Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idoitic Questions

• 17-06-2009 7:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

Sometimes I am just baffled by the complete stupidity of people!:confused:

Gettin the hair chopped the other day and the barber says to me afterwards while showing me the back of my head:

"Is it too short?" :confused:

A bit feckin late now mate!

Any stupid Qs been asked by/to yourselfs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Any stupid Qs been asked by/to yourselfs?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Maybe he was asking for next time? Most of us only learn from our mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

Where would the ice be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Was called behind after Maths today;

Teacher: Your attitude is disgusting Tom; you never do the work
    Me: I finished all the work today miss
    Teacher: But you were talking
    Me: Yeah, after I finished the work, the person I was talkin to had aswell
    Teacher: So if someone was sedated, I could kill them?

WTF?!!
    That was 6 hours ago, I still don't get it

one of the girls slipped up pretty bad when she asked if benjamin button was based on a true story.. silly women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

"What time is it there?"

I always reply by telling them the time an then asking "Why? What time is it there?"

I don't know about idiotic questions other people ask though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

Gettin the hair chopped the other day and the barber says to me afterwards while showing me the back of my head:

"Is it too short?" :confused:

Maybe he was referring to the handle of the mirror?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

more of a stupid answer....

me "sure your veins, when you strectch them out go around the world once, or twice i think"
    john " yeah right, the earths miles away"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

People who call you on your landline and then ask 'Where are you?'.

Where the f*** do you think I am?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭bandybanter

Yes

Nice :rolleyes: I should have seen it coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

When you tell someone something shocking and they go:

"What?"

You then say "Did you not hear me?"

and they say: "Obviously, thats a stupid question."

The above is the definition of hypocritical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

RonMexico is washing a wall.

Stupid Person: "What are you doing RonMexico?"

RonMexico: "Writing a letter."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Arrived at a hospital front desk

"Can I help you?"

I fooking hope so.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

This:
    What's the name of yer man, ah you know him he was in that programme that used to be on RTE.
    He had fair hair,ah you know who I'm talking about.:confused:

I was actually asked that today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

RonMexico wrote: »

Sarcasm... me likes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

RonMexico wrote: »

I have a confession to make. I secretly love these kinds of idiotic questions. Especially if its first thing in the morning, kinda sets me up for the day. If you get one of these little nuggets, make sure the sarcastic tone is slow so venomous it singes off all their body hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This:
    What's the name of yer man, ah you know him he was in that programme that used to be on RTE.
    He had fair hair,ah you know who I'm talking about.:confused:

I was actually asked that today.

Was it Derek Davis?

No it was Micheal Crawford.

A friend had wanted to order a dvd boxed set of Some Mothers Do Ave Em after hearing that *your man that sang Phantom of the Opera was in it.( Fathers day coming up and all that.
    She couldn't remember Crawfords name from Phantom but could remember her dad saying he loved him in Some Mothers.
    Go figure how I was supposed to get that.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Hobbling out of A&E on crutches which has the usual gathering of village idiots.
    Village idiot: Ahhh is your leg sore? (like she was asking a three year old)
    Me: What makes you ask that?
    Village idiot: Sure you're on crutches.
    Me: Am I? Jaysus our health system is really gone to the dogs, I came in with a broken arm.

What makes it worse is that she looked at my arm. Back to the village, idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

The most idiotic question I've ever encountered is the one on the US Immigration Form.

Q. Is it your intention to overthrow the Government
    of the United States by force?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

The most idiotic question I've ever encountered is the one on the US Immigration Form.

Don't keep us in suspense - what did you answer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I agree. You can either choose yes or no. But the above is very much a "maybe" scenario; one of those "if I get thrown out of vegas for excessive use of hookers and drugs, then I might" decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

more of a stupid answer than a question

me in work

me: would you like gravy or parsley sauce
    customer: yeah

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

more of a stupid answer than a question

me in work

me: would you like gravy or parsley sauce
    customer: yeah

:mad:

I'll take the gravy on the meat & parsley sauce on the veg, thanks.

By the way is that organic chicken you use? Is the chicken steamed? Are the veg steamed?
    I can't have any fat on the chicken or veg & they both have to be steamed, but I will accept the gravy & parsley sauce, thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Someone asked me to play Galway Girl once...feckin eejit.

I love when someone comes up to me when i'm fishing and says 'Doing some fishing are you?'

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I'll take the gravy on the meat & parsley sauce on the veg, thanks.

