Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

td5man wrote: »
    Hate fibre in concrete hard to get a nice finish on it especially if you're power floating it.
    4 inches of concrete is enough for most shed floors if you have a good base, 5-6 if using a forklift or loader on it regularly.

But most farm sheds and yards would be looking for a rough finish would they not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

"foxy wrote:
    The cube test is the real indicator of the final strength of a mix. This gives the final Newton strength.

Great craic in college making up the cubes and crushing them. See who could make the strongest. Some bang when they'd go. Thank God for the safety cage around them.

Anyone can and should take sample cubes and send them off to be tested. especially if getting a few loads. A lot of money to be leaving to chance. It's like spreading fertiliser without soil testing only worse because you can't correct it the following year! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Reggie. wrote: »
    But most farm sheds and yards would be looking for a rough finish would they not

There's rough and there's rough iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Muckit wrote: »
    Great craic in college making up the cubes and crushing them. See who could make the strongest. Some bang when they'd go. Thank God for the safety cage around them.

Anyone can and should take sample cubes and send them off to be tested. especially if getting a few loads. A lot of money to be leaving to chance. It's like spreading fertiliser without soil testing only worse because you can't correct it the following year! !

Kilsaran have a lad going round taking cubes on site must be check the customer hasn't added too much water.

td5man wrote: »
    There's rough and there's rough iykwim.

I got a near dead smooth unintentional finish on one pad but there was alot of water added tho which wasn't ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Muckit wrote: »

Is it not too late at that stage? I'd imagine it takes a few days for the results to come back and you're floor is well set by then. Would you get compensation or are they required to replace it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I got one load of readymix here back in 97 for the wall of a tank. It was like watching marbles coming out of the drum. Almost no sand in the mix. Only for pokering the living daylights out of it I'd say it would be porous. Driver said it was the first load out that morning after bank holiday.
    Same happened to another lad in the parish back in 08. Dept insisted that the wall be demolished. It was so bad that you could see through it in places. Some dose with all the Grant spec reinforcing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I got a near dead smooth unintentional finish on one pad but there was alot of water added tho which wasn't ideal.

Yes but you'll get a nice finish with a power screed without overdoing the water that you wont's get with a plank

rangler1 wrote: »
    Yes but you'll get a nice finish with a power screed without overdoing the water that you wont's get with a plank

Oh I fully understand that. Just was saying in relation to fibre being in the concrete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

We put down a floor in a shed in 2004, it was 25 x 45 ft., and 4 inches in most of it. No steel mesh. The midde of a hayshed.
    We mixed it with gravel at 6 to 1, in a mixer, wheeled it in and leveled with a 4x2 over the shapes we had made, then moved to the next bit and so on. One 4x2 got wedged in and is still there
    wde did it this way because money was tight and couldn't afford the load at once.
    Turned out it was the same price as mixing by hand. . ..
    Ten years on, and countless jcbs sitting on their jacks and buckets later, there's not a crack to be seen.
    And it was laid in November and December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwwpeZK2YVc

One for Reggie, I think!

Sorry about double post, guys.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

usi3ha.jpg

Decided this year is the last time im baling out all the 90 gallon troughs (plastic ones ) around the farm.. so fitted this jfc 1 inch drain off not really cheap at €7 each x 2 for each trough so €14 a trough but should last for years .A 34mm hole is perfect for them ... i used a bit that bores out for carcass hinges in kitchen doors.

BWmzyZ.jpg

AlHFXo.jpg

recycled springs from neighbours old trampoline .. can now set arms to size for machines without pulling in and out also stops arms from hitting tyres which they were always doing when in up position with nothing on .

usi3ha.jpg

Decided this year is the last time im baling out all the 90 gallon troughs (plastic ones ) around the farm.. so fitted this jfc 1 inch drain off not really cheap at €7 each x 2 for each trough so €14 a trough but should last for years .A 34mm hole is perfect for them ... i used a bit that bores out for carcass hinges in kitchen doors.

BWmzyZ.jpg

AlHFXo.jpg

recycled springs from neighbours old trampoline .. can now set arms to size for machines without pulling in and out also stops arms from hitting tyres which they were always doing when in up position with nothing on .
    Great stuff. Well done lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I didn't realise there was such a thing as a drain-off. I was cleaning a trough during the week and thinking what a pain it was. Cheers.

Anyone use Hyundai welding rods? Local coop started stocking them as they're cheaper than Oerlikon. Have been using them with a while but notice that when using a new rod the arc keeps breaking till nearly half the rod is burned. Will burn grand and continuously then to the finish. Drove me demented last night.Thought it might be dampness but have an older open box of Oerlikon 4mm that burn fine start to finish.

I buy from wholesale welding supplies online. Buy their own brand stuff. It's good products and alot cheaper than big company named products

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,833 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Haven't used them but heard they're very spluttery.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Have used them before, didn't take much notice of them. Did find them fairly cheap so i suppose you get what you pay for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

raypallas wrote: »
    Have used them before, didn't take much notice of them. Did find them fairly cheap so i suppose you get what you pay for!

Any chance they are damp. By the time you have gotten to half way they are dried out.

Figerty wrote: »
    Any chance they are damp. By the time you have gotten to half way they are dried out.

Possibly. The Oerlikons are open with nearly 12 months and should be as damp but they worked fine last night. I'll need a new box of rods tomorrow so I'll see if the new ones are any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I leave them beside the central heating boiler. They can get to dry over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Figerty wrote:
    I leave them beside the central heating boiler. They can get to dry over time.

Use the hot press at home myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Figerty wrote: »

Sounds like this is what's going on..
    Possibly. The Oerlikons are open with nearly 12 months and should be as damp but they worked fine last night. I'll need a new box of rods tomorrow so I'll see if the new ones are any better.

Nothing as bad as welding with damp rods, you'll never get decent welds as the steam will keep disrupting the weld pool..

Not farming related but had to put it up.

Young lass is staying in the parents for a few days but an old cot they had was a bit damaged at It's end. So this was my father's solution :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Young lass is staying in the parents for a few days but an old cot they had was a bit damaged at It's end. So this was my father's solution :D

If it looks stupid but it works......it's not stupid :D

Edit-Goddammit Reggie I wasted my 9000th post on you. I'll have to go delete one now.

Thats a warning for projectile vomit, diarrhoea, wind, wailing and thrown toys!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,833 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Twasn't from the side of the road you picked up your guntering skills so?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Odelay

I thought he was going to use a pallet and baler twine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,613 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Odelay wrote: »
    I thought he was going to use a pallet and baler twine!

Thought that myself. ;))