Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunshaughlin 10k - Suitable for Relative Beginners?

• 20-06-2009 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭

Hi All,

Am thinking of doing the Dunshaughlin 10k this Sat. Have only been running for about 2.5 months. I reckon the 10k would take me an hour, is this race out of my league for the mo? Just wondering what the general vibe of the race is and whether I would be able for it really. Looked up last year's results and saw that most finished in well under an hour with only about 5% of the participants finishing outside this - scary!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

What's the farthest you have run so far?
    If close to 10k go for it.
    If only 5k max you could still go for it but you'll be close to the hour..nothing to be ashamed about...you can use it as a measure of improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭**Portia**

I've done the mini marathon in a time of 1hr 7mins but in training have done 10k in about 58 mins (walkers slowing me down unbearably for the first 5k of the mini marathon ) so I think I would be able to hack the distance just that the experience level seems very high and so pace may be a problem!. All the same I want something to train for or else I'm afraid I won't have the motivation to push myself and will stop running. Maybe I'll just suck it up and give it a go, sure even if I'm with the stragglers at the end it will be a step in the right direction ha!
    Have you ran the race before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

I say go for it. It's my home race- I've done it the last couple of years and I was a complete novice doing my first one. (Not much better now!). Plenty of people finishing in the 50's, nice flat course and well organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

The local club (Dunshaughlin AC) are going all out to encourage as many locals to take part this year as possible so there should be a wider spread of talent.;)

I ran it last year, finished in 1 hr 7 mins, looking to better that this year.:rolleyes:

Nice crowd, nice afters, nice course.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The local club (Dunshaughlin AC) are going all out to encourage as many locals to take part this year as possible so there should be a wider spread of talent.;)

I ran it last year, finished in 1 hr 7 mins, looking to better that this year.:rolleyes:

Nice crowd, nice afters, nice course.:D
    I wish I lived in Meath. You guys seem to organize great races regularly. :)

We're only down the road. Races in Navan (Simon Cumbers; South O'Hanlon; Navan AC), Dunboyne, Enfield, Bohermeen (just outside Navan), Stamullen (cross country).

All close to major road links....

If yee want directions you only have to ask....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

If yee want directions you only have to ask....:P
    Well, see I live on the Wicklow side of Dublin.
    Why don't you come organize some local races over here? :)

Well, see I live on the Wicklow side of Dublin.
    Why don't you come organize some local races over here? :)

Make it worth our while:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Tempted to enter this race myself, where is the community center in dunshaughlin is it easy to find?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I'd encourage anyone to have a go at Dunshaughlin. Perfect base facilities and organisation, flat course, traffic free. I wish all road races were like this one (but as meathcountysecretary says there may be more).

Zorba wrote: »
    Tempted to enter this race myself, where is the community center in dunshaughlin is it easy to find?

Take N3 from Dublin, pass up through Dunshaughlin, turn left at traffic lights (direction Trim, Kilcock). Take a left further along signposted for Dunshaughlin Ccmmunity College. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Anybody got 5k results from Bohermeen on Fri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

this is one of the best races of the year....lovely weather...great course...very well organised...brilliant feeding after (always enough to feed an army, with loadsa choice).... plenty of easy car parking.......plus video of race in pub afterwards (was great to see the dual that vinny mulvey and mark kenneally had last year)......

only downside to last years race was the cold showers we had to endure after bbbrrrrrrrr:eek:

Thanks for the info and encouragement! Just one final thing, am I better off entering before or on the day? Is there much hassle entering on the day?

**Portia** wrote: »
    Thanks for the info and encouragement! Just one final thing, am I better off entering before or on the day? Is there much hassle entering on the day?

Entries are being taken on the day up to 7pm but online is cheaper(€12 rather than €15) and you are guaranteed a t-shirt and goody bag. Go to www.dunshaughlinac.com to enter online.

Weather promises to be good up to the weekend so should be a good race.

Good luck:)

only downside to last years race was the cold showers we had to endure after bbbrrrrrrrr:eek:

Jaysus I remember. They don't cater for us city wimps out in Dunshaughlin.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Jaysus I remember. They don't cater for us city wimps out in Dunshaughlin.

Dunshaughlin, where men are men and sheep are worried:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Meathwelshman

Hi All,

Am thinking of doing the Dunshaughlin 10k this Sat. Have only been running for about 2.5 months. I reckon the 10k would take me an hour, is this race out of my league for the mo? Just wondering what the general vibe of the race is and whether I would be able for it really. Looked up last year's results and saw that most finished in well under an hour with only about 5% of the participants finishing outside this - scary!!

Dunshaughlin AC are hoping to get as many entrants as possible to celebrate the 30th running of the event (oldest 10k road race in the country). They are encouraging walkers, joggers and serious runners to enter and enjoy the evening, so a time of around the 60 min mark will be great.

This is going to be chip-timed so pre-enter if possible before midnight on Thursday 25th to help with organisation on the day.

Entries are being taken on the day up to 7pm but online is cheaper(€12 rather than €15) and you are guaranteed a t-shirt and goody bag. Go to www.dunshaughlinac.com to enter online.

Weather promises to be good up to the weekend so should be a good race.

