Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cois Fharraige

• 26-06-2009 3:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭

Hey lads, anyone hear anything about Cois Fharraige yet?? I really hope something is mentioned about it soon or I'm going to burst!

The Coral cancelled last year, would love if they repaid us with their presence this year :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

dont think its happening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

I heard mention of an event that sounds verrrrrry similar, but for the life of me I can't think of the name, I just remember people rounding up a posse to go to it. I remember it was €50 for a weekend ticket, so I'm guessing it's on a smaller scale. Sure some event guide would have some info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Its not going ahead,no sponsor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vixenbees

seriously? omg that sucks... last year was epic, gutted :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I heard mention of an event that sounds verrrrrry similar, but for the life of me I can't think of the name, I just remember people rounding up a posse to go to it. I remember it was €50 for a weekend ticket, so I'm guessing it's on a smaller scale. Sure some event guide would have some info.

Coastal Rocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Ho-Hum

http://www.seasessions.com/ -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭kennyu272

Doves & The Zutons are among the heavy-hitters bound for Clare in September.

There’s great news for the denizens of County Clare and environs with MCD confirming that the Cois Fharraige festival is returning to Kilkee between September 11 and 13.
    The first batch of acts to be confirmed are Doves, The Zutons, Newton Faulkner, Noah & The Whale, The Hold Steady, Stereo MCs, The Lightning Seeds and Jerry Fish & The Mudbug Club. Tickets go on sale on Tuesday August 11 priced €89 (early bird) and €99 (after September 1

Courtesy of Hotpress

http://www.hotpress.com/Cois%20Fharraige/news/Cois%20Fharraige%20acts%20announced/5735954.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Cannot wait!
    I missed the Zutons last year and heard that they put on a really good show. I think I'm still on a high from Travis' set last year. That was unreal - took me a few days to get my voice back:D

Hopefully there's no mud this year!
    Sunshine, beer and chilling out to the tunes: all good:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭frankletanc

Zutons were great last year. Really good festival band and it always seems to get the good weather for the festival. Cant wait to see Lightning Seeds back and Doves too. Missed them at Oxegen! Going to get my tickets when they're on sale tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

This sounds good, going to have to see if I can round up a few people to go to this. Trouble is, everyone is going to be skint (not to mention burnt out) after Electric Picnic. Mmmm.... I'l have to use my powers of persuasion:rolleyes:

Also, what is the story with camping, anyone that has been before? Do you have to book into a private camp-site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 NickJagger

doves are legendary live
    worth the entrance fee alone

gettin some surf, tunes and beers in
    doesn't get much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vixenbees

This sounds good, going to have to see if I can round up a few people to go to this. Trouble is, everyone is going to be skint (not to mention burnt out) after Electric Picnic. Mmmm.... I'l have to use my powers of persuasion:rolleyes:

Also, what is the story with camping, anyone that has been before? Do you have to book into a private camp-site?

theres loads of camping in fields across the road from the venue. i think it was €20 for the whole weekend..maybe €30? anyway, as with the ticket price it was really good value for 3 days. there was spots to leave your car in the kilkee hotel car park which is 2 mins away. the wristbands they gave us for the campsite had the name of some 1999 festival that was held down that way, hilarious stuff..such good craic!

id be going if i wasn't going to electric picnic, they left it really late to announce it and i definately wont get 2 weekends in a row off work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

vixenbees wrote: »
    theres loads of camping in fields across the road from the venue. i think it was €20 for the whole weekend..maybe €30? anyway, as with the ticket price it was really good value for 3 days. there was spots to leave your car in the kilkee hotel car park which is 2 mins away. the wristbands they gave us for the campsite had the name of some 1999 festival that was held down that way, hilarious stuff..such good craic!

id be going if i wasn't going to electric picnic, they left it really late to announce it and i definately wont get 2 weekends in a row off work :(

Thanks, Enjoy EP:P

Saw Doctors have been added now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

Where u hear about the saw doctors? this could be good!

www.coisfharraige.com

Think its a much better line up than last year. Really different and a good mix of bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

What's the best way to get to Kilkee (being without a car)?

