Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what makes you go 'how the feck'?

• 17-06-2009 7:39pm

my laptop is broke so i'm using my itouch for all internet, email and facebook..

just lookin at it here nd i jus dont get how all the information in the world is in the palm of my hand.. it is crazy like..
    another thing i dont get is how a litre of liquid can make a car travel so far.. some very smart people got us to where we are today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah and some very smart people will take us to where we end up =p

Airplanes have always fascinated me, even though I know how it works. It truly is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

My dad had a triple heart bypass, and the idea that they cracked him open, and scooped his insidey bits out and fixed them makes me go WHOOOAAA!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Sounds stupid, but CDs/MP3... just the fact that you can record something as individual as someone's voice.. I dunno

Photographs, the internet, porn... they're all amazing when you think about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Sending an sms to the other side of the world and you get a delivery report almost straight away. WTF :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

every time i eat a fig roll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Logging on to Ticketmaster at 9.00am on the spot and still missing out on Faith No More tickets yet people somehow managed to buy 8 tickets in stores as late as 9.15am. What the fcuk:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Nothing, I know all things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the science/math behind landing on the moon, or getting a probe to land on Mars etc. , not the engineering so much just the calculations involved

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

What amazes is how ipods and computers play music!
    its all 1's and 0's really:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

phasers wrote: »
    Nothing, I know all things.

Typical woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

RonMexico wrote: »
    Logging on to Ticketmaster at 9.00am on the spot and still missing out on Faith No More tickets yet people somehow managed to buy 8 tickets in stores as late as 9.15am. What the fcuk:mad:
    Thats just a pain in the arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

computers...... like how the converter binary 10110101000101100 into a picture and letters etc...
    i know how it works but it is amazing

and the internet.... just crazy like online gaming 32 ppl all in real time doing diffrent things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

I still find Google maps/earth/streetview endlessly entertaining. The idea that I can get satelite and pov images of all the major cities in the world is quite liberating.

Air travel is another facinating concept. I like the idea that I can be in New York in in 5 hours where it would have taken anywhere from 40-80 days to achieve the trip by boat 150 years ago.

Another added value of both of the above is that I believe they are both in their infancy and much further improvement is on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

the thought that baby girls are born with their ovaries full of eggs which means i've had my future grandchildren inside my womb when pregnant with my daughter.... like some freaky russian doll of human biology.

the internet and tv.... i mean HOW? i mean i know the science but i still can't get my head around how all that information can be flying through the air or down tiny cables all around us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Air travel is another facinating concept. I like the idea that I can be in New York in in 5 hours where it would have taken anywhere from 40-80 days to achieve the trip by boat 150 years ago.

and it takes longer to drive to derry than to fly to south of spain/ north africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭bonkers

the fact that horses can talk but only on their holidays, makes me think, to be honest that anything is possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

The human body, Conception & Pregnancy just amazes me. Where does your soul go when you die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Humankind.

We get a bad rep most of the time; we pollute, we eliminate species, we exhaust the planet's resources. But I see it this way - we conquered a whole bloody planet. What other animal even came close. Dolphins my ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

I just think how the body works is amazing. The way we get energy from food and drink.. The way chemicals can make us do wierd things.. Like the way helium makes our voices squeaky! And all them tiny little cells in us.. Ah its really fascinating i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

When I pick up my dole every week I wonder how the hell this country hasn't been declared bankrupt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I like the idea that I can be in New York in in 5 hours where it would have taken anywhere from 40-80 days to achieve the trip by boat 150 years ago.

Another added value of both of the above is that I believe they are both in their infancy and much further improvement is on the way.
    Hate to break this to you but apart from the 14 Concorde, trans atlantic passenger aircraft haven't gotten much faster since the 707 back in 1958
    so things have stayed the same for most of the history of heavier than air flight.

The little dot on your TV screen moves left to right 575 times per frame and there are 25 frames a second and back when we only had RTE then at any one time the little dot was in the same position on every TV in the country.

How they supressed nearly half of the TV signal to save nearly half the bandwidth without affecting the picture and then How they managed to add colour to the TV signal that was already full, without affecting people with mono tellys and then How they then added NICAM stereo to the TV signal that was already very full.

Using delay lines in SECAM

The French having a 737 line TV system in the 1940's - 720 lines is considered HD today !

