Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHATS UR AVERAGE DRIVING DISTANCE

• 15-06-2009 7:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭

Just wondering how far can the rest of the boards golf crew can hit the ball, i average out at bout 180 - 190 not that far how about the rest of ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

You'll just start an argument.

First we need to set some rules.

How far can you carry the ball is better. Some courses have hard fairways and lots of run whereas others are softer; links courses have shorter grass and the ball can run for miles.

I'll stand back and let the slagging begin.

I'm longer than average but not up with the very long. And to be honest I don't know what my average drive is; it's probably in the mid to mid/high 200s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Mat the trasher

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Worms everywhere....
    Happy with a drive of 240-260 yards everytime if I could get it. Can hit a long one out there every now and then but mostly when the timing is on song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

bout 275 this time of the season
    sometimes it goes left or right though but generally over the same length

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

conno16 wrote: »

i'll ask before someone else does. Is that when you really flush the 7 iron, or an average?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭X-Calibre

Very random at the moment, cant seem to figure out my driver. Probably average around 270-280 when I'm consistently straight with my driver, but thats with a decent amount of run and a low ball flight. I've been hitting my 5wood off the tee lately while I try and figure out my driver and I'm hitting it a mile. Honestly averaging around 270 with it carrying about 95% of the way there. When I can figure out how to get the ball in the air like that with my driver again I'll be flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I'd say about 230. 230 and crooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

conno16 wrote: »

I'd be about the same but recently I've been using new proV1x and I find the backspin is taking at least 20 yards off. On Saturday last I cracked a beauty straight down the middle. I was last in the group and as we headed up the fairway, at about 200 yds, I met my ball still travelling back towards the tee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 TKF

about 180/190 on average.
    i have only been playing for a few months , so still plenty of work to do on my driving.
    inconsistency is a major problem for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

bout 270-275 yards carry. then hopefully get some run to get in the 300's:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Carry about 225 , then depending on time of year and where I'm playing 230-260. Although I'm slowly developing a bit of a slice which I'll need to get sorted soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Definitely:
    canofworms1.jpg

For me its about 225-250.

But as we all hear, its better to be 100yards and on the fairway than 300yards into a lake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I can carry it 275-290 but not nearly accurate enough at times. Play with a natural draw which helps for distance but sometimes this becomes a hook if im not on my game.

Would much rather be a consistant straight 260-270

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

My Carry distance is a shambles at the moment. Its anywhere between 200 and 240 on average. Sometimes I can carry it about 280 but thats as rare as hens teeth at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Dylan69

On a good day when things are working out well about 260-270 yards. Fairly straight!

On a crappy day , probably somewhere over in the trees or in the water! :mad:

At my club, there no forgiveness if somebody hooked or a sliced!!!:mad: Just straight down the middle is the only way forward!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭SuprSi

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    I can carry it 275-290 but not nearly accurate enough at times. Play with a natural draw which helps for distance but sometimes this becomes a hook if im not on my game.

Would much rather be a consistant straight 260-270

Sounds exactly like me. When I hit them they go for miles, but a lot of the time it's either a hook or an exaggerated slice due to me not completing my backswing and starting my forward swing with my shoulders rather than my hips - too eager in other words!

New driver on the way too which I'm hoping will add another few yards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

there are some serious big hitters on boards... i wouldn't have thought i was short, playing off 2 and on average i'd be about 245-260 yards. On sunday i drove particularly well and got a few drives out to about 270-280 but that would be my max

Well I go back to my previous post, much rather be shorter and more accurate than long and erratic. Distance is not that important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I would agree Paul, play off a low handicap myself and would be considered fairly long off the tee but obviously not compared to most of the posters on this forum.

This has been argued to death and it would seem that alot of posters here are bigger hitters than the PGA tour average.

I knew that was coming

Well I can only speak for myself and its has been measured by my pro
    No need to lie

maybe I should say what everyone wants to believe
    OK I hit the ball 220 -250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭mag

im not sure if people are discrening between their best drives and their average driving distance. for me, i would use the driver 8 times out of 15 holes in my course. on the others its either hybrid or 3 wood. id say my average is 240-50ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

I'm not sure of my average, but I know I'm relatively long off the tee. I'm certainly longer than majority of people I play with.
    If I do a full (100%) swing and connect well, then I can carry 280-300y... It will be higher and wont run much.

My normal swing is around 75% though. This carries around 230/240ish but it's lower and runs more..... especially if I hit the fairway (which isn't very often at the moment)

That's a good point. Around my course I'll only use the driver 10 times (slightly more if I'm from the back sticks), using either a 3 wood or 2/3 iron the other times, so my average distance off the tee would be much less than what I previously listed.

My average carry with the driver is what I've listed above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

I would say I hit around 230-250yds with the occasional 270+ effort. A good way to check is using google earth. At times I was convinced I'd hit around 300 on certain holes and checking google earth later would show it at around the 270 mark. Bit nerdy but worth a look if you're curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Is that your carry distance or total distance?

I've measured my carry distance in the winter to be 240 to 250 yards (no roll at all). In the summer I'd expect another 10 to 15 yards on top of that but it's hard to get your carry distance when the ball rolls. I've seen guys pitch it 20 to 30 yards beyond my drives but they are the long hitters that I mentioned earlier.

Other than the time when I did pace out and measure my carry distance I really don't know how far I drive but it varies a lot depending on the amount of roll. I did it in the winter as I could see the pitch marks close to the ball as there was no roll to talk about.

If I had a receptive green that was 250 yards away then I think I'd be hitting a full drive. I certainly wouldn't be hitting a 5 wood.

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    I would say I hit around 230-250yds with the occasional 270+ effort. A good way to check is using google earth. At times I was convinced I'd hit around 300 on certain holes and checking google earth later would show it at around the 270 mark. Bit nerdy but worth a look if you're curious.

How do you do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

SuprSi wrote: »
    How do you do this?

If your course is visible on Google Earth then just use the ruler(it's one of the buttons along the top of the screen). You can click where the tee box and then where your drive landed and it gives you the measurement. Obviously it won't be 100% but give a very good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

I'll vouch for this ;) In fact I'd say you're nearer the 260 on average.

Now I would've thought I'm a bit longer than you, and using google maps, hole yardages and markers, all possibilities, I'm hitting about 270ish at the moment, so I guess about a 260 carry.

In winter probably about 250, on a links in summer, anything up to 330. there are so many variables.

But like Paulus, I wouldn't consider myself a short hitter and would be one of the longer hitters in the club and most would of my fellow members would agree. Anyway point is like every golf boards post on driving distance, quite a few tend to exaggerate slightly.

finally, as the saying goes, driving for show, putting for dough! doesn't matter how far you can hit it, if your short game and putting is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

260 yd carry...
    could run out over 300 depending on wind,slope etc could also stop at 260 uphill or into wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

310-320 yard carry, another 30-40 yards of run, straight as an arrow, EVERY time.

I AM the greatest.:cool:

Beat that, I dare ya:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I'd say between 230-240 carry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I hit it at least 350 I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

351 so. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

DEFN:average- in your wildest dreams:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

damoz wrote: »
    351 so.

Hit that with a choked up 7 iron...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 TheGolfeer

I used to think I could drive 270 to 290, and then I started pacing out the
    yards from the tee box and lost a whole 20yard, and it was nothing to do with shaft, loft, spin rate. Just ego!

there must be a lot of tour players on this board with those driving distances.

jaysus hard luck , your only 20 yards off a tour golfer
    cause thats all that matters...the drive

Well yes I am a tour golfer, in my mind, pretty much like every other amature.

I thought most tour players were carrying 280ish, so my 270 longest drive, (not carry) is a long way off the tour.

So all these big boys hitting 350 drives on the board, bet you a few quid, about 0 of then get the 350 yard drive.

TheGolfeer wrote: »
    Well yes I am a tour golfer, in my mind, pretty much like every other amature.

I thought most tour players were carrying 280ish, so my 270 longest drive, (not carry) is a long way off the tour.

So all these big boys hitting 350 drives on the board, bet you a few quid, about 0 of then get the 350 yard drive.

switch it on...

sarcasm_detector.jpg

I do, like I said in my post, at least 350-360, dead straight, EVERY time I tee it up.

In fact I can safely and honestly say that I have THE LONGEST drive of any of the golfers on boards, fact.

Anyone wanna challenge me?

Bring it on..

Graeme, I can't believe you think this is sarcasm, you've seen how straight and consistent I am off the tee:cool:

who said anything about 350 ?? in a serious breath
    I play a course which normally doesnt have a lot of run and what I have stated I drive is what I have calculated through a number of measure's, distance to the pin, gps, my pro and so on. Yeah good days will go more , windy days not so much. Can I be certain thats my distance no of course I cannot but I know I drive consistantly 290-300. How much is carry I cannot say for definate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭jukebox2310

Normally carry about 280yds. Last weekend had a drive 364 yds long with 3 witnesses from different clubs. Was on a par 4 and stopped a yard from the green. Delighted with it. Had a bit of a breeze behind me though.

I will pay for anybod that can drive a ball 350 to play on my home course, not that I doubt any of you.

But I have just never played golf with anyone that can drive a ball more that 290 ish on a really good day, so it would be a pleasure to play golf with somebody that good or that long.

JCDUB wrote: »
    I do, like I said in my post, at least 350-360, dead straight, EVERY time I tee it up.

In fact I can safely and honestly say that I have THE LONGEST drive of any of the golfers on boards, fact.

Anyone wanna challenge me?

Bring it on..

Graeme, I can't believe you think this is sarcasm, you've seen how straight and consistent I am off the tee:cool:

Fellow Boardsers, i have indeed seen JCDub and while i can confirm he is incredibly consistent, there is absolutely nothing straight about him whatsoever!! :D

I will pay for anybod that can drive a ball 350 to play on my home course, not that I doubt any of you.

But I have just never played golf with anyone that can drive a ball more that 290 ish on a really good day, so it would be a pleasure to play golf with somebody that good or that long.

How many driving holes on your course?
    12/14 maybe?
    I GUARANTEE you I'll drive over 350 on EVERY ONE of them, on the fairway too.

If I don't I'll pay for my own round, and I'll throw in a nice steak dinner and a few pints for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

Checked out google earth as well and average around the 240yards mark and have a longest of 290. If i hit them well will get an extra 20 yards. Most guys here would want to check out that service as it gives accuracy you can not get off a scorecard. I used to subtract distance left to green off lenght of the hole but tends to inflate my lenght.
    Some lads on here hitting the ball must be wild as hell,seriously good golfers or really bad at maths.:p

Your on, I can taste the beers already.

I play out in Turvey, so you have a wee bit of freedom to stray a little with your dirves as the fairways are quite wide.

And there will be no pressure on you to report back to the board on your success or dare I say failure.

Your on, I can taste the beers already.

I play out in Turvey, so you have a wee bit of freedom to stray a little with your dirves as the fairways are quite wide.

And there will be no pressure on you to report back to the board on your success or dare I say failure.

Haha fair play, nowt like a bit of humour to liven up a tuesday avo's trolling posting on the golf forum.

Hows tricks in Turvey, any update on your financial situation?Hope things are looking a bit brighter for you anyhow.

Now am off out to Beaverstown for a few holes, enjoy your avo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Google earth sounds good unfortunately I can't install it on my PC.

Anyone here with google earth and familar with Rathcore golf club? If so could you check how much of a carry there is if a golfer attempts to drive across the water on the 15th hole. I reckon it is around a 300 yard carry. I have seen a few unsuccessful attempts to carry it from lads who are known for being very big hitters.

Edit: found the answer on rathcore GC website. Looks like it is around 300-320 yards to carry over the water from the back tee
    fifteenth_hole.gif