Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE KERRY DEEPSTACK--€5k gtd, Glen Eagle Hotel, Sat.Aug 8th, €100+€20.

• 17-06-2009 3:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭

It might be a bit early for this thread, but i am going on holidays today for a few weeks, (well, a working holiday :)), so I thought I'd put it up before I go.

Introducing: THE KERRY DEEPSTACK (1 day game).

Its going to be a monthly game and as this is our 1st one, we're adding a Ticket fot the Ladbrokes Festival to the prize-pool.

The game is on in the Glen Eagle Hotel, Killarney on Saturday, August 8th, dealing cards at 6pm sharp.

We will be using a progressive clock, as in the 1st 3 blind levels will be 20 mins, the next 3 will be 25 mins, with a 30 minute clock being used all the way to a finish.

Matt Dobbins (Lplate) will be fielding any questions on this tourney in my absense. You can enter by saying so on this thread, by pm or by ringing Matt on 086-3858314.

Fully dealer dealt as always with 100% prize-pool payout.

1-Run by Cue Club Events.
    2-For commercial reasons.
    3-Saturday August 8th, Glen eagle hotel, Killarney.
    4-Reg from 5pm, dealing cards at 6pm.
    5-Have to be a member,(can be done on the day,free of charge).
    6-Tickets can be booked here or by ringing matt on 086-3858314.
    7-Texas Holdém NL Freeze-out.
    8-€100 entry fee.
    9-€20 reg fee.
    10-100% prize-pool payout + Ladbrokes ME ticket worth €500.
    11-Nothing held back from prize-pool.
    12-No rebuys allowed.
    13-20,000 statring stack.
    14-Guaranteed prize-pool of €5,000.
    15-N/A (rebuy/top-up chip amounts)
    16-Structure

25/50
    50/100--all 20 min.
    75/150

100/200
    150/300-(B)--all 25 min.
    200/400

All blind levels now are 30 minute.

300/600
    400/800
    500/1000-(B)
    600/1200
    800/1600
    1000/2000
    1200/2400-(B)
    1500/3000
    2000/4000
    3000/6000
    4000/8000-(B)
    5000/10000
    6000/12000
    8000/16000
    10000/20000-(B)
    12000/24000
    15000/30000
    20000/40000-(B)
    25000/50000
    30000/60000

-(B) signifies breaks.
    Antes introduced at the 500/1000 blind level.

17-Blind timeframes are progressive
    1st three blinds are 20 min.
    Next three blinds are 25 min.
    Blind clock now moves to 30 min for duration of tournament.
    18-Paying out 10% of the field.
    19-Fully dealer dealt with a high level of skill.
    20-Yes there will be a documented set of rules.
    21-Yes there will be a tournament director whoce decision will be final in all matters.
    22-Cash games will be available, 5% rake, capped at €20, all tables.

Connie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Sounds good Connie, count me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭bigbadben

Is it definitely on in the Glen Eagle? The place is a hole and the food was muck last year.

bigbadben wrote: »
    Is it definitely on in the Glen Eagle? The place is a hole and the food was muck last year.
    Have you ever been to one of Connie's games? I doubt it very much by the comments above 'cause if you had been to one before you'd know he runs a great game.
    The venue is what it is and that's fine imo, also lol @ food being a consideration when playing the pokrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

You are entitled to have an opinion. However, to brand the Gleneagle a "hole" is, in my opinion, ridiculous. In advance of the Irish Poker Festival last year, the management sat down with us and asked what they needed to do to make the customer experience memorable. Out of this meeting came late breakfast, all night bar, all night restaurant service and other "small" comforts to accommodate poker players. They were the first poker venue in the country to do this.
    After the festival, the hotel agreed that the food offered at break times was not up to their usual high standards and vowed to solve that problem for next year and they will.
    The Gleneagle group is one of the most successful and well known entertainment enterprises in Ireland, which didn't happen by accident. Even in these recessionary times they are full every week.

Back to the Kerry Deepstack.
    We have put together a package for poker players that we believe is very attractive. We think that having it in the Gleneagle adds to that attraction. You will be made welcome should you decide to attend.

Matt

david-k wrote: »
    Have you ever been to one of Connie's games? I doubt it very much by the comments above 'cause if you had been to one before you'd know he runs a great game.
    The venue is what it is and that's fine imo, also lol @ food being a consideration when playing the pokrs.

Thanks for the support Dave. Look forwrd to seeing you there.

Thanks to me luckboxing a Ladbrokes sat, I'm off to Vegas today. Myself or Connie will try to look in every now and then to keep the thread alive and answer any queries. You can pre-register by postng here or calling Derry on 0879339178..

Lplate wrote: »
    Thanks to me luckboxing a Ladbrokes sat, I'm off to Vegas today. Myself or Connie will try to look in every now and then to keep the thread alive and answer any queries. You can pre-register by postng here or calling Derry on 0879339175..
    Congrats Matt, well done and best of luck over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Thanks to me luckboxing a Ladbrokes sat, I'm off to Vegas today. Myself or Connie will try to look in every now and then to keep the thread alive and answer any queries. You can pre-register by postng here or calling Derry on 0879339178..

