Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finland people living in Ireland

• 15-06-2009 9:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

How do you people in Ireland view people from Finland? I come from our main city but it would be really cool to know if you like us. We know you have a problem with spanish people :) Being lived here for too weeks we were wondering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

nah ye're all welcome so long as ye don't tek or jebs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

// Predicts another thread full of generalisations.

OP I've yet to meet a Finnish person in Ireland. I've met a couple of lads on holidays before and they were sound guys even though there was a bit of a language barrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

We have a problem with the Spanish?
    Haven't given the Finnish much thought to be honest. You guys seem pretty cool though, with all the snow and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I love Finnish people. Any that I know are lovely and they really like Ireland. I love Finland itself and I'm heading back there in the autumn for a few days partying with the Finns.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

As long as you're not a cúnt or a scumbag I don't really care where you are from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Hmm, If you were really from finland wouldn't you know the word was Finnish?

"Finland people" next we'll be hearing china people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i know quite a few finnish women, a lot of them come into the pub i work in. sound bunch of people but some of the women are pretty masculine. pirrko seems to be a very popular name too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

.__. wrote: »
    How do you people in Ireland view people from Finland? I come from our main city but it would be really cool to know if you like us. We know you have a problem with spanish people :) Being lived here for too weeks we were wondering

My mum is from Finland - Lappeenranta to be precise. Living here about 27 years now.. My mum has never had a bad experience over here - none that I know of anyway.

I personally love Finland and love the people. Had the privilege of spening a few summers there while I was a kid and went on countless holidays there too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

So long as you not as racists as all those Belgians!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I love the Finns. Spent some time over in Finland and it was great (apart from the expensive beer). Midsummer is a blast, never seen so many drunks falling around at the one time :D Very cool people imo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

In my last job I worked with a guy from Finland. A very nice guy but that's some mad language you have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

I think the Irish in general like the Finns...although they have a reputation of not saying very much.

There is a story about two finns going out for a drink.

When the drinks came one Finn said "Cheers"!

The other said "Look I came out to drink not to chatter" !

Probably untrue......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

bleg wrote: »
    nah ye're all welcome so long as ye don't tek or jebs

Or eat our swans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

And why the hell would you decide to post this in AH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

We all love Finnish people OP. Do... you wanna be mates? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I was in Finland (Helsinki, Tampere and Rovaniemi) about ten years ago.

It was great fun. I loved it over there. I stayed in a hostel in the Olympic Stadium in Helsinki, it was great.

Finnish people seemed to be really friendly overall and I really liked it there. Suomenlinna was brillaint and so was the train trip up north.

jd83 wrote: »
    Or eat our swans

Or marry our giraffes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I've known two Finnish people and both were grand. Liked their drinking, but it would be a bit rich for Irish people to complain about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 .__.

jester77 wrote: »
    I love the Finns. Spent some time over in Finland and it was great (apart from the expensive beer). Midsummer is a blast, never seen so many drunks falling around at the one time :D Very cool people imo...

I said to my partner the same :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Apparently Finland has the highest number of blond girls, hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Yeah they don't stand up very well to anyone knocking them, OP it really doesn't matter where you are from as long as you are genuine enough you will be welcomed.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Most of my interactions with Finnish people have been kinda awkward.

I (apparently) look Finnish, so Finnish tourists inevitably come up to me and talk to me about Finland.

Once they realise they aren't talking to a Finnish person, they lose interest, look uncomfortable and just walk away.

They are the only nationality where I can honestly say that the majority of my interactions consist of greetings, introductions, and no content*.

*Except Roma, with whom I tend to limit my conversation to "No", "Go away", and "Seiously, I'm not giving you anything"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Finnish.. Mongolian.. Jedi... it's all just words

Pull up a chair and call your sister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Ye're good at the aul rally drivin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

The great thing about the Finnish is they always get things done.

I think the Irish in general like the Finns...although they have a reputation of not saying very much.
    I think the Irish in general have absolutely no opinion on the Finns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Paulj

I'd like to think that most people dont make up their minds about others before they meet them. If they do, then its a bad way to go through life!
    Personally i don't know any Finnish. I've met a few tourists here and they seemed like nice people and were up for having a bit of fun.

