Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the longest you ever stayed awake and why?

• 26-06-2009 12:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭

Was only thinking of this a minute ago.Longest I ever managed was about 2 and a half days. Up at 10 on the thursday, went to debs that night, up all night, went to work the next day, stayed up all night cause I had to be up at 4, went on trip to oakwood, home at about 10 then crash.

What bout that rest of ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I've got narcolepsy so I could never compe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

in February i had to fly Kuala Lumpur >> Jo'berg >> Cape town >> Buenos Aires
    Didn't sleep at all during that and got to BA at about 4pm, then started drinking at the hostel and was out till 7am so I think i was awake for about 50 or 60 hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

A week. Chronic insomnia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

woke for school 8 AM

also went to work that night..not home til about 11:40 so stayed up rather than being late for school.

next day was the exact same with no sleep

next day went to school...absolutely bolloxed but came home with no work that day and went to sleep at about 7:30

so you work it out !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Just short of three fulls days on a drinking session.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

38 hours. CLeaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

te with staying awake for 2 and a half days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Hagar wrote: »
    te with saying awake for 2 and a half days.
    Wahey!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭annabellee77

Féile - Trip to Tipp (ah good times!! :))

Arrived in Thurles Friday afternoon, partied, went to concert, then nightclub, then more parties in campsite......didnt go to bed at all, did the same thing again Saturday and fell into bed about 3am Monday morning......Was like death warmed up when had to get up about 5 hours later and make the trek home......

Deadly times though.....NO festival will ever touch the Trip To Tipp days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

About seventy-two hours; drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Just short of three fulls days on a drinking session.

Did the same myself, it took about a week to recover.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

A full gaming weekend in my younger days (hallucinating Quake sounds by the end of it), and a full Sonar weekend in my less younger days (but I had the assistance of amphetamines there).

Pace2008 wrote: »
    About seventy-two hours; drugs.

Ah but this hardly counts if the drugs kept ya awake!!!!!! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

100 hours - all in the name of a bachelor's degree.
    It was in late April/early May 2008. I woke at 8 am on Thursday morning on the last weekend before our final presentations in college (I studied architecture), worked through the day and night into Friday, going to college at 7am hoping to be the first to use the plotter to print my presentation sheets. Not a hope, in fact it was late on Saturday afternoon when I finally got to do it, such was the queue that had assembled between 645 and 710 on Friday morning. Spent Friday and most of Saturday working on scaled models and tweaking bits and pieces of the design. Plotted at last. Spent Sunday organising my presentation in my head, went in on Monday morning and a timetable for the presentations was finalised (they don't give the timetables out in advance so nobody's working with more time than anyone else), got my time, I think it was Wednesday afternoon, so I pretty much went home and slept for the day, and most of Tuesday too.
    Diet: a crate of Red Bull and a lot of instant food and takeaway deliveries.
    What my mother asked: "Rob, have you been taking ecstasy?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Ages ago, a christmas weekend.
    Woke up friday 2pm and saw my bed again at monday morning 6 am.
    Drink, work and gambling kept me awake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

when i was in school and working i used to stay awake from monday morning till friday night. so just about 5 days, i never really needed mush sleep. an hour a night when i left school was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

108 hours for exams....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Ehmmmm 3 days only because It was medically inducedby myself
    I actually was unable to close my eyes...no matter how many sheep I tried to count they turned into evil fluffy creatures tripping isnt nice

Oh thank god I grew up:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

School Trip to Italy in 5th year of school.... 36 hours.
    Got up at 8am did full day in school, up til midnight to get bus to dublin, flight then to Milan at about 8 am ish... then travelling all that day and got to venue settled in dinner and went out that night!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Féile - Trip to Tipp (ah good times!! :))

Arrived in Thurles Friday afternoon, partied, went to concert, then nightclub, then more parties in campsite......didnt go to bed at all, did the same thing again Saturday and fell into bed about 3am Monday morning......Was like death warmed up when had to get up about 5 hours later and make the trek home......

Deadly times though.....NO festival will ever touch the Trip To Tipp days....

From Thurles came home ,to work them weekends so they when Like........

Working all day friday, Then partied ,caught the end of concert ,then nightclub , then more parties in campsite ....didn't go to bed straight to work , Saturday work till 11.30 at night, then nightclub , then back to campsite , Sunday was a re-run .. Then us locals when out Monday and Tuesday Nights to spend your money sorry our wages. :D

your right deadly times , only time there was life in that s**thole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Cant beat a few of them all nighters on xbox live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

greetings wrote: »
    Cant beat a few of them all nighters on xbox live

Your such a nerd

For me it has to be about four day's because of an awesome stargate sg1 marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Three full days. Was on a mad one for a weekend, alcohol and drugs. Had to work the fourth day and was shattered. Needed a good sleep after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

2 days when I went to see Pink Floyd in concert...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

4 days.

Reason: Can't sleep, clown will eat me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

in september didnt sleep for the first three and a half days of a holiday in spain.

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    From Thurles came home ,to work them weekends so they when Like........

Working all day friday, Then partied ,caught the end of concert ,then nightclub , then more parties in campsite ....didn't go to bed straight to work , Saturday work till 11.30 at night, then nightclub , then back to campsite , Sunday was a re-run .. Then us locals when out Monday and Tuesday Nights to spend your money sorry our wages. :D

You WORKED as well:D.....bejaysus man.......fair dues to ya!!! That nightclub used to be mayhem...could hardly move....dunno how they allowed so many in (thank God they did though!!)......dammit I want to go back to Féile :(
    ROCKMAN wrote: »
    your right deadly times , only time there was life in that s**thole.

Well Thurles still rocks on match days..... Hurling Munster Final....I even "forgot" to go home after a couple of match days in Thurles..... great craic in the pubs..... Tis one part of Tipp I have a soft spot for :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

About 2 years ago at this stage but.... Woke up at 10am on a Friday organised a gig that night. Gig ended at 11, went drinking, home at 4am, collected 5 minutes later, went to the airport, 6am flight to London, stayed awake walking around London until 8pm, went to a gig, gig ended at 11ish, back on a bus to Stanstead, farted about the airport till my 6am return flight, got into Dublin by 7:30, had some breakfast, got home by about 10, had a cuppa tea, watched some telly, realised I was still awake and hit the sack.... Repeated the process about 6 months later for another gig. Good times!

The part in bold, (bear in mind I am a tad hungover and in work so v tired;)) I read wrong and read it as " back on a bus to Stanstead, farted, went about the airport......."

I was thinking "we really needed to know THAT!!" :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭MariMel

jeez.....I am a lightweight in comparison to you harden party animals.

the longest i stayed up was last november......after an hour and a half sleep after a friday night socialising....i got up at 9am...while at a housewarming at a friends.
    The party was the saturday night......i went to get changed as the guests were arriving to catch a glimpse of a fit bloke coming in. A while later i walked into the kitchen and there he was, standing next to the sink chatting to someone i knew......cue oppurtunitiy to go chat to him.

8am the next morning he goes to bed for an hour after we talked ALL night, ignoring pretty much everyone else. I stay up knowing that i would be worse off if i slept at all and had an hours drive ahead.

Home i get at 5pm that evening, got to my parents house for family thing, and finally went to bed at midnight.....only to not be able to sleep til my alarm went off at 7am!!!!!! Thank heavens i could go back to bed at 9am after leaving my child to school.

Worked well though....that fit bloke and I had our first date the following friday and had decided to get married before the main course even arrived.

Role on november til we get married, exactly a year after our first date!!!!