Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland the only country where...

• 17-06-2009 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭

You can use on the motorway if youre a ..

Learner driver (accompanied or not)

Youre a cyclist..

A pedestrian (with or without a greyhound)

you can use a mobile phone while being overtaken by a Garda car (WITH an "observer on board..)....:rolleyes:

You can use a buslane at speed if you drive a big car.....

Cyclists dont bother with the cycle lanes and hold up buses instead..

All of the above were observed by a relation of mine from the UK who stayed with us last week....i really didnt know what to say to him..:rolleyes:

Feel free to add some that he may have missed....:)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This'll be fun :D

p.s. No seat belts, fog lights, no indicators, poor lane discipline, antisocial/boy racers........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Drive a tractor......on the inside lane (not the hard shoulder).....came on this recently on the M7 by Portlaoise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Dont forget the Latvians in their foreign reg cars and people not bothering to VRT their car not to mention trucks over taking in the 3rd lane of the M50 :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Indicate right to let people know you are entering a roundabout, just in case we thought you were going to park there!

Not indicating when you are entering a roundabout as to not reveal your intended exit, who is interested anyway!

Making up motorway lanes called fast lanes!

Braking before indicating!

Using fog lights to look cool!

Not moving forward on green light when needing to turn right and thus denying any other car behind you the opportunity to turn right or not activating the big f__king switch right in front of you to turn on the right arrow!

How do you people get a license!!??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

.....where you fail the NCT and you can then drive home in an officially unroad-worthy car.

similarly, you fail your driving test and are allowed to drive away when your done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

drivers think road use is any different in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Sids Not wrote: »
    All of the above were observed by a relation of mine from the UK who stayed with us last week....i really didnt know what to say to him..:rolleyes:

Remind him that unlike the UK, we have minimal Speed / CCTV cameras and long, sparesly populated, stretches of country roads where the locals encourage anyone "visiting" to stick to the countryside speed limit, precisely 68mph.

Driving in the UK is no fun by comparison. Its the lack of enforced regulations and chaotic (or half assed to the cynic ;) ) approach to everything on this Island that many British people choose to live here instead of there for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Yes it's much better over there. Mostly because the cops won't be long pulling you over and fining you for the s__t that you will get away with here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

- People driving around in the wet/fog/dark (basically anytime there's poor visibility) with no/minimal lights on

- Tailgating

- People who pull out onto a main N-road (100 km/h) in front of oncoming cars and then proceed to dawdle at 60-70 km/h

- Dawdlers in general (particularly those who'll continue doing 70-80 km/h coming into towns)

- People who won't let you out of a junction when there's plenty of time to do so (ie: slow/stopped traffic)

- People who don't acknowledge when you let them out from junctions

- Misplaced courtesy.. slowing from 100 km/h - 0 just to let someone out (happened once to me at the Dunboyne turnoff on the N3 just before the Topaz garage inbound)

- People who can't park properly, or are too lazy to walk the extra few yards so park on hatched areas/disabled spots etc

I could go on all day :)

No wonder we have problems when you see what the locals get up to in their spare time :D

bracken.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Saab ed, a truck is only prohibited from using the 3rd lane on a motorway where the maximum speed permitted is in excess of 100km/k. The 3 lane bit of the M50 has a 100km/h limit.

trad wrote: »
    Saab ed, a truck is only prohibited from using the 3rd lane on a motorway where the maximum speed permitted is in excess of 100km/k. The 3 lane bit of the M50 has a 100km/h limit.

Might be the law ( Im not going to argue ) but me ar8e if it should be out there in the first place ;).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Saab Ed wrote: »
    No wonder we have problems when you see what the locals get up to in their spare time :D

bracken.jpg

hahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

The only country where a VAG diesel is faster than anything else EVER!

Mr.David wrote: »

No thats only a red I maped to 160 brake :D.........FEEL THE POWER:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Mr.David wrote: »

but.... it is! :D:p *goes out to lovingly pat his 2.0 TDI Passat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭draward

Yes a speed limit is not a target

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

draward wrote: »

It should be. If you're not confident enough to drive a car a 100kmph on a main road, then you shouldn't be driving yet.
    Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    - Dawdlers in general (particularly those who'll continue doing 70-80 km/h coming into towns)

I've always referred to them as 45ers. The people who drive at 45mph no matter the road and limit. Generally tend to be 60+ and driving a brand new Passat, 5 series or Lexus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

All of the above were observed by a relation of mine from the UK who stayed with us last week....i really didnt know what to say to him..