There is a story about two finns going out for a drink.

They spend the day getting completely sloshed.

And deep in the evening and well under the influenece, one Finn said "Cheers"!

The other said "Look I came out to drink not to chatter" !

Probably untrue......

Fixed that for you and it is very true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i dont really mind where you come from as long as your sound (cool)

i-kirjain dont oikeastaan huolehtia johon te johtua polveutua koska kauan koska sinun eheä. ( hävytön )
    i-kirjain panos te koiranvitjat -lta irlantilainen ihmiset model after näyttämö aari kääntävä nyt kuluva.
    im kohteleva online kielenkääntäjä btw. ;)

YES I WENT THERE!!!! i put effort in my posts..... unlike you....yes you

Finland is ok with me.

Sami Hyypia for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Finland is ok with me.

Sami Hyypia for the win.

Don't forget Jari. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

They're all lovely people. ABBA, Bjorn Borg ...emm Arnie Schwarzenegger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Am I the only one that looks at the OPs post and pictures them with no head? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I've only ever met two Finns, both girls and they were very strange to say the least. The first was totally obsessed with Latino men and won't even speak to anyone who wasn't tall dark and obnoxious..........the other would just not talk and drank her own bodyweight in whiskey.

So come on over and prove that there are normal Finns out there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I like Nightwish! OP do you call Turkish people 'Turkey People' oh thats a good one.Ill get my coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Yer more than welcome,anyone from a country that kicked both the ruskies and nazis asses in ww2 ,is ok in my book.

Simo Häyhä RIP....My Hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Yer more than welcome,anyone from a country that kicked both the ruskies and nazis asses in ww2 ,is ok in my book.

Careful now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

emmm they kind of fought along side the germans in ww2....

they did it as away to fight a common enemy (russia). and traded but that was about the only help they gaave eachother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Don't have an opinion on Finish people tbh, Mika Häkkinen and kimi raikkonen don't give off a great image though :D
    I wouldn't say Irish people dislike Spanish either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Nightwish wrote: »
    I love Finnish people.

Same here - have known a few over the years and they tend to have a great sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

The few Finnish people I've known were good craic and had a good sense of humour. Well able to hold drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

The Danes are friendly people. Don't know much about Finns. But ye're all scandinavian so yeah, you're alright. Welcome.

K4t wrote: »
    The Danes are friendly people. Don't know much about Finns. But ye're all scandinavian so yeah, you're alright. Welcome.

Finns aren't Scandinavian though. They are Nordic, but not Scandinavian.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Once they realise they aren't talking to a Finnish person, they lose interest, look uncomfortable and just walk away.

They are the only nationality where I can honestly say that the majority of my interactions consist of greetings, introductions, and no content

+1. In the past year I've been to Oulu and Helsinki on European conferences and had a similar time. Not necessarily a bad trait, but definitely unusual/awkward in my experience.

And the language is impossible :eek: kiitos is about as far as I get..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

You only need Kiitos, Perkele and Vodka to get around Helsinki. Well thats all I needed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

I for one am going against the grain by saying I dislike all Finnish People,I'd almost go as far in saying I detest them!

In my eyes there nothing but a bunch of Puck Slappin'-Reindeer Ridin' feckin rally drivers that listen to Death Metal!

Only fibbin' Teemu Selanne hail's from there so I love Finland :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Mousey- wrote: »
    i dont really mind where you come from as long as your sound (cool)

i-kirjain dont oikeastaan huolehtia johon te johtua polveutua koska kauan koska sinun eheä. ( hävytön )
    i-kirjain panos te koiranvitjat -lta irlantilainen ihmiset model after näyttämö aari kääntävä nyt kuluva.
    im kohteleva online kielenkääntäjä btw. ;)

YES I WENT THERE!!!! i put effort in my posts..... unlike you....yes you

My mother was a saint! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Any country who use "Get Pissed" for cheers is A-Okay IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've had Finnish couchsurfers stay with me, great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

How do you people in Ireland view people from Finland? I come from our main city but it would be really cool to know if you like us.

Honestly, it's something I have never thought about before now.

Strangely, I still don't care. :eek:
    We know you have a problem with spanish people :)

I wasn't aware of that. Did I miss another memo? :mad: