Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭greenpetrol

Yep 5 attempts to post pics up last night and fierce slow to load new pages.

Hope they sort it soon as I see a decline in posts and losing interest in checking as it takes so long to load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Would anyone have an idea of the price of chequered steel sheets. The timber floor in my two cow trailer is rotten. OH wants to sheet it with chequered steel but I reckon timber is good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Base price wrote: »
    Would anyone have an idea of the price of chequered steel sheets. The timber floor in my two cow trailer is rotten. OH wants to sheet it with chequered steel but I reckon timber is good enough.

Not sure about plate..
    But we got a 2" larch floor cut for ours three years ago for €75, 8*5 trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Lad on DD selling 8x4 ft sheets 3mm thick chequer plate aluminium for €130.
    Chequer plate steel wont last.
    A few 6x2 planks treated and spaced about 50 mm apart and aluminium sheet bolted down on top of them will last a lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

There is a lad builds Lorry bodies in Granard, just out of town on the Longford road, on the right hand side. He got heavy checker alloy for me a few years ago, and wasn't too hard shod.
    Get stainless cup head bolts, for a lifetime job.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    There is a lad builds Lorry bodies in Granard, just out of town on the Longford road, on the right hand side. He got heavy checker alloy for me a few years ago, and wasn't too hard shod.
    Get stainless cup head bolts, for a lifetime job.
    I know the place.
    TBH I would have thought that aluminium would be more expensive than steel. I understand what people are saying about aluminium been the bees knees but the trailer is old.

I know the place.
    TBH I would have thought that aluminium would be more expensive than steel. I understand what people are saying about aluminium been the bees knees but the trailer is old.

It is more expensive, but if you have to put another steel floor in in eight or nine years your probably at the same price.
    If it's an older trailer that won't meet new regs; well then perhaps a cheaper job now and put the difference towards a better model in a few years time.
    It's just if steel rusts, I'd be afraid of putting a heavy animal in , in case a foot went through it.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    It is more expensive, but if you have to put another steel floor in in eight or nine years your probably at the same price.
    If it's an older trailer that won't meet new regs; well then perhaps a cheaper job now and put the difference towards a better model in a few years time.
    It's just if steel rusts, I'd be afraid of putting a heavy animal in , in case a foot went through it.
    The trailer meets the regs I think. It's an Ifor Williams (with working brakes) all be it an older model.
    If we were going to go down the aluminium floor route (which we have not discussed) then I reckon he would go to a guy he knows in Monaghan who builds livestock bodies/trailers. My trailer is not worth enough to warrant it. I think I will get my way and we'll put in a timber floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

The trailer meets the regs I think. It's an Ifor Williams (with working brakes) all be it an older model.
    If we were going to go down the aluminium floor route (which we have not discussed) then I reckon he would go to a guy he knows in Monaghan who builds livestock bodies/trailers. My trailer is not worth enough to warrant it. I think I will get my way and we'll put in a timber floor.

I got an 8x5 sheet of check plate aluminium for 100 last year to replace a floor in an old cow box. For the sake of 100 quid Tis worth doing to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Pacoa wrote: »

Handy alright any of ye got something on the spreader to hole bags.thinking of doing something for h and s reasons as much as time and wondering what to do

keep going wrote: »
    Handy alright any of ye got something on the spreader to hole bags.thinking of doing something for h and s reasons as much as time and wondering what to do

I saw a reconditioned secondhand spreader for sale in a engineering yard a while back that had a triangular blade mounted on the top of the hopper. Like a larger version of a knife section for a combine. About 12" at the base and 9" high. Probably a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

I saw a reconditioned secondhand spreader for sale in a engineering yard a while back that had a triangular blade mounted on the top of the hopper. Like a larger version of a knife section for a combine. About 12" at the base and 9" high. Probably a good idea.

Tbh id a bit of near miss between the spreader and the loader last year when the loader rolled foward and could have pinned me to the spreader .it would need to make a hole big enough to empty the bag without letting all go in one go.

keep going wrote: »
    Tbh id a bit of near miss between the spreader and the loader last year when the loader rolled foward and could have pinned me to the spreader .it would need to make a hole big enough to empty the bag without letting all go in one go.

Mount it low inside the hopper. Then lift bag to empty it. Out of danger too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Could see that doing very well if it was priced reasonable

Spaldings used to sell something similar. I think you'd screw it up through the bottom of the bag.

This yoke.

Those lucky people out there with Fiat 90-90's etc. may like to know that Citroen C5 bonnet gas struts are perfect for the Fiat back window. Picked up a pair today in the scrapyard for 5 Euro.
    Just the right lenght and spring strenght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Picked this up for what I thought was small money (270 sound ok to the rest of you?)
    Only thing wrong is it needs a battery for the electric starter to work but starts fine from a pull start.
    Going to convert it into a scraper

Picked this up for what I thought was small money (270 sound ok to the rest of you?)
    Only thing wrong is it needs a battery for the electric starter to work but starts fine from a pull start.

Oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Is she running?

Yeah running grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SCOL

Is there a 3 point linkage on her ? you could also weld up a light scrapper onto the front of it her aswell.

SCOL wrote: »
    Is there a 3 point linkage on her ? you could also weld up a light scrapper onto the front of it her aswell.

no linkage. scraper will go on the front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭greenpetrol

no linkage. scraper will go on the front

Get a 12volt winch to lift the scraper up and down save a lot of messing trying to engineer levering you will be amazed with the pushing power ! hydrostatic would be a better job I found it brutal slow esp on reverse ! If you have an eager young lad he would love the job driving it ! Without the blades it should be safe enough ?

Thanks! I might explore that idea a bit more

I had to take the steering wheel of my old tractor to get access to the power steering pipes that are leaking. Wasted a lot of time pulling and tapping it with a hammer. No good. Went away and bought a bearing puller and it slipped it off, no bother. Easy do a job when you have the right tools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

I had to take the steering wheel of my old tractor to get access to the power steering pipes that are leaking. Wasted a lot of time pulling and tapping it with a hammer. No good. Went away and bought a bearing puller and it slipped it off, no bother. Easy do a job when you have the right tools.
    Any pictures? Never seen/ heard of it.

farmerjj wrote: »
    Any pictures? Never seen/ heard of it.

One of these 3-legged types. You can flip it around, so it will work with jaws facing either in or out.

list_56177_N136_3LEG.jpg