Have friends going down to it from Galway, but i'll be coming from Dublin. Have heard great report from last year, really looking forward to this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Proxy wrote: »
    What's the best way to get to Kilkee (being without a car)?

Have friends going down to it from Galway, but i'll be coming from Dublin. Have heard great report from last year, really looking forward to this year.

Get to Limerick and go from there?

Yeah that's probably the best way to go. Not too bad a drive from Limerick

Just heard Laura Izibor on Ray D'Arcy this morning. Shes playing now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭sisco

Ya Its A Deadly Line Up!!
    Laura Izibor Is Amazing!!
    The Zutons Will Be Very Good Too!!:D:D

Anyone have the day by day breakdown of who's playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 blueoval

hi people never been to a cois before but have been to oxegen and ep is it the same kind of set up is there, is there a bar on site and is all the acts playing on one stage or a few stages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Burgerman55

no its much smaller than EP or oxegen
    one big marquee event
    most of the town is closed off to locals / tourists etc and just set up as a big concert venue, the whole town is pedestrianised as far as i remember and you can drink everywhere
    i vaguely rem seeing a cop coming out of an offo with some supplies last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

not goin' myself but I think half of Galway is from asking around!
    According to some people, it's a little gem of a festival.
    Hope it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Was going to go, camped last year and it was fun with out tent nearly blew down the first night, weather held up after that. Was thinking of self catering holiday home this year but after ringing around about prices I'm pretty pissed off

Fired off this letter to the town council, email address on www.kilkee.ie

I would just like to state I was delighted to hear the cois farraige festival was able to proceed this year, I am however extremely disheartened to find that providers of accommodation in kilkee appear to be living in a world of their own when it comes to pricing for the weekend. After exhaustive ringing about holiday homes and other self-catering accommodation it seems that prices have in most cases been doubled and in some tripled for the weekend. This is outrages behaviour and will surely discourage those of use who wish to avoid camping. I think you may will most certainly discourage many would be visitors with this kind of behaviour given the situation many people are finding themselves in this year. With an average price of 700 for 3 nights accommodation ( from pricelists on http://www.dreamireland.com/irish_accommodation_in_town/kilkee.html ) many people would simply opt for a weekend break with ryanair flights to some mainland Europe city.
    Regards,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Swayzee

I cant wait for cois this year, last year was epic!!!

just checked out the photos on the website too soo im crazy excited

http://www.coisfharraige.com/2009/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=67&Itemid=71&lang=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Hols

It sounds amazing! Wat kinda age group go 2 dis ting?

Its a bit older thanthe normal festivals. Usually early 20s- 30s/40s.
    Even just with Doves this will be amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

just booked my ticket... really looking forward to it. Is it better to go for the campsites or self catering accommodation? Just wondering where its liveliest when the musics over...

Theres a campsite right across the road from the festival site and even thats only 5 minutes walk into the town centre so everywhere has something pretty much happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭skazztenor

There is a campsite in Doonbeg..with hot showers and clean loo's ! its 5 km from the festival and there is a shuttle mini bus service running thru the whole weekend!!
    check out Strandcamping....:cool:

Also wondering why Jazz Lite are up on the list of bands....they are playing in a local pub, not at the festival...........:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Is it a wristband thing once your down there, or how do the tickets work for the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Arcade Panda

I havn't booked my ticket yet but I'm sure I'll get one....excited now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Daily line up is now on the website. :)

I'm surprised the Blizzards are on the Friday night! I was expecting them to be on the Saturday or Sunday.

Great Friday line! Good start to the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

nm wrote: »
    Is it a wristband thing once your down there, or how do the tickets work for the weekend?

