Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24 hour MTB & road races in Mayo

• 15-06-2009 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭

www.gaelforcecyclewest.com

Anyone interested ? These things usually work in teams of 4 (or on your own if you're that nuts) The mountain bike option obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

im looking at the road bike option, looks very interesting, i have a few friends that may be interested and i may make it my first test

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Like the golden oldie option :D
    Have a team in my head already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Golden oldie section ehhh:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm doing Gael Force a few weeks before this so I'll be fit (to drop) so I reckon i'm a goer if ye are looking for a body to make up the numbers count me in... prefer the mtb course (more fun) but I'd be up for the road too. Shame they're on the same time:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Wow, that's just beside where my folks live, I cycle around Nephin quite a bit. Their map is useless, need to figure out exactly where that route takes us.

So a "possible" for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Interesting challenge - might be on for either one yet.

One thing though - if it starts at 14.00 on the Friday, should it not finish at 14.00 on the Satuday (not the Sunday)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭OuterBombie

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Interesting challenge - might be on for either one yet.

One thing though - if it starts at 14.00 on the Friday, should it not finish at 14.00 on the Satuday (not the Sunday)?

The list is misleading but it actual starts on the saturday:

Friday 18th September 17:00pm – 22:00pm Signing in and registration in Newport Friday Evening Time to relax before the big day and meet up with the competition. 07.00 – 11.30 Late Signing on open 11:30 Bus transfers begin 13.00 Rider briefing 13.30 Riders to be in place for Le Mans start*. Team helpers should be in position, with the first rider’s bike 14.00 Gaelforce Cycle west 2009 begins 21.30 Sun sets 22.30 – 07.00 Quiet time on the campsite
    Sunday 20th September 14.00 Challenge finishes. All riders out on course must complete the lap they are on 15.00 Transfers to Westport for prize given, music and event after party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'd definitely be on for that!

Yeah,

just emailed some mates to see if they'd be interested.

If the weather was good it'll be great but if it was a bad weekend, hmmm, forget about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

May be interested in either option. How technical would the MTB course be? As I am shít at technical (to give you an idea I find Ballinastoe technical.) Can climb fast enough though.

EDIT: Probably I would lean towards the road :)

blorg wrote: »
    May be interested in either option. How technical would the MTB course be? As I am shít at technical (to give you an idea I find Ballinastoe technical.) Can climb fast enough though.

EDIT: Probably I would lean towards the road :)

You and I on the road -team TinyExplosions :)

We just need two others

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

You and I on the road -team TinyExplosions :)

We just need two others

A pink bike in Mayo !
    Have you not seen Deliverance :eek:

RobFowl wrote: »
    A pink bike in Mayo !
    Have you not seen Deliverance :eek:

I just have to ride fast :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭theo4130

hey, is anyone looking to do this (the road version) solo? ive been thinking about a 24 hour cycle for a while, but havent been training for it,
    any others? the route doesnt involve the nephins by the way, its throught the sheefrys, up that hill that the tour of ireland went up, its fairly side roadish, grass in the middle and all that.
    this really is a beautiful spot in mayo so im even more keen to do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

* Competitors all start together and must run roughly a mile before mounting their bikes to start the race

That's gonna be tough in road shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

It'll destroy Look cleats that's for sure

Hmm, that is a peculiar rule all right, wonder what they are thinking of. I guess you would leave your road shoes by the bike but I don't really see the point of tacking a 1 mile run on the front of a 24 hour cycle.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Hmm, that is a peculiar rule all right, wonder what they are thinking of. I guess you would leave your road shoes by the bike but I don't really see the point of tacking a 1 mile run on the front of a 24 hour cycle.

it'll stagger out the participants so that you don't have all the bikes taking off together, safer start in their eyes i guess, runners can group together more safely then bikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I only really posted that in jest. I think it comes from MTB rules. If you go to the Rules section they seem to be MTB specific.

I'm not running to my bike. I demand to have it brought to me.

I am also not carrying or pushing it anywhere.
    ....Racers pushing or carrying their bikes may overtake a racer riding his bike provided.....

mossym wrote: »
    it'll stagger out the participants so that you don't have all the bikes taking off together, safer start in their eyes i guess, runners can group together more safely then bikes
    Really not particularly necessary in a road race... presume it is MTB specific as pete says :)

sorry yeah, apologeis if i stated the obvious, it was for the mtb bit i meant..on the road you'll have the nice wide road for guys to sort out positions, it'll be a lot narrower for the mtb, 50/60 riders or more trying to get down a track wide enough for maybe 2 bikes? that'd be fun...can you say youtube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Junior

Whats this this with swiping your card at the end of every lap ?

Junior wrote: »
    Whats this this with swiping your card at the end of every lap ?

presume the winners are those with most laps at end of 24 hours, so they need to keep track of how many laps you run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Tri style, have your shoes clipped in and run in socks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

It'll be great if the organisers can pull this off - a world first. There was a 24 hour road race planned for the UK last year but it was cancelled due to lack of entrants.

I'm a bit concerned about the route though. I really think an event like this has to be on closed roads. This one is running along the N59. Wouldn't want to meet people driving home from the pub at 2am along the same road.

four of us at work are thinking of trying the mtb version just for the fun of doing it, but none are very experienced mtb riders. are we going to be completely out of our depth?