Best of luck in Vegas Matt. Ill look in on this thread and answer any questions raised.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 artomur

count me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭aubreym

pre-reg me pls

artomur wrote: »
    count me in

Sure will.
    Welcome to boards.ie poker forum At a wild guess, can I presume you are Arthur Murphy from your username? (so i can reg the name).

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 artomur

the very man . i will be talking to you soon anyway .

artomur wrote: »
    the very man . i will be talking to you soon anyway .

Sound Arthur. Your regged now. If any of the lads are intending coming in, you might let me know (here will do fine) just so we can get an idea of numbers re dealers etc etc.

Connie

aubreym wrote: »
    pre-reg me pls

Will do. Can you post your name or send me a pm please.

Connie

Sattellites will be starting for this tourney in the Cue Club and other locations next week. Details will follow in the next few days,

Connie

Satellites ongoing in Billy Murphys pub, Boherbue. Billy's number is 0879815114 for anyone interested. Willie Joe Murphy registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Satellites ongoing in Billy Murphys pub, Boherbue. Billy's number is 0879815114 for anyone interested. Willie Joe Murphy registered.

I went to school in Boherbue!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭jamser58

I went to school in Boherbue!!:P
    Sorry for your troubles!

As long as I'm off that weekend I'll defo be playing!

FYI I fookin love the Glen as a Poker Venue.

Fair nuff Foods a bit bland but they''ll fix it & everything else is top class anyway.(What Matt said.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

I've only been to Killarney a couple of times but if i'm not mistaken the Gleneagle is one of the finest hotels in the town?

On that note, any special rates for that weekend since, miracle of miracles, I think i'll have that weekend off!! ?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Might not be in the country... but if I am, I'll be pulling out the stops to make this.

I've been to Killarney manys a time to play poker with Connie and the lads and I'm always happy to travel because I'm certain of the quality of the game at the end of the train trip.

Good luck with this Connie, yer a past-master of it now sure!

DeV.

gman127 wrote: »
    I've only been to Killarney a couple of times but if i'm not mistaken the Gleneagle is one of the finest hotels in the town?

On that note, any special rates for that weekend since, miracle of miracles, I think i'll have that weekend off!! ?

I'll ask about rates for you and let you know Monday. Look forward to seeing you.

DeVore wrote: »
    Might not be in the country... but if I am, I'll be pulling out the stops to make this.

I've been to Killarney manys a time to play poker with Connie and the lads and I'm always happy to travel because I'm certain of the quality of the game at the end of the train trip.

Good luck with this Connie, yer a past-master of it now sure!

DeV.

Hope you can make it Tom. We'll give you the usual Kerry welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

What kind of numbers are expected at this, and is the venue such that it's likely to be full etc?

Wanting to travel down to this but all depends on how funds are going so close to the Omaha event in the Macau.

lee_arama wrote: »
    What kind of numbers are expected at this, and is the venue such that it's likely to be full etc?

Wanting to travel down to this but all depends on how funds are going so close to the Omaha event in the Macau.

Hi Lee,

We really have no idea as yet of the expected turnout but we have advertised extensively in Kerry and surrounds and would hope for around 100 runners. The room we are using can comfortably take 180 so it's unlikely to fill (be nice to be wrong though!).
    Hope to see you there.

Matt

Satt on for this tonite Wednesday 15th in the Cue Club. €20 F/0, + €5 reg. 7,000 starting stack, 20 minute blinds, all levels included. 9pm start.

064-66-30057n for enquiries.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

connie147 wrote: »
    Satt on for this tonite Wednesday 15th in the Cue Club. €20 F/0, + €5 reg. 7,000 starting stack, 20 minute blinds, all levels included. 9pm start.

064-66-30057n for enquiries.

Connie

Ah the bold Connie returns ... Welcome back my friend .....

U back on the phone??

I gave this a good plug in Dungarvan we had 103 and there was good interest . I am tryin to work out a way to play this but we are in Monagahan the next day ..

Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Right, hotel room sorted, all good.

Reserve a spot for one Mr Lee Arama Esq if possible....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Havana Hope

Connie/Matt,

Put me down for 5 seats. May have a few more but 5 definites now.

Liam Corbett.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

I'll ask about rates for you and let you know Monday. Look forward to seeing you.

Any rates yet?

I could ring the hotel myself of course but as an organiser their is usually a reduced offer for these events :pac:

Any rates yet?

I could ring the hotel myself of course but as an organiser their is usually a reduced offer for these events :pac:

Sorry for the lack of response, been very busy since I got back. Connie has a call in to the hotel and will post here as soon as they get back to him.

Put me down Jamie Cunningham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TigerBarb

Sean Hall :)

Any rates yet?

I've been waiting for Anne mcCann to get back to me because I normally deal with her on rooms in the glen, but I only found out this evening thats shes on holidays. So I'll get a call in the morning from another sourse, but I dont expect any great deals in the 1st week og August.

I'll let you know later today.