Mind your own business maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

- people think it's a good idea to slow down to 50-60kmph as they merge onto a motorway

- people thnk it's ok to hog the outside line on the M1/4/6/7 at 90kmph and refuse to move over

- people think it's ok to have full beams on in well-lit suburban areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

jor el wrote: »
    It should be. If you're not confident enough to drive a car a 100kmph on a main road, then you shouldn't be driving yet.
    Not so, we have many roads with a 100km/h limit where that speed isn't safe even in the best of conditions.

xabi wrote: »
    Mind your own business maybe?

people not bothering to VRT their car D

Ireland is actually the only place where this offence can be commited.
    .....where you fail the NCT and you can then drive home in an officially unroad-worthy car.

You can drive your car home after failing the mot in the UK same as here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If you don't go at the speed limit where it is safe in your driving test, you'll fail. In other words, if you're on a straight, you must go fast. Warning: the muppet teting you will ask you to turn left once you get up to the max limit...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ireland is actually the only place where this offence can be commited.

How do you figure that?(without being pedantic and saying no other country has anything actually called VRT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

You can use on the motorway if youre a ..

Learner driver (accompanied or not)

In fairness, how would he know that the driver is a learner? I use the girlfriends car the odd time, and drive it on the M50 with the L plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

A pedestrian (with or without a greyhound)

LOL at the greyhound - what did your friend see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

daRobot wrote: »
    In fairness, how would he know that the driver is a learner? I use the girlfriends car the odd time, and drive it on the M50 with the L plates.
    In the UK it's an offence to drive with L plates up if you aren't a learner, and I guess he assumed it was the same here (as it should be.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

...using the "Slow Lane" is seen as something to be ashamed of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Mick Regan

Statistics: approx 1 in 20 drivers in Ireland are partially blind - that's how many think it's foggy on a clear night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Great replies guys...cept for the few "sensible people" that get in everywhere (its just a bit of fun..:rolleyes:)
    Anywho all the op points were observed between Bray and Dundrum , anyone travelling this stretch of motorway will regularly come across these "sights" on your trip....
    I've seen it myself ,cyclists ,lads with dogs (clearly going to terrorise some rabbits or badgers..:mad:)..
    In answer to the "how do you know a learner" query...its not hard..they're ALWAYS young girls , worringly most have a kid/s in the back (actually maybe one's a midget with a full licence.;).)...clearly on their way to work via "the mothers"/creche...and theyre 10 to 2 grip on the wheel.. holding it like theyre Jenson Button going into the first bend...funny that ,this time last year i would have typed Lewis Hamilton......:p
    Oh , and i think it would be just rude to tell my uncle to MYOB......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

Alun wrote: »
    In the UK it's an offence to drive with L plates up if you aren't a learner, and I guess he assumed it was the same here (as it should be.)

that's nonsense, why would we put the L plates on and off the car everytime we switch who's driving the family car! the boyfriend is fully licenced and i'm doing my test next month so need to get in heaps of practice, we're hardly going to take the L plates down every time he needs to pop out in the car!

PinkTulips wrote: »
    that's nonsense, why would we put the L plates on and off the car everytime we switch who's driving the family car! the boyfriend is fully licenced and i'm doing my test next month so need to get in heaps of practice, we're hardly going to take the L plates down every time he needs to pop out in the car!

You're joking, right?