By the way is that organic chicken you use? Is the chicken steamed? Are the veg steamed?
    I can't have any fat on the chicken or veg & they both have to be steamed, but I will accept the gravy & parsley sauce, thank you.

derek?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

super-rush wrote: »
    I love when someone comes up to me when i'm fishing and says 'Doing some fishing are you?'

No. Actually this is my long skinny penis, and I'm taking a piss..

Right? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Abigayle wrote: »
    No. Actually this is my long skinny penis, and I'm taking a piss..

Right? :pac:

My second LOL today. The list of responses is endless

derek?

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Will there be a Titanic 2?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Will there be a Titanic 2?

there was, it was called the olympia, i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Well i work in a tourist office during summet so i get quite a few but the most ridiculous question i ever got was from these 2 americans.

"Where can we buy irish grass?"
    "Ah sorry"
    "Is there any shop around here that sells irish grass"

I was ready to laugh so i told them i'd find out, went around the back and told everyone else... finally went back out to them and told them they could go outside and pick some if they wanted...

i thought it was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

"Are you ever going to let me go?"

Of course I'm not, the daft wench :rolleyes:

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    "Are you ever going to let me go?"

Of course I'm not, the daft wench :rolleyes:

Josef? Josef Fritzel? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

"Yo bud, wud ya ever giz a youuuuro for a cup o tae?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

I'd definitely go with the parsley sauce.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Have a hunt around on Youtube or some such for a routine by comedian Bill Engvall. The skit is entitled 'Here's your sign', and is a review of really stupid, obvious questions that have been asked of people.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Have a hunt around on Youtube or some such for a routine by comedian Bill Engvall. The skit is entitled 'Here's your sign', and is a review of really stupid, obvious questions that have been asked of people.

NTM

I think you've been over there too long, you are now officially a red neck. (the skit is still funny though.)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

'What time does the 10 past 10 bus come in at?'

'Usually half 10.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

I hate to give out about my parents, but I'm so often asked while I'm eating a snack, "Are you having something to eat there, ccosgrave?" or "Are you hungry, ccosgrave?" It's not even the fact that it's a stupid question that annoys me, but it's the fact that there is absolutely no way to respond that without sounding like an unsocial tool who refuses to carry a conversation. Basically, all I can say in response is, "Yep." There's simply no other reply to that question and I hate the fact that they must think that it's a decent attempt at conversation.

I find that it's only that particular scenario in which it pisses me off. Other questions like, "Are you doing some computering there?" or "Are you heading off?" don't bother me at all compared to how I feel about the food questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

the sister once asked me what date it was.

On her birthday. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Heh @ 'are ya doin some computerin' there?'

This is going to be my new phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

peanuthead wrote: »

ah did you not wish her happy birthday or something?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭peepeep

ccosgrave wrote: »
    I hate to give out about my parents, but I'm so often asked while I'm eating a snack, "Are you having something to eat there, ccosgrave?" or "Are you hungry, ccosgrave?"

I just like that your parents call you by your internet handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I've waited a while to use this one. :D

picture.php?albumid=561&pictureid=2866

Worth the wait.:D
    Hammer and nail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

tok9 wrote: »
    Well i work in a tourist office during summet so i get quite a few but the most ridiculous question i ever got was from these 2 americans.

"Where can we buy irish grass?"
    "Ah sorry"
    "Is there any shop around here that sells irish grass"

I was ready to laugh so i told them i'd find out, went around the back and told everyone else... finally went back out to them and told them they could go outside and pick some if they wanted...

i thought it was hilarious

Instead of laughing at them with your mates, you could have gone out and picked some grass and sold it to them for 50 quid???
    peanuthead wrote: »

All she wanted was her present!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I hate to give out about my parents, but I'm so often asked while I'm eating a snack, "Are you having something to eat there, ccosgrave?" or "Are you hungry, ccosgrave?" It's not even the fact that it's a stupid question that annoys me, but it's the fact that there is absolutely no way to respond that without sounding like an unsocial tool who refuses to carry a conversation. Basically, all I can say in response is, "Yep." There's simply no other reply to that question and I hate the fact that they must think that it's a decent attempt at conversation.

I find that it's only that particular scenario in which it pisses me off. Other questions like, "Are you doing some computering there?" or "Are you heading off?" don't bother me at all compared to how I feel about the food questions.
    Have you considered therapy?

How would you feel if they were not there tomorrow to converse with you because they care about you?