?

okay I had 5r6 pints of heineken thurs nd had an hour trainin friday
    nd then had 5r6 on friday nd a vodka nd red bull...

ah i know shudnt ave ..bt feckers just bought him 4 me...

its leaque championship bt we need a win ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I would go for a cycle or run and get a good sweat going. Drink loads of water as mentioned. And try and get a short nap in afterwards. Also in future if you are "stuck in rounds" or getting drinks bought for you then go for single measures of spirits, since they only have about half the alcohol as a pint. Make sure you get plenty of water while drinking them though. Good spirits also have less "cogeners" in them which along with dehydration is what hangovers are caused by.

Skyy vodka is becoming more popular in pubs and I find it very pure, but very expensive. Of all the basic spirits available in pubs rum is your best bet, cheap whiskey & vodka (incl. smirnoff red) would usually have much higher levels of cogeners, esp. the most important one methanol. Cider is also relatively very high in methanol. Rum has only got bare traces of methanol in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

okay I had 5r6 pints of heineken thurs nd had an hour trainin friday
    nd then had 5r6 on friday nd a vodka nd red bull...

ah i know shudnt ave ..bt feckers just bought him 4 me...

its leaque championship bt we need a win ...
    I tnk de bst bt s t gt rslf a clnic njcton.

good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

rubadub wrote: »

Skyy vodka is becoming more popular in pubs and I find it very pure, but very expensive. Of all the basic spirits available in pubs rum is your best bet, cheap whiskey & vodka (incl. smirnoff red) would usually have much higher levels of cogeners, esp. the most important one methanol. Cider is also relatively very high in methanol. Rum has only got bare traces of methanol in it.

Rum really? Like captain morgan's or jamaican rum? Does captain morgan's count? Always thought that'd be bad stuff for the hangover, so I usually try and stick to the vodka.

I tnk de bst bt s t gt rslf a clnic njcton.

good luck.

WTF

at least OPs post is legible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

dioltas wrote: »
    Rum really? Like captain morgan's or jamaican rum? Does captain morgan's count? Always thought that'd be bad stuff for the hangover, so I usually try and stick to the vodka.
    Yes, captain morgans is a good rum. Aged spirits can also have some of the cogeners turned into "better" chemicals so also produce less of a hangove, havanna club 3 year old rum is very reasonably priced. Most hobby distillers will use sugar based brews to distil with, due to the "clean" brew they produce which only has traces of methanol.

If distilled properly there is no need to filter spirits with charcoal, the marketing men once again have convinced people it is a good thing! For hobby distillers a recognised sign of a successful design and operation of a still is the lack of a hangover.

The reason spirits will get a bad name for hangovers is due to people not drinking water with them, and drinking far too much of them. e.g. I could down 10pints worth of rum in a fraction of the time as 10 pints of beer. Also with the ridiculous amounts charged for mixers I see my mates splitting a single 200ml bottle of coke between 3 people, each having double vodkas!

Hydration has a massive effect, a tip is to stick a 2L of water in the freezer, then come home and leave it beside your bed, so it is half defrosted when you wake up, lovely in this weather.

okay good idea going on the singles alri instead. No point getting a hangover if ya can avoid or reduce it. Thanks for the advice.

Just wondering if anyone is up on what foods to eat i read something about eating plenty carbs the night before and that Morning.

I was thinking of getting a bit of pasta into me later.
    Having porridge or muesli, an egg tea and toast for breakfast around nine tmrw

and maybe some more pasta about half eleven,or dat a bananna and cup of tea. and keep sippin the water.

Hows that sound?

Less of the tea, it won't be of any benefit and is a mild diuretic.

Ah yeah suppose I have had enough of the diuretics. Might just have half one in the morning though wake me up... rite im off for a wee cycle il talk to ye later and il let ye know how it goes either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭legend365

Mount gay rum is nice

great name too :D

legend365 wrote: »
    Mount gay rum is nice

great name too :D

Its fantastic stuff, i was going to say so earlier but decided against it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

How would ye rate jagermister on the aul hangover scale? Im fairly partial to it myself! I seem to be getting fairly bad hangovers these days, drinking an awful mix of **** doesn't help though!

Eh we got bet by a goal disaster they decide to play me midfield for first time ever and I have played wing back last two years so I had to do loads of running ...
    didnt take me off anyway but i hadnt a great game out of position.

Midfield is a very tough position to play in felt like I was playing piggy in the middle.

Eh we got bet by a goal disaster they decide to play me midfield for first time ever and I have played wing back last two years so I had to do loads of running ...
    didnt take me off anyway but i hadnt a great game out of position.

Midfield is a very tough position to play in felt like I was playing piggy in the middle.

Unless you're sixteen stone and have a stick!! I used to just stay in the one spot and break anything that came within four yards!!

The problem with "midfield" in Ireland especially in Gaelic, Soccer and Hurling is the fact that 80% of the game gets played straight over your head.

Yep and its even less when there goalie pucks it as far as there full forward line.

The problem with "midfield" in Ireland especially in Gaelic, Soccer and Hurling is the fact that 80% of the game gets played straight over your head.

I wouldn't agree with that statement on the hurling front tbh..... and anyway Gaelic and Soccer aren't even real sports!

Oh they are yeah.