You'll get a wristband the first time you go into the gig area. You'll have to keep it on for the whole weekend then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Lads and lassies about to book a campsite. Which campsite is the nearest to the festival, and how much ye talking for two people?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Stupid question - will I need wellies? Is it that kind of festival?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 the mighty elk

Stupid question - will I need wellies? Is it that kind of festival?!

If it's as badly organised as last year you will. They were completely unprepared for rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

caff wrote: »
    Was going to go, camped last year and it was fun with out tent nearly blew down the first night, weather held up after that. Was thinking of self catering holiday home this year but after ringing around about prices I'm pretty pissed off

Fired off this letter to the town council, email address on www.kilkee.ie

Supply and demand, they will charge the price that someone is willing to pay. Considering they probably make piss all for the rest of the year I can't blame them. Also, the type of person willing to pay that much probably won't go wrecking the gaff.
    I've managed to score a floor space in a buddies cottage for the weekend ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 changling

Does anyone know what the story is with drinking (sensibly of course!;)) in the venue?
    Can you bring your own in?
    Will there be a full bar available or only certain brands etc?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RuthieRose

Hi Lad n Lassies
    Just have a few questions about this... We haven't been before so really looking forward to it now.
    1. Campsite - We'd like to stay in the one close to the venue but wondering about price. Any guess?? Is it a normal campsite or just a field?
    2. Bar - Is there one inside the venue and is it over priced?
    3. Day time - If the waves are s*** then anything else going on?
    4. Can you recommend a good pub for a bit of craic?
    Thanks for any help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 abuboy

1. Can't help on the camping front, usually stay in a mobile home.

2. Last couple of years there was a bar inside the venue but limited to one type of lager and red and white wine, not cheap either. Expect long queues at peak times. Not allowed to bring your own alcohol in, fairly strict searches on the way in.

3. Plenty of spectacular scenery on the cliff walks around Kilkee particularly if the weather picks up later in the week as forecast.

4. Good pubs for craic include Scotts, The Greyhound and The Stella Maris

Thanks a Mill abuboy. Thats bad about the bar being pricey but I suppose its to be expected.
    I'm sure it won't dampen the fun.
    Looking forward to it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭helpwanted1

Ok.Looking forward to the weekend now.Neveer been to this festival before.

It all seems very relaxed to me. I rang campsite place and told not to worry bout booking anything, just show up. Great, if true.

So what to expect then. What is the forecast like for the weekend?
    Does gig go on late?Do people head into the town after? Are the gigs outdoor or in a tent?

icon6.gif

Gigs are in a marquee in the GAA field.

Campsites are all near enough - Kilkee is small enough town so it's all walkable.
    We stayed in the Kilkee bay hotel apartments straight across the road last year and it's very handy.

Gigs normally finish around 11.

Plenty of pubs in town. Lots of people bring cans down the town so you can do it cheap and cheerful.
    First year they did a street party at night time because the clubs were shut but last year the pubs and clubs were way better prepared.

Daytime is good craic especially with good weather - lots of chilling on the beaches and picnics. The Pantry on the main street does fantastic food for takeaway.

Weather is looking good:cool:

RuthieRose wrote: »
    Thanks a Mill abuboy. Thats bad about the bar being pricey but I suppose its to be expected.
    I'm sure it won't dampen the fun.
    Looking forward to it!!!

The bar is average for gigs.
    The queues are not bad at all, longest I waited at peak time was 5 minutes.

Last year Malibu were giving out tons of free drink - I'm not too fussy so I availed of bucket loads of the stuff:D

Thanks to all for your help.
    Two more sleeps!!!!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Mate rang that campsite across the road from the venue (Ideal Camping), its actually just a big field accross the road rather than a proper campsite, cost is a flat €40 per person for the weekend, we'll have access to the local showers in the school gym and there'll be portaloos there too.

You won't be able to park near your tent, parking is free or €10 for the first 100 that arrive (he wasnt sure) and its in the car park of the local hotel, after the first 100 its €15 to park.