Using mercury delay lines in early computers to store data
    bubble memory - used in cruise missiles - don't really get how it works to me it seems like a magnetic delay line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Photographs.
    I love the way I can capture a moment in time & that no one else will get the same picture.
    It leaves an insight behind for future generations to look at. Every photo you take is history on some level.
    I love old photographs, even if it's of people I don't know.

I know how it happens but I still think it's amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

The Transporter :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

The FLUX CAPACITOR - now, thats some yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Surprised nobody has mentioned Stone Henge, the pyramids and the big one - the creation of the universe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Surprised nobody has mentioned Stone Henge, the pyramids and the big one - the creation of the universe.

Meh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

your entitled to say that and are, if you wish, entitled to lick your own arse and call it chocolate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

your entitled to say that and are, if you wish, entitled to lick your own arse and call it chocolate

What seems to be the officer problem?

What about Newgrange? Older than both of those =p

Actually, having visited it more than once I must say that it is something that makes me think how the feck did they do that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

This

Just how the hell do they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The human mind. It's amazing how you can say one thing and somebody completely misinterprets it and I end up thinking "how thick are you?"

Boards is a great example.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

bobcar61 wrote: »
    This

Just how the hell do they do it.
    Afaik the costumes are all on on top of each other and only held on with velcro.
    One rip and she just steps away from the one she ripped off.

Afaik the costumes are all on on top of each other and only held on with velcro.

Still pretty impressive in all fairness, that final change with the confetti is mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Martin Cullen still being a minister, wtf?

Must have dirt on Biffo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

She had about 10 costumes on, which would have been obvious at the start, and they didn't get smaller either. Anyway, the confetti one was ridiculously fast.
    Never seen that before. Amazing ... Waaaaay better than the meaning of life etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Still pretty impressive in all fairness, that final change with the confetti is mental!

It's brilliant, there was a couple on Britains Got Talent that were very good too.:pac:

Though the two in that clip were better.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

How the feck did she do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Mousey- wrote: »
    computers...... like how the converter binary 10110101000101100 into a picture and letters etc...

and the internet.... just crazy like online gaming 32 ppl all in real time doing diffrent things

Let me introduce you to MAG (Massive Action Game)

100000000 people online(Binary nerds activate). Yes. Just let me get my binary to decimal converter up and I'll make it so ye simpletons will understand that

It's 256

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

in real life there are billions of people in real time doing different things. Tis bleeding freaky

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What about Newgrange? Older than both of those =p
    Newgrange older than the universe , it's true you do learn something new every day.

aoibhebree wrote: »
    The Transporter :confused:
    Always amazed me how they manage to keep sticking an extra car on them with each new design, I can remember when 7 was the most they could carry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

The human body is incredible, no matter how long you spend reading about it, it's beautiful efficiency can always amaze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

getting movies through a wire from the phoneline. Tis mad boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Prices
    General behaviour of people
    Human greed
    Iran

what amazes me about the human body is how much better it could be

why do testes have to be outside where they can get damaged and hurt and
    hernias

why can't we digest grass, some baboons can

why can't we see in UV or IR

why do we have a blind spot - molluscs don't

why can't we grow a third set of teeth

why do men loose hair

a tail would be handy

kangaroos with their springy legs are much more efficient at travelling than we are, don't get me started on how badly our feet are designed

a third eye in the back of your head would be handy

having more stuff to hold our intestines in place would be handy

hearing in ultrasonic and subsonic would be cool as would be able to navigate using polarised light or magnetic fields - then again being sensitive to magnetic fields would cause problems with most house hold gadgets.

if only we could hibernate, just pig out on a load of food and ask someone to wake you when the good times come back around

still when it comes to apes we are the best endowed, trust me you don't want to be hung like a gorilla ;)

and we can eat doses of chocolate that would kill our pets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

why can't we digest grass, some baboons can

The appendix is what digests grass no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

The optimum temperature for spermogenesis to occur is slightly below body temperature, hence ball sacks.

Gold star??:pac:

And no, the appendix has evolved to serve no function in humans. There's some fancy word for it, vestigial organ or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

How people can chat to people from Ireland to far as Oz, madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

But the real world has about 6 billion people in real-time all doing different things - and when's the last time ya heard people going on about how great that is?

/grump