Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Figerty wrote: »
    Jaysus Vander,,, we had no spring this year. Cattle in until mid May. Meat wagons collecting fallen animals etc.

Last Five months were great, before that was awful.

great summer i should say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭mayota

hugo29 wrote: »
    fooking architects, who needs them

Some of them are ok :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

mayota wrote: »
    Some of them are ok :D

Show me one, theyre nearly as bad as accountants ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

fooking architects, who needs them

You would want a few bob to have them lads around :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

moy83 wrote: »

Their day is coming...............you boys need to read this

S.I 80 of 2013

These men of straw are being made legally responsible............

www.environ.ie/en/.../BuildingStandards/FileDownLoad,32732,en.pdf‎

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Crooks the lot of them, wouldn't any eejit draw a straight line, :P

Its the ones that cant draw a straight line that used to annoy me.

The straight lines arent the problems its when they get notions of angles , curves that they turn into right boyos I reckon :D

td5man wrote: »
    Its the ones that cant draw a straight line that used to annoy me.

Sur fcuk all is straight in Meath, ya have to go with the flow:D

The straight lines arent the problems its when they get notions of angles , curves that they turn into right boyos I reckon :D

Variety is the spice of life moy, can't be doing it the same way all the time:D

Reverse architect ? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

what a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »
    The other side of that is the tax write off for your own machinery. Personally, the ability to be able to do certain jobs like slurry, the day I want to do it (even if its a sunday) and the way I want to do it far outweighs the benefits of getting in a contractor who's only interest is getting the tank empty regardless of the damage he does to ground with his big machines, and regardless of the amount that he has to spread in each field just to get it empty.

I'm a fan of more rounded solutions than one track "no brainers" - rather than a 1 solution fits all, there are several solutions out there that fit the different ways that different people farm.

Hmm, seems I hit a nerve for some reason. Your argument is fine but ignores the highlighted bit below:
    just do it wrote: »
    There are so many contractors out there for every job it is hard to justify buying any equipment! Less equipment also = only need a smaller tractor...

Definitely a no-brainer for lads with off-farm income due to the tax right off and scarce time.

Horses for courses and all that;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Hmm, seems I hit a nerve for some reason. Your argument is fine but ignores the highlighted bit below:

Horses for courses and all that;)

You'll find that most people who have a farm and an off farm job will put as much time into the farm work as they do into the day job so time isn't usually a factor.

It seems that a lot of people here these days seem to think that they know what's best for everyone else without knowing them, their farm or their work ability/ethic. Basically what I'm saying is that what's a no brainer for you is not necessarily a no brainer for everyone else because they don't farm the same land that you do and don't work in the same way!

So rounded solutions are more apt for people as opposed to one track views. As you rightly corrected in your post "horses for courses" rather than "Definitely a no-brainer" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

to0n.jpg
    75l8.jpg
    vp1c.jpg
    703s.jpg

first part of extending swinging point of 14 ft gate .. there are two hanging off same post and i want them both closing on same wall ( will show more pics tomorrow ) . I still have to weld on hanging part but did not have any bar same size as gate .. all made from recycled bits and bobs ... they are not and will not be fixed to gate all will become apparent :) ... ps excuse the welding :o

nothing wrong with that welding lad

If you want to see some serious welding look at "weld porn" on facebook.

holy crap :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Eh, "weldporn" is all one word. Putting in "weld porn" gets some other stuff altogether.

:D:D weld porn WTF , you Meath men have some strange fetishes

Eh, "weldporn" is all one word. Putting in "weld porn" gets some other stuff altogether.

What? Cant look im on my phone.

some serious stuff there alright ... dont think ill be posting any pics up there..:o::D:D:D

You ain't the only one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »
    You'll find that most people who have a farm and an off farm job will put as much time into the farm work as they do into the day job so time isn't usually a factor.

For any lad that's taking offense to what I'm saying, you're possibly missing my point. I agree with what reilig is saying but there are some of us who have scarce time. For those of us in that scenario getting a contractor in is a no-brainer. And it's for the plain and simple reason that otherwise it will just never get done. I'd love to dedicate more time to the farm but I just don't have it.

I tried to do it all myself the first few years after I took over the place and it is only really this year I'm getting on top of things since I've started getting lads in to do things for me. Even just spreading fertilizer with my tractor and my wagtail. You'll all know I've feck all machinery. I got a chain harrow 3 years ago and finally only got around to using it this year - despite great intentions. Now that is a waste of machinery.

I'd love to have more time to do more myself but I don't. This year has taught me for that likes of me with scarce time I need to use contractors or I'll never turn a pound out of the place. So relax lads, I'm only making a point, I'm not having a go at anyone.

For any lad that's taking offense to what I'm saying, you're possibly missing my point. I agree with what reilig is saying but there are some of us who have scarce time. For those of us in that scenario getting a contractor in is a no-brainer. And it's for the plain and simple reason that otherwise it will just never get done. I'd love to dedicate more time to the farm but I just don't have it.

I tried to do it all myself the first few years after I took over the place and it is only really this year I'm getting on top of things since I've started getting lads in to do things for me. Even just spreading fertilizer with my tractor and my wagtail. You'll all know I've feck all machinery. I got a chain harrow 3 years ago and finally only got around to using it this year - despite great intentions. Now that is a waste of machinery.

I'd love to have more time to do more myself but I don't. This year has taught me for that likes of me with scarce time I need to use contractors or I'll never turn a pound out of the place. So relax lads, I'm only making a point, I'm not having a go at anyone.

i hear ya JDI and know all about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nothing added but time....

Arragh.... 'sure when God made time he made plenty of it' :rolleyes: :D:D:D Funny you never hear the busy lad saying it, it always the lazy good for nothing at the end of the bar!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Muckit wrote: »
    Nothing added but time....

Arragh.... 'sure when God made time he made plenty of it' :rolleyes: :D:D:D Funny you never hear the busy lad saying it, it always the lazy good for nothing at the end of the bar!!

He put it in the wrong place, 24 ain't enough hours in the day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

He put it in the wrong place, 24 ain't enough hours in the day :D

You will have 25 hours next week in one of the days!

45gl.jpg
    v9ys.jpg
    eydd.jpg
    21nq.jpg
    aclv.jpg
    vn88.jpg
    8nr8.jpg
    utxw.jpg
    l5qr.jpg

sorry for all the pictures sometimes a picture tells a thousand words ... they both open back again wall job done :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Renandstimpy
    Nice job, well thought out no skimping on tools I see a nice set of Teng sockets.