Morgan wrote: »
    It'll be great if the organisers can pull this off - a world first.
    I'm a bit concerned about the route though. I really think an event like this has to be on closed roads. This one is running along the N59. Wouldn't want to meet people driving home from the pub at 2am along the same road.

that is a very valid point, im gonna email the organisers and see how they plan to tackle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Blorg, Tiny..... I'd be up for this.. Either Road or Mountain bike and I can guarantee, as I'm sure El Tonto will, that I will be optimistically enthusiastic. This is pretty close to the Race Around Ireland though isn't it in case you need to get sick.

If someone can find a couple 70 year olds then I know another 30 year old who may do it -- then we can enter the golden oldies race.

Blorg, Tiny..... I'd be up for this.. Either Road or Mountain bike and I can guarantee, as I'm sure El Tonto will, that I will be optimistically enthusiastic. This is pretty close to the Race Around Ireland though isn't it in case you need to get sick.

Sounds good -I'm more keen on the road this time round -too green as a mtb'er at the moment.

Who wants to be the 4th -El Tonto?

Sounds good -I'm more keen on the road this time round -too green as a mtb'er at the moment.

Who wants to be the 4th -El Tonto?

We can do 5.... perhaps the Raam -- as a way of saying goodbye to freedom.

If he's up for it, a 5th would make it easier to win.... we should do it on fixies too :)

40km laps... and once you have started a lap you have to finish it ...

Sounds good.... you see, we'd be guaranteed of being the first fixie riding team in, therefore winning our first 24hr event!

You won't catch me on a fixie. My knees are too important :-) ... besides I have a running race to prepare for as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

You thread hijacking roadie b*stards. A 24 hour road race, how incredibly dull ! I mean going over the same circuit again and again. At least with a MTB it requires some skill to get around the course and you'd have the chance to keep practicing it til you get it perfect. On the road bike it's just pedal pedal pedal.

A good learning environment for some MTB action, I'm crapola and I'll be up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I'll join your MTB adventure Gav, I'll even wear baggies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Gavin wrote: »
    You thread hijacking roadie b*stards. A 24 hour road race, how incredibly dull ! I mean going over the same circuit again and again. At least with a MTB it requires some skill to get around the course and you'd have the chance to keep practicing it til you get it perfect. On the road bike it's just pedal pedal pedal.

A good learning environment for some MTB action, I'm crapola and I'll be up for it.

you tell em Gav! start the revolution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I'll join your MTB adventure Gav, I'll even wear baggies!

You're the man Dirk! Now, who else is in ?

edit - You've just signed yourself up Drapper

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

looking at that map, I kind of know the area and the whole MTB track is forestry road and I'm pretty sure some tarred road too,shouldnt be too technical by the looks of it.

Edit: Looking at it again I cycled part of it before i think and there is one technical enough part where the western way lnks west towards the bangor trail. I've attached a more detailed map for y'all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

I cant seem to get into the reg page, how much is it I wonder?

Will this really be the worlds first 24hour road race? Its not something I have spent much time thinking about but frankly I'm surprized there hasnt been one already.

Also, any way of doing the two at the same time? 5 per team, 2 riding one course each, 3 resting and alternate between road-rest-mtb-rest etc... Now if a team pulled that off, they would have bragging rights....

I cant seem to get into the reg page, how much is it I wonder?

80 euros for solo down to 55 euros per person for a team of 5.
    Will this really be the worlds first 24hour road race? Its not something I have spent much time thinking about but frankly I'm surprized there hasnt been one already.

Not the worlds first but first in Ireland! There's even a 24 hour world mountain bike championship race.

Scott, Blorg, niceonetom is up for this too -he just saw the MTB part in the thread title so didn't bother reading!

That's 4 of us now -we can maybe see if Raam fancies being the 5th

Scott, Blorg, niceonetom is up for this too -he just saw the MTB part in the thread title so didn't bother reading!

That's 4 of us now -we can maybe see if Raam fancies being the 5th

Raam informed me he can't

He's such a wimp these days, with his "I only ride up hills" mentality.

Anyone fancy making it a 5 way? El Tonto? Emty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭paddyb

I would be up for the mtb race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

The Road route of this is going thru the Sheefry Hills. Its not the hill the Pro TOI went over with the grass.
    I have a basic profile attached. Ill be going out that way 2mro as its on the route of the Polka Dot and I am scouting the route so as to have my list of patch ups for the County Council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I was just looking at the route in MMR - there looks to be a short stretch where it's about 12% :D

Esroh wrote: »
    The Road route of this is going thru the Sheefry Hills. Its not the hill the Pro TOI went over with the grass.
    I have a basic profile attached. Ill be going out that way 2mro as its on the route of the Polka Dot and I am scouting the route so as to have my list of patch ups for the County Council.

apologies, my mistake, the osi trail master is handy for routes.
    so have many people signed up? it would be a great fund raiser for a charity of your choice.
    p.s. (if items were posted at 1400 on thursday by Chain Reaction would they be in wicklow by friday afternoon?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

Will this really be the worlds first 24hour road race?

It's a strange claim for them to make seeing as theres a world calender of ultra endurance events.

http://www.ultracycling.com/events/races.php

Shame they chose to have it on the same week as the Race Around Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

emtroche wrote: »

Shame they chose to have it on the same week as the Race Around Ireland.
    The RIR is unique and it took alot of work for them to get the race sanctioned.

A few of the lads who are taking on the Westernlakes CC M2M 20hr challenge next week are going to have ago at this 24.Some are looking at going Solo and others are forming a team. But that does depend on them ever wanting to get on the bike after next weekend