Sigh .. Yet another example of something the rest of the world manages to do perfectly easily, but suddenly becomes impossible to do here in Ireland :rolleyes:

FWIW I learnt to drive in England, and, yes, we did exactly that every time I went out on a lesson, and I and my family survived to tell the tale. I seem to remember we had a set of L plates with magnetic strips on taht we just attached to the car ... took all of 10 seconds :)

The problem with not doing this is that it totally undermines the significance of the L plates. If you see a car with them up in the UK, you can be 99.9% sure it is an actual learner, whereas here it's pretty much meaningless.

no, i'm not joking :confused:

we'd go broke buying new L plates if they got taken off the car every time he used it and they need to be up for when i'm driving... what differance does it make if he's driving it with L plates ffs?

we'd go broke buying new L plates if they got taken off the car every time he used it and they need to be up for when i'm driving...
    :confused: Why do you have to buy new ones every time?
    what differance does it make if he's driving it with L plates ffs?
    For the reasons I gave (ffs).

well it's not like i get any concessions from other motorists for having them! they're only up for the guards in case we get pulled over otherwise i wouldn't have them at all.

before i was capable of driving well i didn't go out on main roads, i learned to drive first and i expect others to do the same so why would anyone treat me differantly for being a 'learner'... all it means is i'm on a provisional and need to be accompanied, not that i have free reign to be an appalling driver and other motorists just have to grin and bear it because 'bless, she's a learner'

because if they get taken off constantly they get manky very quickly and stop sticking...

well it's not like i get any concessions from other motorists for having them! they're only up for the guards in case we get pulled over otherwise i wouldn't have them at all.
    Stop and think about this for a minute. Your L plates are there to warn other road users that you're a learner. How can they do that if qualified drivers are driving around with L plates too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

high horse wrote: »
    ...using the "Slow Lane" is seen as something to be ashamed of?

I like your user name:rolleyes:
    And what the hell is a "slow lane"?
    The lane furthest to the right is the overtaking lane, the "keep left" rule will apply to all using the motorway.

I didn't say anything about a motorway....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

There are slow/climbing roads down in cork / waterford. It's a 2+1 with the 2 on the upside of a hill.

Some are marked as slow lanes, some as climbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

Dont forget the Latvians in their foreign reg cars and people not bothering to VRT their car not to mention trucks over taking in the 3rd lane of the M50 :D:D:D

And don't forget the Saab Ed with his mental problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

Just to make the things clear before I get banned....I'm sick that whatever thread I open to read is it about cars or politics or gardening or whatever, there is always a post from Saab Ed against some nationality. Why don't you keep boards clear of your racistic minds? FFS how many Latvian cars have you seen on the roads? 2? There's a thousands of NI and UK reg cars if you want to moan about unpaid VRT! And yes, I'm not latvian but I'm foreigner. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

pcardin wrote: »
    Just to make the things clear before I get banned....I'm sick that whatever thread I open to read is it about cars or politics or gardening or whatever, there is always a post from Saab Ed against some nationality. Why don't you keep boards clear of your racistic minds? FFS how many Latvian cars have you seen on the roads? 2? There's a thousands of NI and UK reg cars if you want to moan about unpaid VRT! And yes, I'm not latvian but I'm foreigner. :eek:

200392853-001.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=FBFEFBA2B39FC8A7C3DB7A306BE6468F1F6F6178A68B340C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

we'd go broke buying new L plates if they got taken off the car every time he used it and they need to be up for when i'm driving... what differance does it make if he's driving it with L plates ffs?

Take proper care of them and they won't get "manky" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i actually just call them speed targets, and im the only one who seems to get anywhere near them on the n4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

everyone seems to buy a car with the lowest spec possible then try and sell it for the same price the full spec uk import goes for on carzone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

-People who stop suddenly ona rooundabout and flash and wave people to come onto it.

-People who stop at a mini roundabout with nothing coming and a vicious standoff insues.

-Roundabouts and irish people in general don't seem to work well.

-People slamming on the brakes in front of an emergency vehicle

-People who drive at 70/80 in build up areas (50/60 areas) and on main roads.

-People who point blank refuse to fix lights when they break.

-People who are waiting at lights for a minute or two and when it goes green it seems to catch them by suprise.

-The only country where people can do a piss easy test and get a driving license for up to a 3.5 tonne vehicle, pay for insurance and tax, then go drive it with a small chance of being caught/prosecuted for driving unaccompanied.

-People who stop at green lights to wave the pedestrians out, cue massive rush of people and then lights going red and green man coming on but everyone has corssed because of some idiot