Connie

We will be running s+g sats to Macau ME all day on demand. These will be either 100 for 1 tkt or 200 for 2 tkts, again depending on demand.
    We will also be running s+g sats to the Cue Club sat for the same event on Sunday. These will be 30 for 3 tkts.

Any rates yet?

Sorry about the delay, but the main problem was the hotel was totally booked out and they promised me if any rooms came back they'd give them to me.
    If your definately coming down and you need accom for Sat night, I'll sort it this evening for you, but not in the Glen eagle, but very close by.

Connie

Connie will you put these names down aswell
    Sam Jackson
    Pat O Shea

Liam O Dowd,Kevin Murphy & David 'Baker' O Sullivan are all maybes.

Due to the numbers of people on holiday at the Gleneagle, they have asked us to change venue. The change will not inconvenience anyone greatly as they have given us use of a beautiful room at the Brehon Hotel, right next door, literally 2-3 minutes walk. Players should come to the Brehon and follow the signs. We will have a staff member on duty at the original venue giving directions for anyone needing them.

Expecting 70+ runners for this. Over 30 seats sattellited ( is that a word?) out.
    Don't forget the added ticket for the Ladbrokes Festival (like gold).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Laxie

Knocknagree will be there. Looking forward to it

Laxie wrote: »
    Knocknagree will be there. Looking forward to it

Will be nice to see you again Dawn.
    The new venue for the tourney is "class". Perfect size room for the event, very vey comfy, really looking forward to it. We've negotiated a very good deal with them on a menu for the players.

Looking forward to seeing ye all. If anyone wants to ring in ahead, my number is 087-2833343.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Just off phone with Connie

Sounds like a busy night ahead 110 Players .

Well done son

Neill

Just off phone with Connie

Sounds like a busy night ahead 110 Players .

Well done son

Neill

Yeah Neil,
    107 players at the final count. We were set up to cater for 100, but thankfully managed to nab another dealer and fetched an extra table and everyone seems to be happy.

Looks like being a long night!

Connie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 IsMiseJ

any chance of some results please

105 players. 11 places paid. 1 Ladbrokes ME ticket added.

1st--Chriss o Leary---€3000 + Ladbrokes ME ticket.
    2nd--Padraigh Carmody---€2,100.
    3rd--Philip o Connor---€1,500
    4th--Rob Morris
    €1,000
    5th--Patricia Lenihan--€800
    6th--Maurice McNameara--€600
    7th--Brian Hickey
    €450
    8th--Dave Browne
    €350
    9th--Joe o Shea
    €300
    10th-Jonathan McCarthy---€200
    11th-Fergus Flanagan
    €200.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭J_Mac

Hey, just wondering if anyone knows the details about a hand in the €1/€2 game in which 8-high supposedly won a €400 pot at showdown?

lol yeah it was me announcing it to everyone.
    I had been playing like 10 hrs at this stage and was on a bender the night before so forgive me if any specifics are wrong but I was at the table.
    Early position raise of 12
    Aggro Who plays 90% of hands repops to 65 odd in Mid
    Fish in late calls
    OR folds
    Flop 5-9-overcard
    Aggro checks
    Fish shoves for 120 plus
    Aggro tuts and eventually makes the call
    Turn queen
    River 4

Verbal on the flop suggests both have air.
    River,fish says 'you definately have me '
    Aggro says 'Muck your cards then' Clever try it was!
    Fish says 'No'
    Dealer asks them to claim the pot.
    Fish shows over 8-7,Eight high,a missed gutshot
    Aggro looks to be in pain and mucks.
    Fookn gobsmackin!!
    He could only have 6-8 for the gutshot with lower cards IMO

My bet sizing must be a small bit off cos there was defo v close to 400 in the pot.
    We all acknowledged it.
    Are you James McCarthy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 kfcjohn

I don't know who J Mac is but its not my nephew James McCarthy (the bulmers kid) who played the event!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭J_Mac

Tanx 4 d update Jamser. Im Jonathan McCarthy. The Bubble Boy for the Final Table :( but still made a cash so can't complain :). I remember hearing something bout that cash hand alright. Twas funny bcuz every1 at my table suddenly became more interested in that hand then the tournment. Anybody who is handy at mathematics, able to tell me the odds of 8-high winning there in that spot?

kfcjohn wrote: »
    I don't know who J Mac is but its not my nephew James McCarthy (the bulmers kid) who played the event!!

Haha yeah he was singing odes to William Magner all night.
    Nice guy,was at my right the entire tournament till my ace deuce was no good for 6-3 AIPF for 8 bb.Is james on Boards?

J_Mac wrote: »
    Tanx 4 d update Jamser. Im Jonathan McCarthy. The Bubble Boy for the Final Table :( but still made a cash so can't complain :). I remember hearing something bout that cash hand alright. Twas funny bcuz every1 at my table suddenly became more interested in that hand then the tournment. Anybody who is handy at mathematics, able to tell me the odds of 8-high winning there in that spot?

Well if Aggro knew the other guy had eight high,Presumably it is mathematically correct to call but I'd like to call on RedJoker to tell us.