Good luck:)

Thanks, I'll book tonight. Thanks to all for the info, feel much better about it now, fingers crossed the weather holds out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 gazmc

thinking about doing this, it will be my first ever race, dont know what to expect, have not ran in about a month, been on holidays etc, but hoping fo 45min or under finish, i usually run 8k a couple of times a week in 35min so should be ok do you think?
    What time is registration on the day and what time does race start?

gazmc wrote: »
    thinking about doing this, it will be my first ever race, dont know what to expect, have not ran in about a month, been on holidays etc, but hoping fo 45min or under finish, i usually run 8k a couple of times a week in 35min so should be ok do you think?
    What time is registration on the day and what time does race start?

Registration 5pm-7pm, race start 7.30pm (10 mins jog from the registration place).

I wouldn't race if I hadn't run for a month, but don't let me put you off...

thanks for the comment, i appreciate any feedback as iam new to everything,
    il do 7 or 8 k tonight if it goes well il go for it.
    Its just for the craic and to say ive done a race really.
    Will there be much people at it do you think?

Noooo gazmc, don't go running (at least not hard) 24 hours before a race! At least if you haven't trained recently you'll be fresh for it and you'll probably be OK if you don't go mad in the first few miles. Alternatively pick one of many other races coming up and build up your running beforehand.

There were 200-300 at Dunshaughlin last year I'd guess.

Thanks Roymcc for the feedback,Might leave it untill next time, no rush i suppose! Just anxious to get racing you know, seems like ive been missing out!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Well if you want to get a good start, there's a 5k on at Farmleigh next weekend. Probably a good one to start off with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

just back from this race, it just seems to get better organised each year. slight delay with the start, but with 500+ starters this is to be expected. every km and mile was marked, a chip time mat at 5km and time callers on most mile markers. hot showers as well. knocked nearly 90seconds of my 10km time for 2009, so well happy.

emerald007 wrote: »
    just back from this race, it just seems to get better organised each year. slight delay with the start, but with 500+ starters this is to be expected. every km and mile was marked, a chip time mat at 5km and time callers on most mile markers. hot showers as well. knocked nearly 90seconds of my 10km time for 2009, so well happy.

Just back from this race also, was a great success and I'm so glad I did it. Time of 55mins which I'm pleased with seeing as only my 2nd time running 10k and only started running 3 mths ago.
    Organisers and locals so friendly, helpful and encouraging. goodie bags nice too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

just back from this race, it just seems to get better organised each year. slight delay with the start, but with 500+ starters this is to be expected. every km and mile was marked, a chip time mat at 5km and time callers on most mile markers. hot showers as well.

Ran this myself a couple of time and absolutely love it. I hate the 10k distance but this race is an absolute classic.
    knocked nearly 90seconds of my 10km time for 2009, so well happy.

Well done on your time you are flying this year

Just back from this race also, was a great success and I'm so glad I did it. Time of 55mins which I'm pleased with seeing as only my 2nd time running 10k and only started running 3 mths ago.
    Congrats! Great time :)

Results and official times now available on the Dunshaughlinac.com website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Results and official times now available on the Dunshaughlinac.com website!

I can't find the results, just the report. Do you have a direct link? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

I can't find the results, just the report. Do you have a direct link? Thanks.

http://www.dunshaughlinac.com/10k.asp

xlsx file..i can't open it with exel for mac...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

can't open it either and I'm using vista

Hi, Sorry, that is the format that it was sent by the timing company to me. If you want I will try and send to you in another format. You can contact me at ibruce@eircom.net. Let me know if you want any more info.

It's an Office 2007 file - I can open it fine in OpenOffice 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

as far as i can see from the results they are making myself plus others whose times i know, approx 20seconds faster than we actually were..........no bad thing really:D but i'm claiming the time off my watch (which was the same as the one i seen on the clock passing the finsihing line)

Can somebody post these results please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

jinka wrote: »
    Can somebody post these results please?

Saved as Excel 2003 - hopefully this works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

i'm thinking the times are 14 seconds fast on the chip timing results. The column "10km position" which conflicts with the final race position seems a bit random.

how can the times be so wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

I think the 10K rank is your rank for the second 5K of the race. Happy with my time 35:11 but I think it's just under 20 seconds fast. Well done all will defo be back next year.

Any photos knocking around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

My first 'proper' 10k race and really enjoyed it. Was hoping for sub 50 and managed 49:24 so delighted with that.
    Great atmosphere on the day, really well organised, will definitely be back next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

gmurran wrote: »

Any photos knocking around?

Photos by Lindie Naughton are starting to come up on RacePix365 now. Sure looked hot out there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 roadrunner100

Here are plenty more photos from Dunshaughlin 10km
    http://www.photography.paul-walsh.net/sport/athletics/

Here are plenty more photos from Dunshaughlin 10km
    http://www.photography.paul-walsh.net/sport/athletics/

Some nice pix but at 20 euro for an 8x10 I think I'll stick with racepix365 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 roadrunner100

I think you're right there about the €20! but all the same some good photos of a great evening! It was great to see such a huge amount of local support all along the route, and water stations seemed to just spring up from peoples houses! Terrific atmosphere and a good quality field it seems too.

Couldn't agree more, I'll be back :D

Final results are now available (uploaded onto site as Excel 2003 so should be no problem opening) http://www.dunshaughlinac.com/10k.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Final results are now available (uploaded onto site as Excel 2003 so should be no problem opening) http://www.dunshaughlinac.com/10k.asp

Great to see the accurate results up. Thanks